728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White

17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White

Magic Bath Tub & Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy, White is specially formulated to provide a hard, high-gloss and protective finish. The stain-resistant double coating withstands the demands of daily use and remains beautiful for years. The spray application provides professional results without brushing. Restore your bathtub yourself in a weekend and save hundreds, even thousands of dollars on your bathroom refresh. Magic Bath Tub & Tile Refinishing Kit withstands hot water and repeated usage with temperatures of up to 160° F / 71° C. It’s perfect for Bathtubs, Sinks, Showers, Ceramic Tile, Porcelain, Laminate, Fiberglass, and Metal. Coverage is one standard tub, 22 SQ FT, or approx. 4.5 ft. x 5 ft. (two coats each). Complete step-by-step bi-lingual directions are included in every package. Not recommended for high-heat appliances. 5-day cure time.
Overall rating:
2.17 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
36%of customersrecommend this product16 of 45reviews
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
2.2 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(7)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(27)
Ease of installation 
1.7 out of 5.0
1.7 out of 5
Quality 
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
36%of customersrecommend this product16 of 45reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
Review 1 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Downingtown, Pa

Awesome for changing a tubs color

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I bought a house and the bathroom needed re done. All the fixtures were that 1960's blue. The toilet and the sink were easy fixes but the tub was another story. The shower walls are beautiful, looks like beach pebbles under glass, and to replace the tub we would have to tear that down. Not wanting to do that, my father suggested we try something like this and if then it didnt work we could go the complete tear out route. We followed the directions exactly, actually going a little extreme with them. My father did use a sander instead of doing that step by hand, and we did the cleaning and the mixing of products 7 times instead of the suggested 3. I wish we could post pics on here cause it looks like a new white tub. When I showed pics to people they swore we replaced the blue one. It did take two kits, but TOTALLY worth it. A $60 fix to perfect our bathroom !!!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Miami
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's an AWESOME product!

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I took on a project to paint my parents' 1950's style bathroom, because it had this horrible green yellow scheme. I used this product, and it now has a crisp clean color to it. You can't even tell that the bathroom was painted if you've never seen this bathroom before. The only thing is, I think it doesn't cover that much area. The actual paint I think is capable of painting over any color, even dark colors. But it took about 3 cans to finish the job, but I think it's still worth every penny. but compare 3 cans to having a pro finish it up. I saved several hundred dollars! Now, even my aunt wants to try it with her bathroom.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your time or money

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought that this would be a cheap alternative to a professional refinishing or installing a new tub. After following all of the steps on the package to the letter, including buying the cleaner that was not included, I started spraying the tub and the can does nothing but sputter. I tried following the directions to correct this ( remove nozzle and reinstall) it did as much good as it sounds like it would. I now not only have to deal with the tub but the fine mist that did come out is all over the bathroom so now I have to try and clean that up as well.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White

Horrible Waste of Money & Time!

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish I had looked at the review before purchasing this product. HUGE disappointment and waste of money & time. Followed the directions for prep and cleaning to a 'T', and then started application process.
Directions say transfer of 1 can to the other can take up to 10 minutes, more like 1 hour. And still I wasn't sure I had gotten all the product transferred.
Actual application part was fairly easy, you just spray like aerosol can, but the runs & drips were everywhere, and the first coat didn't cover hardly any of the stains. in between coats it says to use #0000 steel wool to scrub out drips and surface, this left gray streaks everywhere.
I thought applying the second coat would make it better, it did not. In fact, the can ran out before I could complete even one wall!!
Don't waste your money or time!! After this product, I purchased the Rustoleum Tub & Tile kit, and it worked fabulously! It rolls on for greater ease in application process and it has far fewer fumes. Would highly recommend you use the Rustoleum over this product!
Pros: Good Instructions
Cons: Too Slow, terrible fumes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Agree with these other people - do NOT attempt this product!

PostedJune 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Horrible experience combining the cans - paint EVERYWHERE! It does not tell you how hard it is to hold the two cans together (pressure makes it hard to hold) so when my arms got so tired I could hardly stand it I took them apart (quickly - as directed) to rest a second and the hot can would not stop spraying! Finally got the cans connected again and waited all that time to finish emptying it and apparently I lost too much of stuff because the "finished" can would not even spray, so total loss. If you are crazy enough to use this be sure to do everything OUTSIDE!! THANK YOU HOME DEPOT for returning the product so I could buy the one that is ready to spray - it worked perfectly and was very easy - worth every penny. Oh and by the way I think people must have caught on by now how bad this product is and Home Depot no longer carries it in-store - at least in mine I did not see it anymore when I went to find the spray-ready kind.
Cons: Leaks, very hard to use
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Response from By MagicCustomerCareAugust 29, 2013By MagicCustomerCareAugust 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We’re very sorry you were not completely satisfied with Magic ReNew. When joining the cans for transfer, make sure the cans are connected vertically and pulled apart vertically so the actuators don’t stick. We want you to be 100% satisfied with our products. For any assistance, please contact our Customer Care Team at homax@homaxproducts.com. Thanks again for your time and feedback.Magic
Review 6 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DON'T BUY!

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This will ruin your weekend, maybe more. As other reviews say (now that I got online), prep process takes much longer than indicated and one box DOESN'T FULLY COAT TUB. Wasted huge amounts of time, ran out of paint, missed work to attempt second box and then the store was out of stock! Furious!
Cons: Too Slow, not enough paint, takes longer than advertised, messy
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By MagicCustomerCareAugust 29, 2013By MagicCustomerCareAugust 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We’re very sorry you were not completely satisfied with Magic Renew Refinishing Kit. The most important step in using this product is the preparation. It is very important to ensure that the surface is free from all contaminates before applying the paint. If you are covering a darker color tub, it may take extra paint. We want you to be 100% satisfied with our products. For additional help, please contact our Customer Care Team at homax@homaxproducts.com. Thanks again for your time and feedback.Magic
Review 7 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54

It doesn't last.

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I hired a handyman to use this on the old tub in my house. Because of the extensive prep that it needs, it took nearly an entire day to do. We got it completed and I waited the five days for the cure time before using it. About three months later it started peeling off. It's JUST PAINT. That's all this is. The handyman had told me at the time that it would be better to lightly sand the finish, use a tack cloth to clean the dust, and use the highest quality epoxy paint made. He is right. Another route I could have taken was marine paint covered in marine varnish. I wish you could see how UGLY this tub is now. It's much worse than what I started with. It's unfortunate, as I love the shape and size of this old tub. Don't buy this product.
Cons: doesn't last, Difficult to Use, long cure time, expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By MagicCustomerCareSeptember 3, 2013By MagicCustomerCareSeptember 3, 2013
dp2983,
Thank you for taking the time to send us your review. We are very sorry that the Magic Renew Tub & Tile Refinishing Kit did not work for you. The most important step in using this product is the preparation of the tub surface. Any contaminate left on the surface will interfere in the adhesion of the paint. This can cause the paint to peel. If you need further assistance or have more questions, you can contact our Customer Care Team at homax@homaxproducts.com. Thank you very much for your feedback.Magic
Review 8 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from st paul mn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't try it

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I applied this according to instructions. After just 5 months the finish is peeling off in big strips. Now I'll pay a professional, but I'll have to pay extra to get this stuff fully removed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Magic Customer CareApril 24, 2014By Magic Customer CareApril 24, 2014
stpaulperson,
One of the most important steps in using this product is the preparation of the tub surface before applying the paint. If any contaminates get left on the surface, this can cause the paint to peel off. If you need further assistance, please contact us at 1-800-729-9029. Thank you.Magic
Review 9 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Adams, WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is great!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Took a little bit to prep the tub for the paint. But the end results are great. Looks Great!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Norwich, CT

Very frustrating!!

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I should have read the reviews before I purchased this product. First, the toll free number that is printed in large print on the instruction sheet is answered by a health care company and not the Magic company. I went to their website and their preferred contact method is to email them with your question and the will get back to you within 72 hours. I needed them when I called, not three days later/. Second, the directions say that the transfer from the hot can to the cold could take up to 10 minutes. After 45 minutes, I was able to finally transfer the whole hot can. This entailed warming the hot can five different times for 5 minutes each time and returning the cold can to the refrigerator each time while warming. Once this was accomplished, the can had to sit and acclimate for over one hour. Third, when the can was finally ready to use the nozzle spit out large drops. The directions state to frequently wipe the nozzle to prevent drips, but one spray resulted in drops on the surface of my tub. Fourth, you should definitely wear a respirator and put an exhaust fan in the window. I've only done the first coat and now have to wait at 36 hours before I can do the next. Should have paid a professional tub refinisher to do the job on my antique tub!
Pros: cheaper price
Cons: difficult
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from FL

Amazing Product!!! A Must Buy!!!

PostedSeptember 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We Just Bought An Older House With That 1960's Rose Pink Tub & We Wanted To Remodel The Bathroom But Funds Did Not Allow. We Purchased This Kit Sceptically & After Following The Directions Very Well We Were Greatly Amazed At the Results! Our Tub Looks Like We Purchased A New Tub. You Cannot Tell That It Has Only Been Refinished!!! I Strongly Recommend This Product To Those With The Old Outdated Bathrooms! I Am So Happy I Purchased This Product!!!
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Central Jersey

Good-Bye Pink Tub

PostedJuly 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product worked perfectly for me! Our circa 1965 pink tub is now crisp white. We are putting our house on the market and we are looking for ways to upgrade without spending too much. We saved alot of money by using this paint. The directions were easy to follow and I'm pretty sure even my husband would have been able to do this:)
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better Than Replacing the Fiberglass Surround

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used to refinish a pink fiberglass tub enclosure with a 6’ high surround in a rental unit. Filled miscellaneous chips and nicks and holes with fiberglass repair kit,
Prepped surface per instructions, (3 washes with TSP, each followed by thorough rub down with 0000 steel wool.) Also scraped off old caulking, paint drips, and other stuff on tub. For good measure I sanded with 400 grit wet/dry sandpaper and wiped it down 3 times with acetone.
Cover EVERYTHING you don’t want to have paint on. Close the bathroom door. The spray will drift out of the room and settle EVERYWHERE. Wear long sleeves, old shoes and clothes that you won’t care about having overspray all over. Wear goggles. Wear a NIOSH mask.
I used bright white. One can did not cover the pink. Exhausted first can on light application over entire tub and enclosure. Also had lots of sputters and drips.
Second kit did not mix as easily as the first. It took much longer. Had to rewarm the hot can several times to complete the transfer. Sputtered as much as the first kit. Finished covering the enclosure portion of the tub, but ran out before I could get to the tub area. Went and bought a third kit.
Third kit mixed about the same as the others. Each time, there seems to be a few ounces left in the can that is difficult to transfer. I found that reheating the hot can in hot water would get the transfer completed. Sometimes it took several times to get it all done. Every kit sputtered and dripped. Using a towel to wipe the nozzle frequently seemed to help a little. The third can got the tub area covered pretty well, but overall it is a little splotchy, with some of the pink still faintly visible. I decided to get one more can to make sure the job was done thoroughly.
Plan on at least four kits for color change. After 4 kits, the pink color is gone. The finish is just alright – good enough for a rental or something to sell, or maybe a short term home solution – providing it lasts for several years. For a color change with a complete fiberglass surround and tub, figure at least 4 kits and prep and use them two at a time.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Howard County, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Flawed product

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worst mistake as not only is this product a mess to use. The kit does not provide enough paint to cover up a proper bathtub with 2 coats. After all the prep work and the graying left behind from the steel wool, was horrified a couple weeks later while showering, to find a huge area peeling away at my feet. Worst mistake ever trying this product and now facing an even bigger problem. In addition, the spraying also destroyed my brand new prescription eye glasses from the air mists. Would never recommend or use again!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Magic Customer CareFebruary 3, 2014By Magic Customer CareFebruary 3, 2014
Fixit,
One of the most important steps in using this product is the preparation of the tub surface. All of the contaminates must be removed to ensure a good adhesion. We also recommend wearing a respirator when applying this paint to avoid exposure to the over spray. This kit does allow for 2 coats of paint to be applied or coverage of 45 square feet when applied properly. If you have further questions, please contact us at 1-800-729-9029. Thank you,Magic
Review 15 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from northeast kingdom VT

RENEW Tub and tile paint

PostedNovember 3, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My wife and I followed the directions to the LETTER and after spending $50.00 for a niosh approved respirator and TSP and countless other things not on the box as needed items I attempted to spray the tub , the contents came out spotty and blotchy and it did not work , I emptied the contents of the can and it was still only half done and bleeding through. The directions call for the surface to be cleaned 3 times , it was really about 5 the directions take forever to comply with . This product was a HUGE dissapointment .
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White

Drips more then it sprays.

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible performance while applying. The can drips more then it sprays. Would not recommend to anyone who wants a good finished product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Agawam, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome could't be happier

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had an old cast iron pink tub. The porcelain was worn off in spots and the bottom of the tub had the residue off those stick on anti slip pads, that no matter what I used I couldn't get the outline of the pads off. It was a really ugly tub. Now I have a beautiful brand new tub. Take your time and follow the prep instructions to the letter. Mixing the cans took about six times close to an hour for full transfer. I did get a lot of dripping but smoothed out with a brush. It took two days to coat and I let cure for six days. It's a lot of work but worth the effort.
Pros: Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White

Magic ReNew Tub And Tile Refinishing Kit

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product was relatively easy for first timers. Yes, I had a bit of a frustrating time trying to get the contents from the HOT can transferred fully to the COLD can. Even though the instructions were very specific about ALL of the HOT contents being completely transferred to the COLD can, even after repeated heating and re-transferring, I went ahead with what is available in the COLD can anyway.
After the transfer process, the spray sprout "spat" for lack of a better word so it dripped onto the surface in globs. Easily correctable with the fine-bristled brush supplied with the kit. After 24 hours of the first application, the second application was great. Let it cure for the recommended five (5) days as instructed. I could not be happier with the resulting finish.
Frustrating? Yes, but only in the preparation of the mixture and transfer process.
Make sure you have goggles and a respirator far better than the normal facemask. The stuff can cause headaches.
Pros: Good Instructions
Cons: Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Orange, VA 22960, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Run away Run far far away!

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product exploded all over my kitchen,, I followed the instructions to the letter and the spray can went off . What a waste and a big mess.
Cons: a big mess
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Montana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worst product ever

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As most others noted the transfer is a disaster. Mine was unusable. I followed directions completely. However when I found the hot can was not emptied as suggested I put it back in hot water and the cold back in cold. Then went to start process again and the nozzle had broken off the hot can, I"M SURE because the cold can is like freeon and melts the nozzle so of course no traansfer was possible because there was no longer any connection. Obviously manufacturers defect but am going to see if home depot will return money.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Magic Customer CareDecember 2, 2013By Magic Customer CareDecember 2, 2013
redridinghoodmt,
During the transfer process of the two cans, our instructions state that it could take up to 10 minutes to complete the transfer. Once the hissing sound stops, you will need to reheat the "hot" can and chill the "cold" can and start the transfer again. It is also very important to pull the can straight up to avoid any spraying. If you need further assistance, we can be contacted at homax@homaxproducts.com. Thank you.Magic
1 2 3 >>