728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Workbench Kit-DISCONTINUED

Workbench Kit-DISCONTINUED

The KWB1 Hardware Kit contains complete hardware, fasteners and plans to build a workbench or shelving unit. With the Simpson Strong-Tie KWB1, a couple of hours is all it takes to achieve professional results. It's simple to build with no angle cuts or bolts. Create strong utility furniture that will last for years and customize it to fit your space!
Overall rating:
4.81 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(121 reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
99%of customersrecommend this product114 of 115reviews
Rating Breakdown 121 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(103)
4
(16)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
99%of customersrecommend this product114 of 115reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer reviews for Workbench Kit-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Workbench Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Eau Claire, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So easy to use even a girl can do it

PostedMay 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an awesome product. I was impressed at how easy it was to use. The instructions are easy to follow and it doesn't take long to build. I did this entirely on my own and it only took an afternoon to complete. You will be happy with the end product. You have a solid workbench that will last forever and is very affordable to build. The other nice feature is it can be moved. I also liked the fact that you could easily modify it to fit your needs. I wanted shelves to put boxes of nails and screws on so I extended the height on the back and added the shelves in the middle. I had the kit delivered to the store and when I picked it up I had them cut the plywood to make it easier to handle by myself. I am already planning on building another one for my gardening tools. For all you girls that want your own workbench, now you can easily build your own.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Workbench Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Houston, TX 77084, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I ordered the Simpson strong tie, kwb1 kit; and boy am I one happy camper. The product was easy to order, arrived in a few d

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered the Simpson strong tie, kwb1 kit; and boy am I one happy camper. The product was easy to order, arrived in a few days, Home Depot called and they told me where to pick it up. The cost was excellent. I bought premium wood and I was off. A few days later, I built my work bench, easily following the included directions. I also watched the YouTube video Simpson strong tie produced. I built my work bench with my own hands. It will last many years. It is very sturdy, solid, and well developed. Thank you Simpson Strong Tie for the product and especially my Home Depot, for being so helpful, nice, professional, and ready to help if need be. 5 star treatment and exceptional quality products.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Solid
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Workbench Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Elk Grove, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product lives up to it's name. Strongtie.

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well packaged and came with instructions to reference to. Very customizable, can be used to build almost anything you can imagine. I made my version of the workbench in about two hours time. I worked leisurely in the garage constructing the workbench. I gathered all my lumber from The Home Depot and had it cut to size. (Note: The Home Depot will not cut exact measurements; I suggest bringing a tape measure and pencil with you to measure and mark cuts, then have an associate make the cuts.) My Simpson Strongtie workbench turned out just like I had imagined. Built to last, and will get compliments from neighbors and friends.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Workbench Kit-DISCONTINUED

If only they still stocked these in stores!

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These kits are great. They make putting strong tables, carts, etc., a cinch. The self-tapping screws make things easy, and the resulting furniture will hold up for years to come. I bought my first one in the store, but I was very disappointed they are no longer stocked.
I built the bench a number of years ago, and I built the cart several weeks ago. Each will easily hold a lot of weight.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Workbench Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Dallas, TX, USA

Great product; easy to build and good value

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product! Easy to build and you can size to your own needs/specifications. More economical than many commercial workbenches that I looked at.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Workbench Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Sammamish, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A great way to build a sturdy good looking bench. Solid design. As well the provided plans outline everything you will need to finish
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design, i
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Workbench Kit-DISCONTINUED
from North Port, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick and Easy Work bench

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product should be carried in stores! This is an amazing kit! The box came with great instructions but I did go to the company website and used another design they had posted.
All the cuts needed for the wood are straight cuts with no weird angles needed. I would recommend this kit for anybody no matter what their skill level is.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Durable, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Workbench Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simpson Tie workbench

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like it! I did this in a few hours and I have a bench that I can work on and get compliments on. Add some 3/4 inch plywood and a few two by fours and you're a certified bench builder.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Workbench Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Keeps boards square with strong connections.

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I'm pleased with the simplicity of construction. I altered the design to meet my desired layout and had no issues. Expected a heavier gauge steel for the money, but it seems sufficient.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Workbench Kit-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Delighted with "Just add lumber" workbench kit.

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've moved three times and built my own 8 ft workbench in each new house. The Simpson hardware is so much better than the diamond spiked sheet metal plates I tried to hammer on last time.
I would have liked the lumber list ahead of time to get it together for when the kit arrived. I doubled the four foot lengths and added a few braces for strength, but the Simpson hardware eliminates the need for bracing diagonals.
Tips: find the flattest part of your garage floor for assembly, and fairly straight (and not twisted) lumber for the 6ft and 8ft pieces
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Workbench Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Ventura, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

simple and great results

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was an easy project to get going - plus it allowed a lot of room for cool touches and customization.
Pros: Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Workbench Kit-DISCONTINUED

Good product, good quality, works as described

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am not good with wood, so I bought this kit to build a shop workbench that was useable. The kit comes with screws (good quality screws), and easy to follow instructions. I was able to build a bench I can be proud of in a single afternoon with only minor mistakes (all my fault). I would recommend this kit.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Durable, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Workbench Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Kansas City
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very sturdy workbench, takes the uncertainties out of building

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In the box came everything I needed and more screws than just the brackets which was perfect for the top of the bench. It came with instructions and cut lists but I used some plans from the web that seemed to be customized and worked a bit better (One Project Closer). Overall the ties worked well and was easy to assemble. I would buy this again.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Workbench Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Mount Prospect, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value for a great product!

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use kit, made building a workbench very easy.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: instructions could be a little better
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Workbench Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Cedarburg, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great way to build a workbench!!

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this kit to build the new workbench for my shop and it turned out better than I expected. I had to purchase a couple extra brackets because the bench is 8' long but that feature did not complicate the assembly. If this was a heavy usage bench I would add a layer of 1/4" masonite over the plywood top so the surface could be easily replaced, but for now I will leave it as illustrated in the kit. An added feature of this kit is that you can easily modify the size of the bench with a few additional brackets that are available in the store. I would recommend this kit to anyone
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Workbench Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Mankato, MN, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Workbench will withstand years of abuse.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a cost effective way of building a quality workbench that was quick and relativiely easy to construct. I was impressed with how sturdy the bench was; wasn't flimsy at all.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Workbench Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Detroit, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to use, sturdy, pays for itself

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The strong ties made it very simple to build my workbench. The kit comes with hardware and instructions that were simple to follow. My only initial reservation with these ties was how sturdy my bench would be, but it is solid as a rock! It took me just a few hours to build the bench. My next project will be heavy duty shelves. Home Depot had by far the best price, too!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Workbench Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Hillsboro, OR, USA
Gender:Male

Great brackets

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I built an 8ft workbench with these brackets this weekend. It's solid. I love these brackets. It made building the workbench straightforward and fast.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Workbench Kit-DISCONTINUED
from St. Louis, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Remarkably easy to use.

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only way to make a solid and strong workbench. These brackets are so easy to use and really work great !!!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Workbench Kit-DISCONTINUED

Good way to build a workbench

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The KWB1 workbench hardware kit helped me build a sturdy 5-foot by 2-foot workbench in my storage shed. The kit includes 8 Simpson Strong-tie steel connectors and a package of self-drilling screws. The other materials needed for my bench were a 4 x 8 sheet of 3/4" thick plywood and six 8-foot 2 x 4s. I built a bench with a plywood top and shelf below. It took most of a day to complete the bench, with the help of another person. The finished product is strong, stable and looks pretty good. I finished the top with five coats of satin polyurethane. A tip: have the lumberyard cut your top and shelf to your required size, unless you have the appropriate saw. Bottom line: the connector and screws kit works. I recommend it.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>