728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

Protect your lawn, garden and landscaping from animal damage with Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granular from Havahart. Critter Ridder’s patented formula has been proven to repel groundhogs, skunks, dogs, cats, squirrels, raccoons, chipmunks and other nuisance animals. It’s easy-to-use, effective and economical. Just adjust the shaker lid to sprinkle the desired amount of Critter Ridderaround the area you want to protect. For full perimeter protection, you can sprinkle it along a garden path or around a flower bed, or for a more targeted approach you can spot-treat areas around ornamental plants, trees or shrubs, and even trash bags to keep unwanted pests away. Critter Ridder can also be used indoors around potted plants and non-living areas such as basements, cellars, storage areas, sheds and barns. Inside or outside, Critter Ridder delivers longer-lasting protection up to 30 days. Made with all-natural ingredients that repel through scent, taste, and touch, Critter Ridder is OMRI Listed and compliant for use in organic gardenings.
Overall rating:
2.434 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(122 reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
37%of customersrecommend this product42 of 113reviews
Rating Breakdown 122 reviews
2.4 out of 5.0
5
(25)
4
(17)
3
(7)
2
(10)
1
(63)
Quality 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
Value 
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1 out of 5
37%of customersrecommend this product42 of 113reviews
Customer reviews for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
Review 1 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

Did not work

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had a 24x2 strip of sandy soil that neighbors cat used daily. This stuff did nothing to help, cat still had its way. Ended up using vinyl carpet runner turned upside down to cover ground, no more problem.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product is working great!

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used the repellent for cats and squirrels. So far I have not had a problem with any animals since I used the product.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Brunswick, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Critter Ridder granules

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We use this product after a few nights and days of skunk smell at the end of February 2014. Critter Ridder Granules around the problem area and after that " NO SKUNKS"
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Buena Park, Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Useless

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have spread around the places where the cats stays, the following morning, they were stepping on it like there was nothing. That was big waste of money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

SKUNKS!!

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews and heard that it didn't do well on squirrels, cats, dogs, etc. Maybe it should be advertised as a skunk repellent!
I have had a skunk lodging under my [very old] garage for a couple of years. I put this down in front of the entryway [I believe he was in there] just before leaving for 2 weeks. It was supposed to rain that afternoon, but the house had already been put on the market, so I had to do it then.
When I got home, no skunk, no odor. Have literally poured it into the entryway now, so I don't expect it to be back. I sure wouldn't be!! As soon as you open it you smell the horrible pepper.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Critter Ridder doesn't work

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased Critter Ridder to deal with a stray cat problem using my flower beds as a litter box. From day one, it didn't work. The next morning I had the usual deposits in my flower beds.. .. I was very disappointed given the cost of the product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

over priced - works GREAT

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
over priced.
fantastic performance. works great!
Wife's pineapples. - they are now worth $20 each.
At the end of the day- worth every penny.
Pros: works as advertised
Cons: price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Indiana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't waste your money!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The squirrels and chipmunks didn't pay any attention to this product. I put it very heavily into planters to absolutely no avail!!! Total waste of my time and money!!!
Cons: didn't repel any animal from day one!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Central Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pesky Critters No More

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had a problem with cats, dogs, possums, squirrels, and raccoons harversting my vegetables in my raised garden beds. I started using the product and it is like they scooted out of the neighborhood. I don't notice any odd smells. And, it doesn't standout from the soil. Give it a try if you have critters of any kind. It does work for the most common varmints.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The noise in my actic is

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a raccoon and spent over $600 + on a professional trying to catch it. I finally decided after the 3rd $45.00 visit to try this product. I have heard a sound since I threw it in the attic.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Southfield, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I put this down around my deck to keep the little critters away and I swear it seemed like it attracted them more. In my opinion, this was a waste of money. I wouldn't buy it again nor recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

to get rid of pest

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the Critter Ridder Animal Repellent to get rid of something under my deck. I havent seen any activity since I bought it, I did have to go back to the store and buy another one.
Depending on how large your deck is I would start out with two (2) containers, they wont go to waiste.
I have a large dog and it didnt bother her after I swept it through the cracks of the deck boards.
Pros: Functionality
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Chino Hills, Ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work at all

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this item to keep a cat from pooping on a small patch of grass the size of a parking space. After application as directed, the cat pooped on the grass 4 more times in 2 days. It does not repel cats.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from New Jersey
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Stuff Is the Bomb for Groundhogs

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have a groundhog that was cute when he lived under the neighbor's shed...but this year he decided to build a vacation burrow in my yard...an 8" diameter hole that went to China with a huge pile of dirt and rocks next to it that seemed to be getting bigger every day.
Last night I bought the product and sprinkled a little bit in the mouth of the burrow and on the dirt pile...I'm talking not even a handful. This evening I saw him out in the yard for a snack so went outside and chased him off...he ran to the mouth of the burrow...but would not go in...he instead hesitated and then ran into the bushes. This happened twice.
Confident that he was "repelled", I just went out and poured a little more product in the burrow, and some on the dirt pile before I used it to fill the hole back in. Presumably if he tries to re-dig it, the product mixed in the dirt will discourage him.
I did sneeze a few times while applying the product (from the ingredients it seems to be something like granulated pepper spray, so if you are sensitive be careful).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Carol Stream, Il
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Helpful to keeping critters out of the garden

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I applied the product about 2 weeks ago and I have not had the problem as of this writing.
Pros: Multi Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It did what I wanted

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I use this product to keep my neighbor's dogs out of my back yard. And to keep pest away from my vegetable garden. But since I have concluded that if I mix ground red pepper with sand it does the same thing.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

not worth the money

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
didnt even slow down the cats cutting through the yard-a puppy actually seemed attracted to the scented area
Cons: not good
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

Does not work for squirrels or raccoons

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Does not work against squirrels or raccoons. Sprinkled liberally in ten foot circle (half emptied the box) - had no effect on either. Squirrels and raccon played happily in the center,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Memphis, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love It!!

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I haven't heard any activity in my walls or attic since spreading Cridder Ridder. I love this stuff.
Pros: Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

Didn't work

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The critters weren't phased by it. The mothballs I purchased afterwords worked
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>