728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Automatic Yard Watering System

Automatic Yard Watering System

This Vigoro Automatic Yard Watering System features a programmable timer that can be set to water up to 4 separate zones on different schedules. The timer includes an automatic shutoff.
Overall rating:
3.579 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
68%of customersrecommend this product13 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
68%of customersrecommend this product13 of 19reviews
Customer reviews for Automatic Yard Watering System
Review 1 for Automatic Yard Watering System
GreatProduct

The Best Sprinkler Timer out there!

PostedJune 9, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
They say 3:30AM is the best time to water your lawn but who’s up at that time to turn on the sprinklers?! You no longer need to worry about that. This unit does it all ! I have ¾ of an acre of land and use over 400 ft of hose. This unit controls each of my 4 sprinklers separately. Keep in mind that the unit only comes with 2 hose controllers shown in the picture. I had to buy 2 additional hose controllers for my property. I have my unit set to turn on hose number 1 at 3:30AM to water for an hour. At 4:30AM, hose number 1 shuts off and hose number 2 starts for its hour. Hoses 3 and 4 then follow. I set this hourly schedule to run every third day. The unit allows you to also pick specific days as well. The system is EXTREMELY user friendly and easy to program. I highly recommend this system to anyone that does not have an irrigation system.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Automatic Yard Watering System
seedmaster
from KC

I have tried them all, nearly.

PostedAugust 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I do seeding and landscape consulting. I think I have bought every faucet timer known to man. I started out with the cheap ones, and worked my way up.
This orbit timer is , by far, the best and only one I would every buy. In addition to this model, I have also bought the newest model, which is excellent as well.
I read the reviews about water leaking? If that is happening, you should put a pressure gauge on your faucet. If the gauge reads close to 100 psi or more, you need a pressure reducer/regulator on that faucet, or on your entire house for that matter. Water at that high of a pressure will cause any timer to leak. More importanly, high water pressure will cause all of your plumbing and "water appliances" to wear out prematurely. Anyway, the only timer I would ever buy is this one. I have bought several for my clients in the past 5 years. Happy gardening everyone!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Automatic Yard Watering System
Drought sticken Texan
from Corpus Chrisi, TX

PostedMay 7, 2006
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
System works well for those who choose not install a more expensive permanent irrigation system. The downfall of this product is one cannot find add-on parts, eg additional sprinklers, timers, etc.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Automatic Yard Watering System
DIYer
from Milwaukee area

Great product/value!!

PostedJune 27, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Picked up one of these units at my local store last night along with an extra valve and it worked great this morning. I already have soaker hoses in all my foundation planting areas and this unit was the ticket to eliminate the hassles of needing to flip the controls on my existing 4 way valve a couple times for each watering cycle.
I was a little skeptical based on other reviews about the complexity to program along with limitations, but needed some automation before my planned vacation next week. With only a quick glance through the instructions, I had my 3 zones programmed for every other day watering. Although you are stuck with the same frequency for each zone, you can control the individual duration which solved that short-fall. As an example, I have my soaker hoses run for 90 minutes, but the sprinkler for a remote bed only runs for 20 minutes.
All in all, seems like a good unit - but only time will tell how this product holds up.
I would recommend buying this at your local store as it was significantly cheaper ($47 vs the $66 online price). Not sure why the online price is so much higher as got exactly what is pictured here.
I will probably add a 4th valve right away to handle another remote planting area (will require more hose as well) and invest in another unit for the other side of my house after I see how this controller holds up.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Automatic Yard Watering System
Bill
from Utah

4 years still running great

PostedAugust 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this unit with a drip system, I run four valves off it and it works perfectly. It even holds the timing in memory from year to year, I am going to buy another for my greenhouse.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Automatic Yard Watering System
GingerSnap
from Denver, CO

It worked well the first time, but then . .

PostedJune 2, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the LED display disappeared and I haven't figured out how to get it back. Replaced the batteries, no luck. The instructions that come with the device don't have a solution.
It's a real limitation that you can't buy the timer unit separately, because now I have to take the whole unit back to get a replacement and the flaw is in the timer unit!
I've used the cheaper Melnor units in the past, and never had this problem. This one is going back and I'll be adding more of the Melnor units to my system.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Automatic Yard Watering System
Soaker
from Tulsa OK

4 areas on their own schedule?

PostedMarch 29, 2007
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.

Set the timer to water up to 4 separate yard sections on their own
schedules
I have two of these units and part of the above statement is true. You
have three times to start the cycles and they will cycle through 1 - 4
on a time you set for each area. but beyond that you have no control.
So that is why I question the statement ...on their own schedules,
You cannot exclude an area from one cycle unless you exclude it from
all cycles,
As an example...You cannot have one cycle that just turns on the soaker
hose... All cycles are the same.
There is a manual mode that will give us a little more control.
When I researched this product on this site it implied 4 areas on their
own schedule and I do not believe that the product truely gives us that.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Automatic Yard Watering System
kulmansam
from Houston, TX

Awesome Product, 28 months and running!

PostedMay 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did not want to go into expensive yard watering system. I purchased this unit for my back yard, then added two switches extra for soaker hose (to keep foundation moist). I have used it and it works with no problems whatsoever. It still has the original battery I installed on day one. I have since recommended this system to 3 of my friends. Two have purchased and are using the system. The third one will purchase Memorial Day Weekend 2010. I have combined this with Orbit pulsating sprinklers and all is good around my home.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Automatic Yard Watering System
WoodySTL
from St. Louis, MO

Okay for the price

PostedJuly 6, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was looking for something cheap to control my drip system. After reading the reviews I decided to take my chances with this product. Like one of the other reviewers the brass manifold leaked. I took it back for an exchange and everything is working perfectly. It is very easy to program. I have had it running for a week now without any problems. I will repost in a few months if I have any problems. Good luck with your projects - C
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Automatic Yard Watering System
JimboC
from Albuquerque, NM

Functional irrigation timer

PostedApril 19, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have been using this product in our garden for at least 4 years now and originally purchased it when we needed to keep our garden alive for a 3 week trip in the summer. The programming took a little learning and we needed to compensate for the cycling limitations by adjusting watering times, but with some trial and error it worked great. The unit is fairly heavy, but our outlets are fairly strong and no additional support was required. Last year we used it to control a pair of soaker hoses in flower beds and a distributed drip system for a bunch of potted plants on our patio. We had to deliver a lot of water to the beds and a little to the pots and this was done by setting the watering times at 40 minutes and 4 minutes respectively every other day (an easy programming task). For anyone willing to learn the programming tricks, this is a very serviceable system.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Automatic Yard Watering System
LJCB
from Millsboro, DE, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LCD display failed ...

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
system worked well for one and a half seasons--then the LCD display failed, making it impossible to set the thing.
I trust Home Depot will replace it ... if not, my rating would go into the negative stars....
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Automatic Yard Watering System
jman1561

Easy to set-up

PostedJune 8, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am running four stations off the system. It was very easy to set-up and took less than 5 minutes. I didn't even read the instructions. It has worked well for the last 3 months. The only drawback is trying to make space to connect the other stations. I had to use multiple splitters to get it done.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Automatic Yard Watering System
NickinVirginia
from Alexandria, Va

Orbit Yard Watering System

PostedMay 14, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Yes, the programming is a little difficult to understand, and the manual could be better written (actually, I bought my first kit 3 years ago, maybe it has been rewritten by now).
I have had 2 or 3 valves die, and one controller (I use two controllers, one in the front yard and one in the back, with 2 or 3 valves per controller). Therefore, I would say reliability is mediocre.
However, I get full coverage of my yard, all for less than $250 (including the hardware, sprinkler units and the hoses). If your water pressure is strong enough, you can use a Y-connector to drive 2 sprinklers through one Orbit valve / hose (or just daisy-chain your sprinklers, depending on their model), otherwise you basically need one valve per sprinkler.
When everything works properly, it is a great system. If the reliability were better, I would rate this a 5. As it stands now, I would call it a 3.5.
But it is better than spending $4,000 - $6,000 for having an underground system installed (and much less backbreaking than trying to install one yourself).
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Automatic Yard Watering System
wparker
from Houston, TX

cheap and simple automatic system

PostedJune 15, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you can't afford an inground automatic sprinkler system, this is the product for you. You can attach 4 hoses to each spicket you have and have 1-4 contolled areas. Be ready to buy lots of hose and any type sprinklers you want - this is simply a water timer control. If you want to have more than 2 controlled areas you'll need to buy additional connectors - this kit only comes with two. The instructions are not real clear on a few items and it took me a few times of going through each "mode" to figure out how to make it do exactly what I wanted. I haven't had it long enough to determine how long the batteries last. Good product for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Automatic Yard Watering System
catwings
from Newburyport, MA

piece of junk

PostedJune 22, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The brass faucet part of this product is very poorly made. The brass connectors leak and can not be taken apart.
The unit heavy and requires a mounting support. The provided support was too short to attach to the side of my house.
This unit lasted half a season. Don't waste your money.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Automatic Yard Watering System
Ducksfan
from Oregon " smack in the middle"

Stay away from this timer

PostedJune 15, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I decided to spend the money and get a nice timer for my garden, I purchased the first one and after installing it ( had to drill hole in house for support bracket) the manifold leaked. I took it back and exchanged it , beleive it or not it leaked worse than the first, in a different part of the manifold. Now I will take it back for a full refund.
Also the one I got at the store looks different than the one shown on line(same part #)?
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Automatic Yard Watering System
Redd
from El Paso, TX

Recommended. Easy to program.

PostedJuly 21, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was easier to program than I anticipated and easy and quick to reprogram. You can easily unplug the control module and bring it inside to program without having to disconnect the hoses. You can program up to 4 hoses and can specify everday or specific days (ie every Tuesday,Thursday and Saturday) to comply with your local city watering regulations. You set a start time, and a unique number of minutes on each hose. At start time it cycles thru each hose one after the other. You can set multiple start times per day, but you can't set different start times on different days.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Automatic Yard Watering System
Vreen
from San Pedro, CA

Complicated for a simple thing

PostedJuly 1, 2007
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The brass bib system is fairly robust, but the mechanical switches to turn water on and off weren't - the plastic around the switches broke off. The instructions are like computer instructions out of the 50s - yes everything was "explained" or described, but it's probably only clear to the writer not the reader. Having said that, the unit worked mostly - where it didn't work it was probably because we didn't understand how to program it properly. This is not the system you cavalierly change the settings on, but hunker down with some coffee and prepare to read the instructions a few times. What we programmed and understood to have programmed worked as requested. This unit is for a set and forget installation, and we couldn't just let it be - sometimes we needed to change the watering program. We're back in the market because ten thumbs Larry broke something, we're probably going to buy something else that's more user friendly in the settings arena, even if that means we pay more. Ultimately, ease of use is a compelling feature.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Automatic Yard Watering System
tinadnj
from northern NJ

Great inexpensive watering system!

PostedMay 27, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It works like a charm. And you can order the extra valves. They are made by Orbit, Automatic Yard Watering Kit Valve model 62035. Search online and you will find several places you can buy it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.