728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fastening Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer

2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer

The versatile Stanley 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer operates as a staple gun for use with materials such as ceiling tile and carpet padding and as a brad nailer for use with picture frames and moulding. The high/low power feature helps you match the output force for the material, while the anti-jam feature helps prevent jammed staples. The soft-grip handle and trigger offer comfort during operation.
Overall rating:
3.107 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
59%of customersrecommend this product16 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
3.1 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(9)
Quality 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
59%of customersrecommend this product16 of 27reviews
Customer reviews for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
Review 1 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
Shaheer
from Hoffman Estates, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Simple to use

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy and simple to use and speeds up your project price is the cheapest at Home Depot compared to Lowes, Sears and Menards
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
Riachelle
from Piney Flats, TN

Just a tip

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Some people complained that the sharpshooter stopped working for them. If your sharpshooter stops working altogether (before you trash it) open the stapler up and look at the area where the small black plate pushes out the staple. if you can see the plate, then it needs to be pushed back in where it is no longer visible. If it continues to hang up, a drop of WD-40 will get it sliding again. :) This happened to me and I thought the stapler was completely dead at first.
I deducted a star because I have to tap in the staples a bit when stapling a very hard wood. But for thirty bucks, it is a good stapler for household projects.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: not flush on hard woods
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
Bill
from Alsip, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will work on soft products only

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
If you have a job that requires penetration into soft wood or other soft substrates, this stapler will work. It will not penetrate hard woods.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: will not penetrate hard wood
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
TAP1
from Sacramento
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I managed to get it to shoot short staples to finish the seat recovering job (shooting through thin leather into a fairly soft wood backing). Next similar job it quit altogether. Dead. All said, this unit shot about 150 staples, give or take 50, and then found its final resting place in my trash can. Stay away from this product.
Cons: Not Durable, junk
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
jsp0511
from Yonkers, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked as expected, helped me get the job done quickly

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For $30, I was a bit skeptical about this nailer doing what I needed. I was simply stapling a screen like mesh across 45ft of our balcony railing to discourage our dogs from trying to squeeze through the bars. I thought the stapler might either jam or not push the nails deep enough. Thankfully I was wrong on both accounts and this stapler worked flawlessly. At times where I even expected to run out of staples, this thing just kept chugging away. I would recommend this stapler for odd jobs around the house though I'm not sure how it would hold up otherwise.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, helps avoid hand/arm fatigue
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
Chuck
from Lilburn, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Frustrating experience with stapler

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The package was open in the store. All of them were. It was the only option available to drive a larger than 9/16" brad. Unfortunately after loading the brads in the side indicated I have only been able to get it to fire three brads.
I have been unable to locate instructions at the Stanley Website either.
Buy it if you don't mind getting frustrated.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: No Instructions, does not work 95% of the time, instructions not available at mfr website.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
paul
from tampa

more garbage from China

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
used one day and worked fine. went to refill the staples/brads the following day and could not get the staples or brads to load properly or fire at all. I gave up . waste of money and time. Only used once and I am hoping H.D. gives me a replacement or comparable item in exchange. I am so tired of buying things that used to have a repudable name but now they are all garbage. same thing with Bl. & decker and several others. I would rather go on craigslist or a pawn shop and buy used but a better name from now on.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, garbage
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
pwuckpwuck
from Smyrna, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Meh

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's not a bad stapler, but even on the "strong" setting it's not strong enough to drive my 1/2" staples all the way into my canvas stretcher bars. And loading more staples is definitely not intuitive - you have to just drop the staples into the bottom of the gun. You'd think you could slide staples in along the channel that releases from the base but that doesn't work. Must have been designed by a committee.
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, needs more umph
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
brivera
from Bemidji, MN 56601, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not too powerful

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wanted to use it for some flooring underlay and to put up some wire raceways. I was never able to make the nails or the staples sink in all the way consistently. I will need another more powerful nailer for finishing the baseboards of my new wooden floor.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: inconsistent depth of nails and clips
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
coop
from Chicopee, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Compared to hand stapler this unit works very well. I was recovering a pool table and used over 100 staples using the hand stapler, most did not go in full depth and it took over two hours to complete one rail, with the automatic stapler all staples went in to full depth and I finished the other five rails in in two hours.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
cosmicdance

Great stapler!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For $30 this was just what we needed. We've been putting up insulation netting using 9/16" staples. Works fast, reliable and no jams through 3 boxes so far. Only downside is the long length of these staples means a hammer is required to put them all the way in so it does need a little more power. Remember to use earplugs with this.
I've dropped it 5 times with no issues so its pretty sturdy too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Light Weight
Cons: needs more power
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
jonbt
from Davidsonville
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wimpy stapler

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this for installing insulation between studs and stapling fabric to 2x4s because my old Craftsman finally quit. This thing is a wimp. Tried fiddling with the power adjusting knob, but even on the "plus" power setting, it would not drive 3/8" staples flush. Used Stanley staples. This thing just has no power, and I would not recommend it unless you are stapling into foam or some really soft material. It has a little protruding nose piece which must be fully pressed in before the trigger will fire the next stapler, and this safety feature was a nuisance.
Cons: Difficult to Use, wimpy
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
dirtygmc

Works just fine.

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked this up to hang some insulation in an addition I'm working on. I don't know how other people are using this stapler, but it works great for what I'm doing. As long as you don't limp wrist it while working it will drive a 1/2" staple into whatever wood you need. This isn't a nail gun, you need to use it according. My only gripe is it only holds one stick of staples, but oh well. I have shot a good 5000 staples through it without any jams.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
Ray59330
from Montana

Great tool

PostedOctober 7, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This electric staple brad nailer is a wonderful tool. It has dual settings for power so you can determine the amount of force that is applied to the staple. The only problem I have with the stapler/nailer is I can't seem to find any nails for the blasted thing. Otherwise I would give it a 5 stars.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
KenL
from Madison,ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do not bother buying this product

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this stapler to make the reupholstering job I was doing a little easier. All I was doing was putting new seat coverings on some dining room chairs. So the staples were not going into hard wood. Bottom line is that this stapler did not make it easier. I ended up using an old arrow T-50 that I've had for years. It skipped staples a lot and did not fasten down the material even though I was only using 1/4" and 3/8" staples. Needless to say I returned it.
Cons: did not function as expected
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
Dinaspace

good product

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to pollster some furniture and it worked exactly as expected, fired the first and every time without a miss.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
patinalazina

Nice tool

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The tool is great. The directions and graphics are not. I had to go to Home Depot, bring the tool and directions to figure out how to load the nailer/stapler. Even the tool department guy had a difficult time figuring out the tool.
But I'm glad I bought it. It really works well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: unreadable directions
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
JoJa
from Buffalo ny
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a little apprehensive to purchase this after reading the reviews - but I really didn't' want to buy the pneumatic one. I am happy to say - I just finished upholstering 10 kitchen chairs without any problems. The staples load pretty easy after you see how they go in and the staples lie pretty flush as long as you use a little pressure.
Pros: Easy to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
JulieW
from Simi Valley, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job and works fine with T-50 staples!

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only problem I had with this staple gun is that the staples load in differently than in my old Arrow gun, and the intructions on loading them in are rather vague. So, I google searched and found what I was doing wrong and from then on it worked great. I only use T-50 staples so I don 't know what some people are talking about. It works fine with T-50s. End of story. It might not be able to nail boards for construction work, but for $30, heck, what do you expect? I would reccommend this staple gun for any household projects.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: instructions not clear
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
Diyer
from Santa Barbara
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst stapler ever

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Stapler never worked consistently from the day that I purchased it. My son was using a hand stapler on a project we were working on and he put in three times as many staples as I did with this electric model. After a very short period of time it stopped altogether. It now occupies a place in my trash.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, inconsistent operation
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>