728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for ABA44Z Z-MAX Galvanized 16-Gauge 4x4 Adjustable Post Base

ABA44Z Z-MAX Galvanized 16-Gauge 4x4 Adjustable Post Base

Post and Column Bases secure the bottom of posts or columns to concrete and are perfect for decks or patio covers. Models are available for attaching to existing hardened concrete, wet concrete, as well as wood. The AB series also offers adjustability around the anchor bolt to achieve optimum post placement. And many models provide a 1 in. standoff from the concrete to help avoid post-end rot from moisture.
Overall rating:
4.567 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product27 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product27 of 29reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for ABA44Z Z-MAX Galvanized 16-Gauge 4x4 Adjustable Post Base
Review 1 for ABA44Z Z-MAX Galvanized 16-Gauge 4x4 Adjustable Post Base
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

This product will help insure the integrity of this particular project

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
When I build or repair something the first thing that I require is functionally sound and aesthetically pleasing solutions. This particular bracket has both of these qualities and therefore passed the quality control test. Combined with the pressure treated lumber and deck screws this project is aesthetically pleasing and functionally sound. Our soon to be 15y old dog "Sandy" appreciates this ramp everyday.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Reliable, Light Weight, weather resistant, Durable
Cons: too expensive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ABA44Z Z-MAX Galvanized 16-Gauge 4x4 Adjustable Post Base
from Flagstaff, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

I used these galvanized steel supports because I had used them before. They work great and termite proof!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really like these supports for several reasons. First they are very easy to install. The second reason is, I installed them on a concrete base and it was easy to secure them to that base. This securing makes my project very sturdy. Lastly, they keep my wood posts off the ground. If I hadn't used these, my wood would soon rot and termites would soon attack that fresh wood.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Great Value, Lots of Features, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight, they come in various sizes.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ABA44Z Z-MAX Galvanized 16-Gauge 4x4 Adjustable Post Base
from texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

worked well for my project

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
easy to use,did the job.made a shade in the backyard
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ABA44Z Z-MAX Galvanized 16-Gauge 4x4 Adjustable Post Base
from Las Cruces, NM
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works great

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used these post anchors for a pergola I was building on a back yard slab. Drilled 1/2" holes for Red Head wedge inserts, applied post anchors over them and tightened nut to hold in place. Everything worked as expected and posts were securely attached. No surpirises.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ABA44Z Z-MAX Galvanized 16-Gauge 4x4 Adjustable Post Base
from Katy, Tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

For our job @ Katy schools

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We used it on the walk ways we put on Katy School they did the job
Pros: Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ABA44Z Z-MAX Galvanized 16-Gauge 4x4 Adjustable Post Base
from Levittown, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easily installed, tough, does what it is supposed to do.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Well made, fits perfectly and is very strong and durable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ABA44Z Z-MAX Galvanized 16-Gauge 4x4 Adjustable Post Base

Bad

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 10 years I have to replace them
They desintegrade with corrosion and rust
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ABA44Z Z-MAX Galvanized 16-Gauge 4x4 Adjustable Post Base
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Product

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
intelligent design, fair price, great Home Depot service. recommend.
Pros: Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ABA44Z Z-MAX Galvanized 16-Gauge 4x4 Adjustable Post Base
from Smyrna, delaware
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
TThe pole base worked out great. Easy to use even for the beginner.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ABA44Z Z-MAX Galvanized 16-Gauge 4x4 Adjustable Post Base
from Lockport
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Ok

PostedJuly 31, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
They work well mad are required by code. Alexander lumber was cheaper but HD was closer
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ABA44Z Z-MAX Galvanized 16-Gauge 4x4 Adjustable Post Base
from Hooksett NH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Good value for money

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use these on decks all the time as a builder. They help to keep posts off the ground and prevent rot and are fairly sturdy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ABA44Z Z-MAX Galvanized 16-Gauge 4x4 Adjustable Post Base
from Bridgeport, CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Sturdy and strong product, highly recommended by contractor.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have just completed an outdoor project - deck and door covering. Galvanized gauge is used by contractor to securely hold board in place. Great feeling to know deck and covering will not collapse.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ABA44Z Z-MAX Galvanized 16-Gauge 4x4 Adjustable Post Base
from san antonio,tex usa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

the best post base bracket

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is the 3rd time I have used this product,easy to set up and install.and it protects the board because it off the ground level.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ABA44Z Z-MAX Galvanized 16-Gauge 4x4 Adjustable Post Base
from Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Worked well for my needs

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A good option to attach 4x4 posts into concrete etc.
Pros: Performs Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ABA44Z Z-MAX Galvanized 16-Gauge 4x4 Adjustable Post Base
from Hays, KS
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent post base

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
High quality, durable, easy to use. Used on j-bolts set in concrete columns so that we could affix the beamers to begin framing our front porch. I liked how easy it was to make alignment adjustments with this product. High quality and easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ABA44Z Z-MAX Galvanized 16-Gauge 4x4 Adjustable Post Base
from Belmont, CA (San Francisco Peninsula)

Sensible & Easy to Use

PostedApril 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Meets Code for separation of post from concrete in a sensible, easy-to-use manner. Using common sense, it's quick and easy to install this correctly if you have the proper tools for fastening it to the concrete, particularly a hammer drill. It is well-built from heavy-duty galvanized steel and should last for several decades if properly installed. I've used these quite happily on several projects.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ABA44Z Z-MAX Galvanized 16-Gauge 4x4 Adjustable Post Base
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Served the Ourpose

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a product such as this for a project. It was well priced and was successfully used in the project.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ABA44Z Z-MAX Galvanized 16-Gauge 4x4 Adjustable Post Base
from Worcester,MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

good !!!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
good solution !!!............................................................
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ABA44Z Z-MAX Galvanized 16-Gauge 4x4 Adjustable Post Base
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Interesting design via anchorage and elevated base of the 4X4 posts.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product - just what I needed. This product eliminates the usage of the block anchorage method when used on existing cement platform.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ABA44Z Z-MAX Galvanized 16-Gauge 4x4 Adjustable Post Base
from Aston, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I did not like the one piece design

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I did not like the one piece design. If you attach the post to base first, it is difficult to access the nut in the narrow channel. Price seemed high as well.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>