728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner

64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner

Remove built-up wax and polish from your vinyl floors with Armstrong New Beginning 64 oz. Floor Stripper and Cleaner. The ready-to-use formula removes tough ground-in dirt. This product contains no phosphates. The plastic container is recyclable (no. 2).
Overall rating:
4.65 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product19 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(17)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product19 of 20reviews
Customer reviews for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
Review 1 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AMAZING!

PostedMay 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Although it's not recommended for laminate floors, it worked wonders! Our renters moved out of our rental house and the floors were disgusting! They had a waxy dirty residue on them that was almost impossible to remove. I spent 1/2 a day cleaning the floors in the master bedroom with a scrub brush on my hands and knees and tried many different types of cleaners and degreasers and the floors were coming out relatively clean. I picked up a bottle of this stuff and finished the rest of the house in less time than I spent in just the master bedroom. I put it in a spray bottle and did a 6'X6' area or so at a time. I'd spray it on the floor and let it sit for 5 minutes or so. Then took a brush on a pole and worked it around a little bit. By the time I started working it around it was like I was pushing around puddles of muddy water (which was the residue coming off of the floor). After working it around with the brush I used a sponge mop and a bucket of clean water to soak up all of the nastiness that had been dislodged from the floor. The floors looked like new again! I went back over the master bedroom with a light coating to get off what my previous cleaning method had missed.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome product....don't hesitate to try this.

PostedJune 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My 25+ year old kitchen floor had years of dirty build up, and I really didn't have much hope for it. This stuff is amazing, though! It cut right through it and made a HUGE difference! It doesn't smell horrible either. I have a pretty large kitchen, so I did use almost two bottles, and it took me about 3 hours. I still need to use the Shine Keeper to bring some shine back to the floor, but that should be easy. Overall, extremely happy with this product!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
from Curwensville, PA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Brand new floor!

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this on my Mom's 47 year old linoleum floor and it was amazing. Looks like she has a new floor!
The bottle says for no wax floors, but it worked great on the linoleum. Read someone else's suggestion and I had some old towels on hand, which worked well to help mop it up before I rinsed...Be sure and use some rubber gloves. I bought a couple jugs as it does take a little more than you think to do a kitchen floor. Was fun to use because the results were amazing.
Pros: Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
from Cleveland , Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great !

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wish I had found this product years ago , it's amazing! The basement rec room , 400 sqft of black and white check commercial grade linoleum . I was faced with years of built up wax other cleaners claimed worked and failed. Then I found New Beginning stripper. I found what worked best was using a sponge to spread it thickly over 4 by 4 ft , let it work for 3 minutes then use a scrubber to work it up. The secret is to use a mop not a sponge to collect the old wax you just brought out, what a difference. I used 2 buckets where I constantly replaced water for a clean finish .
Pros: Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
from Tennessee
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a miracle product!

PostedJuly 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was searching for something to clean my black and white linoleum tile in the kitchen. It was in good shape, but looked horrid. No amount of cleaning and scrubbing helped. I was ready to replace it before contacting Armstrong for advice. They suggested this product. I read the reviews and was hesitant due to the comments about the physical scrubbing involved. I forged ahead and bought some. I applied to the floor in an area about 2' square, then got distracted and forgot about it. What a wonderful way to find out that NO SCRUBBING was needed on this area, as I had inadvertently left it alone for about 15 minutes! Okay, so I did have to do some light scrubbing in corners and on some stubborn spots, which I did with a Scotch-brite green sponge/pad. I cannot tell you how happy I am with the results! There is no noxious odor and I didn't even use gloves, however, they are recommended. I realized the product would go farther if put in a spray bottle. The floor does have to be rinsed, but after the cleaning, I was left with a floor ready for a polish to be applied. If you have an old vinyl floor, give this a try. You have nothing to lose and a clean floor to gain!
Pros: Effective
Cons: none!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
from Louisville, KY

awesome product

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The armstrong floor stripper is the only product I have found that will remove old wax & film off of a peel & stick linoleum floorwithout any damage. Product is a little strong, so would advise to use gloves, but does the job with little effort. Would definately reccommend this product for hard to clean kitchen floors that are high traffic areas!!
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
from Grafton, WI

Super Clean Floors!

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We used this to clean 40 yr old vinyl floors in my daughter's apartment. This really lifted the grime and the floors look nearly new.
Pros: Great Instructions, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
from Winston-Salem, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is absolutely awesome!

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this product after deciding that it was worth it to give it a try. I thought my kitchen and dining room floors were a lost cause. 10 years of wax build up made them look horrible and I was close to spending hundreds to replace them. It took some serious elbow grease but it was well worth the effort. My floors now look brand new. I won't be using any other product on my floors from now on. Be sure to use the floor finish after stripping. These 2 products are unbelievable!
Pros: High Quality, unbelievable outcome for money spent
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
from Fullerton,Ca

Love this!

PostedJune 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Removes old wax easily ! Does a great job cleaning the floor.
Pros: Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
from NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

20 year old floor

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this product after I replaced some Armstrong Vinyl Tiles in my basement. I noticed the color difference immediately caused by years of ground in dirt, graying, and built up wax and cleaning products. I tried ammonia, vinegar, baking soda and finally this product. It gets great reviews online and I put in on heavily and let it sit before I scrubbed and scrubbed and scrubbed. It did a decent job of cleaning old paint, scuff marks, glue and odd spots. I couldn't get the white tiles to look white though like they were new again. I think I will have to rent a floor buffer from Home Depot
Pros: inexpensive, no toxic smell
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
from New City, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It really works

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After many manufacturers claims that their product is the greatest since sliced bread, this was the only product that did what they claimed. It really worked on my dirty vinyl flooring.
Pros: High Quality
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
from Delaware

Makes your old floor look like new.

PostedApril 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this product for years on my no wax linoleum flooring. My kitchen floor is primarily white with blue accents and is 13 years old. It gets the ground in dirt that gets into the little crevices. The key is to let the product sit for a minute or two on a small section before scrubbing. I use a scotch sponge, the green side. It doesn't scratch, and then I finish with a premium floor wax/polish. I put about 3 coats and it shines like day one!
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
from Oakland, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love!!

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After 11 years of waxing my bathroom floor, I decided to go "natural." This product did exactly what it is supposed to do: removed years of wax with little effort. My floor is fabulous, and I am happy!
Pros: Easy to Use
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
from Lomita, CA

Outstanding!

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this product on vinyl flooring and it was great! I live in an apartment and although I mop regularly I am certain that there were years of ground in dirt. This product quickly and easily removed it all and left me with a new floor.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner

Better than I could have imagined!

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This ready-to-use product did an amazing job removing dirt and wax build-up from my no-wax vinyl floor. (I'll never use wax on the floor again- what a disaster!) I was concerned at first about using a product labeled "stripper" but because it was Armstrong and because it stated that it was designed for no-wax vinyl, I tried it. All the yellowed, splotchy wax is gone and my floor looks nearly new and shiny.
Pros: Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
from long island
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
works great made my commercial tile floor look new again worked great
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
from slc
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

too expensive, too slow

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your money. Go to the Dollar Store and get some ammonia. Did test side by side. Ammonia worked twice as fast and did a more thorough job at removing the wax. I am a cleaning freak, very fussy. Would have loved a product that just magically melted the wax away. This is not that product.
Cons: expensive to use slow to lift wax
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner

Does the job!

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love this product. This sort of work always requires lots of elbow grease but you don't mind putting in the effort if the product works.....THIS ONE DOES!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner

Great

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Armstrong floor products are great for Armstrong floors
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 64 oz. New Beginning Floor Stripper and Cleaner
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works great but

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My kitchen floor was so bad i needed 2 bottles...And i put it on thick but it worked..But the labor was the hard part..Next time I will pay the $150 and have it done.. Just to much work...It took 6 hours...
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.