728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White

Magic Bath Tub & Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy, White is specially formulated to provide a hard, high-gloss and protective finish. The stain-resistant double coating withstands the demands of daily use and remains beautiful for years. The spray application provides professional results without brushing. Restore your bathtub yourself in a weekend and save hundreds, even thousands of dollars on your bathroom refresh. Magic Bath Tub & Tile Refinishing Kit withstands hot water and repeated usage with temperatures of up to 160° F / 71° C. It’s perfect for Bathtubs, Sinks, Showers, Ceramic Tile, Porcelain, Laminate, Fiberglass, and Metal. Coverage is one standard tub, 22 SQ FT, or approx. 4.5 ft. x 5 ft. (two coats each). Complete step-by-step bi-lingual directions are included in every package. Not recommended for high-heat appliances. 5-day cure time.
Overall rating:
2.17 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
36%of customersrecommend this product16 of 45reviews
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
2.2 out of 5
5
(6)
4
(7)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(27)
Ease of installation 
1.7 out of 5
1.7 out of 5
Quality 
2.1 out of 5
2.1 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5
2.3 out of 5
36%of customersrecommend this product16 of 45reviews
Customer reviews for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
Review 1 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Oregon

turned out okay

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The directions call for a lot of futzing. It takes a lot of work to get the two cans mixed. You have to go over the steps again and again. You have to just go crazy getting the surface clean. You have to work very hard to combat dust. You have to use some skill and attention to do the spraying without runs or sags. The first time, I tried to use it in high humidity, and it didn't cure for a long time. I did two sinks, using three kits, 3-4 coats each. I had blemishes due to silicone caulk residue that had to be sanded down and recoated. The end result turned out fine, reasonably smooth and hard. I got a bonus by using some of the leftover paint to recoat the daggerboard on my Laser (racing dinghy). That job turned out very nice and has held up better than the factory finish. I'll probably buy some more just for boat repair.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Central Jersey

Good-Bye Pink Tub

PostedJuly 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product worked perfectly for me! Our circa 1965 pink tub is now crisp white. We are putting our house on the market and we are looking for ways to upgrade without spending too much. We saved alot of money by using this paint. The directions were easy to follow and I'm pretty sure even my husband would have been able to do this:)
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your time or money

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought that this would be a cheap alternative to a professional refinishing or installing a new tub. After following all of the steps on the package to the letter, including buying the cleaner that was not included, I started spraying the tub and the can does nothing but sputter. I tried following the directions to correct this ( remove nozzle and reinstall) it did as much good as it sounds like it would. I now not only have to deal with the tub but the fine mist that did come out is all over the bathroom so now I have to try and clean that up as well.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from ft worth, tx

A WASTE OF MONEY

PostedJuly 13, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this is a waste of both time and money. it leads you to believe you only have to warm the paint once maybe twice, but its more like 5 or 6 and you have to leave it in the water for around 10 minutes. also, it leads you to believe you can do 2 coats on a shower and tub with one $40 box. i just finished my first box and will have to buy an additional 2 more boxes to do 1 coat on my shower. i did this to save money and in the end it's going to cost me more than just retiling my shower and will take almost as long.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Independence, KY

ReNew Refinishing Kit

PostedAugust 10, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The kit overall is easy to use (understandable direction)and is a lot cheaper than having it professionally done, depending on what your refinishing you may want to invest more money into it...for example i used it to refinish an old clawfoot tub that i am using for a dog bathtub....now if i was refinishing it to use in my bathroom i may have invested more money...but for $30 is it not too bad...you do need to purchase other items that do not come in the kit so pay attention to the "items required" list on the side of the box.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from FL

Amazing Product!!! A Must Buy!!!

PostedSeptember 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We Just Bought An Older House With That 1960's Rose Pink Tub & We Wanted To Remodel The Bathroom But Funds Did Not Allow. We Purchased This Kit Sceptically & After Following The Directions Very Well We Were Greatly Amazed At the Results! Our Tub Looks Like We Purchased A New Tub. You Cannot Tell That It Has Only Been Refinished!!! I Strongly Recommend This Product To Those With The Old Outdated Bathrooms! I Am So Happy I Purchased This Product!!!
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Downingtown, Pa

Awesome for changing a tubs color

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My husband and I bought a house and the bathroom needed re done. All the fixtures were that 1960's blue. The toilet and the sink were easy fixes but the tub was another story. The shower walls are beautiful, looks like beach pebbles under glass, and to replace the tub we would have to tear that down. Not wanting to do that, my father suggested we try something like this and if then it didnt work we could go the complete tear out route. We followed the directions exactly, actually going a little extreme with them. My father did use a sander instead of doing that step by hand, and we did the cleaning and the mixing of products 7 times instead of the suggested 3. I wish we could post pics on here cause it looks like a new white tub. When I showed pics to people they swore we replaced the blue one. It did take two kits, but TOTALLY worth it. A $60 fix to perfect our bathroom !!!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White

Peels every-time

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've used this product twice on the same tub after it stared peeling so redid all the steps and followed all direction and again it's peeling. Horrible waste of $90+ dollars since I used 2 the first time.
Cons: peels
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from northeast kingdom VT

RENEW Tub and tile paint

PostedNovember 3, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My wife and I followed the directions to the LETTER and after spending $50.00 for a niosh approved respirator and TSP and countless other things not on the box as needed items I attempted to spray the tub , the contents came out spotty and blotchy and it did not work , I emptied the contents of the can and it was still only half done and bleeding through. The directions call for the surface to be cleaned 3 times , it was really about 5 the directions take forever to comply with . This product was a HUGE dissapointment .
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Miami
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's an AWESOME product!

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I took on a project to paint my parents' 1950's style bathroom, because it had this horrible green yellow scheme. I used this product, and it now has a crisp clean color to it. You can't even tell that the bathroom was painted if you've never seen this bathroom before. The only thing is, I think it doesn't cover that much area. The actual paint I think is capable of painting over any color, even dark colors. But it took about 3 cans to finish the job, but I think it's still worth every penny. but compare 3 cans to having a pro finish it up. I saved several hundred dollars! Now, even my aunt wants to try it with her bathroom.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White

AWFUL product!!!!

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Do NOT waste your money!!! My husband and I will tackle just about any home project. I have been an interior/ exterior painter for 10yrs. We have an old cast iron tub that needed to be re-finished. We saw this product at Home Depot and decided to try it out. After buying 4 cans at $30 a piece, following the directions to the "t" and letting it cure for 5 days it started to peel! It should be taken off the market! I would NOT reccomend you buying this product!
Cons: Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White

Drips more then it sprays.

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible performance while applying. The can drips more then it sprays. Would not recommend to anyone who wants a good finished product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White

Magic ReNew Tub And Tile Refinishing Kit

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product was relatively easy for first timers. Yes, I had a bit of a frustrating time trying to get the contents from the HOT can transferred fully to the COLD can. Even though the instructions were very specific about ALL of the HOT contents being completely transferred to the COLD can, even after repeated heating and re-transferring, I went ahead with what is available in the COLD can anyway.
After the transfer process, the spray sprout "spat" for lack of a better word so it dripped onto the surface in globs. Easily correctable with the fine-bristled brush supplied with the kit. After 24 hours of the first application, the second application was great. Let it cure for the recommended five (5) days as instructed. I could not be happier with the resulting finish.
Frustrating? Yes, but only in the preparation of the mixture and transfer process.
Make sure you have goggles and a respirator far better than the normal facemask. The stuff can cause headaches.
Pros: Good Instructions
Cons: Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Aurora, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We needed to refurbish our tub at minimum cost, 1 package completely redid our tub. Its beautiful, smooth, crispy white. I would highly recommend this product. It is slightly difficult to do for a novice, however; just take your time and results will happen. It took 2 days to coat and 5 days to cure and set. Our tub is old cast iron and the porcelain had eroded off showing large black areas, 1 bottle covered it with the 2 coats.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White

Got to pay attention to detail

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used this kit on an old claw foot tub. Get it really clean, then used 200 grit lightly over the entire tub, then followed the cleaning directions in the kit. The first coat was an experience. Getting all the hot can into the cold can takes a while, I kept heating and shaking the hot can, took 20 min. The first coat did spit drops, I took care of them with the brush provided, but didn't get to concerned. After it dried I took 400 grit sandpaper and rubbed out the drips, then used the 0000 steel wool on the entire tub. Vacuumed the dust out and used a tack cloth to make sure it was dust free. The next coat I was better prepared, my wife found a soft makeup brush and I sprayed wiping the nozzle every spray and she touched up the drips that did get out. Looks really good, we'll see how it holds up.
Pros: better than $650 from a pro
Cons: drips a lot!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better Than Replacing the Fiberglass Surround

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used to refinish a pink fiberglass tub enclosure with a 6’ high surround in a rental unit. Filled miscellaneous chips and nicks and holes with fiberglass repair kit,
Prepped surface per instructions, (3 washes with TSP, each followed by thorough rub down with 0000 steel wool.) Also scraped off old caulking, paint drips, and other stuff on tub. For good measure I sanded with 400 grit wet/dry sandpaper and wiped it down 3 times with acetone.
Cover EVERYTHING you don’t want to have paint on. Close the bathroom door. The spray will drift out of the room and settle EVERYWHERE. Wear long sleeves, old shoes and clothes that you won’t care about having overspray all over. Wear goggles. Wear a NIOSH mask.
I used bright white. One can did not cover the pink. Exhausted first can on light application over entire tub and enclosure. Also had lots of sputters and drips.
Second kit did not mix as easily as the first. It took much longer. Had to rewarm the hot can several times to complete the transfer. Sputtered as much as the first kit. Finished covering the enclosure portion of the tub, but ran out before I could get to the tub area. Went and bought a third kit.
Third kit mixed about the same as the others. Each time, there seems to be a few ounces left in the can that is difficult to transfer. I found that reheating the hot can in hot water would get the transfer completed. Sometimes it took several times to get it all done. Every kit sputtered and dripped. Using a towel to wipe the nozzle frequently seemed to help a little. The third can got the tub area covered pretty well, but overall it is a little splotchy, with some of the pink still faintly visible. I decided to get one more can to make sure the job was done thoroughly.
Plan on at least four kits for color change. After 4 kits, the pink color is gone. The finish is just alright – good enough for a rental or something to sell, or maybe a short term home solution – providing it lasts for several years. For a color change with a complete fiberglass surround and tub, figure at least 4 kits and prep and use them two at a time.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White

Horrible Waste of Money & Time!

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish I had looked at the review before purchasing this product. HUGE disappointment and waste of money & time. Followed the directions for prep and cleaning to a 'T', and then started application process.
Directions say transfer of 1 can to the other can take up to 10 minutes, more like 1 hour. And still I wasn't sure I had gotten all the product transferred.
Actual application part was fairly easy, you just spray like aerosol can, but the runs & drips were everywhere, and the first coat didn't cover hardly any of the stains. in between coats it says to use #0000 steel wool to scrub out drips and surface, this left gray streaks everywhere.
I thought applying the second coat would make it better, it did not. In fact, the can ran out before I could complete even one wall!!
Don't waste your money or time!! After this product, I purchased the Rustoleum Tub & Tile kit, and it worked fabulously! It rolls on for greater ease in application process and it has far fewer fumes. Would highly recommend you use the Rustoleum over this product!
Pros: Good Instructions
Cons: Too Slow, terrible fumes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Wellsville, UT
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

DO NOT BUY!!!!!

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Instructions easy to read. Getting product to do what instructions actually tell you to do it extremely hard & impossible. To get the transfer it says it could take up to 10 minutes & you might have to repeat process. Well it took us multiple tries which means it took 10 minutes to heat each time then 10 more minutes sitting there holding hot can on top of cold can. We did this 3 times which ='s a total of 60 minutes just to get the transfer process complete. We then let it sit for at least an hour, we did the practice spray which the spray flow looked good but was also shooting out globs. We thought it was just the cap so we came inside & put the extra cap that came with product on. We then "painted" our tub. IT RUINED OUR TUB! We were debating on getting cream colored shower walls to go on our cream tub but instead went this way to get the nice white but now we are out this money plus all the money for the extras needed it says on the back & in the end have to now go buy a new tub. The paint now a full day later is still soaking wet & has ran completely off certain spots of the tub & we have globs everywhere from when the spray didn't come out right. Great Idea but this product does NOT work. Don't be like us trying to save a couple bucks, just replace whatever you are wanting to paint and spend the money!!!!!
Cons: globs, runs, doesn't dry, doesn't transfer properly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By Magic Customer CareMarch 11, 2014By Magic Customer CareMarch 11, 2014
Matt,
When applying this product, it is very important that you get all of the contents transferred out of the "hot" can into the "cold" can. This will ensure that you have the correct amount of each ingredient mixed properly so that it can cure. If having problems getting the cans to transfer, we recommend placing the cold can in an ice bath for 10-15 and this will help with the transfer. If you have any questions, we can be reached at 1-800-729-9029. Thank you for your feedback.Magic
Review 19 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Coconut Grove, FL 33133, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor coverage, difficult use, poor finish

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Attempted to use this stuff. Made my project go 3 days longer, totally unacceptable finish. Could not in 3 coats cover "old rose" tub. Runs, splatter are the game. The directions are not good in they tell you to place nozzle on and let warm to room temperature. This merely clogs a nozzle.
I would not put a friend through this. Definitely would NOT recommend or use this product ever again.
Cons: Too Slow
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from st paul mn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't try it

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I applied this according to instructions. After just 5 months the finish is peeling off in big strips. Now I'll pay a professional, but I'll have to pay extra to get this stuff fully removed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Magic Customer CareApril 24, 2014By Magic Customer CareApril 24, 2014
stpaulperson,
One of the most important steps in using this product is the preparation of the tub surface before applying the paint. If any contaminates get left on the surface, this can cause the paint to peel off. If you need further assistance, please contact us at 1-800-729-9029. Thank you.Magic
1 2 3 >>