728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Bath Tub in White

BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Bath Tub in White

The Bootzcast 5 ft. Soaking Tub helps you soak away the day's cares with its integral 40-degree lumbar support and the insulated backing offers great heat retention to help keep your water warmer longer. The porcelain finish is non porous and easy to clean and the built-in leveling support pad to help make installation easy. Bootzcast offers the qualities of cast iron, without the cost and weight.
Overall rating:
3.414 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product20 of 28reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(14)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product20 of 28reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Bath Tub in White
Review 1 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Bath Tub in White
Jon01
from SC
Age Range:25 to 34

Great, sturdy tub

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This tub is made of great material and feels very sturdy. Its coloration is very slightly off-white (Not the arctic white type color of some tubs), which makes it somewhat hard to match up with a surround. Its direct to stud mounting also leaves a bit of a gap for putting backer board and tile. That being said, it insulates very well and keeps the water warm inside it. I have complete confidence that it will last for many years!
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Bath Tub in White
MPW1
from Denver, CO

Poor quality - 2 Bootz tubs returned

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased the Bootz special order Syniron 5' which is identical to the tub featured here but without soaking sloped back. The tile flange (back edge that rests against wall under tile) was so bent that the tub could not be installed properly. Returned it and ordered another special order Bootz tub. On the second tub, the enamel finish was so pitted I had to return it too. Lost many weeks in waiting for the orders to arrive. I recommend not purchasing Bootz tubs unless you want a style that is available on the shelf and you can inspect it carefully before taking it home. I like the idea of having the coating under the enameled tub, but Bootz needs to work on quality control. I finally ended up with an American Standard tub,
Cons: Build Quality
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Bath Tub in White
FredQ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great concept, poor execution

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The idea is great. A lightweight, reasonably priced tub with a porcelain finish. The foam backing on the steel tub doesn't sound or feel hollow and cheap like a plain steel or plastic tub. The problem is that after I got the tub home and tried to install it we found that the front edge of the apron was bowed in almost a half inch in the middle. We boxed it back up and took it to the store and every single one in the store had the same problem to varying degrees. Maybe I was just unlucky. If you are going to buy one take the time to open the box in the store and grab a five foot level from the tool section to check and make sure the bottom front edge is straight.
Pros: Quiet, Great Value
Cons: Build Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Bath Tub in White
Nean
from nj

No problem with slip guard on bottom of bathtub

PostedJuly 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
While searching for a white bathtub, I told my husband to stay away from this brand after reading the reviews. I was afraid of the product that was used to prevent you from slipping. After buying 2 other brands that day that were severely damaged we purchased this one and it is great. The bottom of the tub is fine. It is not the least bit uncomfortable and it is made very well.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Bath Tub in White
exchfamily
from WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works just like advertised!

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't know what anyone else is complaining about, because this tub is just great! It installed very easily, with no mud bed needed due to the pad on the bottom. The inside bottom of the tub has a non-slip coating, but it is NOT rough at all, and even with soap on it, retains it's non-slip property.
The only downside is that it is not very deep. If you want a soaker tub, then this one is not for you.
I would recommend this tub as a basic, inexpensive, install-yourself tub.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Bath Tub in White
NewCAhomeowner
from La Verne, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful Tub

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was weary to purchase this tub after reading the reviews but decided to give it a shot. I am very pleased with this tub. My plumber installed it and my tile guy tiled a surround and it looks gorgeous. So far my kids have dropped shampoo bottles and shaving cream bottles and no cracks. The bottom surface is not like sandpaper at all. It is very comfortable on the feet but not slippery. I would definitly purchase this tub again.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Bath Tub in White
happy4life

Good product

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is worthwhile; it's lightweight, and was easy for installment by a contractor.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Bath Tub in White
Doostman
from Snowmass Village
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tubs came w/ my new house. Plan on buying 3rd for my basement finish.

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Recently closed on a new house and these were already installed. I like them so much that I am purchasing a 3rd one for my basement finish out. Was initially concerned with the "sand paper" feel but have been using them now for over 6 months. My kids don't slip in the tub (3 1/2 yr old and 6 year old) yet I can soak in the tub and still feel comfortable. It's not your parents old cast iron and enamel tub (ie super smooth) but all in all, I have been very happy. Spent first month cleaning the tubs ourselves with no problem. Now have a maid that uses simply Method all purpose cleaner (don't know if that is "ok" by the manufacturer) but it's been great for us. I did not install so can't comment on ease of installation but looking at cost of other bathtubs and based on my personal use, these appear a great value. Also, have dropped the razer numerous times without any ill affects on the porcelain.
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Nice Design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Bath Tub in White
BathroomRemodel

Good Product for Great Price

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading the reviews about the problems with the non-slip surface, I was hesitant to purchase this product; however, we decided to try it and have been very happy with it. We followed the instructions that came with the tub for cleaning and have not had a problem at all. It also fits well in our very small bathroom.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Bath Tub in White
chevyman2004
from Minnesota

bathtub not so bad

PostedMarch 16, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
after purchasing this tub I saw the reviews about the sandpaper floor on this tub but i have to disagree. My family has no problems with the anti-slip surface and it is far from sandpaper. For the money it is doing well for us and after many showers we are happy with it.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Bath Tub in White
stallion
from Houston, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good alternative for iron-cast tub

PostedApril 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was about to spend extra bucks for the iron-cast tub until I looked at the weight of that thing. At more than 300 lbs, it would take a lot of work to haul it up and install it in the 2nd floor bathroom. This bootzcast was the next best thing in the store. I am happy with the result. The non-slipping bottom feels just right when wet. The porcelain coating was nice and seemed durable. It is easy to clean.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Bath Tub in White
JS56
from GA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well built tub.Great design.

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I would recommend this tub for any remodel project. Well built tub with steel, porcelin and bootzcast material which insulates and supports bottom of tub. You do have to install 2x4 supports to wall, but bottom of tub will sit flat on floor, great design. Anti slip on bottom does have a sandpaper like feel , but I did not find it excessively rough. Manufacter gives instruction on cleaning tub which work perfectly.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Bath Tub in White
diy999
from lynchburg virginia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good but not great

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I chose the tub because it was not as loud as a steel tub, nicer than plastic, and not as heavy as cast iron, which I couldn't install by myself. I was a bit disappointed in the company's technical support, as they never got back to me on an installation question regarding leveling. The negatives include the shallow depth and narrow 30" width. As far as the negative comments regarding the non-slip bottom, I believe for me some of the sand from the tile surround grout got into the tube after the initial use, and it took quite a while for it to be completely rinsed off - after a week or so and plenty of rinsing it now seems fine. Only other negative for me is the wide and deep drain indentation - even with silicon there is still a depression around the drain that doesn't drain easily - perhaps I could have found a stopper with a wider flange.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Quiet
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Bath Tub in White
RookieDIYer
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good cast iron alternative

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this tub to replace an old cast iron tub who's enamel had worn significantly in the 50 years since its installation. I was hesitant about getting a steel tub because I HATE cold tubs and the cast iron held the warmth from the water nicely. This tub was described as having a composite backing that helps it maintain heat - which I think it does so I'm very happy about that. Other reviews I read mentioned a "grainy" feeling bottom. The tub's bottom is not perfectly smooth like some other tubs but I think this is excellent. There is no slipping or sliding even when there are suds in the tub. It does not feel too rough to soak in either.
The color is listed as white, but when i bought a white tub surround to go with it the tub definitely looks more ivory or almond - so sadly they do not match. make sure you are checking a surround BEFORE putting it up - or put up tile.
There is some rust already forming around the drain hole but i don't know if that's from the tub or the drain.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Bath Tub in White
Bowe

Fits perfectly

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a tiny bathroom, and was looking for a 30" tub. This fit the space great. I love that it's made in America, and I liked the look of the front with just a little design. The bottom did feel gritty, but I cleaned it with baking soda first, which worked fine and seemed to take out a little of the gritty feel, and I got Bar Keepers friend as suggested, and it works fine. I am pleased with the tub.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Bath Tub in White
sea1

sandpaper bottom :(

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The bottom of this tub feels like sand paper, and I hate it. I am very disappointed. I was stupid for not looking at or feeling this tub closely before I chose it and had it installed, but I never imagined the 'non-slip' bottom would feel like sandpaper. I figured it was some smooth bumps or something like that. I just can't imagine that this will feel good or be easy to keep clean.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Bath Tub in White
BathtubBOB
from Midwestern USA

Trouble with surface roughness

PostedJanuary 14, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Avoid Bootzcast or other porcelain over steel tubs.
Halfway thru install mine showed crowfoot porcelain damage and chiped very easily..The bottom also has a sandblasted anti slip finish that is very hard to clean and is uncomfortable, in fact, no mater how much you cover, clean and protect it its not worth the hassle- I took these out of the three renovations I was doing and put Cast Irone ones in from Home Depot with no headaches. The price was nearly the same.. The only difference was weight..I just paid for beefy help. This is a lifetime install and no time to go cheapo or EZ. Lesson learned.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Bath Tub in White
teddy
from Tabernacle, NJ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quaity

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Find another manufacture.The tub I purchased was not totally coated with porcelian in the front. What happened to QUALITY CONTROL?
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Bath Tub in White
Dee65
from Tallahassee, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tub/Easy Installation

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After shopping for tubs, we selected this tub. Our old tub was 65 years old, cast iron and fairly deep. This tub is almost as deep, holds heat in w/the spray coating, and has the sloped end for soaking. Installation was a breeze. The built in pad on the bottom alleviates the need to built supports. The tub is strong and beautiful. The non-slip coating is perfect - not abrasive at all. Tub cleans with little effort.
Pros: Looks Great, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Bath Tub in White
Cocoaspies
from Cedar Hill, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tub for the price

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the price you can't complain too much. While installing noticed one of the bottom corners chipped - it is covered by the tile surround so I didn't bother with it. The self leveling tub makes installation easy without having to pour mortar bed. I don't find the non slip surface to rough. Overall good tub for those on a budget.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>