728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Electric or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Maytag Legacy Electric Front-Load Dryer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Maytag Legacy Electric Front-Load Dryer

Available exclusively at The Home Depot, this Maytag Legacy Series dryer features a 7.1 cu. ft. SuperSize Capacity Plus to handle even the biggest laundry loads. Its GentleBreeze drying system uses powerful airflow and lower temperatures for fast, gentle care. Choose from three temperature settings and ten cycles, including a Wrinkle-Free Fabrics cycle. The Automatic Dryness Sensor ensures the dryer stops when clothes reach the right level of dryness; activate the Extended Tumble option to reduce wrinkling. The end-of-cycle signal lets you know when drying is complete, and a built-in drum light helps you find every sock. For peace of mind, every Maytag dryer is protected by the Maytag Dependable Performance Warranty.
Overall rating:
4.526 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product17 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
89%of customersrecommend this product17 of 19reviews
Customer reviews for Maytag Legacy Electric Front-Load Dryer
Review 1 for Maytag Legacy Electric Front-Load Dryer
defoedefive
from San Antonio, TX

Wow!

PostedOctober 19, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is probably the best dryer I have ever owned! The price was excellent and Home Depot has great extra offers that really made this buy even better. The delivery was timely and the delivery guys were great! As far as the dryer I would recommend this with no problem. It has huge capacity, dries in minutes and is super quiet. Anybody looking for a great dryer at a great price....this is the one for you!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Maytag Legacy Electric Front-Load Dryer
gwener1
from Mesa, AZ

Wow what a dryer!

PostedJanuary 20, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This dryer is awesome! I have never made over an appliance before but there's always a first! The drum is huge.
My 17 year old, 6'1" son commented "I think I can fit in this dryer. I haven't been able to do this since I was 10." The dryer dries everything so well and the clothes don't come out wrinkled even when they sit a while. This is a gem!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Maytag Legacy Electric Front-Load Dryer
Mom, Wife & Constructon Company Owner
from American Fork, UT

Maytag Dryer is Great!!!

PostedMay 8, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this dryer to replace a 15 year old GE dryer. This dryer is WONDERFUL! I can't believe that the clothes are actually dry before my washed clothes. The price was great. I wished it came with a "non-tumble" table inside, however, I am sure I can manage without. Great dryer, would buy again, (in 15 years I hope!)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Maytag Legacy Electric Front-Load Dryer
SandyG
from Richmond, KY

PostedJune 16, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This dryer replaced an old Kenmore and it has simply amazed me how quickly it dries everything from lightweight to heavy. I would recommend this dryer to anyone over any other brand.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Maytag Legacy Electric Front-Load Dryer
rockymominPA
from Telford, PA

Excellent dryer!

PostedOctober 23, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Maytag dryer replaced a Maytag that was almost 30 years old! I compared online and went to the store to make my purchase. The salesman was helpful, not pushy, and my dryer arrived in perfect condition. The delivery company was right on time, fast, polite, and my new dryer was ready to go. It holds twice as much laundry as my old one! We are now saving up for the matching washer. I would definitely recommend this dryer to anyone. It may not be the most expensive, but it is energy-efficient and easy to use. I know from experience that Maytag is a great product and getting another was an easy decision.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Maytag Legacy Electric Front-Load Dryer
Clara
from Miami, Florida

A perfect dryer at a perfect price !!!

PostedOctober 21, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This dryer exceeds what I expected it to be. It is lighted inside so no more lost socks or small items. I would recommend this to someone on a tight budget who does not want to spend a lot of money on a dryer. The inside of the dryer is also HUGE!! This size makes it perfect for drying large loads. This dryer can also take care of many types of needs. I have purchased the rack to go with this and this enables me to dry things flat. It will save me a lot of money on dry cleaning and keep sneakers looking like new.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Maytag Legacy Electric Front-Load Dryer
Nell
from Hilliard, Ohio

Home Depot is no help!!!!

PostedJanuary 17, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this dryer from Home Depot and it was delivered to me on 12/30/06. The 1st time I used it that same day a loud banging will occur everytime the tumbler turns. I called Home Depot that day and they sent the delivery company back out to make sure it was level which it was and they advised the problem was with the tumbler and it warranted replacement. Now Home Depot wants to send a Maytag repair man out to repair my new dryer instead of replacing it with a new dryer. If I wanted a repaired dryer I would have repaired my old one. I purchased a new dryer, therefore, I expect a new one, not a repaired dryer or technically it is refurbished now. I am very displeased with Home Depot and I do not have very much to say about the dryer since it is not working properly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Maytag Legacy Electric Front-Load Dryer
ghostrider
from mid vermont

its a keeper

PostedJanuary 24, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we purchased the dryer with basic expectations that it was going to get us by until we upgraded to a more expensive unit but we are very satisfied with how it works and will keep using it for a long time to come. the controls are basic and easy to operate and the large drum makes it great for drying a comforter or lots of jeans in a load..it also is nice that it has a light on the inside of the dryer when you open the door. alot of dryer for a reasonable price...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Maytag Legacy Electric Front-Load Dryer
cboyinor
from Vancouver, WA

New Dryer

PostedDecember 4, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have been using this Dryer since the Monday before Thanksgiving. We have found it dries our clothes in about 45 minutes-even for a big load! Towels take about 50-55 minutes, but they used to take up to 2-1/2 hours to dry with our old one! Can wait to see our electric bill after this month!!! The only drawback I found is that the doors open sideways - we couldn't find any dryers that had the door that dropped down....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Maytag Legacy Electric Front-Load Dryer
Frederick
from FL

Another great Maytag product!!!

PostedJanuary 19, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have ben using Maytag products for a while now and when it came time to buy new appliances for our new home we bought Maytag products and were not disappointed. The dryer dries our clothes quietly and efficiently. We are very happy with the options in drying that came with the dryer. The other appliances in this price range did not offer different drying options that this Maytag did. Very happy with our purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Maytag Legacy Electric Front-Load Dryer
Katie
from Redondo Beach, CA

Great dryer at a gret price

PostedJune 18, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When the dryer arrived hook up was easy and the dyrer was ready to go. With the differnt drying cycles we can dry our most delicate items. The auto dry feature takes the guess work out of choosing the right length of time to choose. It is also remarkably quiet and easy on the electric bill. I would recommend this dryer to my friends.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Maytag Legacy Electric Front-Load Dryer
Robster
from San Antonio, Tx

Maytag Legacy Electric Front Load Dryer

PostedSeptember 28, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I couldnt be more pleased with my new dryer. Its extremely quiet, much more so than my previous one. The financing plan as well as the in home delivery were exceptional. Its large drum allows for me to do more drying in less time. I would highly recommend this product but then again its a Maytag, wouldnt expect anything less.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Maytag Legacy Electric Front-Load Dryer
desertdryer
from Scottsdale

Very Happy

PostedDecember 2, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought my dryer 2 months ago and wanted to wait a while before writing a review. While having this dryer I had a really bad washer until 2 weeks ago. My old washer did not spin very well so my clothes were very wet when putting them in the dryer. I usually dry one full laundry basket at a time. Average dry time was 45 min. What I love is there is an "extended tumble" which is great for me becuase I sometimes leave my clothes in the dryer until the next day. Clothes come out wrinkle free and very easy to iron.
My new washer is a very high end front loader and spins very well so now my average dry time is 30 min or so. (Including the extended tumble". For the price it is worth it 100%.
I was non the impressed with Home Depot's delivery service which they contract out. They dragged my old dryer accross my tile floor and when I told them not to they looked at me like I was crazy...in turn cracked few tiles. No help there. But the dryer itself is a great value and great machine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Maytag Legacy Electric Front-Load Dryer
KEGB
from ME

Love it!

PostedJanuary 18, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love the large capacity; the light lets me see all the way to the smallest sock in the back; and the location of the lint trap in the front is the best. It is easy to clean out. This is the first new dryer since my daughter was born in 1980 (no kidding!) and I love this dryer!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Maytag Legacy Electric Front-Load Dryer
Glenn N
from Ranson, WV

PostedMay 25, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
fantastic dryer. proves the fact that you get what you pay for. I have had a couple lesser known brands that did'nt do near the job this one does. Drying time was cut in half. The auto dry sensors really do the job. No more setting a time and, having to restart time after time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Maytag Legacy Electric Front-Load Dryer
Mrs. V.
from Pixley, CA

Mrs. V.

PostedMay 25, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great Dryer! Clothes is completely dry in very little time. I had to make the switch from a natural gas dryer to electric dryer, and can honestly say "I do not notice the difference" Also, my electricity bill has not increased
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Maytag Legacy Electric Front-Load Dryer
NEPatriotsRule
from Chesapeake, Va

Normal on the outside, HUGE on the inside

PostedJanuary 19, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This dryer is GREAT!!! It fits in the same space as our old dryer but has twice the capacity and dries cloths in half the time. This is the best online purchase I've ever made.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Maytag Legacy Electric Front-Load Dryer
Rita
from Florida Keys

Quick Dry

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This dryer saves both time and money. It's the same size as my old dryer, but it does the job in about one- third less time then it used to take the old dryer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Maytag Legacy Electric Front-Load Dryer
Pauleddie
from Atlanta, GA

PostedNovember 19, 2006
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased a MAV208DAWW, Maytag Legacy Top-Load Washer and MDE308DAYW, Maytag Legacy Electric Front-Load Dryer in early September. These replaced a set of another brand that we had had for 16 years that had been extremely dependable and gave us very satisfactory performance. The wife wanted to switch brands to Maytag because of their reputation of ?best on the market?.
Well they have proven to be a disappointment. The first problem was drying sheets. They would wind themselves into a big ball and the sheets in the middle would still be damp while the outer sheets would be dry. This would require un-winding the load, separating the dry from the damp and re-drying the damp sheets by themselves. I called Maytag and they sent someone out to address the problem (they were very prompt and courteous). The technician replaced the paddles inside the dryer drum and said that should cure the issue. It has helped but not eliminated the problem. The other issue I have is that it is very easy, for me, to snag the lint filter as I remove the clothes from the dryer and deposit the lint in the filter onto the clean clothes.
I don?t know if this issue is from the washer or the dryer but the clothes, when finished, have a quite a lot of lint on them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.