728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilet Parts & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Complete Toilet Repair Kit

The Fluidmaster Complete Toilet Repair Kit lets you replace everything in your toilet tank at once. This kit includes a 400A fill valve, an Adjust-A-Flush flapper, a flush valve, a tank lever, hardware and seals for your convenience. This complete toilet tank repair kit is for 1.6 gallon per flush toilets.
Overall rating:
3.859 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(177 reviews) 177
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product132 of 169reviews
Rating Breakdown 177 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(83)
4
(46)
3
(13)
2
(10)
1
(25)
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product132 of 169reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer reviews for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Review 1 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Sun City Center, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product!!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The instructions were great - user friendly - saved me a ton of money hiring a professional AND continues to save money in water use.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Washington, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product stopped the leak.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've rewriten this review. I first gave it 1 star because it leaked from the tank to the bowl after installation. When putting the tank top back on after photographing it, I discovered that the chain was catching under the rubber attachment loop on the flapper. I had checked that it couldn't reach under the flapper itself and hold it open, but it was long enough to catch under the loop. This is shown in the attached photo. After remedying that, it works fine.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks, material quality looks good.
Cons: instructions could be improved and amplified.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+20points
23out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Cedar Park, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Used only some parts

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This kit is including everything upgrade needs but I did in privious with different brand which has two flush button.
Previous Upgrade one used old stem pipe to make upgrade easier but its stem pipe had a crack and leaking over the time and no water saving after all. I tried to find better and thicker stem pipe(water flushing through) and only stemp pipe package I found was same thin and quality one but I would like to get more solid and better quality one. That's why I bought this, more expensive with lots of extra parts but better quality.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Albany, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After my second trip to the store to get a flapper that would fit my old toilet, the associate realized I was trying to fix a small item on a 20 year old toilet and suggested this rebuild kit. I got it home, laid it out and went to work. 30 minutes later, I have what seems like a new toilet. Everything works like a champ. No more leaking flapper or flush valve. This is was a good purchase and I would definitely recommend this to someone with any toilet problems.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked perfectly!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband (who is not very handy around the house) installed this in an old Briggs toilet that was leaking around the tank bolts. Instructions could have been a little better, they were mostly pictures. The placement of a couple rubber washers wasn't clear but we figured it out after applying a little logic. Other than that it was pretty easy to install (my contribution was watching and giving unsolicited advice). We figure we saved ourselves a bundle by DIYing it, especially since our first thought was to buy a new toilet and hire a plumber to install it.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks
Cons: instructions could be a little better for a novice
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Definitely NOT Universal

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Check the inside of your toilet tank. If it has the Gerber label, You may have problems (leaking because the gasket is too small.) The tank to toilet gasket that comes with my kit did NOT fit my toilet tank. Buy a gasket kit for GERBER toilets. (The rest of the kit WILL work, though.). Written instructions are TERRIBLE-just watch the manufacturer's installation video and save yourself some time. I had to pick up my separate gasket kit (Item # 247754) at Lowe's.
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Houston, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick and easy install (even for a begginer)

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had never changed all these things in my home, but as my maintenance man missed the appointment I was left with no choice but to try and fix things myself.
The product was pretty self explanatory, all the instructions came inside and everything came complete, prepped and ready to install.
I did have some trouble with one part, all it took was a quick phone call to their "help center" and someone picked up (wow... I was surprised), he was knowledgeable too (surprise again). But was very friendly and instructed me that in plumbing some things are "reverse threaded" so we were able to get it worked out. He even said they would make changes to their instructions so that other customers wouldn't have this same issue in the future.
With that kind of customer support, I would be willing to buy anything in their line of products knowing I can always call with questions.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, excellent manufacture support by phone, good quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Austin, Texas
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good after realizing it might need to be flushed out.

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just moved into a new house and the master bathroom toilet was running. Checked and it wasn't the flapper, but the fill valve that wouldn't shut off causing all the water to go over the overflow tube. Plus it was using the old ball float and figured for a few bucks more i'd change out the whole guts of the toilet. After completing all the installation steps, the toilet continued to run and the new fill valve did what the old one was doing. I was super frustrated. I thought I might have an issue with water pressure. I found a forum where someone suggested flushing the fill valve which involves turning off the water, taking the cap off the fill valve and holding a cup over the top while you run water at full blast to clear out any gunk that made its way in. I gave this a try and immediately after taking off the lid I saw black pieces of rubber, probably bits of the old rubber washers that had somehow ended up in there. I took those out and flushed it anyway just to be safe. Replaced the cap on the fill valve and now it runs like a champ.
Pros: No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Not for Kohler

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Some parts fit my Kohler. needed to go back out and buy a another gasket. Handle did not fit the tank cutout. Again had to go buy a Genuine Kohler part. Stick with the Genuine parts and save the aggravation of multiple trips
Pros: cheap
Cons: will not fit all tanks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By FluidmasterSupportAugust 26, 2014By FluidmasterSupportAugust 26, 2014
Hi THM - I am sorry that you had to make multiple trips to the store. Our Complete Toilet Repair Kit is designed to fit most two piece toilets . In some cases specialized parts are needed for certain toilets. Please contact the Fluidmaster Technical Service Department so we can learn from your experience and try to remedy your situation. Please contact the Technical Service Department at Fluidmaster and ask for the Supervisor as we would like to remedy this situation for you. Fluidmaster is open from 5:30 AM to 5:00 PM (Pacific) Monday thru Friday and the Technical Service Department toll free number is 800-631-2011. If you prefer e-mail please contact us at techsupport@fluidmaster.comFluidMaster
Review 10 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Won't work for 3 inch flush valves

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I took all the guts out of my old toilet and went to install this kit. The flush valve will only work for 2 inch flush valve openings and not 3 inch openings. Therefore, it is not really universal. Otherwise, I've used this product before. It works well and is easy to install.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Flawless fix and easy to use

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this kit to repair a tennants toilet that was running, gurgling and making all kinds of funny noises. It was easy to install, adjust and completely fixed the issue.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Southaven,MS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Parts actually fit

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The parts fit and the installation actually took about 15 minutes for a guy who is all thumbs. No leaks from the gaskets and the commode worked better than before.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Galveston, TX

Not so universal...

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The packaging says "UNIVERSAL"... but it won't work for toilets with the handle on the side of the tank.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By FluidmasterSupportAugust 26, 2014By FluidmasterSupportAugust 26, 2014
Hi! Susie,– Thank you for telling us of your experience with our 9 inch Triangular Toilet Tank Lever in Chrome. I am sorry about your experience and would like the opportunity to learn more about your issue. The tank lever is designed with special material to allow the lever arm to bend without breaking. Please contact the Technical Service Department at Fluidmaster and ask for the Supervisor as we would like to remedy this situation for you. Fluidmaster is open from 5:30 AM to 5:00 PM (Pacific) Monday thru Friday and the Technical Service Department toll free number is 800-631-2011. If you prefer e-mail please contact us at techsupport@fluidmaster.comFluidMaster
Review 14 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Repair of toliet

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was easy to install and works great now. We are repairing all toilets at our church.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Cape Coral, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

no more toilet noise or water leaking into the bowl

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy install just don't over tighten bolts and washers
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very good item

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a good buy when buying the contractor 3 pack, like getting 1 free
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

You can count on it.

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This toilet is very easy to install and is very sturdy. It stopped the water leak right away as soon as I installed it. Definitely a reliable product.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Universal City, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great buy.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The easiest, best made, works perfectly toilet tank repair kid I have ever used, bar none.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Riverview, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

no wasted water

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The toilet repair kit, was easy to install, no special tools needed, job completed in a matter of minutes, excellent results, end of higher water bill.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Birmingham, AL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Going back to the basics

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I had made the mistake of trying to upgrade our toilet to a push button water saver. It didn't flush completely. After having to flush three times each time, we had enough. My wife picked this up, and it went in easily and without any problems. Keep in mind I did not take off the tank and replace the gasket since I didn't have any leaks. I only replaced the handle, lever and valve. Very light weight and won't last forever, but it definitely got the job done.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>