728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilet Parts & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Complete Toilet Repair Kit

The Fluidmaster Complete Toilet Repair Kit lets you replace everything in your toilet tank at once. This kit includes a 400A fill valve, an Adjust-A-Flush flapper, a flush valve, a tank lever, hardware and seals for your convenience. This complete toilet tank repair kit is for 1.6 gallon per flush toilets.
Overall rating:
3.899 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(238 reviews) 238
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product182 of 229reviews
Rating Breakdown 238 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(112)
4
(61)
3
(22)
2
(15)
1
(28)
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product182 of 229reviews
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 75 Answers
Customer reviews for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Review 1 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Was a good kit until they removed some parts.

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It was a perfect kit to rebuild Mansfield toilet tanks until they removed a screw set. Mansfield has 3 screws and now I have to buy an additional screw set to get enough parts. Also most people have replaced their fill valve in those toilets and Home Depot stopped carrying the flush valve assembly by itself so I have to buy the whole kit and have trouble separating out the cost when I only use the flush valve assembly in the kit. I like HD but they keep changing what they got right.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: not complete
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Worked fine for me..but a critical step was not in the instructions.

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this kit to rework the insides of an old Mansfield toilet. All of the parts were included and instructions were fairly detailed. One step that should be included in the instructions, but was not. The overflow tube (the one that the fill hose attaches to) that is part of the flush valve is fairly long, and may need to be trimmed down on some tanks. If it is not trimmed to the proper height (just above the waterline), you could have a flood if they fill valve were to leak or stick open. The reason for this is due to the water reaching the hole in the side of the tank for the handle before it reaches the height of the overflow tube. Trimming it to a height between that of the handle hole and the full water line allows any excess water to safely drain through the toilet.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Sun City Center, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product!!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The instructions were great - user friendly - saved me a ton of money hiring a professional AND continues to save money in water use.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Washington, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product stopped the leak.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've rewriten this review. I first gave it 1 star because it leaked from the tank to the bowl after installation. When putting the tank top back on after photographing it, I discovered that the chain was catching under the rubber attachment loop on the flapper. I had checked that it couldn't reach under the flapper itself and hold it open, but it was long enough to catch under the loop. This is shown in the attached photo. After remedying that, it works fine.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks, material quality looks good.
Cons: instructions could be improved and amplified.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+25points
30out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Litchfield, MI 49252
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toilet Works Better than New

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Fluidmaster Kit has all the aprts to completely make everything inside the tank back to "NEW" condition. The illustrated instructions are quite easy to follow. By purchasing the complete kit, the fill valve and flush valve are compatible and make an excellent rebuild of the tank.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, easy to flush, Quiet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Quick and easy to install

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am a plumber of 15 years and I use this product all the time.Just watch when buying off the shelf always check to make sure all parts are there.Nothing like getting home and having to go back out and get the right stuff because somebody took some parts out of the box.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Won't work for 3 inch flush valves

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I took all the guts out of my old toilet and went to install this kit. The flush valve will only work for 2 inch flush valve openings and not 3 inch openings. Therefore, it is not really universal. Otherwise, I've used this product before. It works well and is easy to install.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Everything needed and easy install:)

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very easy to install with the instructions given. I think Fluidmaster has read some of the previous posters reviews cause now they state on the box that there are only two tank bolts and the gasket provided won't fit some Gerber and Kohler models. Two minor negatives that I ran into while I was installing were the tank lever and the torque guard locknut for the filler valve. On my toilet tank the tank lever hole is on the rounded corner of the tank. No matter how hard you try to bend the new lever it won't fit. I had to use the old one. Finally, the new patented Torque Guard locknut only has one thread running around inside the middle of the locknut. I know it's only supposed to be hand tight, but the locknut felt slightly weak while I was tightening it. I ended up using the old locknut cause it felt stronger as I was tightening. Other than that all went well and was slick:).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Albany, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After my second trip to the store to get a flapper that would fit my old toilet, the associate realized I was trying to fix a small item on a 20 year old toilet and suggested this rebuild kit. I got it home, laid it out and went to work. 30 minutes later, I have what seems like a new toilet. Everything works like a champ. No more leaking flapper or flush valve. This is was a good purchase and I would definitely recommend this to someone with any toilet problems.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Definitely NOT Universal

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Check the inside of your toilet tank. If it has the Gerber label, You may have problems (leaking because the gasket is too small.) The tank to toilet gasket that comes with my kit did NOT fit my toilet tank. Buy a gasket kit for GERBER toilets. (The rest of the kit WILL work, though.). Written instructions are TERRIBLE-just watch the manufacturer's installation video and save yourself some time. I had to pick up my separate gasket kit (Item # 247754) at Lowe's.
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Great universal priduct

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Do handyman services and have bought many of these they work on many different toilets have not had an issue with the parts not working on any toilet so far...... But that doesn'mean I won't find one
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Lovejoy, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Averge Product

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Be mindful when you receive this product that there are no broken pieces. We bought this item brand new and there were a broken piece. The installation was easy, but about 2 weeks later my toilet was leaking because the screw piece came a loose.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product works, but quality control is questionable

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Directions are very good and product can be installed by persons with average repair skills. I installed 2 of these units and both had problems with leaks despite careful attention to instructions, requiring extra work to correct. Careful attention to sanding and smoothing seating surfaces of tank may help-- this is not described in instructions but is included in supplemental information on Fluidmaster website.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Michigan, just south of Automation Alley
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The problem solved at the first attempt. No Complaints at all.

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
All of the parts fit correctly, which was a great relief, since the whole kit did not need any special efforts to get it installed.
The best part was that the problem was completely cured and I don't need to work on that toilet any more for the next ten years, or so. So I am a happy customer.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: not cheap but it did the job perfectly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Phoenix
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not entirely pleased

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I only need a portion of the assby and that part was easy to install so I wasted my money having to buy the entire inside of the system.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: i am upset i had to buy the whole unit for one prt
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By FluidmasterSupportFebruary 18, 2015By FluidmasterSupportFebruary 18, 2015
Hi Azdesert I am sorry that you could not purchase the valve or repair part you needed. Fluidmaster does offer multiple kits and repair parts so that you do not have to buy a complete kit. Please visit us online for a full listing of our product line. If you would like to talk with one of our Technical Representatives you can contact us by, E-mail – techsupport@fluidmaster.com, CHAT www.fluidmaster.com/support or toll free 800-631-2011. Fluidmaster is currently open from 5:30 AM to 5:00 pm Monday thru Friday (Pacific Standard Time). FluidMaster
Response from By FluidmasterSupportFebruary 18, 2015By FluidmasterSupportFebruary 18, 2015
Hi Azdesert I am sorry that you could not purchase the valve or repair part you needed. Fluidmaster does offer multiple kits and repair parts so that you do not have to buy a complete kit. Please visit us online for a full listing of our product line. If you would like to talk with one of our Technical Representatives you can contact us by, E-mail – techsupport@fluidmaster.com, CHAT www.fluidmaster.com/support or toll free 800-631-2011. Fluidmaster is currently open from 5:30 AM to 5:00 pm Monday thru Friday (Pacific Standard Time). FluidMaster
Review 16 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Easy Fix

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This kit works exactly like it is supposed to and is easy to install (maybe a half hour of work for a DIYer).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works well

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I fills the tank fast but it does make a lot of noise doing it. The flush handle is made very cheap. For the price it does the job and had no problems with the install.
Pros: Good Instructions
Cons: Noisy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from grand haven, mi
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Worked great, easy to understand instructions

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My first time fixing a toilet and this was really easy to install and didn't take long. Instructions were through enough that I had no problems.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Centennial, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This kit works

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The parts in this toilet kit work. I've tried to put a couple of different water saving kits into the toilet and have had trouble with the components not operating the way they should. So I've put this traditional rebuild kit into the toilet and all leaks gone and flushes work now.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from tinley park
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

building suppies and electrical

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easy to do and install this was the best product purchased for the project
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>