728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Specialty Power Tool Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit

8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit

The single drill guide Mini Kreg Jig is our most positionable pocket hole tool. The jig is designed without an alignment fence which allows it to be clamped at virtually any angle or orientation to the edge of a work piece. Great in situations where the project is already assembled and in need of an extra pocket hole or in repair applications such as tightening a chair or table rail to the leg. Kit includes one hole mini jig, step drill bit, depth collar and Allen wrench.
Overall rating:
4.848 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product45 of 45reviews
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
4.8 out of 5
5
(40)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product45 of 45reviews
Customer reviews for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
Review 1 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Price is a seller, small but works well

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This pocket jig needs to be clamped down well to keep it in place. It makes a nice slot for a screw to join two pieces of wood while hiding the screw. Apron can be adjusted for different depths. Excellent product saves you $$$ compared to more expensive jigs and works well.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Nashville, TN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty impressive little product

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just put together a 12' long window seat and did not have this before and used a myriad of L brackets. I saw the infomercial on TV for the big one so i decided i'd give the small one a try. This thing is GREAT! I will be using it on my next project and possibly buying the larger jig.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Winter Park, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Small but Mighty Good

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
At 1/5 the cost of the regular Kreg Pocket Hole Jig, this works very well. Some previous concerns over the durability of the collar on the drill shaft is really no concern. It holds up very well. There is a fair amount of blue paint chips that come out the wood chip relief hole but that declines with use. It was the first for me to make pocket holes and now I have no trouble using the jig again for future projects.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Sugar Hill, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product works great. Make sure you have some good clamps. The price was great compared to the other Kreg products. The more I used it the quicker I got with adjusting the depth of the drill. I would take the drill bit and mark off at each of the different preset depths so you can adjust it quicker. That is one way they could improve this product. The Home Depot in my area could also carry more of the pocket hold plugs.
Pros: Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit

This kit should be in every toolbox

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Dead set one of the best tools for a DIYer, or anyone in construction. Used with the matching screws and the pocket hole plugs it makes a perfect joint every time!! Just used it for my deck and it was fantastic!! Needs more awareness of this product!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Huntington park
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Product good

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to use. No need of a handbook and all. Very practical product
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Moore, OK
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product for the right price.

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just what I needed for a small job. Easy to use, and priced right.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Harvest, AL

Great jig for small projects

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this to make a dog kennel for our puppy, and I definitely got my use out of it. It works well, just make sure you invest in a good clamp too. For big projects, I might recommend the other full-size jig with a built in clamp. I spent a lot of time getting everything lined up, only to have it slip when I clamped it down with this one. My one complaint is the poor quality of the hex key that comes with it for setting the depth collar. The key rounded out after 3 or 4 adjustments while I was getting the collar in the right spot. Oh well, that's what I have a set of good hex keys for.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Loveland, Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I was searching for

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am finishing my basement and needed something to work where a nail gun wouldn't; this worked perfectly for angle joints! I will use it in the future when building drawers and other things where I don't want the screws exposed. It's lightweight, strong, and the drill bit is aggressive when drilling the pilot hole. For $20? A good item to have in my toolbox.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Must have!

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this so I could do a few beginners projects and see what everyone was talking about. Needless to say, I LOVE the kreg jig. I will be purchasing the master system shortly. My only problem with these is clamping, since I bought the mini jig it didn't come with the quick release clamps. These are a MUST for efficiency and so making the pocket holes doesn't end up being a pain in the neck. Right now I only have the C clamps and re-positioning, tightening and then drilling for every single hole gets tiring quickly. So definitely invest in some good clamps that don't require tightening or screwing.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Northern, NJ

Great JIg

PostedFebruary 11, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very nice jig to have around. Pocket screws are a great, strong way to fasten materials. They are a lot faster and easier than using biscuits, mortise and tenon joints or other types of concealed jointing methods. I purchased this for some cabinets and storage I'm going to construct but wound up using it for something else sooner.
This is the least expensive model available but if you're willing to take a little more time to set up your jig it is a very cost effective solution.
The kit comes with a brad point bit for drilling the hole, a stop collar for precise depth adjustment of the bit, a hex key to adjust the collar and the actual jig that positions the bit to make the hole. You will need a clamp to hold the jig the your workpiece and a long #2 hex driver bit to reach into the holes. The higher priced models come with a very nice clamp but if you already have a clamp and don't need some of the other features in the higher models you can do well with this. I found a great deal on a locking C clamp elsewhere and use that. The hex driver bit is about a buck at my corner hardware store. (I forgot to get one along with the jig).
The hole setup is quick and easy. If you're drilling into 3/4" material you place the front of the jig flush with the end of the work peice. If you're going into 1 1/2" material (2x4) you need to place the jig further back. For 1/2" material you need to place the front of the jig past the work piece. You also need to adjust the depth of the stop collar. These adjustments are necessary to get the end of the hole in the middle of the workpiece.
Some of the other models make it easier to get this placement right, faster. If you're going to use this frequently with different sized materials it may be worth the extra price to make things go quicker. Or you can also make your own spacer blocks for the thickness of materials you commonly use. Measuring the spacing for the stop collar can be a bit tricky so I placed the collar in the three different positions and made a mark on the shaft for quick placement in the future.
The design of the jig makes it easy to create pocket holes. There is a hole in the jig that allows the wood chips to be easily removed from the cut.
Make sure you securely tighten the stop collar so that it does not slip as you're drilling the hole.
It is important to keep the bit sharp and Kreg provides an affordable sharpening service if you do not have the means to sharpen this type of bit.
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Orcutt, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Perfert

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Since this was the first time I've ever needed to make pocket holes and don't envision doing so very often in the future, I didn't want to buy the more expensive kit. I needed to make about 32 holes for my project, and I was a little worried about getting the holes all lined up nicely with only a single hole jig. But using a trigger clamp made it a snap and I was done in a few minutes.
I definitely recommend this jig kit if you had a little sticker shock looking at the other kits and are only doing a small or occasional project. This smaller one also would probably be better to use for tight spots such as chair or table repair as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, affordable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Indiana
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great starter kit for the price.

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used this set to build several pieces of furniture for my home (beds, tables, dollhouse, sandbox etc), and I absolutely LOVE it! It makes life in the workshop sooo much easier! You'll want to splurge and get the Kreg clamp as well, because a good clamp makes all the difference with this set. It does take a little longer to drill multiple holes, because you have to re lamp after each one- which isn't true for the more expensive set, but with that said, it is worth every penny I spent on it! If you can't afford the full set, this is a great budget-friendly alternative. It takes a few tries to get the hang of it, but once you get it, it's super simple. I just took a few different sized scraps and drilled holes until I got the hang of it.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Limited Features
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Makes pocket screw holes in a jiffy!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Once you use one you'll never be without one again.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Tooele, UT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handy & Versatile Tool

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very portable, can use it on small pieces, and easy to use. But occasionally I get blue bits of plastic which are small pieces of the tool being drilled out.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, isn't all metal
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit

Great deal at $20

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This kit can get you into pocket-hole joinery at a minimal cost, assuming you already own a powerful clamp, such as an Irwin Quick-Grip, which can be used for a multitude of other tasks. If you're doing a production run of 50 or more holes, I'd recommend the $99 kit, with the cam-clamp jig, which will speed things up a lot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Schoolcraft, MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good hand product

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use. made neat solid joints. appears to be slid durable construction
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Kreg jig enabled me to do exactly what I needed without any fuss. The instructions took all the guess work out of placement and drill bit depth. I wish all tool purchases turned out this well.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product, great value

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is one of the most useful things I have purchased for my shop in a long time. From big to small projects, it makes assembly almost easier than buying a pre-made kit. The only down side is that it can only do one hole at a time (unlike the full Kreg system), meaning that the project must be re-clamped each hole. I'm seriously considering buying a second one to remedy this issue, and it would absolutely be worth it.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 8.25 in. Mini Jig Pocket Hole Kit
from Portland, Oregon
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works Great!

PostedApril 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works great. Just as expected. This was my first time using a pocket jig and it was simple.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>