728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Complete Toilet Repair Kit

The Fluidmaster Complete Toilet Repair Kit lets you replace everything in your toilet tank at once. This kit includes a 400A fill valve, an Adjust-A-Flush flapper, a flush valve, a tank lever, hardware and seals for your convenience. This complete toilet tank repair kit is for 1.6 gallon per flush toilets.
Overall rating:
3.89 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(245 reviews) 245
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product187 of 236reviews
Rating Breakdown 245 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(114)
4
(64)
3
(22)
2
(16)
1
(29)
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product187 of 236reviews
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 77 Answers
Customer reviews for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Review 1 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Was a good kit until they removed some parts.

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It was a perfect kit to rebuild Mansfield toilet tanks until they removed a screw set. Mansfield has 3 screws and now I have to buy an additional screw set to get enough parts. Also most people have replaced their fill valve in those toilets and Home Depot stopped carrying the flush valve assembly by itself so I have to buy the whole kit and have trouble separating out the cost when I only use the flush valve assembly in the kit. I like HD but they keep changing what they got right.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: not complete
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Worked fine for me..but a critical step was not in the instructions.

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this kit to rework the insides of an old Mansfield toilet. All of the parts were included and instructions were fairly detailed. One step that should be included in the instructions, but was not. The overflow tube (the one that the fill hose attaches to) that is part of the flush valve is fairly long, and may need to be trimmed down on some tanks. If it is not trimmed to the proper height (just above the waterline), you could have a flood if they fill valve were to leak or stick open. The reason for this is due to the water reaching the hole in the side of the tank for the handle before it reaches the height of the overflow tube. Trimming it to a height between that of the handle hole and the full water line allows any excess water to safely drain through the toilet.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Litchfield, MI 49252
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toilet Works Better than New

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Fluidmaster Kit has all the aprts to completely make everything inside the tank back to "NEW" condition. The illustrated instructions are quite easy to follow. By purchasing the complete kit, the fill valve and flush valve are compatible and make an excellent rebuild of the tank.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, easy to flush, Quiet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Sun City Center, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product!!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The instructions were great - user friendly - saved me a ton of money hiring a professional AND continues to save money in water use.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Washington, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product stopped the leak.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've rewriten this review. I first gave it 1 star because it leaked from the tank to the bowl after installation. When putting the tank top back on after photographing it, I discovered that the chain was catching under the rubber attachment loop on the flapper. I had checked that it couldn't reach under the flapper itself and hold it open, but it was long enough to catch under the loop. This is shown in the attached photo. After remedying that, it works fine.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks, material quality looks good.
Cons: instructions could be improved and amplified.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+26points
31out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Castaic
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worst purchase

PostedApril 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This kit was easy enough to install, considering I figured I would get years of use out it. But the reason we bought this was that our flappers and handle arms were getting very sticky and hard for our kids to flush. Once these were installed in both toilets, one started leaking around the flapper in the first week. 3 months later and we are turning off the water in between flushes so that the water doesn't run all day. You can HEAR the water leaking around the flapper, and short of taking of the lid, reaching your hand down and pushing hard to create a seal while the tank fills after a flush, it is a USELESS product. I intend to contact the manufacturer and get my money back.
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By FluidmasterSupportApril 21, 2015By FluidmasterSupportApril 21, 2015
Hi KMac – Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your issues. I am very sorry that this is happening and would like the opportunity to resolve the issues you are having. In most cases the leak you are referring to may not be from a flapper but a loose flush valve nut that needs to be tightened. Please contact the Fluidmaster Technical Service Department at Fluidmaster so we can try and resolve your issue. We can be contacted Monday thru Friday from 5:30 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. You may contact us via Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support E-mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com or phone us at 800-6312011. FluidMaster
Response from By FluidmasterSupportApril 21, 2015By FluidmasterSupportApril 21, 2015
Hi KMac – Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your issues. I am very sorry that this is happening and would like the opportunity to resolve the issues you are having. In most cases the leak you are referring to may not be from a flapper but a loose flush valve nut that needs to be tightened. Please contact the Fluidmaster Technical Service Department at Fluidmaster so we can try and resolve your issue. We can be contacted Monday thru Friday from 5:30 AM to 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. You may contact us via Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support E-mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com or phone us at 800-6312011. FluidMaster
Review 7 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Scottsdale
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality product!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It took some time reading the instructions, but overall it was easy to install and it works perfect.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Indianapolis, IN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cost effective but not for the faint of heart

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a cost effective way to solve a toilet's most heavily used system. However, it's not for the faint of heart. Removal of the tank cannot be avoided and that requires more than basic plumbing skills. Fortunately, everything is compression-fit, no soldering. But if you're afraid of leaks this project is more than you'll want to tackle.
It's a one-person job, about 40 minutes start to finish, with the bulk of the effort spent removing the tank because existing hardware may be seized or hard to unbolt. Everything goes back together easily and performs well.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: small step above handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Quick and easy to install

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I am a plumber of 15 years and I use this product all the time.Just watch when buying off the shelf always check to make sure all parts are there.Nothing like getting home and having to go back out and get the right stuff because somebody took some parts out of the box.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from cinti ohoi
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Used before good product

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
used this product in the past and again has proven ease of installation and quality of project . Will use again in the future
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Won't work for 3 inch flush valves

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I took all the guts out of my old toilet and went to install this kit. The flush valve will only work for 2 inch flush valve openings and not 3 inch openings. Therefore, it is not really universal. Otherwise, I've used this product before. It works well and is easy to install.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Michigan, just south of Automation Alley
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The problem solved at the first attempt. No Complaints at all.

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
All of the parts fit correctly, which was a great relief, since the whole kit did not need any special efforts to get it installed.
The best part was that the problem was completely cured and I don't need to work on that toilet any more for the next ten years, or so. So I am a happy customer.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: not cheap but it did the job perfectly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Albany, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After my second trip to the store to get a flapper that would fit my old toilet, the associate realized I was trying to fix a small item on a 20 year old toilet and suggested this rebuild kit. I got it home, laid it out and went to work. 30 minutes later, I have what seems like a new toilet. Everything works like a champ. No more leaking flapper or flush valve. This is was a good purchase and I would definitely recommend this to someone with any toilet problems.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Definitely NOT Universal

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Check the inside of your toilet tank. If it has the Gerber label, You may have problems (leaking because the gasket is too small.) The tank to toilet gasket that comes with my kit did NOT fit my toilet tank. Buy a gasket kit for GERBER toilets. (The rest of the kit WILL work, though.). Written instructions are TERRIBLE-just watch the manufacturer's installation video and save yourself some time. I had to pick up my separate gasket kit (Item # 247754) at Lowe's.
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Easy Fix

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This kit works exactly like it is supposed to and is easy to install (maybe a half hour of work for a DIYer).
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Fleming Island
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy repair

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The instructions were easy to read and perform. The kit was complete and easy to install. I really only needed the fill tube, but that isn't available without the whole assembly, so I got everything and replaced the guts of the toilet. No leaks, and flushes nicely. I did myself without any help.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easier than I thought

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I'm a 45 year old female and I've never repaired a toilet. This was much easier than I thought and the product is working great. I'm going to install another in the second bathroom before trouble has the chance to begin.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Fl

Worked great for a year

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As the title says, it worked great for a year. Now the toilet tank won't fill. Like the valve inside the top is stuck or something. The little arm moves but nothing comes out. I 've had these on both toilets and replaced both of them. Now another failure. My water is ok, not too much in the way of minerals and the pressure is average. I'm done buying these cheap all plastic pieces of junk. Going out to buy something of quality that hopefully lasts a lot longer than these things.
Pros: Easy to Install, cheap but not in a good way
Cons: doesn't last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By FluidmasterSupportMarch 18, 2015By FluidmasterSupportMarch 18, 2015
Hi JLinFL I am sorry that you are experiencing a short life with our product. Our 400A is designed to last a minimum of 5 years and has easy to install repair parts that allow you to extend the life of the valve. In most cases valve performance can be retained by flushing debris from the water system it is hooked into. Please contact Fluidmaster’s Technical Service team to learn more about maintaining the valve and how to resolve other performance issues. Fluidmaster can be contacted Monday thru Friday from 5::30 AM to 5:00 PM (Pacific Standard Time), we offer Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support; E-Mail techsupport.com and a Toll Free number 800-631-2011. FluidMaster
Review 19 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Everything needed and easy install:)

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very easy to install with the instructions given. I think Fluidmaster has read some of the previous posters reviews cause now they state on the box that there are only two tank bolts and the gasket provided won't fit some Gerber and Kohler models. Two minor negatives that I ran into while I was installing were the tank lever and the torque guard locknut for the filler valve. On my toilet tank the tank lever hole is on the rounded corner of the tank. No matter how hard you try to bend the new lever it won't fit. I had to use the old one. Finally, the new patented Torque Guard locknut only has one thread running around inside the middle of the locknut. I know it's only supposed to be hand tight, but the locknut felt slightly weak while I was tightening it. I ended up using the old locknut cause it felt stronger as I was tightening. Other than that all went well and was slick:).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from juneau, alaska
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked fine

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
All parts were easy peasy. Instructions said universal tank to bowl gasket wouldn't work on a gerber toilet. Quick phone calls couldn't find one locally, so used it & it works fine.
Nice to have could be plastic nuts to make it easy for the next guy. Next!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>