728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White

Magic Bath Tub & Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy, White is specially formulated to provide a hard, high-gloss and protective finish. The stain-resistant double coating withstands the demands of daily use and remains beautiful for years. The spray application provides professional results without brushing. Restore your bathtub yourself in a weekend and save hundreds, even thousands of dollars on your bathroom refresh. Magic Bath Tub & Tile Refinishing Kit withstands hot water and repeated usage with temperatures of up to 160° F / 71° C. It’s perfect for Bathtubs, Sinks, Showers, Ceramic Tile, Porcelain, Laminate, Fiberglass, and Metal. Coverage is one standard tub, 22 SQ FT, or approx. 4.5 ft. x 5 ft. (two coats each). Complete step-by-step bi-lingual directions are included in every package. Not recommended for high-heat appliances. 5-day cure time.
Overall rating:
2.17 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
36%of customersrecommend this product16 of 45reviews
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
2.2 out of 5
5
(6)
4
(7)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(27)
Ease of installation 
1.7 out of 5
1.7 out of 5
Quality 
2.1 out of 5
2.1 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5
2.3 out of 5
36%of customersrecommend this product16 of 45reviews
Customer reviews for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
Review 1 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Although the concept is great, the cans refused to work. The instructions were detailed to the point of miserable. Glad I kept the receipt because I will be returning this. I'd bought several items for home projects and just got around to this one. What a disappointment this one was. It should have been very simple.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By Magic Customer CareJanuary 27, 2014By Magic Customer CareJanuary 27, 2014
Brambos,
This product is a 2-part epoxy finish that needs to be properly applied to a very clean surface or it may not cure or adhere correctly. This is why the instructions are so detailed. If you have further questions about the application of this product, we can be reached at 1-800-729-9029 or emailed at homax@homaxproducts.com. Thank you for your input.Magic
Review 2 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Central Jersey

Good-Bye Pink Tub

PostedJuly 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product worked perfectly for me! Our circa 1965 pink tub is now crisp white. We are putting our house on the market and we are looking for ways to upgrade without spending too much. We saved alot of money by using this paint. The directions were easy to follow and I'm pretty sure even my husband would have been able to do this:)
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better Than Replacing the Fiberglass Surround

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Used to refinish a pink fiberglass tub enclosure with a 6’ high surround in a rental unit. Filled miscellaneous chips and nicks and holes with fiberglass repair kit,
Prepped surface per instructions, (3 washes with TSP, each followed by thorough rub down with 0000 steel wool.) Also scraped off old caulking, paint drips, and other stuff on tub. For good measure I sanded with 400 grit wet/dry sandpaper and wiped it down 3 times with acetone.
Cover EVERYTHING you don’t want to have paint on. Close the bathroom door. The spray will drift out of the room and settle EVERYWHERE. Wear long sleeves, old shoes and clothes that you won’t care about having overspray all over. Wear goggles. Wear a NIOSH mask.
I used bright white. One can did not cover the pink. Exhausted first can on light application over entire tub and enclosure. Also had lots of sputters and drips.
Second kit did not mix as easily as the first. It took much longer. Had to rewarm the hot can several times to complete the transfer. Sputtered as much as the first kit. Finished covering the enclosure portion of the tub, but ran out before I could get to the tub area. Went and bought a third kit.
Third kit mixed about the same as the others. Each time, there seems to be a few ounces left in the can that is difficult to transfer. I found that reheating the hot can in hot water would get the transfer completed. Sometimes it took several times to get it all done. Every kit sputtered and dripped. Using a towel to wipe the nozzle frequently seemed to help a little. The third can got the tub area covered pretty well, but overall it is a little splotchy, with some of the pink still faintly visible. I decided to get one more can to make sure the job was done thoroughly.
Plan on at least four kits for color change. After 4 kits, the pink color is gone. The finish is just alright – good enough for a rental or something to sell, or maybe a short term home solution – providing it lasts for several years. For a color change with a complete fiberglass surround and tub, figure at least 4 kits and prep and use them two at a time.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Howard County, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Flawed product

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worst mistake as not only is this product a mess to use. The kit does not provide enough paint to cover up a proper bathtub with 2 coats. After all the prep work and the graying left behind from the steel wool, was horrified a couple weeks later while showering, to find a huge area peeling away at my feet. Worst mistake ever trying this product and now facing an even bigger problem. In addition, the spraying also destroyed my brand new prescription eye glasses from the air mists. Would never recommend or use again!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Magic Customer CareFebruary 3, 2014By Magic Customer CareFebruary 3, 2014
Fixit,
One of the most important steps in using this product is the preparation of the tub surface. All of the contaminates must be removed to ensure a good adhesion. We also recommend wearing a respirator when applying this paint to avoid exposure to the over spray. This kit does allow for 2 coats of paint to be applied or coverage of 45 square feet when applied properly. If you have further questions, please contact us at 1-800-729-9029. Thank you,Magic
Review 5 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Dickson City, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not set up

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product does not work. Epoxy burns. Never sets up. Used per instructions. DID put in refrigerator.
Cons: does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from northeast kingdom VT

RENEW Tub and tile paint

PostedNovember 3, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My wife and I followed the directions to the LETTER and after spending $50.00 for a niosh approved respirator and TSP and countless other things not on the box as needed items I attempted to spray the tub , the contents came out spotty and blotchy and it did not work , I emptied the contents of the can and it was still only half done and bleeding through. The directions call for the surface to be cleaned 3 times , it was really about 5 the directions take forever to comply with . This product was a HUGE dissapointment .
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White

Magic ReNew Tub And Tile Refinishing Kit

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product was relatively easy for first timers. Yes, I had a bit of a frustrating time trying to get the contents from the HOT can transferred fully to the COLD can. Even though the instructions were very specific about ALL of the HOT contents being completely transferred to the COLD can, even after repeated heating and re-transferring, I went ahead with what is available in the COLD can anyway.
After the transfer process, the spray sprout "spat" for lack of a better word so it dripped onto the surface in globs. Easily correctable with the fine-bristled brush supplied with the kit. After 24 hours of the first application, the second application was great. Let it cure for the recommended five (5) days as instructed. I could not be happier with the resulting finish.
Frustrating? Yes, but only in the preparation of the mixture and transfer process.
Make sure you have goggles and a respirator far better than the normal facemask. The stuff can cause headaches.
Pros: Good Instructions
Cons: Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White

Peels every-time

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've used this product twice on the same tub after it stared peeling so redid all the steps and followed all direction and again it's peeling. Horrible waste of $90+ dollars since I used 2 the first time.
Cons: peels
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White

Horrible Waste of Money & Time!

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish I had looked at the review before purchasing this product. HUGE disappointment and waste of money & time. Followed the directions for prep and cleaning to a 'T', and then started application process.
Directions say transfer of 1 can to the other can take up to 10 minutes, more like 1 hour. And still I wasn't sure I had gotten all the product transferred.
Actual application part was fairly easy, you just spray like aerosol can, but the runs & drips were everywhere, and the first coat didn't cover hardly any of the stains. in between coats it says to use #0000 steel wool to scrub out drips and surface, this left gray streaks everywhere.
I thought applying the second coat would make it better, it did not. In fact, the can ran out before I could complete even one wall!!
Don't waste your money or time!! After this product, I purchased the Rustoleum Tub & Tile kit, and it worked fabulously! It rolls on for greater ease in application process and it has far fewer fumes. Would highly recommend you use the Rustoleum over this product!
Pros: Good Instructions
Cons: Too Slow, terrible fumes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Coconut Grove, FL 33133, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor coverage, difficult use, poor finish

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Attempted to use this stuff. Made my project go 3 days longer, totally unacceptable finish. Could not in 3 coats cover "old rose" tub. Runs, splatter are the game. The directions are not good in they tell you to place nozzle on and let warm to room temperature. This merely clogs a nozzle.
I would not put a friend through this. Definitely would NOT recommend or use this product ever again.
Cons: Too Slow
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54

It doesn't last.

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I hired a handyman to use this on the old tub in my house. Because of the extensive prep that it needs, it took nearly an entire day to do. We got it completed and I waited the five days for the cure time before using it. About three months later it started peeling off. It's JUST PAINT. That's all this is. The handyman had told me at the time that it would be better to lightly sand the finish, use a tack cloth to clean the dust, and use the highest quality epoxy paint made. He is right. Another route I could have taken was marine paint covered in marine varnish. I wish you could see how UGLY this tub is now. It's much worse than what I started with. It's unfortunate, as I love the shape and size of this old tub. Don't buy this product.
Cons: doesn't last, Difficult to Use, long cure time, expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By MagicCustomerCareSeptember 3, 2013By MagicCustomerCareSeptember 3, 2013
dp2983,
Thank you for taking the time to send us your review. We are very sorry that the Magic Renew Tub & Tile Refinishing Kit did not work for you. The most important step in using this product is the preparation of the tub surface. Any contaminate left on the surface will interfere in the adhesion of the paint. This can cause the paint to peel. If you need further assistance or have more questions, you can contact our Customer Care Team at homax@homaxproducts.com. Thank you very much for your feedback.Magic
Review 12 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from st paul mn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't try it

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I applied this according to instructions. After just 5 months the finish is peeling off in big strips. Now I'll pay a professional, but I'll have to pay extra to get this stuff fully removed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Magic Customer CareApril 24, 2014By Magic Customer CareApril 24, 2014
stpaulperson,
One of the most important steps in using this product is the preparation of the tub surface before applying the paint. If any contaminates get left on the surface, this can cause the paint to peel off. If you need further assistance, please contact us at 1-800-729-9029. Thank you.Magic
Review 13 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Orlando, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible, horrible, horrible

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I can't say enough bad things about this product. I've refinished this tub before with another product that was much easier to use but after two years parts started to chip. Takes three hours just to chill, heat, and bring the can back to room temperature. Can constantly splattered providing really poor coverage. Did not cover close to what was said it would cover. Will need to live with the tub, but now I need to install a tub surround to cover those awful walls.
Pros: Good Instructions
Cons: Too Slow, splattered
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Independence, KY

ReNew Refinishing Kit

PostedAugust 10, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The kit overall is easy to use (understandable direction)and is a lot cheaper than having it professionally done, depending on what your refinishing you may want to invest more money into it...for example i used it to refinish an old clawfoot tub that i am using for a dog bathtub....now if i was refinishing it to use in my bathroom i may have invested more money...but for $30 is it not too bad...you do need to purchase other items that do not come in the kit so pay attention to the "items required" list on the side of the box.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Norwalk, CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Update to previous review

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used this product back in July 2013 and gave it a satisfactory review. Now 6 months later I can say that the product holds up very well. I was looking it over the other day and noted that the finish looks as good as it did when I first applied it. While I still would hope they could simplify the process of combining to the two parts, the finished product is well worth the work. As with most things, its all in the prep, follow the directions as far as cleaning the surface, and I do highly suggest covering up the surrounding areas with plastic and masking tape to minimize over spray. This tub gets used by 3 people 7 days a week and it has held up very well and has saved me much $$ and a lot of work not having to replace the tub.
Pros: Reliable
Cons: Too Slow
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White

Takes longer than stated

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Instructions state that "It can take up to 10 minutes to combine the 2 cans", this is WRONG!!! I have used 3 of these kits and each time it has taken AT LEAST 1 1/2 hours to combine the 2 cans. I followed the instructions to the letter. I wish they would develop a better way to combine the 2 cans. As for durability, it's only been one week so we'll see how well it holds up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
from Downingtown, Pa

Awesome for changing a tubs color

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My husband and I bought a house and the bathroom needed re done. All the fixtures were that 1960's blue. The toilet and the sink were easy fixes but the tub was another story. The shower walls are beautiful, looks like beach pebbles under glass, and to replace the tub we would have to tear that down. Not wanting to do that, my father suggested we try something like this and if then it didnt work we could go the complete tear out route. We followed the directions exactly, actually going a little extreme with them. My father did use a sander instead of doing that step by hand, and we did the cleaning and the mixing of products 7 times instead of the suggested 3. I wish we could post pics on here cause it looks like a new white tub. When I showed pics to people they swore we replaced the blue one. It did take two kits, but TOTALLY worth it. A $60 fix to perfect our bathroom !!!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your time or money

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought that this would be a cheap alternative to a professional refinishing or installing a new tub. After following all of the steps on the package to the letter, including buying the cleaner that was not included, I started spraying the tub and the can does nothing but sputter. I tried following the directions to correct this ( remove nozzle and reinstall) it did as much good as it sounds like it would. I now not only have to deal with the tub but the fine mist that did come out is all over the bathroom so now I have to try and clean that up as well.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White

Drips more then it sprays.

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible performance while applying. The can drips more then it sprays. Would not recommend to anyone who wants a good finished product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 17 oz. Bath Tub and Tile Refinishing Kit Spray-On Epoxy in White

Got to pay attention to detail

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used this kit on an old claw foot tub. Get it really clean, then used 200 grit lightly over the entire tub, then followed the cleaning directions in the kit. The first coat was an experience. Getting all the hot can into the cold can takes a while, I kept heating and shaking the hot can, took 20 min. The first coat did spit drops, I took care of them with the brush provided, but didn't get to concerned. After it dried I took 400 grit sandpaper and rubbed out the drips, then used the 0000 steel wool on the entire tub. Vacuumed the dust out and used a tack cloth to make sure it was dust free. The next coat I was better prepared, my wife found a soft makeup brush and I sprayed wiping the nozzle every spray and she touched up the drips that did get out. Looks really good, we'll see how it holds up.
Pros: better than $650 from a pro
Cons: drips a lot!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>