728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 12-1/2 in. x 12-1/2 in. Aluminum Hawk

12-1/2 in. x 12-1/2 in. Aluminum Hawk

The Wal-Board Tools DH-50 Aluminum Hawk is lightweight, durable and strong, with rounded corners for safety. The 12-1/2 in. square heavy-gauge aluminum top has a grain finish and circular grooves to keep your plaster or joint compound from sliding. The secure wood handle and rubberized grip offer cushioned comfort for your hands. It is reusable and will not rust.
Overall rating:
4.071 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product11 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(9)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product11 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for 12-1/2 in. x 12-1/2 in. Aluminum Hawk
Review 1 for 12-1/2 in. x 12-1/2 in. Aluminum Hawk
from Hartford, CT.
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Just what I needed

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this hawk to use on a 120 square foot ceiling skim-coat project I was doing with regular joint compound and a 11" trowel. Made the project much easier than some of the hack stuff I've seen where people just scoop straight out of the bucket with the trowel or use a paint scraper instead of the the right tools. Keeps the trowel loaded evenly and keeps the trips up and down the ladder and back and forth to compound bucket low.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12-1/2 in. x 12-1/2 in. Aluminum Hawk
from Salt Lake City

Perfect Tool for the Job

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This hawk worked great for the small job I needed to use it for. Easy to handle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12-1/2 in. x 12-1/2 in. Aluminum Hawk
from Montana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Hard to screw this one up. It simply is what it is. Decent product at a decent price.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12-1/2 in. x 12-1/2 in. Aluminum Hawk
from New England

Thumbs Down

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Noticed on first use the rivets on the surface are loose which catches the edge of my drywall knives. This can damage the edge of your knives. Returning it to HD.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12-1/2 in. x 12-1/2 in. Aluminum Hawk

Low cost hawk

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this hawk in-store. Assembled properly, carriage bolt was correct size. The wood handle was unfinished, and sort of rough. I did a quick sand with 200 grit sandpaper and sprayed three coats of polyurethane. The surface of the hawk had a lot of burrs from where the circular grooves had been cut. I took the same 200 grit sandpaper and it easily smoothed the burrs off.
You could spend 30, 40, or 50 dollars on a rubber grip, magnesium hawk, but aluminum is still very light, and with a little TLC, the handle is very comfortable for me. For the price, this is great for someone who wants to use a hawk without shelling out $40.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Straight, Great Value, Easy to Clean
Cons: factory finish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12-1/2 in. x 12-1/2 in. Aluminum Hawk

Mud

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works like would expect. Large enough to hold a good amount of material. Very comfortable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12-1/2 in. x 12-1/2 in. Aluminum Hawk
from Oregon
Gender:Female

Nice

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After using homemade ceiling tools, this was nice. Light, nice edge for wiping the knife, and works well for applying a wipe-down texture to the ceiling. Recommend having a stiff brush on hand to clean it, as mud gets in the grooves and probably dries there in the course of getting the job done. Well worth the small cost.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12-1/2 in. x 12-1/2 in. Aluminum Hawk
from Pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

This product is lightweight but durable

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have found that this hawk is very lightweight but very durable. It makes mudding the drywall very fast and efficient. The hawk is also very easy to clean and since it is aluminum it will not rust.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12-1/2 in. x 12-1/2 in. Aluminum Hawk

Adequate for the DIY

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Reasonable for the do it yourselfer... Compare with the pros @ $30+ dollars and more...
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12-1/2 in. x 12-1/2 in. Aluminum Hawk
from Vicksburg, MI 49097, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Made spreading dry wall mud smooth and easy

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was nice to hold and smooth on a few coats of dry wall mud. easy to clean too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12-1/2 in. x 12-1/2 in. Aluminum Hawk

excellent

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I,m a pro and used it for 10 hours a day for 2.5 days.Could be a little larger but lighter than my magnesium.Seal the handle>
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean
Cons: Leaks, Dirty, Noisy, Vibrates, No Instructions, Too Big
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12-1/2 in. x 12-1/2 in. Aluminum Hawk
from Mass
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Lightweight, easy assembly.

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Simple tool that does what it should. Ergonomically comfortable. Only used it a couple of times so far, but I expect it to last well for my homeowner needs.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12-1/2 in. x 12-1/2 in. Aluminum Hawk

Cheap product handle spins during use

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible product handle does not secure tight to metal part spins wen I use it
Cons: Difficult to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12-1/2 in. x 12-1/2 in. Aluminum Hawk
from co
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

wrong size carriage bolt

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unable to use/had to return as included carriage bolt for handle was 3/8" diam. and female adapter on the aluminum bolt circle is only 1/4". If I had the correct size tap and die I could make it work, but you'd expect a tool with 3 parts could include the correct fittings.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.