728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer

2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer

The versatile Stanley 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer operates as a staple gun for use with materials such as ceiling tile and carpet padding and as a brad nailer for use with picture frames and moulding. The high/low power feature helps you match the output force for the material, while the anti-jam feature helps prevent jammed staples. The soft-grip handle and trigger offer comfort during operation.
Overall rating:
3.526 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(76 reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
69%of customersrecommend this product52 of 75reviews
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
3.5 out of 5
5
(29)
4
(19)
3
(4)
2
(11)
1
(13)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
69%of customersrecommend this product52 of 75reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
Review 1 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
from Conroe, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect for every job!

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased the electric Stanley Stapler/Brad Nailer so that I could repair and build things around the house without having to ask help from my husband. I just LOVE it! I have really bad arthritis in my hands and since it is light weight and has a easy to load feature, it makes everything that I'm working on a breeze! I no longer have to struggle to find different types of tools to fix something. I just pull out my Stanley. It is very easy to operate and accommodates a wide range of staples and brads. I just love the dial that increases or decreases the depth of the staples or brads. That makes it extremely convenient when I'm working on furniture or building things that are different thicknesses.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, Convenient
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
29out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
from Hoffman Estates, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Simple to use

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy and simple to use and speeds up your project price is the cheapest at Home Depot compared to Lowes, Sears and Menards
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
from Williamsburg, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great!

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wanted an electric stapler to use for securing insulation. There were two to choose from at the local HD store - this Stanley unit and the Arrow Pro Stapler. They were about the same price (within a couple dollars) but the Arrow had a plastic case which was the deciding factor for me. Big mistake. The Arrow unit constantly jammed. I tried different staple lengths (1/4" and 5/16") but it didn't make any difference. To compound the problem, the Arrow unit has no safety interlock. It will launch a staple anytime the trigger is pulled regardless of whether or not the gun is being pressed against a surface. So for safety you really need to unplug the unit any time there is a jam. So every 5 or 6 successful staples, it would jam, I'd unplug, dig out the jammed staple and proceed. After about an hour of that I gave up and took it back to the HD store and purchased this Stanley. What a difference. I completed the job (about 6 complete re-loads of the stapler) with only one jam with the Stanley. And the Stanley does have the safety interlock. No comparison. Buy the Stanley.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight, safety interlock, doesn't jam easily
Cons: no case
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
from Austin TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not for hard wood

PostedMarch 17, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In the middle of stapling new upholstery fabric to dining room chairs, my manual stapler broke. I purchased this one thinking that electric should work better. NOT! Most staples went in half way. I tried to hammer them the rest of the way. I had to remove many staples and retry. It took twice as long as my old stapler. The photo on the package shows that you need to hold the stapler with both hands. If I'm pulling fabric into place, I need three hands! I ended up using my shoulder to put pressure on the stapler where the photo showed the second hand.
Cons: Difficult to Use, not for hardwood
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
from Piney Flats, TN

Just a tip

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Some people complained that the sharpshooter stopped working for them. If your sharpshooter stops working altogether (before you trash it) open the stapler up and look at the area where the small black plate pushes out the staple. if you can see the plate, then it needs to be pushed back in where it is no longer visible. If it continues to hang up, a drop of WD-40 will get it sliding again. :) This happened to me and I thought the stapler was completely dead at first.
I deducted a star because I have to tap in the staples a bit when stapling a very hard wood. But for thirty bucks, it is a good stapler for household projects.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: not flush on hard woods
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
from Allentown, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

used to install attic baffles

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For the money, this is a good gun. It has a force adjustment, which is nice for an electric gun. It reliably fed the T50 staples from Arrow, their competitor. I used it to install foam baffles, which are soft and would be obliterated if the force was too high.
My one complaint with this tool is that the safety is too fussy. I was attaching EPS foam baffles, which are soft. The safety kept piercing the baffle, and the gun repeatedly would not fire. VERY annoying. I want to say that I'm a manufacturing engineer, and we buy many pneumatic staplers. It is important to have a safety, and please don't listen to the people on here who described how to defeat the safety. I just think that the safety is too fussy and should be re-evaluated.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great safety features and versatility

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used the brad nailing function for the first time on some really narrow trim and it worked great! I didn't want to drag in my huge compressor and nail gun, so I used the electric stapler/brad nailer instead. It had enough pressure to drive the brads all the way through the narrow trim moulding without splitting it. I was very happy with the results. I also liked that you could adjust the pressure with the turn of the dial to + or -.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
from woodhaven mi.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

lot better than expected

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
loading of staples was easy. getting used to the handling of tool was was abreeze. tool had enough power to do the job i had bought it for.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
from Lake Placid, FL.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very little driving force

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This stapler does not have the driving force to drive 1/2" staples into plywood.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: little driving force
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
from Renton, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's easier than hand stapling. Must hold it flat!

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I stapled a bunch of insulation using this stapler. You must hold it flat! If you angle the head at all, you won't get a good staple. It will bend the staple and give poor penetration. Hold it flat and it works great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
from Alsip, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will work on soft products only

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
If you have a job that requires penetration into soft wood or other soft substrates, this stapler will work. It will not penetrate hard woods.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: will not penetrate hard wood
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
from Ft Pierce, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works on some surfaces and not others

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Even set on high this stapler does not always drive the staple all the way in. It requires hammering the staple flush. This can sometimes cause the staple to bend rather than go flush.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
Age Range:35 to 44

Leaves Staple Marks when Brad feature used

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It does the job but when used for the brad feature on some quarter round for the baseboards it left marks from the staple feature. I had to use spackle to cover up the marks from that, for price if you want a good electric heavier duty stapler...it's fine, but would NOT recommend for brad feature on anything that you don't want dinged up. Spend a little more and get a real brad gun.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: stapler feature leaves marks when using brads
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
from Medford, OR
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Electric Stapler is AWESOME

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This Stanley Electric Stapler is the greatest newest invention for me. I am in my 60's and I have issues with my right hand. I was afraid that I would not be able to do a project to keep my small dogs in my yard. This power stapler enabled me to complete the job with ease and so much more quickly than my old manual stapler. It barely requires any pressure on the trigger. I can think of several more jobs to complete now such as reupholstering some overstuffed chairs. It is my new best "friend" in my garage.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
from Central TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works okay at best

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I bought this when I was replacing set covers in the dining room, my regular heavy duty stapler was not up to the task of going through the hard press board with 3/8 staples. This still could not do the job so I had to revert to my narrow crown air nailer.
For a person that get tired of punching staples in most work this would be a good purchase and I will keep it for that purpose.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer

Returned The Same Day

PostedJanuary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You get what you pay for. Purchased for a weekend baseboard and trim installation at home. Misfired a number of times leaving staple marks when I had it loaded with brads. After about 15 minutes of use it completely jammed up. Using a hammer and nails instead and dealing with the extra spackling. Save yourself the headache and spend a little more for a better product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
from Long Valley, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for small jobs

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The electric stapler is good for small jobs. However, even with 1/4" staples it wasn't strong enough to drive through MDF completely. The product is okay for small jobs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: not very powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
from Yonkers, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked as expected, helped me get the job done quickly

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For $30, I was a bit skeptical about this nailer doing what I needed. I was simply stapling a screen like mesh across 45ft of our balcony railing to discourage our dogs from trying to squeeze through the bars. I thought the stapler might either jam or not push the nails deep enough. Thankfully I was wrong on both accounts and this stapler worked flawlessly. At times where I even expected to run out of staples, this thing just kept chugging away. I would recommend this stapler for odd jobs around the house though I'm not sure how it would hold up otherwise.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, helps avoid hand/arm fatigue
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
from DFW

Powerful Stapler

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've only used this once, but can tell it will be a great workhorse in my toolbox. You need to apply pressure (to hold down the gun) as the force driving the staple will also act to *push* the gun away from the board, but I guess that's to be expected. I haven't used it to drive nails, but have little doubt that it can do that job just as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: no instuction on how to add the staples
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2-in-1 Electric Stapler and Strip Brad Nailer
from Trego Montana
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not real impressed

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not real impressed. It like to jam up and stop working.
Cons: jams up
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>