728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilet Parts & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Complete Toilet Repair Kit

The Fluidmaster Complete Toilet Repair Kit lets you replace everything in your toilet tank at once. This kit includes a 400A fill valve, an Adjust-A-Flush flapper, a flush valve, a tank lever, hardware and seals for your convenience. This complete toilet tank repair kit is for 1.6 Gal. per flush toilets.
Overall rating:
3.898 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(264 reviews) 264
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product202 of 253reviews
Rating Breakdown 264 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(122)
4
(72)
3
(22)
2
(17)
1
(31)
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product202 of 253reviews
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 83 Answers
Customer reviews for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Review 1 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Was a good kit until they removed some parts.

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It was a perfect kit to rebuild Mansfield toilet tanks until they removed a screw set. Mansfield has 3 screws and now I have to buy an additional screw set to get enough parts. Also most people have replaced their fill valve in those toilets and Home Depot stopped carrying the flush valve assembly by itself so I have to buy the whole kit and have trouble separating out the cost when I only use the flush valve assembly in the kit. I like HD but they keep changing what they got right.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: not complete
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Worked fine for me..but a critical step was not in the instructions.

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this kit to rework the insides of an old Mansfield toilet. All of the parts were included and instructions were fairly detailed. One step that should be included in the instructions, but was not. The overflow tube (the one that the fill hose attaches to) that is part of the flush valve is fairly long, and may need to be trimmed down on some tanks. If it is not trimmed to the proper height (just above the waterline), you could have a flood if they fill valve were to leak or stick open. The reason for this is due to the water reaching the hole in the side of the tank for the handle before it reaches the height of the overflow tube. Trimming it to a height between that of the handle hole and the full water line allows any excess water to safely drain through the toilet.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Washington, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product stopped the leak.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've rewriten this review. I first gave it 1 star because it leaked from the tank to the bowl after installation. When putting the tank top back on after photographing it, I discovered that the chain was catching under the rubber attachment loop on the flapper. I had checked that it couldn't reach under the flapper itself and hold it open, but it was long enough to catch under the loop. This is shown in the attached photo. After remedying that, it works fine.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks, material quality looks good.
Cons: instructions could be improved and amplified.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+31points
36out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Sun City Center, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product!!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The instructions were great - user friendly - saved me a ton of money hiring a professional AND continues to save money in water use.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Litchfield, MI 49252
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toilet Works Better than New

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Fluidmaster Kit has all the aprts to completely make everything inside the tank back to "NEW" condition. The illustrated instructions are quite easy to follow. By purchasing the complete kit, the fill valve and flush valve are compatible and make an excellent rebuild of the tank.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, easy to flush, Quiet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Highly recommend Fluidmaster products. Checkout your actual needs against their different offerings before buying

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We had a hybrid flushing device that came on our builder-installed, Mansfield toilets. After 3 years of constantly replacing flush/stopper gaskets, it was time to end the water loss on our 3 toilets. Removal of the toilet tank was necessary since the Mansfield units didn't have the "normal stopper mechanism". Leaks have now stopped & it flushes more easily. Our son also has Mansfield toilets & is plagued with the same issue.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Augusta, KS

Good purchase for the money.

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Nice product except it didn't come with all the required parts. Had to exchange it and that one had more hardware than needed.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Definitely NOT Universal

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Check the inside of your toilet tank. If it has the Gerber label, You may have problems (leaking because the gasket is too small.) The tank to toilet gasket that comes with my kit did NOT fit my toilet tank. Buy a gasket kit for GERBER toilets. (The rest of the kit WILL work, though.). Written instructions are TERRIBLE-just watch the manufacturer's installation video and save yourself some time. I had to pick up my separate gasket kit (Item # 247754) at Lowe's.
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Douglasville, Ga.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

System lacks tank bolt

PostedJuly 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
For 3 bolt tanks --You are shorted 1bolt -washers & nut Why not include & charge additionally ?
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Longview, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect Solution for our Problem!

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product was very easy to install and worked fabulous without having to make any adjustments for our application :)
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from orlando, florida

Affordable one-stop rebuild

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Everything you need to rebuild a toilet in one affordable package.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good kit

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It went in easily and worked perfectly the first time.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Albany, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After my second trip to the store to get a flapper that would fit my old toilet, the associate realized I was trying to fix a small item on a 20 year old toilet and suggested this rebuild kit. I got it home, laid it out and went to work. 30 minutes later, I have what seems like a new toilet. Everything works like a champ. No more leaking flapper or flush valve. This is was a good purchase and I would definitely recommend this to someone with any toilet problems.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from San Leandro, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation, but flapper leaks.

PostedJuly 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Flapper leaks even after several adjustments. Returning ones for other bathrooms.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By FluidmasterSupportJuly 21, 2015By FluidmasterSupportJuly 21, 2015
Hi Bill I am sorry that you are having a leak after installing the Complete Toilet Repair Kit. I would like to help resolve the issue. I suggest giving the Technical Service Department at Fluidmaster a call to help diagnose and resolve the problem. Please contact Fluidmaster Technical Service Department during business hours, we are open from 5:30 am through 5:00 pm Pacific Standard Time Monday through Friday. We are available through Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support and E-mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com and Phone 800-631-2011. FluidMaster
Review 15 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Won't work for 3 inch flush valves

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I took all the guts out of my old toilet and went to install this kit. The flush valve will only work for 2 inch flush valve openings and not 3 inch openings. Therefore, it is not really universal. Otherwise, I've used this product before. It works well and is easy to install.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Cape Coral, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very complete product

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have used this product on several occasions, and have always found it to be an excellent replacement for the toilets we repair
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Quick and easy to install

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am a plumber of 15 years and I use this product all the time.Just watch when buying off the shelf always check to make sure all parts are there.Nothing like getting home and having to go back out and get the right stuff because somebody took some parts out of the box.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Vineland,NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy on

PostedJuly 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
it took me longer to remove the old hardware.It was so easy I bought a second one for the neighbor
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Santa Rosa, California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If you have a Kohler or Sterling Toilet, you may need to buy a Kohler 3 hole gasket.

PostedJune 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installation went well and good instructions until I got to the main gasket installation, which then says, If you have Kohler toilet, use a Kohler gasket. I have a Sterling, which is made by Kohler, so back to the store I went. Not really a big deal, but maybe should put that information on the outside wrapper.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install; Works well

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installation instruction is detailed and easy to follow. It works well. One improvement I'd like to see is thicker and stronger washers for the screws that lock the tank to the toilet base. Everything else is great.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>