728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner

64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner

Remove built-up wax and polish from your vinyl floors with Armstrong New Beginning 64 oz. Floor Stripper and Cleaner. The ready-to-use formula removes tough ground-in dirt. This product contains no phosphates. The plastic container is recyclable (No. 2).
Overall rating:
4.538 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product12 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product12 of 13reviews
Customer reviews for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
Review 1 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AMAZING!

PostedMay 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although it's not recommended for laminate floors, it worked wonders! Our renters moved out of our rental house and the floors were disgusting! They had a waxy dirty residue on them that was almost impossible to remove. I spent 1/2 a day cleaning the floors in the master bedroom with a scrub brush on my hands and knees and tried many different types of cleaners and degreasers and the floors were coming out relatively clean. I picked up a bottle of this stuff and finished the rest of the house in less time than I spent in just the master bedroom. I put it in a spray bottle and did a 6'X6' area or so at a time. I'd spray it on the floor and let it sit for 5 minutes or so. Then took a brush on a pole and worked it around a little bit. By the time I started working it around it was like I was pushing around puddles of muddy water (which was the residue coming off of the floor). After working it around with the brush I used a sponge mop and a bucket of clean water to soak up all of the nastiness that had been dislodged from the floor. The floors looked like new again! I went back over the master bedroom with a light coating to get off what my previous cleaning method had missed.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome product....don't hesitate to try this.

PostedJune 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My 25+ year old kitchen floor had years of dirty build up, and I really didn't have much hope for it. This stuff is amazing, though! It cut right through it and made a HUGE difference! It doesn't smell horrible either. I have a pretty large kitchen, so I did use almost two bottles, and it took me about 3 hours. I still need to use the Shine Keeper to bring some shine back to the floor, but that should be easy. Overall, extremely happy with this product!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
from Winston-Salem, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is absolutely awesome!

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product after deciding that it was worth it to give it a try. I thought my kitchen and dining room floors were a lost cause. 10 years of wax build up made them look horrible and I was close to spending hundreds to replace them. It took some serious elbow grease but it was well worth the effort. My floors now look brand new. I won't be using any other product on my floors from now on. Be sure to use the floor finish after stripping. These 2 products are unbelievable!
Pros: High Quality, unbelievable outcome for money spent
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
from NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

20 year old floor

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this product after I replaced some Armstrong Vinyl Tiles in my basement. I noticed the color difference immediately caused by years of ground in dirt, graying, and built up wax and cleaning products. I tried ammonia, vinegar, baking soda and finally this product. It gets great reviews online and I put in on heavily and let it sit before I scrubbed and scrubbed and scrubbed. It did a decent job of cleaning old paint, scuff marks, glue and odd spots. I couldn't get the white tiles to look white though like they were new again. I think I will have to rent a floor buffer from Home Depot
Pros: inexpensive, no toxic smell
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
from Louisville, KY

awesome product

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The armstrong floor stripper is the only product I have found that will remove old wax & film off of a peel & stick linoleum floorwithout any damage. Product is a little strong, so would advise to use gloves, but does the job with little effort. Would definately reccommend this product for hard to clean kitchen floors that are high traffic areas!!
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
from New City, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It really works

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After many manufacturers claims that their product is the greatest since sliced bread, this was the only product that did what they claimed. It really worked on my dirty vinyl flooring.
Pros: High Quality
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
from Delaware

Makes your old floor look like new.

PostedApril 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product for years on my no wax linoleum flooring. My kitchen floor is primarily white with blue accents and is 13 years old. It gets the ground in dirt that gets into the little crevices. The key is to let the product sit for a minute or two on a small section before scrubbing. I use a scotch sponge, the green side. It doesn't scratch, and then I finish with a premium floor wax/polish. I put about 3 coats and it shines like day one!
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
from Lomita, CA

Outstanding!

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product on vinyl flooring and it was great! I live in an apartment and although I mop regularly I am certain that there were years of ground in dirt. This product quickly and easily removed it all and left me with a new floor.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
from Oakland, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love!!

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After 11 years of waxing my bathroom floor, I decided to go "natural." This product did exactly what it is supposed to do: removed years of wax with little effort. My floor is fabulous, and I am happy!
Pros: Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner

Better than I could have imagined!

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This ready-to-use product did an amazing job removing dirt and wax build-up from my no-wax vinyl floor. (I'll never use wax on the floor again- what a disaster!) I was concerned at first about using a product labeled "stripper" but because it was Armstrong and because it stated that it was designed for no-wax vinyl, I tried it. All the yellowed, splotchy wax is gone and my floor looks nearly new and shiny.
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
from slc
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

too expensive, too slow

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your money. Go to the Dollar Store and get some ammonia. Did test side by side. Ammonia worked twice as fast and did a more thorough job at removing the wax. I am a cleaning freak, very fussy. Would have loved a product that just magically melted the wax away. This is not that product.
Cons: expensive to use slow to lift wax
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner

Does the job!

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this product. This sort of work always requires lots of elbow grease but you don't mind putting in the effort if the product works.....THIS ONE DOES!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works great but

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My kitchen floor was so bad i needed 2 bottles...And i put it on thick but it worked..But the labor was the hard part..Next time I will pay the $150 and have it done.. Just to much work...It took 6 hours...
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.