728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Insect & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

Protect your lawn, garden and landscaping from animal damage with Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granular from Havahart. Critter Ridder’s patented formula has been proven to repel groundhogs, skunks, dogs, cats, squirrels, raccoons, chipmunks and other nuisance animals. It’s easy-to-use, effective and economical. Just adjust the shaker lid to sprinkle the desired amount of Critter Ridderaround the area you want to protect. For full perimeter protection, you can sprinkle it along a garden path or around a flower bed, or for a more targeted approach you can spot-treat areas around ornamental plants, trees or shrubs, and even trash bags to keep unwanted pests away. Critter Ridder can also be used indoors around potted plants and non-living areas such as basements, cellars, storage areas, sheds and barns. Inside or outside, Critter Ridder delivers longer-lasting protection up to 30 days. Made with all-natural ingredients that repel through scent, taste, and touch, Critter Ridder is OMRI Listed and compliant for use in organic gardenings.
Overall rating:
2.432 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(148 reviews) 148
Open Ratings Snapshot
38%of customersrecommend this product52 of 138reviews
Rating Breakdown 148 reviews
2.4 out of 5.0
5
(29)
4
(22)
3
(10)
2
(10)
1
(77)
Quality 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
Value 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
38%of customersrecommend this product52 of 138reviews
Customer reviews for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
Review 1 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product is working great!

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used the repellent for cats and squirrels. So far I have not had a problem with any animals since I used the product.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

waste of money

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to keep my neighbor's dog from making their business on my yard, but minutes after using this, their dogs used my yard once again. I won't be buying this again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Acworth
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It has workde great to keep the critters from eating our bulbs and flower roots

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was esy to put down and no problem to store. We wiil use it again.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

Did not work

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had a 24x2 strip of sandy soil that neighbors cat used daily. This stuff did nothing to help, cat still had its way. Ended up using vinyl carpet runner turned upside down to cover ground, no more problem.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from NY Hempstead
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Effect on Squirels

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Has on effect on squirels which was the reason it was purchased.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

SKUNKS!!

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews and heard that it didn't do well on squirrels, cats, dogs, etc. Maybe it should be advertised as a skunk repellent!
I have had a skunk lodging under my [very old] garage for a couple of years. I put this down in front of the entryway [I believe he was in there] just before leaving for 2 weeks. It was supposed to rain that afternoon, but the house had already been put on the market, so I had to do it then.
When I got home, no skunk, no odor. Have literally poured it into the entryway now, so I don't expect it to be back. I sure wouldn't be!! As soon as you open it you smell the horrible pepper.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Cali

This product does not work

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this stuff because I have raccoons terrorizing my back lawn. I put this stuff on and no issues for about 4 days and then my lawn was shredded again. $30 and no success. It's like putting salt and pepper on the meal.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Chalmette, LA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was recommended to me by a Home Depot specialist in the Garden Dept and it has been extremely effective.

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was having problems with cats in my neighborhood coming into my freshly landscaped garden and urinating on a couple of the newly planted bushes. Two of the new plants actually died. At first I thought it was due to a lack of watering or fertilization because the leaves looked like they were burning up and turning brown, but when I described this to a friend who is a horticulturist, he said it was because male cats were "marking their territory", and they tended to go back to the same bushes over and over.
I went to the Home Depot in Chalmette, LA, and spoke with a young lady in the Garden Dept who had been with Home Depot for years and was kind of their authority on plants, and she recommended Critter Ridder granules over the spray because the spray tends to wash away with rain and frequent watering (which I was doing since the plants were new). I began using this product immediately and have had no further problems with the cats. They still come around my home, but they stay far away from my flower beds and bushes. I would highly recommend this product to anyone with similar problems.
I tried to send pics of the garden but they wouldn't upload to your system.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works good

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
its doing the work. last for 30 days. good product good price
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

Critter Ridder

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product did not work as advertised. I give it 0 stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

Didn't work for me

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought to repel dogs from peeing at mailbox. 2 PM, sprinkled around mailbox. 4 PM neighbor and his dog come by. Dog sniffed around just treated mailbox area, peed in the middle of the area. A waste of my money for sure.
Cons: didn't work at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Hollywood, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Homeowner

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I did not know if a product existed to help me with my problem of squirrels in my yard. However, as always, I ran to Home Depot. And Yes, they had something to help me with the problem. The product was easy to use, and effective.
Pros: Easy to Use, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Brunswick, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Critter Ridder granules

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We use this product after a few nights and days of skunk smell at the end of February 2014. Critter Ridder Granules around the problem area and after that " NO SKUNKS"
Pros: Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Dallas, Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Did not work as advertised to keep stray cats out of my yard.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

to get rid of pest

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the Critter Ridder Animal Repellent to get rid of something under my deck. I havent seen any activity since I bought it, I did have to go back to the store and buy another one.
Depending on how large your deck is I would start out with two (2) containers, they wont go to waiste.
I have a large dog and it didnt bother her after I swept it through the cracks of the deck boards.
Pros: Functionality
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Golden, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor repelant results and coverage

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Coverage area was not accurate, needed to spread more than two cannister. Still have dog spots on the grass after application in an area that the dog likes to relieve himself.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Southern Missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not very long lasting

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product to discourage squirrels from digging up my newly mulched beds. Product says it can last up to 30 days. In my experience, it seemed to discourage the critters for less than 2 weeks, then they were back at digging. At that rate it could cost me $30 a month for a 40 sq ft area, to try keep squirrels away.
Cons: not effective enough for squirrels
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from New Hampshire, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product to keep out a Groundhog from going under my shed and into my garden. I dropped a whole canister around the shed and sat back. We had no rain, so the repellent did not wash away. The Groundhog wasn't even phased by it. He kept coming and going as if it didn't bother him. Moral of the story, don't waste your money on this product.
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't deter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Long Island

This stuff does not work!

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Same day I spread critter ridder near a lawn ornament, a neighbors dog that always roams the street came in my yard and went right to that exact spot and peed. I spread extra in other places and I still have cats and squirrels that do their business.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Kentucky
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Critter Ridder Animal Repellent

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product in hopes of driving away local cats and dogs. After application of the product there were actually more cats and dogs visiting our property. The product seemed to attract the critters!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>