728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilet Parts & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Complete Toilet Repair Kit

Complete Toilet Repair Kit

The Fluidmaster Complete Toilet Repair Kit lets you replace everything in your toilet tank at once. This kit includes a 400A fill valve, an Adjust-A-Flush flapper, a flush valve, a tank lever, hardware and seals for your convenience.
Overall rating:
3.807 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(140 reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product103 of 133reviews
Rating Breakdown 140 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(61)
4
(40)
3
(11)
2
(7)
1
(21)
Ease of installation 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product103 of 133reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer reviews for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Review 1 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
sheila
from Sun City Center, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product!!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The instructions were great - user friendly - saved me a ton of money hiring a professional AND continues to save money in water use.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Bill
from Washington, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product stopped the leak.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've rewriten this review. I first gave it 1 star because it leaked from the tank to the bowl after installation. When putting the tank top back on after photographing it, I discovered that the chain was catching under the rubber attachment loop on the flapper. I had checked that it couldn't reach under the flapper itself and hold it open, but it was long enough to catch under the loop. This is shown in the attached photo. After remedying that, it works fine.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks, material quality looks good.
Cons: instructions could be improved and amplified.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+17points
20out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Roadrunner7179
from Albany, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After my second trip to the store to get a flapper that would fit my old toilet, the associate realized I was trying to fix a small item on a 20 year old toilet and suggested this rebuild kit. I got it home, laid it out and went to work. 30 minutes later, I have what seems like a new toilet. Everything works like a champ. No more leaking flapper or flush valve. This is was a good purchase and I would definitely recommend this to someone with any toilet problems.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
grueber

Needs better instructions and installation video

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Most people who are going to buy this all-in-one kit are people who are doing this repair for the first time. I don't see why an experienced plumber or DIYer would buy this as you often do not need to replace all the parts when there is an issue with the toilet leaking or not working properly.
This was my first time replacing a fill/flush system after my the original Mansfield started to have a slow leak from the tank into the bowl. My major complaint is that the key critical steps are not put in BOLD anywhere in the instructions. There is an installation video on Fluidmaster's website that helps some but it glosses over key details like:
1. You will need 12 inch or larger channel lock pliers, not just "channel lock pliers". These are pretty large pliers I didn't have and had to run back to the store. You will need these pliers because you have to turn the hex nut securing the flush valve another 1/2 turn beyond hand tightening. This nut is 2 1/4 inches in diameter which is larger than many adjustable wrenches and pliers. If you do not do this critical step you will end up having a very slow leak from your tank into your bowl. The only way to fix this is to take off the tank again which is not fun.
2. Checking for leaks when you are done. The two key areas are the water line going into the tank and the 2-3 bolts securing the tank to the bowl. Check for any leaks when you first fill the tank and touch all the bolts and the line to see if there is water. You don't want to overtighten because you might crack the porcelain with the metal nuts or break the plastic wingnut for the water line.
3. After you are done if you hear ANY flushing sound from the toilet it means you have a leak, likely from not tightening one of the above nuts enough. Check step 2 first, then make sure the flapper is well-seated. If all those check out it's likely you did not tighten the large hex nut securing the fill valve enough which means you will have to take the tank off again.
If I had to do it all over again I would just have bought the same Mansfield 211. All I needed to replace was the seals and flush valve after taking the tank off and inspecting the parts. Fixing the Mansfield is much more intuitive IMO. Only reason I bought this is because HD doesn't offer the same all-in-one kit for Mansfield. Next time I'll just replace the seals and the gasket on the flush valve as needed which is what seems to breakdown over time.
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
OldSoldier

Definitely NOT Universal

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Check the inside of your toilet tank. If it has the Gerber label, You may have problems (leaking because the gasket is too small.) The tank to toilet gasket that comes with my kit did NOT fit my toilet tank. Buy a gasket kit for GERBER toilets. (The rest of the kit WILL work, though.). Written instructions are TERRIBLE-just watch the manufacturer's installation video and save yourself some time. I had to pick up my separate gasket kit (Item # 247754) at Lowe's.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Native1PropertyMngr
from Tse Bonito, NM, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worth changing out

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The all in one replacement is great because it fixed my needs. I feel worry free, that this product will last for a while. I also noticed the replacement parts are affordable if and when I need to change them out. I recommend anyone with an old toilet to try this out. Notice the worry/maintenance free of this product.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
dsmithcsep
from DFW Area Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bought 2 to Repair 2 leaking tanks.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installations went OK. This kit completely replaces all parts associated with toilet tank.
You need to read the instructions carefully - one important step is to adjust the overflow stand pipe height to a minimum of 1" below a reference point on the valve assembly that the instructions say is marked, but I could not find such a marking but instead used the illustration to estimate where it was.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
ALEX
from Copper City, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Toilet kept making noise at night and would wake me up. I wish I would have used this sooner. Easy to install as long as you follow the instructions. No need for a plumber to do this.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
MARK
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EASY TO INSTALL

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
ALL PARTS FOR A COMPLETE TOILET REPAIR. EASY TO INSTALL. PRICE VERY REASONABLE.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
me7085
from Richmond, Tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product, Easy to use

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install. Good for replacing the tank guts.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
DrJS
from Duluth, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not an easy job, but worked out great!

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am not a very handy DIY-er but was able to totally redo the insides on my toilet. And it works!
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
dws3
from Mesa, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I am very happy with how easy it is

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been looking for this product at a good price. All my requirements are met
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
PixieDust
from Virginia Beach, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best $20 I ever spent

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My toilet was driving me crazy - kept running a little bit every so often. I realized that the gasket between the toilet and the tank was going. I installed this in less than an hour. Works great!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Lstx
from Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

All parts were replaced by plumber after I installed them, he said they were cheap and unreliable.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I replaced all parts in the tank using the complete toilet repair kit, and the tank still emptied just as it did before. A plumber came the next day, and one by one, showed me that he was replacing each part with a better quality one.
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By FluidmasterSupportApril 22, 2014By FluidmasterSupportApril 22, 2014
Hi Lstx- Thank you for telling us about your experience with our Complete Toilet Repair Kit and please know that we are sorry that you experienced this issue with our product. In most cases after a new installation a leak from the tank into the bowl is from a loose flush valve lock nut. We would appreciate the opportunity to learn more about the issues and remedy this situation with you. Please contact the Technical Services Department at Fluidmaster during our operating hours from 5:30 AM to 5:00 PM (Pacific) Monday thru Friday, at our toll-free number 800-631-2011 or if you prefer e-mail, please contact us at techsupport@fluidmaster.comFluidMaster
Review 15 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Rocco
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works great easy to install highly recommend for diyrs

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product easy to install highly recommend this product for diyrs works great
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
peter
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Broken part

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It came with broken Fluidmaster Universal Fill Valve, I had to additionally buy it.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By FluidmasterSupportApril 22, 2014By FluidmasterSupportApril 22, 2014
Hi peter - Please contact the Technical Service Department at Fluidmaster as we would like help remedy this situation. Fluidmaster is open from 5:30 AM to 5:00 PM (Pacific) Monday thru Friday and the Technical Service Department toll free number is 800-631-2011. If you prefer e-mail please contact us at techsupport@fluidmaster.comFluidMaster
Review 17 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Frank582

product was easy to install

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
instructions very clear and was easy to install at a great price
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
SAHD
from Lawrenceville, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a "Universal Repair Kit" as advertised

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like many others who have reviewed this item, I was not pleased with the kit as it was advertised on the packaging. The water tank gasket did not work for my toilet. It was too small and didn't create the necessary seal to keep water from leaking out onto my bathroom floor. Although the other pieces were fine and seemed to fit nicely, the incorrect gasket provided in the kit meant that I needed to order it separately online (additional cost). It was frustrating to check my work/connections three different times only to have a bad water leak spill all over the bathroom floor. Only after I noticed a small disclaimer imbedded in the instruction sheet did I realize that "the gasket provided may not work for all toilets." If this was true, then I believe that the company should not be able to promote it as a "Universal Repair Kit."
After the correct gasket was delivered and put in place did the system work properly. Please print an asterisk on the front label so that we, the consumers, may be aware of this matter and obtain the correct materials to properly do our home repairs. Or better yet, relabel it and not advertise it as a "Universal Repair Kit."
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not truly "universal"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Cookie
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good item.

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this for my son. He stated that it was easy to install and works quite well. Would consider this for others.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Complete Toilet Repair Kit
Walt
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install product

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is getting simpler to install. It's my choice for repairing toilets.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>