728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilet Parts & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Complete Toilet Repair Kit

The Fluidmaster Complete Toilet Repair Kit lets you replace everything in your toilet tank at once. This kit includes a 400A fill valve, an Adjust-A-Flush flapper, a flush valve, a tank lever, hardware and seals for your convenience.
Overall rating:
3.821 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(162 reviews) 162
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product120 of 154reviews
Rating Breakdown 162 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(73)
4
(44)
3
(12)
2
(9)
1
(24)
Ease of installation 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product120 of 154reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer reviews for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Review 1 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Sun City Center, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product!!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The instructions were great - user friendly - saved me a ton of money hiring a professional AND continues to save money in water use.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Washington, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product stopped the leak.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've rewriten this review. I first gave it 1 star because it leaked from the tank to the bowl after installation. When putting the tank top back on after photographing it, I discovered that the chain was catching under the rubber attachment loop on the flapper. I had checked that it couldn't reach under the flapper itself and hold it open, but it was long enough to catch under the loop. This is shown in the attached photo. After remedying that, it works fine.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks, material quality looks good.
Cons: instructions could be improved and amplified.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+20points
23out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Cedar Park, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Used only some parts

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This kit is including everything upgrade needs but I did in privious with different brand which has two flush button.
Previous Upgrade one used old stem pipe to make upgrade easier but its stem pipe had a crack and leaking over the time and no water saving after all. I tried to find better and thicker stem pipe(water flushing through) and only stemp pipe package I found was same thin and quality one but I would like to get more solid and better quality one. That's why I bought this, more expensive with lots of extra parts but better quality.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Albany, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After my second trip to the store to get a flapper that would fit my old toilet, the associate realized I was trying to fix a small item on a 20 year old toilet and suggested this rebuild kit. I got it home, laid it out and went to work. 30 minutes later, I have what seems like a new toilet. Everything works like a champ. No more leaking flapper or flush valve. This is was a good purchase and I would definitely recommend this to someone with any toilet problems.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Definitely NOT Universal

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Check the inside of your toilet tank. If it has the Gerber label, You may have problems (leaking because the gasket is too small.) The tank to toilet gasket that comes with my kit did NOT fit my toilet tank. Buy a gasket kit for GERBER toilets. (The rest of the kit WILL work, though.). Written instructions are TERRIBLE-just watch the manufacturer's installation video and save yourself some time. I had to pick up my separate gasket kit (Item # 247754) at Lowe's.
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Birmingham, AL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Going back to the basics

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I had made the mistake of trying to upgrade our toilet to a push button water saver. It didn't flush completely. After having to flush three times each time, we had enough. My wife picked this up, and it went in easily and without any problems. Keep in mind I did not take off the tank and replace the gasket since I didn't have any leaks. I only replaced the handle, lever and valve. Very light weight and won't last forever, but it definitely got the job done.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

You can count on it.

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This toilet is very easy to install and is very sturdy. It stopped the water leak right away as soon as I installed it. Definitely a reliable product.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Universal City, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great buy.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The easiest, best made, works perfectly toilet tank repair kid I have ever used, bar none.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Miami, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent way to revamp a toilet.

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy step by step instructions. Installed in less than 30 minutes.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Brunswick, Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best purchase ever

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Everything in my toilet needed to be replaced. The Complete Toilet Repair Kit was everything it said it was. Complete! Good instructions, easy to assemble great quality, great value. I am completely satisfied!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Choctaw, Ok
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install and works better than the original on installed when the house was built.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did the job & had all the adapters needed!

PostedMay 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had hired a plumber to actually do the work but it was easy enough I didn't have to pay him much because it went in so smoothly and quickly! Works great!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, had adapters for all possiblilities
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked perfectly!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband (who is not very handy around the house) installed this in an old Briggs toilet that was leaking around the tank bolts. Instructions could have been a little better, they were mostly pictures. The placement of a couple rubber washers wasn't clear but we figured it out after applying a little logic. Other than that it was pretty easy to install (my contribution was watching and giving unsolicited advice). We figure we saved ourselves a bundle by DIYing it, especially since our first thought was to buy a new toilet and hire a plumber to install it.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks
Cons: instructions could be a little better for a novice
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Needs better instructions and installation video

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Most people who are going to buy this all-in-one kit are people who are doing this repair for the first time. I don't see why an experienced plumber or DIYer would buy this as you often do not need to replace all the parts when there is an issue with the toilet leaking or not working properly.
This was my first time replacing a fill/flush system after my the original Mansfield started to have a slow leak from the tank into the bowl. My major complaint is that the key critical steps are not put in BOLD anywhere in the instructions. There is an installation video on Fluidmaster's website that helps some but it glosses over key details like:
1. You will need 12 inch or larger channel lock pliers, not just "channel lock pliers". These are pretty large pliers I didn't have and had to run back to the store. You will need these pliers because you have to turn the hex nut securing the flush valve another 1/2 turn beyond hand tightening. This nut is 2 1/4 inches in diameter which is larger than many adjustable wrenches and pliers. If you do not do this critical step you will end up having a very slow leak from your tank into your bowl. The only way to fix this is to take off the tank again which is not fun.
2. Checking for leaks when you are done. The two key areas are the water line going into the tank and the 2-3 bolts securing the tank to the bowl. Check for any leaks when you first fill the tank and touch all the bolts and the line to see if there is water. You don't want to overtighten because you might crack the porcelain with the metal nuts or break the plastic wingnut for the water line.
3. After you are done if you hear ANY flushing sound from the toilet it means you have a leak, likely from not tightening one of the above nuts enough. Check step 2 first, then make sure the flapper is well-seated. If all those check out it's likely you did not tighten the large hex nut securing the fill valve enough which means you will have to take the tank off again.
If I had to do it all over again I would just have bought the same Mansfield 211. All I needed to replace was the seals and flush valve after taking the tank off and inspecting the parts. Fixing the Mansfield is much more intuitive IMO. Only reason I bought this is because HD doesn't offer the same all-in-one kit for Mansfield. Next time I'll just replace the seals and the gasket on the flush valve as needed which is what seems to breakdown over time.
+10points
15out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Great Product

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had dual flush system and of course it kept running and wasted water. I decided to replace it with this product. l am totally happy with it. no more waste of water. I believe it will pay for itself within a couple of months. By the way the product is very well priced.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from DFW Area Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bought 2 to Repair 2 leaking tanks.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installations went OK. This kit completely replaces all parts associated with toilet tank.
You need to read the instructions carefully - one important step is to adjust the overflow stand pipe height to a minimum of 1" below a reference point on the valve assembly that the instructions say is marked, but I could not find such a marking but instead used the illustration to estimate where it was.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Hilton Head Island S C
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product was easy to install and works very well. The only negative comment I have is that it is a little difficult to adjust once it is in place. Otherwise it works great.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: hard to adjust after installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Loreauville, LA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Toilet Repair

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Been using this brand for years. Quality & dependability at a great price!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Springfield, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy, complete installation

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great kit to solve all of the problems at once, instead of piecing together multiple ad hoc parts!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Denton, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was damaged when product was opened

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this to repair leaking toilet. When i got to the house, the flapper piece that connects to the fill valve was broken. I just happened to have a spare, and didn't bother going back to HD (I was so over it by then, i didnt want to go back to store). The plastic tank lever has already broken off. BUT....i do not have any more leaking. I will probably have to purchase another tank lever (currently using the old one). BUT....no leaking! :)
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: damaged at purchase, tank lever is plastic - breaks easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By FluidmasterSupportJune 17, 2014By FluidmasterSupportJune 17, 2014
Hi vbsoco26- - Thank you for telling us of your unusual experience with our product and I am sorry that you had this happen to you. We would appreciate the opportunity to learn more of your experience and resolve the fill valve issue you are having. Please contact the Technical Services Department at Fluidmaster during our operating hours from 5:30 AM to 5:00 PM (Pacific) Monday thru Friday, at our toll-free number 800-631-2011 or if you prefer e-mail, please contact us at techsupport@fluidmaster.comFluidMaster
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>