728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

Protect your lawn, garden and landscaping from animal damage with Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granular from Havahart. Critter Ridder’s patented formula has been proven to repel groundhogs, skunks, dogs, cats, squirrels, raccoons, chipmunks and other nuisance animals. It’s easy-to-use, effective and economical. Just adjust the shaker lid to sprinkle the desired amount of Critter Ridderaround the area you want to protect. For full perimeter protection, you can sprinkle it along a garden path or around a flower bed, or for a more targeted approach you can spot-treat areas around ornamental plants, trees or shrubs, and even trash bags to keep unwanted pests away. Critter Ridder can also be used indoors around potted plants and non-living areas such as basements, cellars, storage areas, sheds and barns. Inside or outside, Critter Ridder delivers longer-lasting protection up to 30 days. Made with all-natural ingredients that repel through scent, taste, and touch, Critter Ridder is OMRI Listed and compliant for use in organic gardenings.
Overall rating:
2.414 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(140 reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
37%of customersrecommend this product48 of 130reviews
Rating Breakdown 140 reviews
2.4 out of 5.0
5
(27)
4
(20)
3
(10)
2
(10)
1
(73)
Quality 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
Value 
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1 out of 5
37%of customersrecommend this product48 of 130reviews
Customer reviews for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
Review 1 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product is working great!

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used the repellent for cats and squirrels. So far I have not had a problem with any animals since I used the product.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

Did not work

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had a 24x2 strip of sandy soil that neighbors cat used daily. This stuff did nothing to help, cat still had its way. Ended up using vinyl carpet runner turned upside down to cover ground, no more problem.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Cali

This product does not work

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this stuff because I have raccoons terrorizing my back lawn. I put this stuff on and no issues for about 4 days and then my lawn was shredded again. $30 and no success. It's like putting salt and pepper on the meal.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Golden, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor repelant results and coverage

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Coverage area was not accurate, needed to spread more than two cannister. Still have dog spots on the grass after application in an area that the dog likes to relieve himself.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

SKUNKS!!

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews and heard that it didn't do well on squirrels, cats, dogs, etc. Maybe it should be advertised as a skunk repellent!
I have had a skunk lodging under my [very old] garage for a couple of years. I put this down in front of the entryway [I believe he was in there] just before leaving for 2 weeks. It was supposed to rain that afternoon, but the house had already been put on the market, so I had to do it then.
When I got home, no skunk, no odor. Have literally poured it into the entryway now, so I don't expect it to be back. I sure wouldn't be!! As soon as you open it you smell the horrible pepper.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from NY Hempstead
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Effect on Squirels

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Has on effect on squirels which was the reason it was purchased.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Southern Missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not very long lasting

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product to discourage squirrels from digging up my newly mulched beds. Product says it can last up to 30 days. In my experience, it seemed to discourage the critters for less than 2 weeks, then they were back at digging. At that rate it could cost me $30 a month for a 40 sq ft area, to try keep squirrels away.
Cons: not effective enough for squirrels
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Brunswick, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Critter Ridder granules

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We use this product after a few nights and days of skunk smell at the end of February 2014. Critter Ridder Granules around the problem area and after that " NO SKUNKS"
Pros: Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from New Hampshire, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product to keep out a Groundhog from going under my shed and into my garden. I dropped a whole canister around the shed and sat back. We had no rain, so the repellent did not wash away. The Groundhog wasn't even phased by it. He kept coming and going as if it didn't bother him. Moral of the story, don't waste your money on this product.
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't deter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

to get rid of pest

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the Critter Ridder Animal Repellent to get rid of something under my deck. I havent seen any activity since I bought it, I did have to go back to the store and buy another one.
Depending on how large your deck is I would start out with two (2) containers, they wont go to waiste.
I have a large dog and it didnt bother her after I swept it through the cracks of the deck boards.
Pros: Functionality
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Long Island

This stuff does not work!

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Same day I spread critter ridder near a lawn ornament, a neighbors dog that always roams the street came in my yard and went right to that exact spot and peed. I spread extra in other places and I still have cats and squirrels that do their business.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Kentucky
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Critter Ridder Animal Repellent

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product in hopes of driving away local cats and dogs. After application of the product there were actually more cats and dogs visiting our property. The product seemed to attract the critters!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Katy, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worst cat repellent, do not waste your money

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was a waste of money: I spread this 2 Lb of Critter Ridder Animal repellent Granules over an area of 5 x 5 feet and ran away. When i turned around the little 4 cats together with their parents were playing on top of the granules. Even worst the following days they even sleep over it.
Cons: does not work at all, so expensive, cannot return it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Ann Arbor, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very potent!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This works really well to keep critters from chewing on flowers. Apply as often as instructed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

Does not work!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The critters didn't mind it at all. It did not work for me at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Work well

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It apparently does repel the chipmunks in my yard. My only dissapointment with it is that it does not seem to last as long as they say that it will. I live near a woods so it is a difficult situation.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules

nothing better

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you want to keep dogs or all kinds of critters off of your property or away from an area, this is what you want.
I had my doubts, but it works amazingly well
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from New Smyrna Beach, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Critter ridder

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I guess my expectation was a little high. With so much rain in Florida it does not seem to last very long. I am trying to keep dogs from peeing on my flowers and pooping on my lawn. This should be the dog owners responsibility, but I guess not. Works for awhile but is too costly to keep buying every month. Wish it lasted longer.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from New Jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Followed instructions four times with poor results. Product does not perform as listed on container. A waste of money, do not recommend.

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Would not recommend nor purchase again. A waste of money.
Cons: poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 lb. Critter Ridder Animal Repellent Granules
from Richmond Va. area
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good purchase

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Container was easy to open; granules poured easily, & it seems to be working, as I have seen no critters near my garden, since I used it.
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>