728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Interior Stain or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-qt. Mahogany Gel Stain

1-qt. Mahogany Gel Stain

The Minwax 1 qt. Mahogany Gel Stain # 605 is ideal for use on woodwork, cabinets, furniture and floors, as well as on non-wood surfaces, such as fiberglass and metal. Its non-drip formula ensures a rich, uniform color, making it especially good for vertical applications, such as doors and molding. The stain is easily applied with either a natural bristle brush, foam applicator or cloth. It covers up to 200 sq. ft. depending on surface type.
Overall rating:
3.182 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
64%of customersrecommend this product7 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
64%of customersrecommend this product7 of 11reviews
Customer reviews for 1-qt. Mahogany Gel Stain
Review 1 for 1-qt. Mahogany Gel Stain
from san jose ca.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

my minway gel stain experiance

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am very experienced with painting and refinishing but nothing prepared me for the miserable time I had with this product. I followed the directions as outlined on the can. This product is a disaster to use.
Dries way too fast, can not control results. Works somewhat better in cool environment because it drys slower but still very bad. Later, The paint adviser at Home Depot ( without being prompted ) told me that this product it the most complained about paint product in the store. Use Jave Gel from General Finishes instead.
Cons: drys way too fast streaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-qt. Mahogany Gel Stain
from New Bedford, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Definately Different

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was really tough at first, but after a couple doors I kind of got it, in my experience, I started out wrong, I was trying to use it like a stain, but I had much better luck with it after I just used it like paint. I really like it, I plan on changing my honey oak kitchen cabinets to a mahogany. Cant wait! Very little prep sanding used with my trial. Overall I really like, just don't treat it as a stain or it can be frustrating.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-qt. Mahogany Gel Stain
from Tulsa, OK
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Gel stains are not a good choice for a beginner, proper application takes some experience. Gel stains have to be applied in small sections and then each section wiped down. Then each section needs to be buffed with a rag to remove excess stain. The mahogony color gel stain used on mahogony wood gives a very rich traditional reddish brown mahogony finish. If you are a beginner use the liquid stains that you are more familiar with and leave the gel stains to those with more experience. Don't give a product a bad review just because you can't use a product properly or use a product on the wrong material.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, easy to use if you know what your doing
Cons: difficult to use if you don't know what your doing
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-qt. Mahogany Gel Stain

fantastic!

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Gel stain is VERY different from standard staining products. If you are using it in the correct manner, both in application and on appropriate materials, the results are fantastic! I see poor reviews, but it sounds like those individuals were expecting a different type of stain than gel. Give gel a try! The color is wonderful and applies beautifully! I highly recommend it!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Looks Great
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-qt. Mahogany Gel Stain
from San Diego, CA

Great product

PostedMarch 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this stain on many different surfaces, and every one worked extremely well. I stained a contact paper covered plywood table top, and by causing a striated lengthwise pattern, actually made it look great with just a foam brush. You can mimic the appearance of woodgrain with just a little experimentation. I've used it on previously finished wood, made antique pewter and brass hardware look like bronze, and painted it on the plastic trim that is cut to look woodlike to frame a mirror. For most applications I don't even wipe it off as you would with regular stain. I find it to be indispensable.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-qt. Mahogany Gel Stain
from Harvest, AL

Easy to apply stain

PostedFebruary 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I decided on gel stain since I was staining pine and worried about it blotching. I sanded my work piece with 220 grit paper, and used wood conditioner prior to applying the stain. I used a foam brush to spread the gel, and wiped it off with shop towels. No blotches or streaks at all! Just make sure you wipe the stain off fairly quickly (5-10 mins max), or you're going to need some elbow grease to finish the job.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-qt. Mahogany Gel Stain
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one of the easiest, most user friendly product I have ever used. I absolutely love it and clean up is a snap.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly, my furniture and baseboards look like new!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-qt. Mahogany Gel Stain
from Wheeling, WV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

little on the thick side

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
little on the thick side for stain wasn't used to the thickness but it did very well on the staining I had to do
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Looks Great
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-qt. Mahogany Gel Stain

Product is horrible and wasted my weekend !

PostedMay 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the Minwax gel stain to refinish my front entry fiberglass door. Knowing this was going to be a lengthy process, I broke it down into two phases ( since I don't have a temporary door to secure my house, I had to make sure I could finish within a day). I stripped the old finish with smart strip ( excellent by the way) and got down to the manufacturer's primer on first day. Second day, I took door off hinges and took down to my basement, where I was controlling temp and humidity ( 74 F and 52% RH). Prep for stain, I went over complete door with a rag and mineral spirits, let dry and then wiped with a tack cloth. After mixing stain, I then applied with 2" natural bristle brush, went on very inconsistent; had light and dark spots, removed stain with mineral spirits and started process over. After door was dry, retried this process 3 times! Last effort was the best, but to be honest fell short of my expectations. Knowing I had to get the door back on before I went to bed, I decided that was it. I finished that coat at 10 A.M.., well it never dried, at about 6 p.m. I put a fan on thinking this would help expedite, didn't do anything. I slept in my foyer with a bed sheet taped to my casing. Next day (after 24 hrs.), little to no improvement. I gave up and just wiped it all down with mineral spirits and painted - the very thing I was trying to avoid. I'll look for other products, but it will take a couple years before I am stupid enough to try this again.
-28points
10out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-qt. Mahogany Gel Stain
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Low odor 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used it on a steel exterior door. Did all the proper prep. Blotchy, messy, doesn't dry. Still tacky a week later. Did research online and recommended a Zar product. Which I bought and worked fabulously. Even online they are warning you against using this junk--should have listened, it is junk
Cons: Difficult to Clean, messy, doesn't dry, blotchy
-23points
4out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-qt. Mahogany Gel Stain
from San Diego

Why do they make this stuff?

PostedFebruary 11, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Gel stains are harder to use than regular stains. The idea is it won't be messy because it's a gel, but it is more messy and it builds up if you don't wipe it off immediately. The gloves I wore got a sticky build up on them and made it worse. I can't imagine why I would use a gel stain again. My project took twice as long to stain than it should have and the drying time was longer.
-23points
4out of 31found this review helpful.