728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Ducting & Venting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 in. Diameter R-6 Ductwork Insulation Sleeve

6 in. Diameter R-6 Ductwork Insulation Sleeve

Insulate your new or existing 6 in. duct pipe with this Master Flow 6 in. diameter Fiberglass Insulation Ductwork Sleeve. Enjoy consistent air temperature and reduced system condensation and noise. On new pipe installation - simply slide the sleeve over the 6 in. duct pipe as it is being installed. For existing duct pipe up to 6 in. in diameter - cut the jacket length wise (insulation is pre-cut) and wrap around the pipe.
Overall rating:
2.917 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
50%of customersrecommend this product6 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(1)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(4)
1
(2)
Quality 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
50%of customersrecommend this product6 of 12reviews
Customer reviews for 6 in. Diameter R-6 Ductwork Insulation Sleeve
Review 1 for 6 in. Diameter R-6 Ductwork Insulation Sleeve

Used on existing ductwork. Works great.

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I been using this for my existing in place 6 inch ductwork. Had to cut the foil wrap lengthwise. Thus laid the fiberglass first on the ductwork and the place the foil wrap on top of that. Like the other reviewer I used foil tape in short pieces to hold together the foil wrap at the ends and middle of pipe to keep it together until I can more fully seal the pipe length. Don't use the cloth duct tape, use the foil tape! Doing it this way made it faster to install but of course in older houses you will encounter the tips of the above flooring nails, which is what the foil wrap at times get caught on as you pull and align it along the pipe. Other than that it was easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 in. Diameter R-6 Ductwork Insulation Sleeve
from Dallas, Tx

This is a great product

PostedMay 6, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used 15 rolls of this duct insulation - the 6 and 8 inch - to repair existing ductwork in a very confined crawl space in my 40 YO house. That meant the insulation wrap had to be cut. Here, it is important to have very sharp scissors to prevent snagging and tearing. Other than that, it was very easy even in the limited work space. After cutting the wrap lengthwise, the insulation was laid over the duct, then the wrap was laid over and pulled onto place. Using flexduct tape, put 3 strips - one at each end and one in the middle to make a temporary hold Then ran tape the length of the seam. Simple as that. Installation on new ducts would be even easier since no cutting would be required. The insulation quality is very good and the outer wrap is strong yet very flexible. I highly recommend this for anyone to use and the price was very reasonable. This was my first try at doing the ducts and, for just a diy-er, it went very well.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 in. Diameter R-6 Ductwork Insulation Sleeve
from Lower Gwynedd, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just save your money and buy a roll of insulation

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
For about 3 feet of insulation, the cost does not justify the spend. True ...it's a small package. And easy to handle. But not good value.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 in. Diameter R-6 Ductwork Insulation Sleeve
from OHIO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not enough of Foil Sleeve

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Overall good product, but there seems to be a shortage of the foil sleeve cover. Every package comes up short and you end up with more insulation left over, which in turn makes you buy more packages to make up the difference, and you still end up with a half roll of just insulation at the end. This works out ok if you can find other uses for the leftover insulation.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Install, Difficult to Use, not enough foil sleeve
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 in. Diameter R-6 Ductwork Insulation Sleeve
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best for new or disassembled venting

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I agree with the previous comments regarding trying to cut and tape this over existing ducting. It probably works pretty well if you can just slide it over a piece of duct before assembly. For retrofit work, I'd suggest buying foil backed batting and cutting to size instead.
Pros: precut to size
Cons: Difficult to Install
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 in. Diameter R-6 Ductwork Insulation Sleeve
from Lakewood, CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Duct sleeve is NOT what you paid for! The foil wrapper is about 4 to 6 inches too short! So measuring purpose instead of 5 feet use 4 1/2 feet for the length of the insulation. I did my best by trying to stretch the foil to full length but it still was short!
If one can find a duct insulation on the internet for a comparable price buy it. Also Home Depot doesn't carry 5 inch diameter duct insulation. I used the 6 inch diameter .
Cons: foil too short.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 in. Diameter R-6 Ductwork Insulation Sleeve

Foil was a little short

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The. Foil that goes over the insulation was insufficient to cover the insulation itself.
Cons: more insulation than foil
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 in. Diameter R-6 Ductwork Insulation Sleeve
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Keeps my six inch ducts warm and cozy while they run through an unheated attic
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
Cons: only comes in silver
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 in. Diameter R-6 Ductwork Insulation Sleeve
from Rye Brook, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't do this alone

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product comprises a 6' long tube of aluminum foil, surrounding a sheet of fiberglass wool. To fit to new ducts, you pull the tube over the duct and tape into place prior to installation.
I was in the position of having to fit to existing ducts. Instructions tell you to first secure the foil to the fiberglass with tape, then split the aluminum cover lengthwise; the fiberglass is already split so you're forming a two-layered sheet. Wrap this sheet around the duct and tape it closed.
In practice, I found this to be immensely difficult and frustrating. Does adhesive tape stick to fiberglass wool? Not hardly, so the foil and fiberglass keep coming apart and going separate ways. Like in 99% of houses, my duct-work is in awkward, hard to get at places, so I was at screaming point in no time at all.
My options; 1. wait until I have at least one other pair of hands to help, 2.disassemble the ducts and treat as a new installation, keeping the foil wrapper intact, or 3. return the three unused packets for refund. I'll probably go with #1, but I wish I'd known that fitting to existing ducts is NOT a one-person job before buying the product.
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 in. Diameter R-6 Ductwork Insulation Sleeve
from Cary, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

duct sleeve

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 6 rolls of the 8" to cover my old duct work. I did as one reviewer did and cut the sleeve instead of taking the duct apart. This is not an easy project to do by your self. The foil wrap on the sleeve is very fragile and tears easily. It might be easier to take the duct apart. But if I do my other ducts in the house, I will just tear out the old and use new 8" flexible ducting. Its R8 rated AND cheaper. Live and learn, but for me this product is a never buy it again item.
Cons: Difficult to Install, Difficult to Use
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 in. Diameter R-6 Ductwork Insulation Sleeve
from Milford, Milford Township, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Install on existing ducts

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As a previous reviewer mentioned, this stuff needs to be cut to install on existing duct work. Also as he mentioned, forget about trying to tape the foil cover to the fiberglass - tape won't stick to fiberglass.
After a couple of tries, I ended up sliding the foil cover over the duct first, using a small piece of tape to hold it in place if necessary. Then I slid the fiberglass between the duct and the foil. Once things are lined up, tape the seams.
A second pair of hands would have been helpful in some places, but I did most of it alone.
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Economical
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 in. Diameter R-6 Ductwork Insulation Sleeve

wrong size

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Actually needed the 4 inch duct insulation but you do not carry it. Purchased the 6 inch instead and it is quite loose on the 4 inch duct.
Cons: poor fit on the duct
-23points
1out of 25found this review helpful.