728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Closet Organizer Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Aromatic Cedar Natural Closet Liner Planks

Aromatic Cedar Natural Closet Liner Planks

Discover what many do-it-yourselfers, builders, architects, and designers already know - CedarSafe Natural Closet Liners provide forest-fresh aroma and moth protection in a form that is safe, natural, inexpensive and easy to install. Line closets, cabinets and pantry, while protecting your garments and other valuables from insect pests and mildew, with the rich look of solid Aromatic Eastern Redcedar tongue and groove planks. Modern home and condo owners, as well as apartment dwellers, are rediscovering the wisdom of yesterday's ways, including the concept of a cedar closet. Unhappy with foul smelling and potentially harmful chemicals, many are opting for the natural protection of cedar. Whether updating a closet, a total home remodel or new build, include the protection of natural, aromatic cedar planking in master bedroom and bathroom closets, off-season attic and basement storage areas, pantries and under sink cabinets in the kitchen, bath and laundry room.
Overall rating:
3.293 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
64%of customersrecommend this product34 of 53reviews
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(19)
3
(3)
2
(6)
1
(14)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
64%of customersrecommend this product34 of 53reviews
Customer reviews for Aromatic Cedar Natural Closet Liner Planks
Review 1 for Aromatic Cedar Natural Closet Liner Planks
Uncage
from SC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Excellent results with a little care and patience

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used several packs to completely line a small closet in which I've been having some mold issues. This is a natural product, so some variation is to be expected -- not necessarily a quality problem. There were maybe 2 or 3 partial boards per box,I had ZERO waste from all the boxes I used (all of the boards were salvageable) and the end result looks fantastic. Occasionally, a board required some extra cutting or sanding to get the grooves to fit properly, but if you take your time and pre-fit each piece it is not that difficult to produce a nice result. For mounting I used paneling adhesive and a small brad nailer, and I did some advance planning to make sure I used left and right ends to fit together so there would be no waste.
Totally satisfied with this project.
Pros: Durable, Functional, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Aromatic Cedar Natural Closet Liner Planks
Maurice
from Ontario, Canada
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Good product

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the third time I have purchased CedarSafe boards. 100% of the time the boards were the full length of the package - 80% of the boards are "perfect" - minor imperfections, roughness, knotholes, cracks etc. were not serious enough to discard any pieces. Over time the initial bright pink shade fades and, depending on humidity, there may be significant shrinkage/swelling/cupping so be sure to allow space for expansion/contraction and use panel pins through to the studs in addition to adhesive if mounting on drywall.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Well Made, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Aromatic Cedar Natural Closet Liner Planks
ToddB
from Home owner from Boston
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

VERY crooked!

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two packs to line a blanket chest (lining and tills) and have extra. It took both packs to come up with a single pack's worth of usable wood! I'm a hobbyist woodworker and I'm no stranger to milling lumber with a jointer and a planer. This wasn't simply bent, such that you could still nail it to a surface and never know. It was crooked and completely unusable as long pieces. In theory I could have cut it up into MUCH shorter pieces which would have minimized the effects, much like when cutting longer lumber before jointing it to minimize loss. There is simply no way I could of used this material to cover a wall. The crook was over an INCH! See photo. I returned the crooked material and pleaded with them not to resell it.
As for odor... eastern red cedar is ... eastern red cedar. Period. The odor that it's covetted for is the oils in it. These oils evaporate over time and it becomes less "smelly". Please don't rate a product poorly because it exhibits TOO MUCH of what it's wanted for! The odor is what keeps the insects away. I also purchased the cedar oil from HD, which isn't cheap, but it enriches the color a bit and freshens the odor.
I'm happy with the wood that wasn't crooked, but the QC of those packages is just awful. There were a few knots, but nothing too bad.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Aromatic Cedar Natural Closet Liner Planks
bill

How to make this material work

PostedJune 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The other reviews are correct about quality and installation difficulties. This material is naturally brittle making it difficult to nail. Forget about using just glue. The instructions say you can use just glue, but do not try, it will not work. To nail you must use a pneumatic brad gun or drill holes for finish nails. Blind nailing through the tongues can be achieved if you are skilled.
They pack the box with two very nice boards showing through the window and hide the bad stuff behind it. I needed 8 boxes to get 5 boxes of usable material. The boxes can be opened without damage, so I put the unusable boards back in the boxes and returned three of them. No problem. I made sure really ugly boards were showing through the box window, so no one would buy them and they would be shipped back to the company that made them. This is the aproach I recommend be taken.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Aromatic Cedar Natural Closet Liner Planks
kris

no quality control

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this because I recently expanded my closet. The planks are tongue and groove; however, they do not fit well together. There are some places where part of the tongue or groove is missing. The depth of the tongues and grooves are not consistent- so at times the tongue is wider than the groove. The width of the planks are not consistent. I had several pieces that were an 1/8" wider than the rest. Some sections got skipped when the edges were beveled. Some of the planks are crowned. I am very disappointed in the result and will end up covering it with carpet.
Cons: Difficult to Install, Appearance, no quality control during manufacturing
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Aromatic Cedar Natural Closet Liner Planks
changes21st
from Tehachapi, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Great smell. Poor quality control

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I only recommended this product because there are few alternative choices. Which I guess is why no one at the company seems to care what they pack in the box. You have to expect 1/3 unusable boards due to warpage, splitting and the like. Some of the planks can be muscled into straight position but be warned: this isn't an easy product to work with.
In the end though, the smell and ambiance is terrific. I just wish they had better quality control.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Install, lots and lots of bad boards in every package.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Aromatic Cedar Natural Closet Liner Planks
dcap55
from Illinois
Gender:Male

Great product for the closet, would recommend it!

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall very easy to work with for a DIYer. Very easy installation with a finish nailer over drywall. Had a few warped planks, but nothing I couldn't work around. Thought it kind of odd that each carton contained 2 12" pieces and 2 36" pieces. All of the rest were 48". All 48" would have been just as well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Vibrant Color, Looks Great, easy for a diy project.
Cons: some warped planks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Aromatic Cedar Natural Closet Liner Planks
TheForensicGuy
from Lake Elsinore, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Barely useable

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The planks are tongue & groove, which SHOULD allow for a great installation. However, the planks are severely warped laterally across the grain so the joints can't meet -- no way to bring them back into alignment without heat/steam!! Had to re-cut and re-machine the entire lot, losing about 40% of the material in the end. Save your money, unless you just want a bunch of little pieces to hang in lots of closets!
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Aromatic Cedar Natural Closet Liner Planks
John

I used the planks for lining a trunk. It worked great.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product has good fit, was free of defects, I would use it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Aromatic Cedar Natural Closet Liner Planks
tobafett
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Material was poorly machined

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of setup 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was dissapointed in how this material was machined. Its 1/4" thick, which is really too thin in my opinion, and the tongue and grooving was inconsistent and the end matching was inconsistent. the machines used for this can be adjusted for more accuracy.
I do not recommend this for anything other than a small wall behind storage. If you do use this, I urge you to use lots of construction adhesive and a pneumatic nailer to apply it. I would not use this for a customer's job but I used it in my own house. Allow the material to acclimate to the space its going in for a couple of days. I had trouble with cupping and splitting after installing it on a very humid day.
I have contacted the manufacturer and they are responsive and asked for documentation of the problems.
Red cedar is very hard to work with, it splits easily, very knotty etc. It takes a light touch to use this stuff.
Pros: smells good
Cons: Difficult to Install
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Aromatic Cedar Natural Closet Liner Planks
rosiekay
from Kingwood, TX

Affordable, Easy to cut w/jigsaw and good blade, REQUIRES PATIENCE

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
52" w by 23.5-ish deep x 8ft high, required 5 boxes.
Only 1 really flawed piece in the bunch I purchased.
The sliding and clicking into the groove requires more of a gentle touch and can sometimes be stubborn. I failed to really carefully look at the finished ends, but for the few fubars I made, I resolved it, artistic license and all. IT DOES SPLIT, especially nailing the small corner pieces I had to use for the diagonal run. If using something like Loctite which I did, just put pressure on it and slide it together and it's as if the hairline crack disappears. All in all for the price, I think the value is there. One more shelf and rod (metallic copper spray painted) to put in below the upper one. Seasonal storage. Waiting for the cedar oil I ordered before loading it up. Not being able to work on it in one stretch, door open and close, open and closed, the aroma has lightened. But still there. I dolled it up to the 9's even tho most trim pieces aren't visible but just had to do it. They say one cedar closet in a house is fine. Next time tho, with what I learned, I'll do it again if I had to or wanted to. Happy Cedaring!!! rosiekay
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
15out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Aromatic Cedar Natural Closet Liner Planks
Kevin
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Good, but could have been straighter

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works okay, but warped pieces can be very difficult to work with when it is tongue and groove material. Better accuracy should be provided in such expensive material.
Pros: Looks Great, Durable, Functional, Looks High End
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Aromatic Cedar Natural Closet Liner Planks
Sturdo

Doesn't work.

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
None of the pieces are square. You have to cut them individually to make squar so there won't be gaps between each row. Also the groves on about a third are damaged.
Cons: not square, damaged
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Aromatic Cedar Natural Closet Liner Planks
MaineMary
from Bangor ME
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Poor Quality

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you are going to panel a wall you need the panels to be straight. Many of the planks are so warped that they cannot be used. Had to make a run back to Home Depot to get enough to finish the job. Unnecessary expense and time wasted.
Pros: affordable
Cons: not straight, random lengths
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Aromatic Cedar Natural Closet Liner Planks
GrillLover
from Texas

Easy and attractive

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These planks provide an easy and fast method to provide a new look to a room or closet. I am pleased with the end result. What I'm disappointed in is the quality. I had many pieces in each box that were not straight enough or they were damaged enough that made them unusable. Some were cracked or split. Some the tongue/grooves were broken off. I also realize that with wood it's all chance, but some boxes had a really good variety of grains/colors and some the entire box looked the same. You really do need to open all the boxes and mix/match before installing. Overall I'm satisfied, except I needed more than I planned for because of the unusable pieces.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
Cons: low quality control
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Aromatic Cedar Natural Closet Liner Planks
kaliel
from south fulton tn
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

beautiful planks

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this planks, I think the quality is very nice, and for me was very easy to work with, I liked that fact that one side is smooth and the other ruff, so it was easy to pick the side.
one thing that I found, was I could use clear coat of poly... and the cedar smell was still there,
this is also great for other rooms too, not just limited to the closet, I used it in my den area and it looks awesome..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Vibrant Color, Excellent Quality, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Aromatic Cedar Natural Closet Liner Planks
nonicknameingallatin
from TN

A little goes a long way

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Covered just the area of my closet that is behind actual hanging clothes. I had done this in my old house. This area, if the aromatic cedar is kept "active" (not sealed over by the crystals that form over time) by an occasional light sanding with fine steel wool, should keep my winter wools protected for years to come. Anyone who cannot afford to completely panel a closet or who, like me, doesn't feel confident in his/her skills to remove and re-install closet hardware shelves, can use a smaller amount of this product for an excellent result!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Aromatic Cedar Natural Closet Liner Planks
Eolian
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64

Not all usable

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had found that all but a couple of boxes had previously been opened by the broken seals. I found mostly warped and unusable wood. I'm guessing that this was returned after being picked through from other boxes. I returned all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Aromatic Cedar Natural Closet Liner Planks
Delta
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Excellent product

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Aromatic Cedar Natural Closet Liner Planks have a wonderful aroma and bugs such as termites and moths stay away from it. The wood also has a natural beauty.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Excellent Quality, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Aromatic Cedar Natural Closet Liner Planks
Kael
from Columbus, GA

Cedar Safe Natural Closet Liner

PostedMay 26, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product idea is great.
Product quality is poor. Too thin, edges shred and break off when installing. Slats are inconsistent in width and edges are crushed from shipping.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>