728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Specialty Power Tool Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit

8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit

The single drill guide Mini Kreg Jig is our most positionable pocket hole tool. The jig is designed without an alignment fence which allows it to be clamped at virtually any angle or orientation to the edge of a work piece. Great in situations where the project is already assembled and in need of an extra pocket hole or in repair applications such as tightening a chair or table rail to the leg. Kit includes one hole mini jig, step drill bit, depth collar and Allen wrench.
Overall rating:
4.839 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product30 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(27)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product30 of 30reviews
Customer reviews for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
Review 1 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Price is a seller, small but works well

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This pocket jig needs to be clamped down well to keep it in place. It makes a nice slot for a screw to join two pieces of wood while hiding the screw. Apron can be adjusted for different depths. Excellent product saves you $$$ compared to more expensive jigs and works well.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Winter Park, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Small but Mighty Good

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
At 1/5 the cost of the regular Kreg Pocket Hole Jig, this works very well. Some previous concerns over the durability of the collar on the drill shaft is really no concern. It holds up very well. There is a fair amount of blue paint chips that come out the wood chip relief hole but that declines with use. It was the first for me to make pocket holes and now I have no trouble using the jig again for future projects.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit

Great deal at $20

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This kit can get you into pocket-hole joinery at a minimal cost, assuming you already own a powerful clamp, such as an Irwin Quick-Grip, which can be used for a multitude of other tasks. If you're doing a production run of 50 or more holes, I'd recommend the $99 kit, with the cam-clamp jig, which will speed things up a lot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Sugar Hill, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works great. Make sure you have some good clamps. The price was great compared to the other Kreg products. The more I used it the quicker I got with adjusting the depth of the drill. I would take the drill bit and mark off at each of the different preset depths so you can adjust it quicker. That is one way they could improve this product. The Home Depot in my area could also carry more of the pocket hold plugs.
Pros: Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Must have!

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this so I could do a few beginners projects and see what everyone was talking about. Needless to say, I LOVE the kreg jig. I will be purchasing the master system shortly. My only problem with these is clamping, since I bought the mini jig it didn't come with the quick release clamps. These are a MUST for efficiency and so making the pocket holes doesn't end up being a pain in the neck. Right now I only have the C clamps and re-positioning, tightening and then drilling for every single hole gets tiring quickly. So definitely invest in some good clamps that don't require tightening or screwing.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Tooele, UT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handy & Versatile Tool

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very portable, can use it on small pieces, and easy to use. But occasionally I get blue bits of plastic which are small pieces of the tool being drilled out.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, isn't all metal
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Harvest, AL

Great jig for small projects

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this to make a dog kennel for our puppy, and I definitely got my use out of it. It works well, just make sure you invest in a good clamp too. For big projects, I might recommend the other full-size jig with a built in clamp. I spent a lot of time getting everything lined up, only to have it slip when I clamped it down with this one. My one complaint is the poor quality of the hex key that comes with it for setting the depth collar. The key rounded out after 3 or 4 adjustments while I was getting the collar in the right spot. Oh well, that's what I have a set of good hex keys for.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Northern, NJ

Great JIg

PostedFebruary 11, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very nice jig to have around. Pocket screws are a great, strong way to fasten materials. They are a lot faster and easier than using biscuits, mortise and tenon joints or other types of concealed jointing methods. I purchased this for some cabinets and storage I'm going to construct but wound up using it for something else sooner.
This is the least expensive model available but if you're willing to take a little more time to set up your jig it is a very cost effective solution.
The kit comes with a brad point bit for drilling the hole, a stop collar for precise depth adjustment of the bit, a hex key to adjust the collar and the actual jig that positions the bit to make the hole. You will need a clamp to hold the jig the your workpiece and a long #2 hex driver bit to reach into the holes. The higher priced models come with a very nice clamp but if you already have a clamp and don't need some of the other features in the higher models you can do well with this. I found a great deal on a locking C clamp elsewhere and use that. The hex driver bit is about a buck at my corner hardware store. (I forgot to get one along with the jig).
The hole setup is quick and easy. If you're drilling into 3/4" material you place the front of the jig flush with the end of the work peice. If you're going into 1 1/2" material (2x4) you need to place the jig further back. For 1/2" material you need to place the front of the jig past the work piece. You also need to adjust the depth of the stop collar. These adjustments are necessary to get the end of the hole in the middle of the workpiece.
Some of the other models make it easier to get this placement right, faster. If you're going to use this frequently with different sized materials it may be worth the extra price to make things go quicker. Or you can also make your own spacer blocks for the thickness of materials you commonly use. Measuring the spacing for the stop collar can be a bit tricky so I placed the collar in the three different positions and made a mark on the shaft for quick placement in the future.
The design of the jig makes it easy to create pocket holes. There is a hole in the jig that allows the wood chips to be easily removed from the cut.
Make sure you securely tighten the stop collar so that it does not slip as you're drilling the hole.
It is important to keep the bit sharp and Kreg provides an affordable sharpening service if you do not have the means to sharpen this type of bit.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from New York
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK but can be improved

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is is just OK. Would have been better if they placed depth markings on the drill and/or the jig. I'm not sure how they could have missed something as elementary as this. Why should users have to use a tape measure for something Kreg could have easily and accurately done for them?
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Riverview, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for beginners

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just started a woodworking hobby to help me pass my retirement years. This is my first time using pocket holes and I love how easy it is to use. I will use it for all my projects.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Florida

Mini Kreg tool

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used various products for fastening wood together, and have concluded that the mini kreg tool is by far the easiest and convenient to use. It's compact in size, and the drill bit is exceptionally sharp when purchased. I say this is a good item for your tool chest.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Kreg jig enabled me to do exactly what I needed without any fuss. The instructions took all the guess work out of placement and drill bit depth. I wish all tool purchases turned out this well.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes perfect pocket holes

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Small device. Steel drilling barrel, does not wear out.
Buy the clamp for the device, it holds the wood and jig in place.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Fairview Park, Ohio

Great time saver

PostedJanuary 18, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been useing this product for about a month now and wondering why I didn't buy it sooner. It works great for joining any thicknesses of wood together. The directions are simple to follow and this is a tool I'd recomend to all. The guy I work with at a cabinet shop has bought one of his own after we used it on faceframes just one time. I think that says it all. On the down side I wish it would have come with the clamp. It makes it so much easier with the quick clamp which I bought seperate. Hope this helps you decide on buying one for yourself.
Mikie
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product, great value

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is one of the most useful things I have purchased for my shop in a long time. From big to small projects, it makes assembly almost easier than buying a pre-made kit. The only down side is that it can only do one hole at a time (unlike the full Kreg system), meaning that the project must be re-clamped each hole. I'm seriously considering buying a second one to remedy this issue, and it would absolutely be worth it.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Arizona

Outstanding Pocket Hole Jig

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is everything as described. It is easily clamped in place which is handy if you don't want to be constrained by the dimensions of a fence.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Downey, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked perfectly

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was working on a project and wanted to try using pocket holes. For the price I thought I'd try it, and glad I did. For the money you cant go wrong, Kreg makes Quality tools. If you only need a pocket hole jig for one project get this one, if you plan on making pocket holes for multiple projects get there master kit as I will soon.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Strong
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from NE PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Versatile

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Can use this tool in any position you can get a clamp on. Fast and Easy! The holding power of pocket screws is incredible.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit

Great little jig

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good versatility with the mini jig. Just what I needed for large and small stock at a low price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Nappanee, IN

Great Little tool

PostedFebruary 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A must have for the woodworker without a lot of money invested in tools.. (and even for those with all the tools)
Very strong joints.. cheap branded hardware (pocket screws) and simple operation
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>