728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Complete Toilet Repair Kit

The Fluidmaster Complete Toilet Repair Kit lets you replace everything in your toilet tank at once. This kit includes a 400A fill valve, an Adjust-A-Flush flapper, a flush valve, a tank lever, hardware and seals for your convenience. This complete toilet tank repair kit is for 1.6 gallon per flush toilets.
Overall rating:
3.885 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(252 reviews) 252
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product191 of 242reviews
Rating Breakdown 252 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(117)
4
(66)
3
(22)
2
(17)
1
(30)
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product191 of 242reviews
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 79 Answers
Customer reviews for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Review 1 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Was a good kit until they removed some parts.

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It was a perfect kit to rebuild Mansfield toilet tanks until they removed a screw set. Mansfield has 3 screws and now I have to buy an additional screw set to get enough parts. Also most people have replaced their fill valve in those toilets and Home Depot stopped carrying the flush valve assembly by itself so I have to buy the whole kit and have trouble separating out the cost when I only use the flush valve assembly in the kit. I like HD but they keep changing what they got right.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: not complete
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Worked fine for me..but a critical step was not in the instructions.

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this kit to rework the insides of an old Mansfield toilet. All of the parts were included and instructions were fairly detailed. One step that should be included in the instructions, but was not. The overflow tube (the one that the fill hose attaches to) that is part of the flush valve is fairly long, and may need to be trimmed down on some tanks. If it is not trimmed to the proper height (just above the waterline), you could have a flood if they fill valve were to leak or stick open. The reason for this is due to the water reaching the hole in the side of the tank for the handle before it reaches the height of the overflow tube. Trimming it to a height between that of the handle hole and the full water line allows any excess water to safely drain through the toilet.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Washington, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product stopped the leak.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've rewriten this review. I first gave it 1 star because it leaked from the tank to the bowl after installation. When putting the tank top back on after photographing it, I discovered that the chain was catching under the rubber attachment loop on the flapper. I had checked that it couldn't reach under the flapper itself and hold it open, but it was long enough to catch under the loop. This is shown in the attached photo. After remedying that, it works fine.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks, material quality looks good.
Cons: instructions could be improved and amplified.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+27points
32out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Sun City Center, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product!!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The instructions were great - user friendly - saved me a ton of money hiring a professional AND continues to save money in water use.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Litchfield, MI 49252
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toilet Works Better than New

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Fluidmaster Kit has all the aprts to completely make everything inside the tank back to "NEW" condition. The illustrated instructions are quite easy to follow. By purchasing the complete kit, the fill valve and flush valve are compatible and make an excellent rebuild of the tank.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, easy to flush, Quiet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Miami
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not universal for m

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read about the repair kit online before visiting the store. It sounded like what I needed --- universal, right? -- for my two late 1960s-era toilets. Without seeing the bathrooms, the plumber who was going to update suggested I buy the materials myself beforehand to save some money. But it turns out my toilets have SIDE handles, not the front handles in the kit. So I had to go to a plumbing supply house to buy the right handles. The plumber was going to cannibalize the kits, but it was cheaper and easier to replace only handles and flaps. Home Depot kindly took back the non-universal kits. So I don't recommend for side-handle toilets, but materials looked good for a front-handle.
Cons: not universal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By FluidmasterSupportApril 30, 2015By FluidmasterSupportApril 30, 2015
GypsyGirl – Thank you for your review of the Fluidmaster Complete Toilet Repair Kit. The handles in our kit will work on a side mounted toilet because the plastic material we use is designed to bend and stay into the shape you need. I would like the opportunity to discuss your experience and answer any questions you might have. Please contact Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department and ask to speak with the Technical Service Supervisor, I can be contacted via Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support E-Mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com and Phone 800-631-2011 FluidMaster
Review 7 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Castaic
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worst purchase

PostedApril 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This kit was easy enough to install, considering I figured I would get years of use out it. But the reason we bought this was that our flappers and handle arms were getting very sticky and hard for our kids to flush. Once these were installed in both toilets, one started leaking around the flapper in the first week. 3 months later and we are turning off the water in between flushes so that the water doesn't run all day. You can HEAR the water leaking around the flapper, and short of taking of the lid, reaching your hand down and pushing hard to create a seal while the tank fills after a flush, it is a USELESS product. I intend to contact the manufacturer and get my money back.
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By FluidmasterSupportApril 21, 2015By FluidmasterSupportApril 21, 2015
Hi KMac – Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your issues. I am very sorry that this is happening and would like the opportunity to resolve the issues you are having. In most cases the leak you are referring to may not be from a flapper but a loose flush valve nut that needs to be tightened. Please contact the Fluidmaster Technical Service Department at Fluidmaster so we can try and resolve your issue. We can be contacted Monday thru Friday from 5:30 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. You may contact us via Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support E-mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com or phone us at 800-6312011. FluidMaster
Response from By FluidmasterSupportApril 21, 2015By FluidmasterSupportApril 21, 2015
Hi KMac – Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your issues. I am very sorry that this is happening and would like the opportunity to resolve the issues you are having. In most cases the leak you are referring to may not be from a flapper but a loose flush valve nut that needs to be tightened. Please contact the Fluidmaster Technical Service Department at Fluidmaster so we can try and resolve your issue. We can be contacted Monday thru Friday from 5:30 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. You may contact us via Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support E-mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com or phone us at 800-6312011. FluidMaster
Review 8 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Quick and easy to install

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am a plumber of 15 years and I use this product all the time.Just watch when buying off the shelf always check to make sure all parts are there.Nothing like getting home and having to go back out and get the right stuff because somebody took some parts out of the box.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Won't work for 3 inch flush valves

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I took all the guts out of my old toilet and went to install this kit. The flush valve will only work for 2 inch flush valve openings and not 3 inch openings. Therefore, it is not really universal. Otherwise, I've used this product before. It works well and is easy to install.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Scottsdale
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality product!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It took some time reading the instructions, but overall it was easy to install and it works perfect.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Chapel Hill, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fluidmaster Model # 400AKRP10

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought the Fluidmaster Model # 400AKRP10 a few days ago and subsequently installed it. The instructions are meticulous and detailed.
I am only moderately handy but the instructions helped me install the unit such that my toilet is working again with no leaks (it has been a few days).
My biggest complaint with this product is that it should clearly state on the package that Kohler toilets require a separate toilet-to-tank purchase, since the Kohler toilet I own has 3 bolts. I had done my research beforehand, so I knew I needed the Kohler 3-bolt toilet-to-tank product, but this research took me quite a while. Although the detailed directions noted that some Kohler toilets required a different part, this should have been clearly stated on the outside of the package.
I also purchased the Kohler part (KOHLER Model # K-GP51487, Triangle Tank Gasket with Bolts for Most Two-Piece Toilets) at Home Depot.
Time will tell if the Fluidmaster system is a durable, reliable replacement.
Pros: Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: missing information
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Definitely NOT Universal

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Check the inside of your toilet tank. If it has the Gerber label, You may have problems (leaking because the gasket is too small.) The tank to toilet gasket that comes with my kit did NOT fit my toilet tank. Buy a gasket kit for GERBER toilets. (The rest of the kit WILL work, though.). Written instructions are TERRIBLE-just watch the manufacturer's installation video and save yourself some time. I had to pick up my separate gasket kit (Item # 247754) at Lowe's.
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Albany, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After my second trip to the store to get a flapper that would fit my old toilet, the associate realized I was trying to fix a small item on a 20 year old toilet and suggested this rebuild kit. I got it home, laid it out and went to work. 30 minutes later, I have what seems like a new toilet. Everything works like a champ. No more leaking flapper or flush valve. This is was a good purchase and I would definitely recommend this to someone with any toilet problems.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
the assembly was easy but I think it could have used something better than the plastic handle.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: plastic handle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Indianapolis, IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cost effective but not for the faint of heart

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a cost effective way to solve a toilet's most heavily used system. However, it's not for the faint of heart. Removal of the tank cannot be avoided and that requires more than basic plumbing skills. Fortunately, everything is compression-fit, no soldering. But if you're afraid of leaks this project is more than you'll want to tackle.
It's a one-person job, about 40 minutes start to finish, with the bulk of the effort spent removing the tank because existing hardware may be seized or hard to unbolt. Everything goes back together easily and performs well.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: small step above handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Arizona
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not have all parts needed

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Instruction did not state my brand of toilet needed additional parts. I spend $20 on this kit and after taking the toilet apart, I had to go back to Home Depot to get additional items for another $25. For the time, money and headache, I should have just replaced the entire toilet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By FluidmasterSupportMay 15, 2015By FluidmasterSupportMay 15, 2015
Hi kennyo -I am very sorry that you had this experience, The Complete Kit does come with everything you need for a 2 bolt constructed tank. I would like to mention however that not all toilet tanks use standard parts and there are times when your toilet may need a specialized part that the original manufacturer specifies for their toilet. I would like to learn more about your toilet and parts needed and if possible offer a solution. Please give Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department a call. Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department is open from 5:30 AM to 5:00 PM and can be reached through Chat: www.fluidmaster.com/support E-mail: techsupport@fluidmaster.com and Phone: 800-631-2011. FluidMaster
Review 17 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from cinti ohoi
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Used before good product

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
used this product in the past and again has proven ease of installation and quality of project . Will use again in the future
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Good Product for 1.6 GPF leaking studio

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Fully plastic product , hopefully it is robust. Had to cut the chain for the stopper to make the size fits.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Michigan, just south of Automation Alley
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The problem solved at the first attempt. No Complaints at all.

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
All of the parts fit correctly, which was a great relief, since the whole kit did not need any special efforts to get it installed.
The best part was that the problem was completely cured and I don't need to work on that toilet any more for the next ten years, or so. So I am a happy customer.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: not cheap but it did the job perfectly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

easy peasy

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When I first heard the slow rush of water I thought I needed to just replace the flapper...I was wrong. I was glad Home Depot was open late and they had exactly what I needed. The repair kit was perfect and easy to install.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>