728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Power Rollers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for PaintMate Plus 9 in. Manual-Trigger Paint Roller

PaintMate Plus 9 in. Manual-Trigger Paint Roller

The Wagner PaintMate Plus 9 in. Manual-Trigger Paint Roller holds 22 oz. of paint, enough to cover up to 7 ft. x 10 ft. of your work surface in one fill. The manual trigger helps provide easy, even application.
Overall rating:
4.317 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product34 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(26)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product34 of 39reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for PaintMate Plus 9 in. Manual-Trigger Paint Roller
Review 1 for PaintMate Plus 9 in. Manual-Trigger Paint Roller
KSTpa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for Medium to large jobs

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just used this to paint most of a 3 bed townhouse - 3 beds, 2 baths, Hallway, Stairs, Living Rm and breakfast area all in approx. 6 hrs with matching paint so no cutting in or ladder work required it is perfect for the job. Originally bought it 2 years ago and used to paint the externals of a 4 bed home - worked well there too. Excellent value for money. Only downside is the clean-up. but 30 mins. to save several hrs and the tedium and possible mess of a normal roller setup, is worth it!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, value !!!
Cons: Difficult to Clean, an adaptor for a 5 gallon bucket would be great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PaintMate Plus 9 in. Manual-Trigger Paint Roller
ecommunicator
from Mt Dora, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for big paint projects

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice, well weighted and easy to use auto-roller that will make painting large areas much easier. It works well as long as you are careful about the amount of paint you dispense. Too much and the roller begins to drip and splash - too little and you get inconsisitent coverage and speckling caused by unpainted low spots. I did find it doesn't like the new, thicker paints - it won't easily draw them up into the reservoir. It lets you cover very large areas in a single fill without having to continually reload the roller from a tray. This makes the paint job look more consistent and substantially cuts down on the time it takes to complete a paint project. Easy to use and not too bad to clean (the suctions tube needs to be properly cleaned out or you'll kill the unit for any future use). They have an excellent selection of replacement parts and the special rollers needed are not horrifically priced - I found the rollers very high quality and made of a material that cleans really well. The paint is distributed to the roller knap through a series of holes inside the roller core and these are easy to clean and unclog. In fact, the entire unit is pretty easy to clean since it can be easily dissasembled, cleaned and reassembled. The unit is priced below $30.00 and I'd highly recommend it, especially if you have to paint ceilings or multiple walls.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PaintMate Plus 9 in. Manual-Trigger Paint Roller
lkmuller
from Hawaii

Worked like a charm

PostedFebruary 22, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used it to paint my deck and it saved me hours of work. The trigger allows you to regulate how much paint is being supplied to the roller and that helps immensely.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PaintMate Plus 9 in. Manual-Trigger Paint Roller
MARCO
from Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT PRODUCT, A MUST HAVE FOR PAINTING LARGE ROOM AND HALLWAYS

PostedApril 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My co-worker recommend the paint stick. I'm glad i was smart enough to take his advice. I was a disbeliver until I notice I had done the room in less than an hour. YEAP, LESS 1 HOUR TO PAINT A 20 X 25 ROOM (3 WALLS WITH VAULTED CEILING) Once you figure out your stroke pattern and trigger clicks, painting was a breeze. NO DRIPS OR SPRATER. GREAT PRODUCT. This was my first large major painting project. Painting time was reduce by at least 70-80 percent. So, if you only use it once-it's worth the time and effort. Price for the paint stick who cares. ($23-29) Who cares it's great product. . I saved myself at $1800 bucks or more.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, trigger action is great
Cons: spare parts not available at local store, not a con- but would be nice to have an 3" roller
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PaintMate Plus 9 in. Manual-Trigger Paint Roller
BTVSJ
from Orlando, FL, USA

Great time saver.

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Other than having to be a little creative to fill the unit from a 5 gallon bucket this item has been a great time saver. I used it on mobile home aluminum siding and had no problem with coverage except about a 1/2 inch gap where one row fit over the one underneath.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PaintMate Plus 9 in. Manual-Trigger Paint Roller
Dman
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product but seals will fail quickly

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As far as I'm concerned regular manual rollers are terrible. Spend so much time rolling the pan and bending over. These paint sticks are AWESOME time and trouble savers. But some caviats. I've had these in the past. Old ones used a ball and spring at the filler valve, now they use a duckbill style rubber piece. I pulled mine from years ago and it just simply wouldn't fill no matter what I tried. So I bought a new one. They are a bit better now, kinda. Worked great for 4-5 cleans and maybe 10 gallons, then seal that keeps paint from leaking out of inside roller starting to leak, then the duckbill (filler) just doesn't close- sprays paint out when you squeeze! VERY dissapointed it fails so quick. I cleaned well and vasoline'd all rubber parts each use. So I called and Wagner will send part for 1.50 (plus shipping) but takes "7-10 days". Doesn't help much. Local not available. Hey Wagner- please sell a rebuild/seal kit. They could profit from like $10 reseal baggie of <10 rubber parts and make many happy customers. Also rollers are scarce and $6-8 each. I can use once, clean, use again, but then gotta toss as they start falling apart. Wagner brand ok but I discovered Wooster makes rollers and I thought they are much better. Comes with enough petro jelly for maybe 3 cleanings. If you're using for 1-2 rooms- buy w/o hesitation. More and it'll fall apart on you. Also to avoid 'lines' I put slight pressure on leading side of roller and get pretty close to smooth finish.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Clean, seals fail after a few uses
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PaintMate Plus 9 in. Manual-Trigger Paint Roller
Wendy
from St Charles, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice not having to use a pan

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this roller to paint the interior of my house, and not having to deal with a paint pan is a plus. I could get on the ladder and paint away. Plus the coverage is good and the paint goes alot further. Would highly recommend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PaintMate Plus 9 in. Manual-Trigger Paint Roller
mthines
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easier Painting

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Made my paint project much easier. Clean up takes sometime, but worth it.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Easy to Apply
Cons: takes time to clean thoroughly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PaintMate Plus 9 in. Manual-Trigger Paint Roller
djm1
from Farmington Hills, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This item is a huge time saver!!!

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have over a dozen rental properties, this is my favorite tool to get a vacant home up and ready to rent. I set up a central tarp area for refiling the unit and I just start rolling. I buy these 3 or four at a time. If I am working at a house for several days I just wrap the paintmate in a heavy duty garbage bag and continue painting when I return. Since I have a day job this allows me to come and go and paint when I find time. at only $24 if it gets to dirty I'll throw it out . The time saved is worth much more. I love this product.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PaintMate Plus 9 in. Manual-Trigger Paint Roller
CynthiaM
from Kent, WA, USA
Gender:Female

Wish this was around years ago!

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Virtually no assembly needed. Just attached couple of parts and ready to go from box, Greatly reduced paint time. Make painting not such a chore. Wish this tool had been around years ago. Best investment I've made this year!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
Cons: be careful laying down when paint still in roller.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PaintMate Plus 9 in. Manual-Trigger Paint Roller
Jimbo
from Lakewood, CA 90712
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes painting Fast and easy

PostedJune 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Read other reviews and decided to get the roller and was amazed pretty quickly. Laid the paint down nice and smooth. I think I had 2 drips while doing my wall. Cleanup is a little work but well worth the trade off of what a nice job it did on the walls. Should of got this a long time ago.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PaintMate Plus 9 in. Manual-Trigger Paint Roller
klkhv
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Must Have

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this paint stick for about 10 years now. LOVE IT. I just had to paint my entire house to get it ready to rent out and couldn't find it - OH NO!!! Lets just say I did the first coat the "old fashioned way"... never again. I will be stopping at HD to purchase it on my way to the house. This saves time and paint, no trays needed, and really, no drop cloths needed. Don't go crazy and pump too much in the handle or you'll have splatters... My only complaint is the "straw" only really works with a paint can, what do you do if you have the big five gallon bucket? I bought a smaller bucket that fits the lid, but it's too short and I had to trim the straw... that's my only negative... make some more money people and sell a spare bucket for those of us buying a ton of paint at once. Except maybe people that buy that much paint use a sprayer, I don't know. Buy a couple extra rolls, finish the job in one day and just toss the roll rather than washing it out - that's what I do. The rolls are so cheap, it doesn't matter. Really, it's worth it to just toss the entire thing every time if you don't feel like cleaning. I have not tried the trim version, I'm not sure that would be worth it, there's not really anything out there that's going to get into the corner except a good ol' brush... just spend the money on the good brushes and you'll be done a lot more quickly!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: only works with a gallon paint can...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By Wagner Spray TechOctober 25, 2013By Wagner Spray TechOctober 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We very much appreciate it. We do have a 5 gallon adapter you can order directly from Wagner by calling 1-800-760-3844.WagnerSprayTech
Review 13 for PaintMate Plus 9 in. Manual-Trigger Paint Roller
MK49

Makes painting much faster

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to use. It would be handy to have the lid be see-through, so you could see how much paint is left in the can.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PaintMate Plus 9 in. Manual-Trigger Paint Roller
RoxyBee
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

A good bet pays off

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have to say I have bought enough of these to have bought an airless paint sprayer. Thing is that I don't want to deal with that kettle of fish. We had to paint an entire house very quickly, had to worry about new floors, and a platoon of inexperienced painters. We had really fast and great results. We even used oil based primer with it and it performed admirably! I hate to think of going back to regular rollers. Cleaning them is a pain but paint prep and clean up is never pleasant!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PaintMate Plus 9 in. Manual-Trigger Paint Roller
mykidzmom
from Compton, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product!

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this product. Easy to setup, good paint coverage and a reasonable price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PaintMate Plus 9 in. Manual-Trigger Paint Roller
MamaRowley
from West Lafayette Indiana
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Time Saver - worth it!

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this product off the shelf for 14.00. I painted my daughter's 11X10 room in an 2 hours. The rolling took an hour, the cutting took the longest. All while she was taking a a nap. This was a great time saver and would buy it a 100 times over. I will not paint without it. It gives your arms a little bit of a workout, but that might be just because I do not work my arms out much. Small trade off to not go up and down a ladder and dipping the roller! I am a little over 5 foot and to not get on and off a ladder was great. You really have to get the roller soaked with the paint. There is a little more waste of paint, but its not too terribly much more. You might want to keep that in mind. Make sure to have a drop cloth under the roller. I had a quite a few drips. I think when you are pushing the paint to the roller to keep rolling as you are doing it. It will help not drip.That is just figuring it out and getting used to it. I might have been a little aggressive with it since our walls just drink up paint. Clean up was a tiny little bit more just because there were a few more pieces. I did it in the tub (snowing outside) and it wasn't bad. Nothing to turn me off. All in all, it was great. Worked awesome for me. I'd pay 14 dollars for this any day of the week and will not paint without it anymore!! I have more motivation to finish the 3 other rooms that need it done!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PaintMate Plus 9 in. Manual-Trigger Paint Roller
gotitdone
from Indiana, USA

So much easier!!!

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It took a minute to work the paint thru the roller at first. But very easy to use! Loved that the mess was lessened buy 95% vs, regular roller. I highly recomend for ceiling painting! Walls also, but definatly ceiling!
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PaintMate Plus 9 in. Manual-Trigger Paint Roller
DailyPainter

Started leaking the second time we used it

PostedJune 10, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked great, until the second time we used it and paint leaked EVERYWHERE.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PaintMate Plus 9 in. Manual-Trigger Paint Roller
simiprohandiman
from Conway, AR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

much faster than dip and drip

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
very good tool. painted 3 rooms and the hall much faster and neater than with a roller and tray or bucket. takes some practice to feed paint at the the right speed and it takes a little more work to clean but other than that it works well. i would even use this with a paint crew.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PaintMate Plus 9 in. Manual-Trigger Paint Roller
Prissypat
from Missouri City, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased 2 Wagner Paint Mates. The first application and loading of paint was good. Tried to refill container to continue painting, container leaked profusely from the loading connector. The Wagner Paint Mate was hard to refill once the paint level was mid-way. Had to purchase other painting tools, i.e. paint brushes, and roller pads. The Wagner Paint Mate was a waste of money and time.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Leaks, hard to refill, hard to clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>