728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Insect & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

Protect your lawn, garden and landscaping from animal damage with Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granular from Havahart. Critter ridder’s patented formula has been proven to repel groundhogs, skunks, dogs, cats, squirrels, raccoons, chipmunks and other nuisance animals. It’s easy to use, effective and economical. Just adjust the shaker lid to sprinkle the desired amount of critter ridder around the area you want to protect. For full perimeter protection, you can sprinkle it along a garden path or around a flower bed, or for a more targeted approach you can spot-treat areas around ornamental plants, trees or shrubs, and even trash bags to keep unwanted pests away. Critter ridder can also be used indoors around potted plants and non-living areas such as basements, cellars, storage areas, sheds and barns. Inside or outside, critter ridder delivers longer-lasting protection up to 30 days. Made with all-natural ingredients that repel through scent, taste, and touch, critter ridder is OMRI listed and compliant for use in organic gardening.
Overall rating:
2.455 / 5
2.5
 / 
5
(178 reviews) 178
Open Ratings Snapshot
39%of customersrecommend this product65 of 168reviews
Rating Breakdown 178 reviews
2.5 out of 5
5
(34)
4
(28)
3
(14)
2
(11)
1
(91)
Quality 
2.4 out of 5
2.4 out of 5
Value 
2.2 out of 5
2.2 out of 5
39%of customersrecommend this product65 of 168reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
Review 1 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from New orleans, la
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My own animals laughed at me

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My own animals ignored it and the next day I could see where the real nusence animals had eaten another stalk of corn. I am oging to try a motion activated watering system instead of wasting another $15 on black pepper. There may be some other stuff in here but it does not work at all.
Cons: Not Durable, does not work
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product is working great!

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used the repellent for cats and squirrels. So far I have not had a problem with any animals since I used the product.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from augusta, me
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

critter ridder

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
At first I did not think the product worked but in about 5 days I noticed all criters avoided my home. and stopped digging around my foundation.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

SKUNKS!!

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read all the reviews and heard that it didn't do well on squirrels, cats, dogs, etc. Maybe it should be advertised as a skunk repellent!
I have had a skunk lodging under my [very old] garage for a couple of years. I put this down in front of the entryway [I believe he was in there] just before leaving for 2 weeks. It was supposed to rain that afternoon, but the house had already been put on the market, so I had to do it then.
When I got home, no skunk, no odor. Have literally poured it into the entryway now, so I don't expect it to be back. I sure wouldn't be!! As soon as you open it you smell the horrible pepper.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Webster, MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK Product

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I picked this up to keep the neighborhood animals and wild animals away from the lawn and the garden. It seemed to work for a week or so, then it didn't matter and they were back. You do not get very much in the can and it goes very quickly. Not so easy to spread and make it last. I would have rather bought something with more volume and longer lasting effects. If you have an extremely small area that you are protecting, then this may work if you reapply every week or so.
Pros: worked/short time
Cons: small amount for price, did not last long
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Stoudesburg PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We got this repellent device last year as a reward from my employer. The problem was that there was no information on how to refill the granules which were the active part of the device, AND we could find nowhere to get the refills without buying new devices...UNTIL we check with HomeDepot and we are back in business! Thank you HomeDepot!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from mesa az
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good stuff works well bye bye cat butt stuff

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
this product worked as stated, The product did rid our yard of critters as stated but it only last for a short time and must be reapplied in the dry form. on a regular basis.
Pros: Easy to Install, Strong
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Avondale Estates GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Useless

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The squirrels immediately rolled in it. It didn't repel at all.
Cons: didn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product works great

PostedJuly 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a problem with an varmint digging up my new lawn. I put down just the 2 lbs of the Critter Ridder around the problem areas. The rodent has not been around since and my lawn looks much better as a result.
Pros: Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Broomfield, Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

PostedJuly 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was not worth the money by far, we all in Broomfield have been having issues with the over run of Rabbits in all neighborhoods.....We have "Bunnies" all over our fenced yard they have taken up a "HOME" under our deck....We have sprinkled the granules all around our plants, our fences, our perimeter of our property with no luck!!!! The Rabbits seem to be Rolling on the ground in laughter as they are not deterred by the "scent" of the granules....This was a waste of money.....Not sure what to do at this point.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

not 4 cats

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
if you have a cat issue don't waste your time and money. Sprinkled product on a path way , the very next day the cat was strolling on it. Both days were sunny.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Amelia, OH 45102, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Critter Ridder

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Really didn't see much help on keeping the Squirrels out of my Lime tree...I'll keep trying more to see if continual treatment helps
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Cleveland, Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Tried and do like.

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It was easy to use must wear gloves wash hands after use, the only problem can emptied really quick though ran out before I could spread all around.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Montana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great stuff!!

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use. Does not kill flowers when applied to the garden.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Berwyn, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good idea for pesty dog

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Critter Ridder effectively makes my next door neighbor's dog not find my place so attractive to come and relieve himself. Because there is not enough in the can to take care of my entire lawn, I placed the contents in a line on the border of my property at the place the dog used to amble in. After a couple of tries in and an immediate reaction to the smell (I guess it's the smell), the dog has not tried to enter my property in two weeks. Now he goes over to the other side of his property. :-)
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Phoenix, AZ

Bad Buy

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product with the expectation that it would keep my dog out of the bushes, my pup didn't even know I had done anything to the area and continued to dig everything up.
Pros: Vibrant Color
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from ca
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Save Your Money

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Applied per instructions and watched the squirrels walk right through it.
And 2 lbs of product doesn't go very far. SKIP THIS PRODUCT.
Pros: none
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Tampa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Bother

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this and the spray to try to keep animals from digging. Didn't stop anything at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't Waste Your Money

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this product, after returning the spray version, hoping that it would help keep the stray cats in our neighborhood out of our mulch beds. Needless to say, they were right back in it hours after I applied it. Don't waste your money. There doesn't seem to be an easy way to keep pests away.
Cons: waste of money, doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Long Beach, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Do not waste your money

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It does not work, the skunk was laughing at me.
and as expensive as this product.
bad buy.
not recommend
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>