728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White

BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White

The Bootzcast 5 ft. Soaking Tub helps you soak away the day's cares with its integral 40-degree lumbar support and the insulated backing offers great heat retention to help keep your water warmer longer. The porcelain finish is non porous and easy to clean and the built-in leveling support pad to help make installation easy. Bootzcast offers the qualities of cast iron, without the cost and weight.
Overall rating:
3.289 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
66%of customersrecommend this product29 of 44reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
3.3 out of 5
5
(10)
4
(19)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(12)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
66%of customersrecommend this product29 of 44reviews
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
Review 1 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Palm Bay florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality control

PostedMarch 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good luck finding one of these without flaws. I don't see how they can give a lifetime guarantee when you can't even get one out of the store. I spent 4 hours of my time driving to three stores only to leave without a tub. All the tubs had areas where the steel was visible so the porcelain had not been applied completely. These tubs should not make it to the store with incomplete finishes. I ended up at lowes where I bought an americast and the 1st one was pristine! What if I had not examined it before taking it home?
Cons: Build Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Oklahoma city
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Would never buy another bootz tub again

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After having the tub installed for 18 months the glazing is coming off . I called bootz and they will send another tub but now we have to pay to remove it and install a new tile tub surround. This will cost apx. $900.00.
Pros: bad product
Cons: Performance
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from SC
Age Range:25 to 34

Great, sturdy tub

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This tub is made of great material and feels very sturdy. Its coloration is very slightly off-white (Not the arctic white type color of some tubs), which makes it somewhat hard to match up with a surround. Its direct to stud mounting also leaves a bit of a gap for putting backer board and tile. That being said, it insulates very well and keeps the water warm inside it. I have complete confidence that it will last for many years!
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from oregon
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall best value for this price range

PostedMarch 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For being a metal tub, this was a great value. We shopped around and bought this after weeks of looking at other models that were fiberglass. I finally decided that I preferred this solid construction and didn't want apartment grade in my house. The back incline is perfect. The bottom construction is much better than the ones with attached styrofoam- this has a solid material that is coated w/ black textured spray. I did have overspray from the coating and knew it wasn't imperfection in the finish. It scrapped off easily w/ my nail. This is a bit shorter in height that I'd like, but for about 230.00, it was deal. I do agree with another reviewer, it's not the bright Kholer white. It sits close to my toilet and in the store I was considering what the over reviewer said about it not being white. I couldn't tell with the store lighting. I can tell you it's not bright Kholer white. The reason I don't give it a 5 star review is the height is a bit low and the white is NOT BRIGHT WHITE. Overall for this price range, it's best value tub for under 300.00 out there.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Great Value
Cons: a bit low, not bright white
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White

New Tub, Already Chipping

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just had the bathroom remodeled and have been showering in the tub for 3 DAYS, the tub was not chipped during installation, I was showering and a piece just fell off. Maybe it was defective, maybe there was an air pocket? Regardless, now the tub, tile, and fixtures are all installed and I guess I need to hire a tub repair specialist....
PIECE OF JUNK
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great concept, poor execution

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The idea is great. A lightweight, reasonably priced tub with a porcelain finish. The foam backing on the steel tub doesn't sound or feel hollow and cheap like a plain steel or plastic tub. The problem is that after I got the tub home and tried to install it we found that the front edge of the apron was bowed in almost a half inch in the middle. We boxed it back up and took it to the store and every single one in the store had the same problem to varying degrees. Maybe I was just unlucky. If you are going to buy one take the time to open the box in the store and grab a five foot level from the tool section to check and make sure the bottom front edge is straight.
Pros: Quiet, Great Value
Cons: Build Quality
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from nj

No problem with slip guard on bottom of bathtub

PostedJuly 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
While searching for a white bathtub, I told my husband to stay away from this brand after reading the reviews. I was afraid of the product that was used to prevent you from slipping. After buying 2 other brands that day that were severely damaged we purchased this one and it is great. The bottom of the tub is fine. It is not the least bit uncomfortable and it is made very well.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from La Verne, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful Tub

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was weary to purchase this tub after reading the reviews but decided to give it a shot. I am very pleased with this tub. My plumber installed it and my tile guy tiled a surround and it looks gorgeous. So far my kids have dropped shampoo bottles and shaving cream bottles and no cracks. The bottom surface is not like sandpaper at all. It is very comfortable on the feet but not slippery. I would definitly purchase this tub again.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Richmond. VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cheap copy of Americast

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have installed 3 of these in the past year, for clients who wanted to save a few dollars.
All three times there were scratches in the finish, right out of the box. The finish is so thin, that I seriously doubt it will last.
Bootz is making a knock off of the American Standard AMERICAST tubs.
Spend a couple dollars more and get a LOT more quality.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Build Quality, finish quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White

Good Product for Great Price

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After reading the reviews about the problems with the non-slip surface, I was hesitant to purchase this product; however, we decided to try it and have been very happy with it. We followed the instructions that came with the tub for cleaning and have not had a problem at all. It also fits well in our very small bathroom.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White

defective

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do you want junk? These Bootz tubs are defective. I have attempted to install a few of these tubs however after you open the box you can see the defects in the steel as well as the thin uneven porcelain coating. If you want to put junk in your home use Bootz
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Snowmass Village
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tubs came w/ my new house. Plan on buying 3rd for my basement finish.

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Recently closed on a new house and these were already installed. I like them so much that I am purchasing a 3rd one for my basement finish out. Was initially concerned with the "sand paper" feel but have been using them now for over 6 months. My kids don't slip in the tub (3 1/2 yr old and 6 year old) yet I can soak in the tub and still feel comfortable. It's not your parents old cast iron and enamel tub (ie super smooth) but all in all, I have been very happy. Spent first month cleaning the tubs ourselves with no problem. Now have a maid that uses simply Method all purpose cleaner (don't know if that is "ok" by the manufacturer) but it's been great for us. I did not install so can't comment on ease of installation but looking at cost of other bathtubs and based on my personal use, these appear a great value. Also, have dropped the razer numerous times without any ill affects on the porcelain.
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Nice Design
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works just like advertised!

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't know what anyone else is complaining about, because this tub is just great! It installed very easily, with no mud bed needed due to the pad on the bottom. The inside bottom of the tub has a non-slip coating, but it is NOT rough at all, and even with soap on it, retains it's non-slip property.
The only downside is that it is not very deep. If you want a soaker tub, then this one is not for you.
I would recommend this tub as a basic, inexpensive, install-yourself tub.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Minnesota

bathtub not so bad

PostedMarch 16, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
after purchasing this tub I saw the reviews about the sandpaper floor on this tub but i have to disagree. My family has no problems with the anti-slip surface and it is far from sandpaper. For the money it is doing well for us and after many showers we are happy with it.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Houston, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good alternative for iron-cast tub

PostedApril 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was about to spend extra bucks for the iron-cast tub until I looked at the weight of that thing. At more than 300 lbs, it would take a lot of work to haul it up and install it in the 2nd floor bathroom. This bootzcast was the next best thing in the store. I am happy with the result. The non-slipping bottom feels just right when wet. The porcelain coating was nice and seemed durable. It is easy to clean.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Annandale, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice alternative to cast iron.

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My contractor said he'd charge me $500 extra to install a new cast iron tub for my bathroom renovation. Since I did not want a plastic tub, he recommended Bootzcast. I've had the tub for a couple of weeks. I like the look and feel of it. It doesn't have the tinny sound of a steel enamel tub.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from GA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well built tub.Great design.

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I would recommend this tub for any remodel project. Well built tub with steel, porcelin and bootzcast material which insulates and supports bottom of tub. You do have to install 2x4 supports to wall, but bottom of tub will sit flat on floor, great design. Anti slip on bottom does have a sandpaper like feel , but I did not find it excessively rough. Manufacter gives instruction on cleaning tub which work perfectly.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White

Good product

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product is worthwhile; it's lightweight, and was easy for installment by a contractor.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from Orlando, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Bootzcast 5ft left drain tub

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I had this installed because I'm disabled but it seems to be great. Looks great and very durable.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BootzCast 5 ft. Left Drain Soaking Tub in White
from North Brunswick
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Real good value for me

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I did a lot of research and compared lots of tubs based on their longevity look and ease of installation and finally came down to either the cast iron tub or the bootzcast tub. based on the way my bathroom is situated the cast iron tub which is almost 3-4 times heavier was virtually impossible to be carried upstairs into our second floor bathroom and fit. the bootzcast is very solid and was easy to install and it also has a insulated backing which helps avoid the annoying echoing noise when you know on it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Quiet, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>