728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilet Parts & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Complete Toilet Repair Kit

The Fluidmaster Complete Toilet Repair Kit lets you replace everything in your toilet tank at once. This kit includes a 400A fill valve, an Adjust-A-Flush flapper, a flush valve, a tank lever, hardware and seals for your convenience. This complete toilet tank repair kit is for 1.6 gallon per flush toilets.
Overall rating:
3.895 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(229 reviews) 229
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product174 of 220reviews
Rating Breakdown 229 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(108)
4
(59)
3
(20)
2
(14)
1
(28)
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product174 of 220reviews
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 75 Answers
Customer reviews for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Review 1 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Was a good kit until they removed some parts.

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It was a perfect kit to rebuild Mansfield toilet tanks until they removed a screw set. Mansfield has 3 screws and now I have to buy an additional screw set to get enough parts. Also most people have replaced their fill valve in those toilets and Home Depot stopped carrying the flush valve assembly by itself so I have to buy the whole kit and have trouble separating out the cost when I only use the flush valve assembly in the kit. I like HD but they keep changing what they got right.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: not complete
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Worked fine for me..but a critical step was not in the instructions.

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this kit to rework the insides of an old Mansfield toilet. All of the parts were included and instructions were fairly detailed. One step that should be included in the instructions, but was not. The overflow tube (the one that the fill hose attaches to) that is part of the flush valve is fairly long, and may need to be trimmed down on some tanks. If it is not trimmed to the proper height (just above the waterline), you could have a flood if they fill valve were to leak or stick open. The reason for this is due to the water reaching the hole in the side of the tank for the handle before it reaches the height of the overflow tube. Trimming it to a height between that of the handle hole and the full water line allows any excess water to safely drain through the toilet.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Litchfield, MI 49252
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toilet Works Better than New

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Fluidmaster Kit has all the aprts to completely make everything inside the tank back to "NEW" condition. The illustrated instructions are quite easy to follow. By purchasing the complete kit, the fill valve and flush valve are compatible and make an excellent rebuild of the tank.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, easy to flush, Quiet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Washington, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product stopped the leak.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've rewriten this review. I first gave it 1 star because it leaked from the tank to the bowl after installation. When putting the tank top back on after photographing it, I discovered that the chain was catching under the rubber attachment loop on the flapper. I had checked that it couldn't reach under the flapper itself and hold it open, but it was long enough to catch under the loop. This is shown in the attached photo. After remedying that, it works fine.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks, material quality looks good.
Cons: instructions could be improved and amplified.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+26points
30out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Sun City Center, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product!!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The instructions were great - user friendly - saved me a ton of money hiring a professional AND continues to save money in water use.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Won't work for 3 inch flush valves

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I took all the guts out of my old toilet and went to install this kit. The flush valve will only work for 2 inch flush valve openings and not 3 inch openings. Therefore, it is not really universal. Otherwise, I've used this product before. It works well and is easy to install.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Quick and easy to install

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am a plumber of 15 years and I use this product all the time.Just watch when buying off the shelf always check to make sure all parts are there.Nothing like getting home and having to go back out and get the right stuff because somebody took some parts out of the box.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Albany, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After my second trip to the store to get a flapper that would fit my old toilet, the associate realized I was trying to fix a small item on a 20 year old toilet and suggested this rebuild kit. I got it home, laid it out and went to work. 30 minutes later, I have what seems like a new toilet. Everything works like a champ. No more leaking flapper or flush valve. This is was a good purchase and I would definitely recommend this to someone with any toilet problems.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Centennial, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This kit works

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The parts in this toilet kit work. I've tried to put a couple of different water saving kits into the toilet and have had trouble with the components not operating the way they should. So I've put this traditional rebuild kit into the toilet and all leaks gone and flushes work now.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Deerfield Beach, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A new toilet!

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to install. I wish that some parts were metal instead of plastic. Very clear instructions.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Definitely NOT Universal

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Check the inside of your toilet tank. If it has the Gerber label, You may have problems (leaking because the gasket is too small.) The tank to toilet gasket that comes with my kit did NOT fit my toilet tank. Buy a gasket kit for GERBER toilets. (The rest of the kit WILL work, though.). Written instructions are TERRIBLE-just watch the manufacturer's installation video and save yourself some time. I had to pick up my separate gasket kit (Item # 247754) at Lowe's.
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works well

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I fills the tank fast but it does make a lot of noise doing it. The flush handle is made very cheap. For the price it does the job and had no problems with the install.
Pros: Good Instructions
Cons: Noisy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad flapper

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had to take two of them back to the store due to flapper valve leaking by. I finally bought a new flapper valve at Ace Hardware to solve the problem. The flapper valve that came with the kit was made of a too hard material to seal properly.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By FluidmasterSupportJanuary 28, 2015By FluidmasterSupportJanuary 28, 2015
Hi RonM – I am very sorry that you had a problem with the flapper valve in our Complete Toilet Repair Kit. I would like to learn more about how you resolved the problem using a different flapper. Please call Fluidmaster's Technical Service Department and ask for the Supervisor. You can chat with me on line using our Support page at www.fluidmaster.com, e-mail (techsupport@fluidmaster.com) or contact us using our toll free number at 800-631-2011 - Fluidmaster operates between 5:30 AM and 5:00 PM Monday thru Friday (Pacific Standard Time). FluidMaster
Review 14 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easier than I thought

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I'm a 45 year old female and I've never repaired a toilet. This was much easier than I thought and the product is working great. I'm going to install another in the second bathroom before trouble has the chance to begin.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Merritt Island
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked for me.

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is pretty much what you should expect to fix your leaky toilet. Good instructions, quick and easy, you can do it if you can handle removing the tank.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Houston, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quickest way to fix your toilet!!!

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The only thing is that the plastic plug had some slippage, so it ran for a bit before I realized I needed to clean the "lip" of the drain to the bowel.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Mission, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I just wish wish I could purchase only the parts I need and not the entire package.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Cleveland Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toilet repair kit

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to install. Simple directions included, fast shipping.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from University Park, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good for fixing a leaking toilet bowl

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The repair man installed it, and it was easy to install.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Miami, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toilet Tank Repair

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to install and adjust water flow. No problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>