728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilet Parts & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Complete Toilet Repair Kit

The Fluidmaster Complete Toilet Repair Kit lets you replace everything in your toilet tank at once. This kit includes a 400A fill valve, an Adjust-A-Flush flapper, a flush valve, a tank lever, hardware and seals for your convenience. This complete toilet tank repair kit is for 1.6 gallon per flush toilets.
Overall rating:
3.863 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(212 reviews) 212
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product159 of 203reviews
Rating Breakdown 212 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(100)
4
(52)
3
(19)
2
(13)
1
(28)
Ease of installation 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product159 of 203reviews
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 74 Answers
Customer reviews for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Review 1 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Was a good kit until they removed some parts.

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was a perfect kit to rebuild Mansfield toilet tanks until they removed a screw set. Mansfield has 3 screws and now I have to buy an additional screw set to get enough parts. Also most people have replaced their fill valve in those toilets and Home Depot stopped carrying the flush valve assembly by itself so I have to buy the whole kit and have trouble separating out the cost when I only use the flush valve assembly in the kit. I like HD but they keep changing what they got right.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: not complete
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Worked fine for me..but a critical step was not in the instructions.

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this kit to rework the insides of an old Mansfield toilet. All of the parts were included and instructions were fairly detailed. One step that should be included in the instructions, but was not. The overflow tube (the one that the fill hose attaches to) that is part of the flush valve is fairly long, and may need to be trimmed down on some tanks. If it is not trimmed to the proper height (just above the waterline), you could have a flood if they fill valve were to leak or stick open. The reason for this is due to the water reaching the hole in the side of the tank for the handle before it reaches the height of the overflow tube. Trimming it to a height between that of the handle hole and the full water line allows any excess water to safely drain through the toilet.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Sun City Center, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product!!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The instructions were great - user friendly - saved me a ton of money hiring a professional AND continues to save money in water use.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Washington, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product stopped the leak.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've rewriten this review. I first gave it 1 star because it leaked from the tank to the bowl after installation. When putting the tank top back on after photographing it, I discovered that the chain was catching under the rubber attachment loop on the flapper. I had checked that it couldn't reach under the flapper itself and hold it open, but it was long enough to catch under the loop. This is shown in the attached photo. After remedying that, it works fine.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks, material quality looks good.
Cons: instructions could be improved and amplified.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+25points
29out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Quick and easy to install

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am a plumber of 15 years and I use this product all the time.Just watch when buying off the shelf always check to make sure all parts are there.Nothing like getting home and having to go back out and get the right stuff because somebody took some parts out of the box.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Won't work for 3 inch flush valves

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I took all the guts out of my old toilet and went to install this kit. The flush valve will only work for 2 inch flush valve openings and not 3 inch openings. Therefore, it is not really universal. Otherwise, I've used this product before. It works well and is easy to install.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works well

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I fills the tank fast but it does make a lot of noise doing it. The flush handle is made very cheap. For the price it does the job and had no problems with the install.
Pros: Good Instructions
Cons: Noisy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Albany, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After my second trip to the store to get a flapper that would fit my old toilet, the associate realized I was trying to fix a small item on a 20 year old toilet and suggested this rebuild kit. I got it home, laid it out and went to work. 30 minutes later, I have what seems like a new toilet. Everything works like a champ. No more leaking flapper or flush valve. This is was a good purchase and I would definitely recommend this to someone with any toilet problems.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works just fine

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed the kit on a 70's American Standard Toilet, followed the directions and it is working fine.
Pros: Good Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Cincinnati
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Complete Toilet Repair Kit

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Nice complete kit. Followed instructions and did not have any leaks! Instructions could be made a little easier to follow. Overall instructions not too bad. Would be nice to have a kit with toilet bowl rubber washers that seated into screw holes.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: instructions could be made a little easier
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Definitely NOT Universal

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Check the inside of your toilet tank. If it has the Gerber label, You may have problems (leaking because the gasket is too small.) The tank to toilet gasket that comes with my kit did NOT fit my toilet tank. Buy a gasket kit for GERBER toilets. (The rest of the kit WILL work, though.). Written instructions are TERRIBLE-just watch the manufacturer's installation video and save yourself some time. I had to pick up my separate gasket kit (Item # 247754) at Lowe's.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Houston, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quickest way to fix your toilet!!!

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The only thing is that the plastic plug had some slippage, so it ran for a bit before I realized I needed to clean the "lip" of the drain to the bowel.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Orlando
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

COMPLETE TOILET REPAIR KIT

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product is easy to assemble, the kit is very complete, I am really pleased with it.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Nashville, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toilet Repair Kit

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This has everything you need to fix a leak. I helped a lady at church that had a leaky toilet. I bought this so I would not have to go back to the store and get more parts. I first just replaced the filling valve and hoped that would solve her problem, as her old one was not shutting off. I told her to keep the other stuff in the kit we did not use as it would come in handy in the future. It looked like it worked that day but after a few days there was still a leak, so I replaced the emptying valve and it solved the problem. She is happy and the water bill has been reduced.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Pennsauken, NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible!!

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My toilet flapper was bad. My toilet is older and I could not just replace the flapper, I needed to replace everything. So I purchased this rebuild kit. It did fix my issue with the toilet slowly leaking into the bowl. However!!!! Installation had way to many cuts and adjustments to be made. Now my toilet bowl does not completely empty when I flush, it takes so much longer for the toilet to refill. It is much louder that even my 4 yr old noticed he difference! I have to flush at least six times to clear the bowl of any "debris". I wish I could give it negative stars.
Pros: No Leaks
Cons: Too Slow
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By FluidmasterSupportOctober 20, 2014By FluidmasterSupportOctober 20, 2014
Hi dpeazzy – I am sorry that you are having these problems with our kit. In most cases the problems you are experiencing can be easily resolved by adding water to the tank or by adjusting the adjustable flapper. I would like to learn more and even work with you to resolve these issues. Please contact the Technical Service Department at Fluidmaster and ask for the Supervisor any time during Fluidmaster’s operating hours, 5:30 AM to 5:00 PM (Pacific) Monday thru Friday. Our toll-free number is 800-631-2011 or if you prefer e-mail, please contact us at techsupport@fluidmaster.comFluidMaster
Review 16 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy To Install - Works Great

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Fluidmaster system is easy to install and works very reliably. I installed it in both toilets two months ago and haven't had any issues with either one. I'm very pleased with the system.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Fairfax Station, Virginia
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

New tank installation

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Comprehensive list of components. Had everything I needed. One criticism is that the washers for the tank bolts are too firm and it takes too much pressure to make them seal properly. I felt I was at risk of cracking the tank in order to torque them enough to get a good seal. It worked in the end, but was a little risky.
Pros: Good Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from cambridge,ma
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good produt,great price.

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy installation,no skill require and solve my problem.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Grand Junction, Co
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did the job

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I needed different tools that I did not have to remove some of the old parts. This was not listed as tools needed.
Pros: No Leaks
Cons: no tool for removing old part.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Valley Springs, Calif
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent # of models to choose from !!

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
good instructions, easy to install......excellent model for our needs
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>