728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Insect & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

Protect your lawn, garden and landscaping from animal damage with Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granular from Havahart. Critter ridder’s patented formula has been proven to repel groundhogs, skunks, dogs, cats, squirrels, raccoons, chipmunks and other nuisance animals. It’s easy to use, effective and economical. Just adjust the shaker lid to sprinkle the desired amount of critter ridder around the area you want to protect. For full perimeter protection, you can sprinkle it along a garden path or around a flower bed, or for a more targeted approach you can spot-treat areas around ornamental plants, trees or shrubs, and even trash bags to keep unwanted pests away. Critter ridder can also be used indoors around potted plants and non-living areas such as basements, cellars, storage areas, sheds and barns. Inside or outside, critter ridder delivers longer-lasting protection up to 30 days. Made with all-natural ingredients that repel through scent, taste, and touch, critter ridder is OMRI Listed and compliant for use in organic gardenings.
Overall rating:
2.433 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(150 reviews) 150
Open Ratings Snapshot
38%of customersrecommend this product53 of 140reviews
Rating Breakdown 150 reviews
2.4 out of 5
5
(29)
4
(23)
3
(10)
2
(10)
1
(78)
Quality 
2.4 out of 5
2.4 out of 5
Value 
2.2 out of 5
2.2 out of 5
38%of customersrecommend this product53 of 140reviews
Customer reviews for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
Review 1 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product is working great!

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used the repellent for cats and squirrels. So far I have not had a problem with any animals since I used the product.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

Didn't work for me

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought to repel dogs from peeing at mailbox. 2 PM, sprinkled around mailbox. 4 PM neighbor and his dog come by. Dog sniffed around just treated mailbox area, peed in the middle of the area. A waste of my money for sure.
Cons: didn't work at all.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

SKUNKS!!

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read all the reviews and heard that it didn't do well on squirrels, cats, dogs, etc. Maybe it should be advertised as a skunk repellent!
I have had a skunk lodging under my [very old] garage for a couple of years. I put this down in front of the entryway [I believe he was in there] just before leaving for 2 weeks. It was supposed to rain that afternoon, but the house had already been put on the market, so I had to do it then.
When I got home, no skunk, no odor. Have literally poured it into the entryway now, so I don't expect it to be back. I sure wouldn't be!! As soon as you open it you smell the horrible pepper.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from NY Hempstead
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Effect on Squirels

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Has on effect on squirels which was the reason it was purchased.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

Did not work

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had a 24x2 strip of sandy soil that neighbors cat used daily. This stuff did nothing to help, cat still had its way. Ended up using vinyl carpet runner turned upside down to cover ground, no more problem.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

Critter Ridder

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product did not work as advertised. I give it 0 stars.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Grass Valley, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Hard to say if the Critter Ridder is really working or not. It definitely makes my dogs sneeze, so I believe they do avoid the areas where I put it. They still dug up a couple of plants, but I think that was because we had a lot of rain which washed most of the CR away. I will continue to reply as needed. I use this along with a bitter spray on the plants themselves.
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Hollywood, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Homeowner

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I did not know if a product existed to help me with my problem of squirrels in my yard. However, as always, I ran to Home Depot. And Yes, they had something to help me with the problem. The product was easy to use, and effective.
Pros: Easy to Use, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Received free product:Yes

this stuff couldn't stop the dog duty

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am charge of the surrounding area of a school. The dog owners think it is their dog run. I sprinkled this garbage down as directed and didn't deter one mangy mutt.
Cons: Not Durable, useless
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Brunswick, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Critter Ridder granules

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We use this product after a few nights and days of skunk smell at the end of February 2014. Critter Ridder Granules around the problem area and after that " NO SKUNKS"
Pros: Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

to get rid of pest

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought the Critter Ridder Animal Repellent to get rid of something under my deck. I havent seen any activity since I bought it, I did have to go back to the store and buy another one.
Depending on how large your deck is I would start out with two (2) containers, they wont go to waiste.
I have a large dog and it didnt bother her after I swept it through the cracks of the deck boards.
Pros: Functionality
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Chalmette, LA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was recommended to me by a Home Depot specialist in the Garden Dept and it has been extremely effective.

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was having problems with cats in my neighborhood coming into my freshly landscaped garden and urinating on a couple of the newly planted bushes. Two of the new plants actually died. At first I thought it was due to a lack of watering or fertilization because the leaves looked like they were burning up and turning brown, but when I described this to a friend who is a horticulturist, he said it was because male cats were "marking their territory", and they tended to go back to the same bushes over and over.
I went to the Home Depot in Chalmette, LA, and spoke with a young lady in the Garden Dept who had been with Home Depot for years and was kind of their authority on plants, and she recommended Critter Ridder granules over the spray because the spray tends to wash away with rain and frequent watering (which I was doing since the plants were new). I began using this product immediately and have had no further problems with the cats. They still come around my home, but they stay far away from my flower beds and bushes. I would highly recommend this product to anyone with similar problems.
I tried to send pics of the garden but they wouldn't upload to your system.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

waste of money

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to keep my neighbor's dog from making their business on my yard, but minutes after using this, their dogs used my yard once again. I won't be buying this again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Cali

This product does not work

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this stuff because I have raccoons terrorizing my back lawn. I put this stuff on and no issues for about 4 days and then my lawn was shredded again. $30 and no success. It's like putting salt and pepper on the meal.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Acworth
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It has workde great to keep the critters from eating our bulbs and flower roots

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was esy to put down and no problem to store. We wiil use it again.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works good

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
its doing the work. last for 30 days. good product good price
Pros: Functionality
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Woodward, Ia.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product did not repel any of the raccoons that were feasting on my plants.

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product may work on some critters but did not work on repelling raccoons. I sprinkled thickly on the soil and the raccoons returned that evening and destroyed all of my pots. the repellent may have been an appetizer.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Allentown, PA

Awesome Product - Works Great!

PostedJune 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We had a terrible problem with raccoons coming on our deck and then using our deck as their latrine. I tried moth balls, cayenne pepper, and lot of other homemade solutions to no avail... Very frustrating. We were told by a friend about Critter ridder - the idea is to use a repellent plus rid the area of potential feeding spots (hummingbird feeders, finch feeders, etc.). That very night one tried to get on our deck..but one whiff of this product and they beat feet! It was amazing!
My husband and I are so relieved... we have had no activity for weeks now! We had also used the Havahart traps and trapped several before we realized we had a real problem on our hands.
I recommend this product to all my friends and neighbors now! The product has worked so very well and we are so thankful!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Dallas, Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Did not work as advertised to keep stray cats out of my yard.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Golden, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor repelant results and coverage

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Coverage area was not accurate, needed to spread more than two cannister. Still have dog spots on the grass after application in an area that the dog likes to relieve himself.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>