728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

Protect your lawn, garden and landscaping from animal damage with Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granular from Havahart. Critter Ridder’s patented formula has been proven to repel groundhogs, skunks, dogs, cats, squirrels, raccoons, chipmunks and other nuisance animals. It’s easy-to-use, effective and economical. Just adjust the shaker lid to sprinkle the desired amount of Critter Ridderaround the area you want to protect. For full perimeter protection, you can sprinkle it along a garden path or around a flower bed, or for a more targeted approach you can spot-treat areas around ornamental plants, trees or shrubs, and even trash bags to keep unwanted pests away. Critter Ridder can also be used indoors around potted plants and non-living areas such as basements, cellars, storage areas, sheds and barns. Inside or outside, Critter Ridder delivers longer-lasting protection up to 30 days. Made with all-natural ingredients that repel through scent, taste, and touch, Critter Ridder is OMRI Listed and compliant for use in organic gardenings.
Overall rating:
2.485 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(132 reviews) 132
Open Ratings Snapshot
39%of customersrecommend this product48 of 122reviews
Rating Breakdown 132 reviews
2.5 out of 5.0
5
(27)
4
(20)
3
(9)
2
(10)
1
(66)
Quality 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
Value 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
39%of customersrecommend this product48 of 122reviews
Customer reviews for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
Review 1 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

Did not work

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had a 24x2 strip of sandy soil that neighbors cat used daily. This stuff did nothing to help, cat still had its way. Ended up using vinyl carpet runner turned upside down to cover ground, no more problem.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product is working great!

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used the repellent for cats and squirrels. So far I have not had a problem with any animals since I used the product.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

Does not work!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The critters didn't mind it at all. It did not work for me at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Ann Arbor, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very potent!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This works really well to keep critters from chewing on flowers. Apply as often as instructed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Work well

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It apparently does repel the chipmunks in my yard. My only dissapointment with it is that it does not seem to last as long as they say that it will. I live near a woods so it is a difficult situation.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

SKUNKS!!

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews and heard that it didn't do well on squirrels, cats, dogs, etc. Maybe it should be advertised as a skunk repellent!
I have had a skunk lodging under my [very old] garage for a couple of years. I put this down in front of the entryway [I believe he was in there] just before leaving for 2 weeks. It was supposed to rain that afternoon, but the house had already been put on the market, so I had to do it then.
When I got home, no skunk, no odor. Have literally poured it into the entryway now, so I don't expect it to be back. I sure wouldn't be!! As soon as you open it you smell the horrible pepper.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

nothing better

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you want to keep dogs or all kinds of critters off of your property or away from an area, this is what you want.
I had my doubts, but it works amazingly well
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from New Jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Followed instructions four times with poor results. Product does not perform as listed on container. A waste of money, do not recommend.

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Would not recommend nor purchase again. A waste of money.
Cons: poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from New Smyrna Beach, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Critter ridder

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I guess my expectation was a little high. With so much rain in Florida it does not seem to last very long. I am trying to keep dogs from peeing on my flowers and pooping on my lawn. This should be the dog owners responsibility, but I guess not. Works for awhile but is too costly to keep buying every month. Wish it lasted longer.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Richmond Va. area
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good purchase

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Container was easy to open; granules poured easily, & it seems to be working, as I have seen no critters near my garden, since I used it.
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Brunswick, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Critter Ridder granules

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We use this product after a few nights and days of skunk smell at the end of February 2014. Critter Ridder Granules around the problem area and after that " NO SKUNKS"
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Nashua,nh
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Repellent granules

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Critter still coming like nothing happens. Don't waist your money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Memphis, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Critter Ridder animal repellent granules

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Animals who had used a path just create a new path and new holes to dodge the granules. You can't cover a 6000 square foot lot completely with pepper granules. Also, that would put dogs, birds and other desired animals at risk. Also, weather is a factor.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good product. Odor free. Non-Toxic. Easy to use. Need more time to see if it works long term.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

to get rid of pest

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the Critter Ridder Animal Repellent to get rid of something under my deck. I havent seen any activity since I bought it, I did have to go back to the store and buy another one.
Depending on how large your deck is I would start out with two (2) containers, they wont go to waiste.
I have a large dog and it didnt bother her after I swept it through the cracks of the deck boards.
Pros: Functionality
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Buena Park, Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Useless

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have spread around the places where the cats stays, the following morning, they were stepping on it like there was nothing. That was big waste of money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The noise in my actic is

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a raccoon and spent over $600 + on a professional trying to catch it. I finally decided after the 3rd $45.00 visit to try this product. I have heard a sound since I threw it in the attic.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Critter Ridder doesn't work

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased Critter Ridder to deal with a stray cat problem using my flower beds as a litter box. From day one, it didn't work. The next morning I had the usual deposits in my flower beds.. .. I was very disappointed given the cost of the product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

over priced - works GREAT

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
over priced.
fantastic performance. works great!
Wife's pineapples. - they are now worth $20 each.
At the end of the day- worth every penny.
Pros: works as advertised
Cons: price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Central Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pesky Critters No More

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had a problem with cats, dogs, possums, squirrels, and raccoons harversting my vegetables in my raised garden beds. I started using the product and it is like they scooted out of the neighborhood. I don't notice any odd smells. And, it doesn't standout from the soil. Give it a try if you have critters of any kind. It does work for the most common varmints.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>