728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for BT25XL 6 in. x 50 ft. Window and Door Sealing Tape

BT25XL 6 in. x 50 ft. Window and Door Sealing Tape

Protecto Wrap 6 in. x 50 ft. Window and Door Sealing Tape is great for use around doors, windows and nailed fins and flanges. Forms a permanent waterproofing air/vapor seal around doors and windows that prevents air and moisture leaks. Adheres to vinyl, plywood, OSB, foam, metal aluminum and masonry.
Overall rating:
3.778 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product7 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(4)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product7 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for BT25XL 6 in. x 50 ft. Window and Door Sealing Tape
Review 1 for BT25XL 6 in. x 50 ft. Window and Door Sealing Tape
from Shrewsbury, MA.

Protectowrap

PostedMay 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used protectowrap when I installed my windows (new const.) I applied it to the plywood first set the window in place and wrapped the outside flange again. The house hasn't had siding on it for 3 months and all the elements, Snow, Flooding rains, and ice has not penetrated the seal in anyway. Great stuff, and easy to work with you actually get a couple of seconds to pull it off and reapply if you need to adjust. Also about half the Price of Grace.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BT25XL 6 in. x 50 ft. Window and Door Sealing Tape
from Boston, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great flashing solution for windows, doors and decks

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We were installing a bunch of new windows, a few doors and an upgraded deck -- and needed peel-and-stick flashing. Protecto-Wrap was the perfect solution: easy to install and tenaciously sticky, with plastic backing that makes it easy to add and overlap layers.
Two tips: (1) Make sure your surfaces are clean. The trim edge on some of our new windows was coated with an invisible and thin layer of an oily substance -- probably a residue from manufacturing. We had to clean and re-install the flashing after it peeled up. (2) After you apply strips by hand, go over them with a small roller or the end of a hammer, to bond the adhesive tightly to the framing. We found that this significantly improved adhesion.
This house is located on the shore. In addition to the typical applications around window and door openings, we used Protecto-Wrap to seal all of the seams around window boxes and other places where wind-driven rain could infiltrate.
Protecto-Wrap is also a good solution to discourage rot with deck framing. We covered the tops of all of the deck joists, ladder blocking and stair stringers -- particularly places where end grain was exposed, e.g. on the cuts made for stair treads.
I hope this is helpful!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, plastic backing is ideal for windows and doors, good for deck joists and stringers
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BT25XL 6 in. x 50 ft. Window and Door Sealing Tape

Great Flashing Tape

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used this tape to help repair a roof leak on an eave where a valley empties onto the corner of a hip. I put the tape over a new drip edge to seal it with the plywood roof decking and also along the hip joint where the plywood sheets meet. The roofing felt was then installed over the top. It goes on easy and sticks well to clean, non dusty surfaces. The paper release layer removes cleanly from the adhesive, but be careful, the release paper is split and if it folds over, the other side of the release paper is not slick and will adhere permanently to the adhesive backing. This is the only reason I rated the product 4 instead of 5 stars. The thickness of this product is ideal. Thick enough to be strong, tear resistant, and wrinkle resistant but thin enough to be flexible and not stack up. I will definitely use this product again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BT25XL 6 in. x 50 ft. Window and Door Sealing Tape
from Corpus chrsiti
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Buy the Adhesive Spray

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Sealing new windows and patio doors with Protecto Wrap. Please follow the instructions and use an adhesive spray when using this wrap. For each 50' roll of wrap I used a $10.00 can of 3M Super 77 spray adhesive. I also used a roller to press the contact hard onto the OSB. The combination worked great. I do wonder why HD didn't have the spray adhesive in the same part of the store as the wrap.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Seals Well
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BT25XL 6 in. x 50 ft. Window and Door Sealing Tape
from Hellertown PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My door installer ran out of his wrap so I went to Home Depot and picked up a roll of this sealing wrap. Upon opening it up, we found that it barely stuck to anything. He showed me what he was using and it was like fly paper. This wrap had about 10% of the sticking ability.
He put it on and the following day half of it came off. I pulled off the rest easily and threw it all away.
Maybe I had a bad roll but based upon my experience, duck tape would have worked better than this tape.
What a bad experience ! Ugh !
Pros: it's a pretty color
Cons: doesn't stick
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BT25XL 6 in. x 50 ft. Window and Door Sealing Tape
from Duxbury, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Junk, did not stick after one day

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I applied this to plywood. After one day, it started peeling off. I wasted my money.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BT25XL 6 in. x 50 ft. Window and Door Sealing Tape
from Chapel Hill, TN 37034, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy, easy, easy, oh did I mention easy ?

PostedApril 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Cut, peal and stick. Not much more to it . No way this stuff will leak .
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BT25XL 6 in. x 50 ft. Window and Door Sealing Tape
from Norfolk, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Preferred brand

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This takes some getting used to, but feel confident windows & door frames wrapped in this tape will never leak. Tried another, similar brand, but found that other tape impossible to peel off its backing, so came back for more Protecto Wrap! I wish Home Depot offered this is different widths, as it is awkward & time-consuming to cut strips to piece it across a wide opening.
Pros: Performs Well, Seals Well, High Quality
Cons: need more widths.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BT25XL 6 in. x 50 ft. Window and Door Sealing Tape
from United States
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great adhesion Good value

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product for securing windows from leaking. Easy to work with and plenty for 1-2 large windows.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.