728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for RTC42 18-Gauge 2x Rigid Tie Connector

RTC42 18-Gauge 2x Rigid Tie Connector

Make sturdy, good-looking projects that will last with the RTC Rigid Tie. This series secures two wood members to a vertical post forming a 90 degree corner. These connectors are ideal for the construction of workbenches and storage shelving units.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product7 of 7reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5.0 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product7 of 7reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for RTC42 18-Gauge 2x Rigid Tie Connector
Review 1 for RTC42 18-Gauge 2x Rigid Tie Connector
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Perfect for Building A Rock Solid Workbench

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used 8 of these to build a 48x96 workbench with a bottom shelf. This thing is a tank! These made the workbench incredibly easy and efficient to build. Sure, it takes a lot of screws (I believe 22 PER tie), but once it is together it is not going to budge. What I really like about these is that they have a tendency to self-square. Even if things are a bit off kilter to begin with, once you put in those last 2-4 screws, it suddenly 'tightens up' and pulls everything into place. If I ever need to build anything again, I will find a way to incorporate these.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Straight, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for RTC42 18-Gauge 2x Rigid Tie Connector
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

MY WORK BENCH

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used these bracket on my work bench made it very easy to put bench together ....bench is STRONG.
Pros: High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RTC42 18-Gauge 2x Rigid Tie Connector

Strong is right!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product; made squaring up my workbench frame easy and it is very sturdy. Plan to have lots of screws on hand; each of these RTC42 braces require 22 screws.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RTC42 18-Gauge 2x Rigid Tie Connector
from Sunrise, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great unit for Bench building

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
the strong tie RTC 42 is a clever and straight forward way to build a strong and stable work bench, this unit works with 4x4 legs but they make one that works with 2x4,s ,I primed mine and painted them with a black hammered spray paint also purchased at home depot , Highly recommed these
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RTC42 18-Gauge 2x Rigid Tie Connector
from Port Hope, MI 48468, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Fast efficient way to make a workbench

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had been looking at various ways to make a sturdy workbench. I came across the RTC42 by mistake while getting lumber for a different project. Just a little pricier than I would prefer, but well worth it. I plan on buying the 2x4 product to make a shelving unit in my basement. Great product. And since I am 75 miles away from my cloesest Home Depot I will be using their free shipping option when I buy this product in the future.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RTC42 18-Gauge 2x Rigid Tie Connector
from Cape Coral, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Product

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Solid bracket that makes the toughest workbench I've ever seen. I went with 4x4 legs instead of the 2x4 leg verson. Uses lots of screws, but worth the time and money
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Reliable
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RTC42 18-Gauge 2x Rigid Tie Connector
from Doylestown, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sturdy Brackets

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I will be building a work bench with these brackets. Ordered 4 of them for the top and from the review and videos I have watched, these are as strong as a tank. I think there are about 22 holes for screws to secure these to 2x4's and 4x4's. Cant wait to play with wood! My only complaint is that they are noisy. If you drop them, prepare for a loud noise.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Straight, High Quality
Cons: Noisy
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for RTC42 18-Gauge 2x Rigid Tie Connector
from Missouri
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Provided a very sturdy tie for my train table legs.

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall great results with this product. Provided great support for my train tables.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.