728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Magnetic Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 30-oz. Black Flat Magnetic Latex Primer

30-oz. Black Flat Magnetic Latex Primer

The Rust-Oleum 30-oz. Black Flat Magnetic Latex Primer helps create a magnetic surface for hanging a variety of items including notes and photos. The primer can be applied to wood, metal, masonry, drywall or plaster and dries to a flat black finish in as little as 15 minutes for your convenience. The latex formula can be cleaned up easily using soap and water.
Overall rating:
2.019 / 5
2
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
33%of customersrecommend this product15 of 46reviews
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
2.0 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(6)
3
(5)
2
(5)
1
(31)
Quality 
1.9 out of 5.0
1.9 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
33%of customersrecommend this product15 of 46reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for 30-oz. Black Flat Magnetic Latex Primer
Review 1 for 30-oz. Black Flat Magnetic Latex Primer
from Florida, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfectly Successful!!! Love It :)

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been wanting to try this & finally went for it! This Paint is Awesome-Sauce!!
After scouring online & reading all the reviews I could on using this product from others, I had a pretty good idea on what to do/not do. This is not a breeze through & half-way do thing, take your time & do it well, you will not be disappointed! If you do this properly it DOES work just like it is suppose to work. If it does not work for you, it is not the product that is at fault.
I am doing an area that is 14 sq.ft., I slowly painted while my husband constantly mixed the paint in a whisking motion, you can see the metallic chips in the paint & they sink quickly! (before we started he shook & continuously flipped the can for quite sometime). Using only small batches of paint at a time in the roller tray, I used a small foam roller & working up & down, repeating over each section gently, really working it in the wall. I changed my roller head after the 2nd coat. I did 4 coats on the wall (at the end of the 4th coat, I went over the main area again) allowing each coat to dry which took longer every time (we live in humid SWFL). Each coat was approx 1/4 can of paint. It went on decently thick. It seemed to have slightly more splatter than normal wall paint, it does not wash off of skin easily, even with heavy scrubbing.
I tested with 3 different kinds of everyday fridge magnets between each coat of paint. 1st coat = nothing. 2nd coat = very slight pull of the magnet to the wall & it would slide a little & hold. 3rd coat = the magnets started to pull at about 1/4" away & stayed on the wall perfectly. 4th coat = they stuck on just as well as they do on the fridge!! (see attached photo!)
This product does have a chemical/spray paint type smell to it, use common sense & ventilate!
The only thing I would have done differently & will do next time (I will use this product again!): Buy more foam roller replacements!! It would have been great if I could have changed it for each coat, the paint is thick & dries quickly, it gunks up & messes with the roller & foam. Painting with a clean foam roller for coats #1 & #3 was considerably smoother & nicer than coats #2 & #4.
2 Future Ideas:
Paint a large wall & cover with Rust-Oleum Chalk Board Paint & then frame it... This would be perfect for a child's room or a play room... Magnetic Chalk Board Wall!!!
Paint a 12" or so stripe around the main living area of the house (dining/living room) or down a hallway, etc... about 18" from the ceiling... 2-tone paint the walls, covering the magnetic stripe in an accent color (to hide the slight texture difference)... Use the Magnetic Photo Frames to show off Family Photos on the Decorative Accent Stripe :) You can change them as often as you want, hang Holiday Cards, etc... without ruining the paint, no nails, thumbtacks, tape... Endless Possibilities!! I can't WAIT to use this paint again!! :)
Pros: High Quality of Material, Modern, ingenious!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+61points
61out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 30-oz. Black Flat Magnetic Latex Primer
from Commerce, GA, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

IT DOES WORK!

PostedMay 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading several bad reviews, I was hesitant on purchasing this product. I did end up using it anyway and received the expected final result. NO it isn't as strong as preferred, but YES it does work. You must follow the directions (sorry guys) and stir the paint constantly/consistently to keep the magnetic chips from sinking to the bottom. Cons: It is a bit time consuming due to having to stir every time before dipping the (foam) roller and does splatter more than your average paint. Pros: It works! And goes great under chalkboard paint so you have a multi-use board/door/wall/table/etc.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 30-oz. Black Flat Magnetic Latex Primer
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read and follow the instructions

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product works as long as you consider the following.
1) each can is about 12 sq ft of coverage.
2) the paint NEEDS to be shaken before you paint and constantly stirred.
3) 4 - 5 coats need to be applied with a dense foam roller.
4) Neodymium " rare earth magnets" are suggested.
5) It will never be like a refrigerator, don't expect very strong adhesion from the magnets.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Modern, Dries Quickly
Cons: needs constant mixing
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 30-oz. Black Flat Magnetic Latex Primer

Works great when done correctly

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As others have stated you need to make sure the metal is stirred up well in this product. By the nature of it the metal sinks quickly to the bottom of the can. You need to use the foam roller as suggested (wish i read instructions before painting but as my wife says...I'm a man). This is not a quick easy project. But combined with the chalkboard paint makes a great play area for kids...although one has to wonder if teaching kids to write on walls is a good thing.
+48points
48out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 30-oz. Black Flat Magnetic Latex Primer

Isn't nearly magnetic enough

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like most DIYers, I look for home improvement projects/ideas online, and this magnetic paint was one of them. I had decided to paint the inside of my pantry door with chalkboard paint to make it a plain chalkboard surface, but after I found this magnetic primer I thought it'd make a perfect combo with my chalkboard paint...a magnetic chalkboard! I read all the poor reviews, but I figured it was mostly user error (not following directions properly, stuff like that), so I went ahead and purchased the product. Unfortunately, it turns out that all the poor reviews are right, this stuff really does not do what it claims to do. I applied 7 coats of this primer following all the directions indicated: use the proper foam roller, mix well prior to application while stirring constantly during application, and allow it to dry the recommended period of time between coats. Even so, the surface I painted is just barely magnetic. Regular magnets from the store will stay on by themselves but won't hold anything up, and neodymium magnets (rare earth magnets) work but just barely; they can't hold up a whole lot, maybe a picture or a note but nothing super thick. Over all, this product is not really worth the money it costs, the time it takes to put on all those coats, or the frustration it causes. You are better off purchasing a thin sheet of metal to attach to the surface you want to make magnetic. On the flip side...this manufacturer's chalkboard paint works beautifully :-) Good luck with your next project!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 30-oz. Black Flat Magnetic Latex Primer
from Bethesda, MD, USA
Age Range:25 to 34

It Works, But...

PostedMay 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Magnetic wall in the playroom? Great idea! Box says 3 coats should do it, and the can has enough for 3 coats of 16 sq ft. Well, after four coats of about 12 sq ft, there was no magnetic property at all and I had more than half the can left. So I kept going (it dries fast).
A dozen coats later (with some light sanding after every few coats) and the wall is totally magnetic (errr, metal such that magnets stick; it's not pulling forks from the kitchen or anything)! Though it dried black, two coats of our light greenish latex wall paint and it blends in with the rest of the room (I added trim for the full effect). It works great. Seriously.
Oh, and based on other reviews we ordered online some 'rare earth' magnets. Those things stick to the wall like super glue. Better than the magnetic chip clips we first tried (which also worked). All of my daughter's spectacular art (objectively speaking, of course) is on display. (Shes 1.)
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 30-oz. Black Flat Magnetic Latex Primer

Go for it!

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ok, so I haven't heard a lot of positive feedback about this paint but since I've been wanting an oversized magnetic board for almost a year and wasn't having much luck finding a thin piece of affordable metal at the size I wanted, I was like "why not give it a shot." So with a little prayer and a lot of anticipation, I went for it!
1. GET IT SHAKEN IN THE PAINT DEPARTMENT BEFORE YOU LEAVE! All the magnetic pieces are at the bottom and has to be mixed well...very well. After stirring for half a minute and not seeing a lot of progress, I ran back to HD and had them shake it in the painting dept and started painting as soon as I got back home so go ahead and get it shaken before you leave the store and then stir often to keep the pieces from settling
2. WEAR DISPOSABLE GLOVES AND PROTECT ALL SURFACES YOU DON'T WANT MAGNETIZED VERY WELL! It can be messy...very messy. I spilled some on my hands and had to scrub to get it off. My SIL told me to put some Vaseline on my hands and that helped a lot...thanks SIL!
3. USE A FOAM ROLLER! I imagine using a different type will "eat" the magnetic pieces so they won't stay on your surface like they should
4. GIVE IT SOME TIME! By the time I finished painting the bottom, the top was dry and I probably could've started the next coat...but didn't. The instructions say wait 30 minutes between coats so I did and made sure I stirred really well before starting the next coat
I tested its strength between the second and third coat and a thin magnet did stay without a problem so not too bad so far. I've put a third coat on and am thinking about putting a fourth one on too. So for me and my project, it works. Would I use it again? Yup!
So if you go ahead and try it out, READ and FOLLOW the directions on the can and you should be fine...if not, take it back and/or let Rust-Oleum know and I'm sure you could get your money back!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 30-oz. Black Flat Magnetic Latex Primer
from Las Vegas, NV

Works surprisingly well!

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My son kept taping up his baseball schedules on his walls so I figured it couldn't hurt to try this magnetic paint, but I wasn't holding my breath. Much to my surprise, it works great! I put on three thin coats. The can says to wait about 30 minutes in between coats. We live in the desert so things dry fast here but I'd still recommend waiting an hour in between coats. I followed it up with three thin coats of his regular room paint, which is a denim blue color. It took a full three coats to cover. I'm not sure you could get away with using this under a really light colored wall paint. When everything was dry it looked great and easily holds posters, schedules, etc. with all sorts of magnets. I'm thrilled!
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 30-oz. Black Flat Magnetic Latex Primer

STIR STIR STIR

PostedJune 16, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
You have to sir the metal up from the bottom of the can by hand. Shaking it is not enough. Stir from the bottom very vigorously.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 30-oz. Black Flat Magnetic Latex Primer

Horrible results

PostedOctober 14, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I used this in my toddler's room to give her a place space for magnetic letters. After 3 coats, the letters do not stick, the chemical smell is still strong on day 2 and the window open with a fan blowing out the window. The surface is rough and I'm skeptical of the magnetic power after painting. Flat, larger magnets do stick, but lightly and can't hold anything. Very disappointed.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 30-oz. Black Flat Magnetic Latex Primer

Lower your expectations...

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Whatever your expectations are for this magnetic primer, lower them! I bought this product for a wall in my kitchen, since my refrigerator is stainless steel and cannot hold magnets. After what is now 10 coats(!), it still does not even hold a light kitchen magnet. Some online reviews on other sites said to use the rare earth magnets, and I'm really hoping they work. I painted over a professionally painted wall (done last month) for this project, and it has created a very rough texture on the wall. Luckily, I think this can sort of work in my kitchen and now plan to paint over it with chalkboard paint. The primer also splatters A LOT and is difficult to get off your skin. Grade: F
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 30-oz. Black Flat Magnetic Latex Primer
from Atlanta, GA

Works but...

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have never written a review of a product, but I wanted to share what my experience with the product has been. I used the 3x stronger primer. I painted a LARGE wall 16.5x8 in our basement playroom hoping to hang up my 3 kids prolific works of art. It took about 4 hours of actual painting time (drying of course took longer - I waited a day in between cans) and 2 quarts of the primer. $41+ I am mildly pleased with the result. After the 4th coat dried for 2 hours we tested it. IT WORKED! Large flat magnets worked the best. A few on the corners of art work held it up just fine. Smaller strong magnets work too but I have a little one so wont let these be in the play room for a while yet. Letters/numbers, etc. work great. Don't expect to hold up anything heavy. Do expect some effort for the result.
Tips/Suggestions:
First, I would highly recommend that you make sure that you have the paint shaken at the store. It separates easily and the magnetic flakes settle so doing the store mixing thing will save you a lot of hassel.
Second, this stuff is EXTREMELY odiferous. Not your typical paint smell. I was in the basement with the door open, two celing fans, a box fan and an occillating fan and still got a head ache and a little sick to my stomach. Think WW2 mustard gas and you'll be close to the stench. Don't even think about letting little kids or pregnant ladies in the room for at least 3 days after. Don't bother "cleaning up" (w/ xilene?) just throw everything in a trash bag and take immediately outside.
Thirdly, tape and cover. This stuff splatters, A LOT! I used the foam rollers for smooth surfaces suggested by the box and went as slowly as I could go and still got speckled everywhere. Whatever -it's paint but be prepared. Also, this stuff is about the consistency of tar so getting those 3 thin coats is difficult. I was able to get 4 coats of the paint on my wall with the 2 cans.
If you want to hang art or posters and you follow the instructions on the can exactly you'll be ok. If you are looking to hold up anything heavier than a sheet of paper I would look for something else.
Lastly, the dried result is black, not grey, not graphite. It is black. Not sure what color we are going to paint over it, I am thinking about the dry erase paint- can't smell any worse than it already does!
Good Luck!
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 30-oz. Black Flat Magnetic Latex Primer

Very much disappointed

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I painted the bottom half of one wall in my grandchild's play room with this so she would have a large place to play with her magnetic letters and numbers. I did 3 thin coats as suggest on the package, then the next day 2 coats of interior latex paint. I have health problems which made doing this very difficult for me. Today is day 3 (1 full day after top coat being painting). I was so disappointed when I discovered only certain areas on the wall would hold these magnets. I would not recommend this to anyone
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 30-oz. Black Flat Magnetic Latex Primer
from Murfreesboro, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not hold.

PostedNovember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Seven coats on and does not hold a magnet. Enough said.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 30-oz. Black Flat Magnetic Latex Primer

must shake the bejesus out of it

PostedMay 21, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wanted to paint the inside of my pantry door.
I put 4 thin coats of primer and only thin flat lightweight magnets would hold.
Then I re-evaluated.
All the iron filaments sink to the bottom, leaving a watery layer to sit on top. I poured some out and re-sealed the can. I took it in the back yard and shook it as hard as could until I thought my arms would fall off. My husband laughed and asked why I didn't just ask home depot to shake the can in the paint shaker. der.
Anyway, I painted one coat of the well mixed paint and it worked much better. But it was a ton of work.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 30-oz. Black Flat Magnetic Latex Primer

A waste of time and money!

PostedJune 18, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My husband followed the directions exactly as written for this magnetic paint. I used magnets that were so strong they pinched my finger and left a red mark. They wouldn't even hold up a piece of printer paper. Also,the pieces of metal in the paint made our top coat look like a really bad paint job. So, not only was this a waste of time and money but has ruined the look of our walls. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 30-oz. Black Flat Magnetic Latex Primer

This product does not wash up with soap and water!

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
The can says you need xylene. I made the mistake of not reading the instructions and assumed that it would wash up like any latex paint. What a mess!!!! Home Depot, you need to fix your website info.
The paint was very hard to mix up and even after stirring for 20 mins there were still little lumps. The good news is that even one coat would support a small flat magnet. Two coats is better and I have pretty much full coverage.
After assessing the mess, i'm not sure it was worth it.
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 30-oz. Black Flat Magnetic Latex Primer
from Cabot, Ar

Its not what you think

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you are wanting something that holds magnets the same way your fridge does, this is NOT the product for you. In fact, its not really a good product at all. I followed the directions and put three thin coats. It wouldn't even hold a regular magnet. NOT WORTH $20. I ended up putting 4 thin coats and 3 thick coats and it still barely holds a magnet and a thin sheet of paper (like coupons sheets). Maybe for a very small project, it would be okay. But using it on a whole wall (like it says you can do), it just doesn't work.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 30-oz. Black Flat Magnetic Latex Primer
from Altoona, PA

Rust-Oleum Magnetic Latex Primer

PostedOctober 26, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
So...My wife wanted to do a magnetic chalkboard wall in our kitchen. After doing research, I was a little skeptical of this product. I figured we are only doing a 3' X 8' wall, so if it didn't work, I would only be out $20 but I would have a primer for the chalkboard paint. I followed the directions as stated on the can, except I did 4 coats because I had extra and didn't want to store it. Once the final coat was dry, I placed a magnet on the wall and it stayed, imagine that. I used light weight magnets, they will hold up 1 piece of paper/cardstock, tried more with no luck.
I applied 2 coats of chalkboard paint to finish the project. Even with the chalkboard paint over the primer, the magnets still held the paper/cardstock.
I used frog tape to mask off the wall. Highly recommend this. It gives you a very nice crisp line.
Also, be sure to mask off the area and use a drop cloth. I used the recommended foam rollers and had a lot of splatter. I have done construction for years and painted many houses, so I don't think it was my technique.
If you are looking for a strong magnetic bond, this is not for you.
Overall, My wife and I are happy, just would have liked to had a little stronger magnetic bond. We can hang our 2yr old daughters artwork and she can doodle on the wall.
We have received many compliment on it.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 30-oz. Black Flat Magnetic Latex Primer
from Apache Junction, AZ

Magnetic Paint

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was SO disappointed in this Magnetic Paint. I like doing crafts and put four thin coats (as instructed) on two mini clipboards. I had planned on spray painting the final "color" for my clipboards, but I didn't even bother. There was NO way that your common refrigerator magnet was going to hold to my painted surface. A very "thin" magnet as comes on the front of telephone books would stick, but not holding another paper underneath it. After making sure I had followed all the instructions specifically, I returned the paint to the store the next day. After doing a search on line for how others liked it, I found that one gal painted her whole wall so she could put up posters, etc., but she recommended "Rare Earth Magnets", which are super strong and not recommended to be used around children. That was my confirmation that others had problems with it also. Tread lightly my friends and do your own research first. :-)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>