728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilet Parts & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Complete Toilet Repair Kit

The Fluidmaster Complete Toilet Repair Kit lets you replace everything in your toilet tank at once. This kit includes a 400A fill valve, an Adjust-A-Flush flapper, a flush valve, a tank lever, hardware and seals for your convenience. This complete toilet tank repair kit is for 1.6 gallon per flush toilets.
Overall rating:
3.812 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(186 reviews) 186
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product136 of 177reviews
Rating Breakdown 186 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(85)
4
(47)
3
(15)
2
(12)
1
(27)
Ease of installation 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product136 of 177reviews
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer reviews for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Review 1 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Sun City Center, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product!!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The instructions were great - user friendly - saved me a ton of money hiring a professional AND continues to save money in water use.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Washington, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product stopped the leak.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've rewriten this review. I first gave it 1 star because it leaked from the tank to the bowl after installation. When putting the tank top back on after photographing it, I discovered that the chain was catching under the rubber attachment loop on the flapper. I had checked that it couldn't reach under the flapper itself and hold it open, but it was long enough to catch under the loop. This is shown in the attached photo. After remedying that, it works fine.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks, material quality looks good.
Cons: instructions could be improved and amplified.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
25out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from DALLAS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Complete Toilet Repair Kit

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
TOILET STILL LEAKED AT SIMPLE RUBBER STOPPER ... BOUGHT NEW STOPPER AND FIXED PROBLEM !!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By FluidmasterSupportSeptember 26, 2014By FluidmasterSupportSeptember 26, 2014
Hi RonDogBarks – Thank you for telling us about your issue. Please contact the Technical Service Department Supervisor. I would like to help you using our warranty process. Fluidmaster’s operating hours are from 5:30 AM to 5:00 PM (Pacific) Monday thru Friday. Our toll-free number is 800-631-2011 or if you prefer e-mail, please contact us at techsupport@fluidmaster.comFluidMaster
Review 4 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Cedar Park, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Used only some parts

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This kit is including everything upgrade needs but I did in privious with different brand which has two flush button.
Previous Upgrade one used old stem pipe to make upgrade easier but its stem pipe had a crack and leaking over the time and no water saving after all. I tried to find better and thicker stem pipe(water flushing through) and only stemp pipe package I found was same thin and quality one but I would like to get more solid and better quality one. That's why I bought this, more expensive with lots of extra parts but better quality.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked perfectly!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband (who is not very handy around the house) installed this in an old Briggs toilet that was leaking around the tank bolts. Instructions could have been a little better, they were mostly pictures. The placement of a couple rubber washers wasn't clear but we figured it out after applying a little logic. Other than that it was pretty easy to install (my contribution was watching and giving unsolicited advice). We figure we saved ourselves a bundle by DIYing it, especially since our first thought was to buy a new toilet and hire a plumber to install it.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks
Cons: instructions could be a little better for a novice
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Albany, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After my second trip to the store to get a flapper that would fit my old toilet, the associate realized I was trying to fix a small item on a 20 year old toilet and suggested this rebuild kit. I got it home, laid it out and went to work. 30 minutes later, I have what seems like a new toilet. Everything works like a champ. No more leaking flapper or flush valve. This is was a good purchase and I would definitely recommend this to someone with any toilet problems.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Won't work for 3 inch flush valves

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I took all the guts out of my old toilet and went to install this kit. The flush valve will only work for 2 inch flush valve openings and not 3 inch openings. Therefore, it is not really universal. Otherwise, I've used this product before. It works well and is easy to install.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Definitely NOT Universal

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Check the inside of your toilet tank. If it has the Gerber label, You may have problems (leaking because the gasket is too small.) The tank to toilet gasket that comes with my kit did NOT fit my toilet tank. Buy a gasket kit for GERBER toilets. (The rest of the kit WILL work, though.). Written instructions are TERRIBLE-just watch the manufacturer's installation video and save yourself some time. I had to pick up my separate gasket kit (Item # 247754) at Lowe's.
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Cincinnati
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Complete Toilet Repair Kit

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Nice complete kit. Followed instructions and did not have any leaks! Instructions could be made a little easier to follow. Overall instructions not too bad. Would be nice to have a kit with toilet bowl rubber washers that seated into screw holes.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: instructions could be made a little easier
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Milford, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very nice kit!

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was well packaged, and labeled with easy to follow step by step directions. The action of the flush was not only repaired upon completion but improved when installed. Good product for the money.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Sadly Dissapointed

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was hoping to care for a very slow leak in my flapper valve, but after installing this product, it leaked more than the one where I had the original issue.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: Leaks
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By FluidmasterSupportSeptember 19, 2014By FluidmasterSupportSeptember 19, 2014
Hi Eddy –- I am very sorry to learn about your problem. I would like to know more about this leaking issue and resolve any issue you may still have. I would like to try and help. Please contact the Technical Service Department at Fluidmaster and ask for the Supervisor. I would like to see if I can remedy the situation for you. Fluidmaster’s operating hours are from 5:30 AM to 5:00 PM (Pacific) Monday thru Friday. Our toll-free number is 800-631-2011 or if you prefer e-mail, please contact us at techsupport@fluidmaster.comFluidMaster
Review 12 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Houston, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quickest way to fix your toilet!!!

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The only thing is that the plastic plug had some slippage, so it ran for a bit before I realized I needed to clean the "lip" of the drain to the bowel.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Leaks

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
hard to assemble. the drill was too small not feet properly.
Pros: Reliable
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Fairfax Station, Virginia
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

New tank installation

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Comprehensive list of components. Had everything I needed. One criticism is that the washers for the tank bolts are too firm and it takes too much pressure to make them seal properly. I felt I was at risk of cracking the tank in order to torque them enough to get a good seal. It worked in the end, but was a little risky.
Pros: Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install, best of all money saver. Will not hesitate to use it again.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Houston, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick and easy install (even for a begginer)

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had never changed all these things in my home, but as my maintenance man missed the appointment I was left with no choice but to try and fix things myself.
The product was pretty self explanatory, all the instructions came inside and everything came complete, prepped and ready to install.
I did have some trouble with one part, all it took was a quick phone call to their "help center" and someone picked up (wow... I was surprised), he was knowledgeable too (surprise again). But was very friendly and instructed me that in plumbing some things are "reverse threaded" so we were able to get it worked out. He even said they would make changes to their instructions so that other customers wouldn't have this same issue in the future.
With that kind of customer support, I would be willing to buy anything in their line of products knowing I can always call with questions.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, excellent manufacture support by phone, good quality
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from SoCal
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a Great Experience

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just installed only the Fill Valve portion of this kit, although mine did not exactly match the picture online. I adjusted the height of the assembly and tightened up the fittings then turned on the water pressure: Voila!...Nothing. I then bled the water line from the wall a bit, heard some clicking from inside the valve, and got a real bath, as the top flew off and a solid stream of water flooded my bathroom 1" deep! I decided to give it one more try, put the top back on and rotated it slightly to make it "catch", and now the valve sort of worked. It did fill up, but would not cycle normally. I looked at the trouble shooting and it suggested that the Water Saver might be the culprit, so I pulled on the chain and it seemed to now work. I just attached the chain loosely to the flush lever and now it seems to work.
Tough time with this thing, and I am praying that that top does not come off again, while I am not there to shut off the water supply! A bit scary, but I am sticking with it for the time being. I decided not to replace the Korky flapper that I have as it did not seem to need it, but will save the very fancy flapper valve for future needs.
So all in all, flimsy and poor construction coupled with a weird water saving feature did not impress me too much. All I have to say is I am not leaking water anymore, and out in SoCal in a drought, that was costing us BIG BUCKS every month!
Cons: weird design and flimsy materials
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By FluidmasterSupportSeptember 5, 2014By FluidmasterSupportSeptember 5, 2014
Hi Nails – Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your experience. The valve you describe could be a Leak Sentry valve and the chain running from the round float to the tank lever arm should be hooked up in order for the valve to cycle properly. I am glad the valve is working however I would like to learn more about your installation, please contact the Technical Service Department at Fluidmaster and ask for the Supervisor. Fluidmaster’s operating hours are from 5:30 AM to 5:00 PM (Pacific) Monday thru Friday. Our toll-free number is 800-631-2011 or if you prefer e-mail, please contact us at techsupport@fluidmaster.comFluidMaster
Response from By FluidmasterSupportSeptember 5, 2014By FluidmasterSupportSeptember 5, 2014
Hi Nails – Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your experience. The valve you describe could be a Leak Sentry valve and the chain running from the round float to the tank lever arm should be hooked up in order for the valve to cycle properly. I am glad the valve is working however I would like to learn more about your installation, please contact the Technical Service Department at Fluidmaster and ask for the Supervisor. Fluidmaster’s operating hours are from 5:30 AM to 5:00 PM (Pacific) Monday thru Friday. Our toll-free number is 800-631-2011 or if you prefer e-mail, please contact us at techsupport@fluidmaster.comFluidMaster
Review 18 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
from Austin, Texas
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good after realizing it might need to be flushed out.

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just moved into a new house and the master bathroom toilet was running. Checked and it wasn't the flapper, but the fill valve that wouldn't shut off causing all the water to go over the overflow tube. Plus it was using the old ball float and figured for a few bucks more i'd change out the whole guts of the toilet. After completing all the installation steps, the toilet continued to run and the new fill valve did what the old one was doing. I was super frustrated. I thought I might have an issue with water pressure. I found a forum where someone suggested flushing the fill valve which involves turning off the water, taking the cap off the fill valve and holding a cup over the top while you run water at full blast to clear out any gunk that made its way in. I gave this a try and immediately after taking off the lid I saw black pieces of rubber, probably bits of the old rubber washers that had somehow ended up in there. I took those out and flushed it anyway just to be safe. Replaced the cap on the fill valve and now it runs like a champ.
Pros: No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Not for Kohler

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Some parts fit my Kohler. needed to go back out and buy a another gasket. Handle did not fit the tank cutout. Again had to go buy a Genuine Kohler part. Stick with the Genuine parts and save the aggravation of multiple trips
Pros: cheap
Cons: will not fit all tanks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By FluidmasterSupportAugust 26, 2014By FluidmasterSupportAugust 26, 2014
Hi THM - I am sorry that you had to make multiple trips to the store. Our Complete Toilet Repair Kit is designed to fit most two piece toilets . In some cases specialized parts are needed for certain toilets. Please contact the Fluidmaster Technical Service Department so we can learn from your experience and try to remedy your situation. Please contact the Technical Service Department at Fluidmaster and ask for the Supervisor as we would like to remedy this situation for you. Fluidmaster is open from 5:30 AM to 5:00 PM (Pacific) Monday thru Friday and the Technical Service Department toll free number is 800-631-2011. If you prefer e-mail please contact us at techsupport@fluidmaster.comFluidMaster
Review 20 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Flawless fix and easy to use

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this kit to repair a tennants toilet that was running, gurgling and making all kinds of funny noises. It was easy to install, adjust and completely fixed the issue.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>