728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Post Caps or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Black Plastic Decorative Post Cover for 6 in. x 6 in. Solid Sawn Post

Black Plastic Decorative Post Cover for 6 in. x 6 in. Solid Sawn Post

Simpson Strong-Tie connectors make projects easier to build while making them stronger and safer. They are engineered and tested to perform and are manufactured to the highest quality standards. Whether working on a home project or building a structure to comply with building codes, go with the choice of engineers and contractors, go with genuine Simpson Strong-Tie connectors. The DPPC6BK is a decorative post cover that provides moisture protection and a decorative appearance to a 6x6 solid sawn post top.
Overall rating:
4.133 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product11 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product11 of 13reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Black Plastic Decorative Post Cover for 6 in. x 6 in. Solid Sawn Post
Review 1 for Black Plastic Decorative Post Cover for 6 in. x 6 in. Solid Sawn Post
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple and Effective Post Caps

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were looking for a simple and effective way to protect the 15 6X6 posts on our deck. We wanted a low maintenance, unobtrusive, and economical way to keep rain out and they needed to look good too. These caps filled the bill. We installed with #8 coated common nails with a dab of caulking inside the nail hole to prevent leakage there. They've only been installed for a month but so far so good. An installation tip is to make sure you don't over drive the nail as that creates a hollow that can hold water.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Seals Well, Good Shape, Easy to Clean, Light Weight, low price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Black Plastic Decorative Post Cover for 6 in. x 6 in. Solid Sawn Post
from Tazewell, TN
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not Suitable

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This cover would be good maybe to just shield water but is very flat and does not look nice enough to be on my deck posts where they would be viewed up close.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Black Plastic Decorative Post Cover for 6 in. x 6 in. Solid Sawn Post
from blue ridge, ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great buy

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is a completely acceptable product and a great value. I spray painted them to get the color I needed.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Black Plastic Decorative Post Cover for 6 in. x 6 in. Solid Sawn Post
from Canton, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good alternative to more expensive copper post caps, especially if you are going to paint anyway.

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good inexpensive way to cap the post for weather protection. I recommend that you spray paint before you install with a #6 galvanized nail and then just spot spray the nail area to seal around it and prevent any potential rusting. Try your best to drive the nail flat to the surface and not compress the top of the cap, this will avoid creating an area that holds water.
The posts that I installed these on were facade with slight warping and and had to be sanded lightly on some of the corners to get the cap to fit, no big deal.
Pros: Seals Well, Easy to Clean, good alternative to metal that his very durable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Black Plastic Decorative Post Cover for 6 in. x 6 in. Solid Sawn Post

Works well and a bargain!

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The caps worked well to cover some dock posts. And the price was good too.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Black Plastic Decorative Post Cover for 6 in. x 6 in. Solid Sawn Post
from Fort Collins, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple and Effective

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I build a small pergola over my patio and I wanted something to cap the cut ends of my 6x6 posts. I didn't need anything showy, and the price on these caps was much lower than anything else I found for 6x6.
They are plastic, but they seem to be durable. They attach with a single screw from the top. They don't come with a screw, but that's no big deal. You have to be a little careful that when you put the screw in, that you don't create a low spot in the center where water will collect.
I personally would have used something else closer to eye level, but these fit the bill for my project and the price was very reasonable.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Black Plastic Decorative Post Cover for 6 in. x 6 in. Solid Sawn Post

Doesn't fit a 6x6 post!

PostedMay 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This 6x6 post cap does not fit on top of a 6x6 post. I bought both the post and the cap from Home Depot and the cap is too small. Frustrating.
Cons: doesn't fit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Black Plastic Decorative Post Cover for 6 in. x 6 in. Solid Sawn Post
from Chesterfield, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Post caps 6 X 6

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product, good price for a quick and easy solution to decaying post tops.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Seals Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Black Plastic Decorative Post Cover for 6 in. x 6 in. Solid Sawn Post
from Sheldon, SC 29940, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fits perfectly; good price.

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Several 6 X 6 post tops on two outdoor decks are showing a lot of deterioration due to weather/sun; big surprise and big disappointment; lumber is treated to be used outdoors, and cemented in place; cannot be replaced without major work and expense. Hope post caps can prevent further erosion...
These post caps will fit, and I have ordered 17 more to finish the job.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Black Plastic Decorative Post Cover for 6 in. x 6 in. Solid Sawn Post

Looks ok

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
product looks good but doesn't fit well on wooden posts. We have 34 wooden deck posts and a testing the fit on several most posts would have needed trimming to fit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Black Plastic Decorative Post Cover for 6 in. x 6 in. Solid Sawn Post
from Oak Island, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product has great features.

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fits perfect....Looks good and will save the tops of my post from the weather.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Good Shape, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Black Plastic Decorative Post Cover for 6 in. x 6 in. Solid Sawn Post
from South Carolina, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Size

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It fit my 6x6 Post perfectly. Attached with a screw and a dab of silicone to seal it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Black Plastic Decorative Post Cover for 6 in. x 6 in. Solid Sawn Post

Great caps

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great caps does there jobs can't complain for the price
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape
Cons: didn't come with screws
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Black Plastic Decorative Post Cover for 6 in. x 6 in. Solid Sawn Post
from California
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product True to Size

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Plan on ordering 60 of these caps for our outside deck.
Highly recommend these caps.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Black Plastic Decorative Post Cover for 6 in. x 6 in. Solid Sawn Post
from Yuba City, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great value and fast shipping

PostedMay 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A well made product that fit excellent and was cheaper than other stores.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.