728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Free Standing Cabinets, Racks & Shelves or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Maximum Load 31-1/2 in. 4-Door Storage Cabinet-DISCONTINUED

Maximum Load 31-1/2 in. 4-Door Storage Cabinet-DISCONTINUED

The ClosetMaid Maximum Load 31-1/2 in. 4-Door Storage Cabinet is an 80 in. tall cabinet with gray, hammer-tone door fronts. The powder-coated doors are resistant to impact, moisture, heat, scratches and stains. This extra tall storage unit can accommodate items as tall as 54-1/2 in. and features 2 fixed shelves and 3 adjustable shelves.
Overall rating:
3.333 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
60%of customersrecommend this product9 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Quality 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
60%of customersrecommend this product9 of 15reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Maximum Load 31-1/2 in. 4-Door Storage Cabinet-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Maximum Load 31-1/2 in. 4-Door Storage Cabinet-DISCONTINUED
from Atlanta, GA

Decent - but be careful

PostedMay 1, 2007
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this for my garage and found a few frustrations along the way:
* individual pieces were not identified with labels
* not all parts were included - check before putting together
* be VERY careful when installing the fixed shelf, the plastic dowels will not resist and you can easily break through the other side of the cabinet.
* the backing on this shelf is not particle board like the rest of the shelf, it's a thin cardboard sheet like on a stereo cabinet.
I was impressed at the store, but less impressed when I put it together and found the above mentioned problems.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Maximum Load 31-1/2 in. 4-Door Storage Cabinet-DISCONTINUED

I LOVE these cabinets!!!!

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The people who didn't like this cabinet are crazy! I've had them in my garage for about 3 years now and I absolutely LOVE them! Of course, I didn't install them myself. I had a carpenter do it, which might make all the difference. I keep large, very heavy serving dishes in them...one cabinet has probably about 200 pounds of glassware in it and it's held up better than my cabinets in the house! I love them and am very sad they have been discontinued because we only did one side of the garage and wanted to do the other side at some point later in the future. : (
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Maximum Load 31-1/2 in. 4-Door Storage Cabinet-DISCONTINUED
from Virginia Beach
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Unstableshelf

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased an entire set of cabinets, countertop, and wall tracking for my garage. This is the only cabinet of the set that has not held up. All the interior shelves held by the tiny inserts have given out and the cabinet is no longer useful. Too bad, since it looks nice and for the price should have lasted longer than a few months. Would be better if all the shelves were secured like the top one.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Maximum Load 31-1/2 in. 4-Door Storage Cabinet-DISCONTINUED

Do NOT buy -- cheap panels break apart

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The panels are very heavy -- giving the impression of being solid -- but its just the coating that does this. So you get heavy panels without a lot of strength. A very bad combo! I put it all together and then went to stand it up and it basically exploded. The screws ripped out through the panels. I would recommend either getting metal shelving our go without Closetmaid's scratch resistant coating -- it's just too much weight for the product to bear.
Cons: breaks apart, Too Heavy
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Maximum Load 31-1/2 in. 4-Door Storage Cabinet-DISCONTINUED
from Millersville, MD

Nice addition

PostedMay 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought a total of 6 maximum load storage cabinets (2 of these) along with the slot wall organzier. The garage looks great. I had no problems putting these together that others had suggested. I did do it all manually thinking that others might have used an electrical screw driver which could cause a problem. They went together easily and the instructions were fine. My only problem I could not get the top right doors on since I am little (5'7") short and do not do well using my left hand. My husband finished that job and the doors all work great.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Maximum Load 31-1/2 in. 4-Door Storage Cabinet-DISCONTINUED

Poor quality, not worth the price.

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of setup 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this cabinet 4 months ago. I thought by paying more that I would get a better product. This product does not hold enough weight compared to other cheaper cabinets. The material is fancy particle board. The shelve brackets are very small plastic pieces. I would not recommend this as a garage cabinet.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Maximum Load 31-1/2 in. 4-Door Storage Cabinet-DISCONTINUED
from Whidbey Island, WA

Closetmaid storage

PostedAugust 12, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this product is advertised as "scratch resistant and water resistant". It is neither. And the powder coating is still overtop particle board that easily chips and breaks. It is about 50% more than the Stanley and not worth the additional cost.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Maximum Load 31-1/2 in. 4-Door Storage Cabinet-DISCONTINUED
from Denver, CO

Incredibly Pleased

PostedMay 4, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My garage was transformed by the ClosetMaid Maximum Load storage units I purchased!! I did some pre-planning and had a specific purpose for each piece. I purchased one tall 4-Door Storage Unit for sporting goods, two 2-Door Wall Cabinets (one each for gardening and business supplies) and two 4-Drawer Base Cabinets (one each for home improvement and pet/misc supplies) and labeled them accordingly. I added a peg board for small hangable tools and ClosetMaid wire shelving for gas cans and larger tools. I put them together myself and, although they were a bit heavy (I'm a 5'0" tall female), they went together without any problems. I'm incredibly pleased with both the look (a 'girl' thing) and function (just a 'smart' thing) of my Maximum Load storage units and highly recommend these products from Home Depot.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Maximum Load 31-1/2 in. 4-Door Storage Cabinet-DISCONTINUED
from VA Beach

Great for the Garage, Lots of Storage, Easy to Build

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This cabinet looks great in the garage and appears to be made of sturdy materials that will withstand typical garage abuse that other similarly priced cabinets wouldn't. It comes in a huge box and is about 160lbs, so I recommend delivery. The instructions are easy. The pieces are separated and labeled. The hardware is separated and grouped so it's easy to find the right piece. Everything fit together without a hitch. It took only about 2 hours by myself with the occasional break. I'm a decent sized guy so manipulating the cabinet as it came together wasn't too difficult, but it may be a two person project for some. Getting it upright and into position where I wanted took some time. I recommend putting the doors on before standing it up because the hinges are probably the most confusing part of the whole thing, and this thing it really tall. I also recommend assembling it on a cardboard box so it can be slid and dragged into position to avoid putting too much stress on the legs. It stands tall and elevated about 2-3 inches off the ground which will keep mice and bugs out and allow for a vacuum to clean under and behind. The doors are made of a material that looks impervious to chipping and scratching. My 3 year old will let me know if that's true or not. The interior is much roomier than I imagined, and the depth is just right for those who park their cars in the garage and need some inches to spare. My wife loves it, so everything else I just mentioned really doesn't mean anything. It's a really nice cabinet. The price is great compared to other cabinets of similar quality. If it were cheaper, I'd probably buy 2 or 3 more and really spice up the garage.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Maximum Load 31-1/2 in. 4-Door Storage Cabinet-DISCONTINUED

Some Problems

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ordered three 4-door storage cabinets. One of them came without a back panel, which was replaced when I called. Another one had a damaged panel, that I should have sent back, but I had my carpenter glue it so that it could be assembled while he was at my house. They are very attractive
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Nice Design
Cons: parts missing, part damaged
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Maximum Load 31-1/2 in. 4-Door Storage Cabinet-DISCONTINUED
from Western Ohio

Good to Great

PostedOctober 17, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought 5 units of various types last year for my garage and was well satisfied. Now, I'm buying more for my workshop. Are they foolproof? No, they just take a little normal care when assembling them. Are they made of stainless steel and resistant to all abuse? No, I have made a mark or three myself. But, with reasonable care they look great and are the best storage units I have seen for the money. I don't know what I would do without them.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Maximum Load 31-1/2 in. 4-Door Storage Cabinet-DISCONTINUED

Cabinet review

PostedJuly 2, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The cabinet literally fell apart while trying to assemble it. The pins for the fixed shelf went through the walls of the cabinet. I thought when the first pin went through the wall , Shame on me, I need to be more careful, then when the second and third pin went through the wall. Shame on me for buying this cabinet. The back panel is cardboard material. I strongly do not recommend this product.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Maximum Load 31-1/2 in. 4-Door Storage Cabinet-DISCONTINUED
from NEW JERSEY

PostedSeptember 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I BOUGHT 3 OF THESE ONLINE AND THEY ARRIVED 6 DAYS LATER VIA FED EX. THE UNITS ARE HEAVY BUT FEDEX HELPED PLACE THEM IN THE GARAGE FOR ME. THE CABINETS ARE PRETTY EASY TO PUT TOGETHER ALL U NEED IS A SCREW DRIVER. THE CABINETS ARE VERY STURDY AND HAVE PLENTY OF SPACE. AND THEY LOOK GREAT I WILL BE BUYING 1 MORE IN THE NEAR FUTURE. GOOD PRODUCT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Maximum Load 31-1/2 in. 4-Door Storage Cabinet-DISCONTINUED
from CA

Well Designed

PostedNovember 4, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Cabinets Look Very Nice and Well Designed. Match this with a Apple Green Paint and Premier Floor Coating on Garage. This is Not Like a Regular White Cabinets.
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Maximum Load 31-1/2 in. 4-Door Storage Cabinet-DISCONTINUED
from taylors sc

best

PostedAugust 22, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best price on this thing i can find
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.