728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Patching & Repair or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-Qt. Ready Patch Spackling and Patching Compound

1-Qt. Ready Patch Spackling and Patching Compound

The Zinsser 1-Qt. Ready Patch Spackling and Patching Compound is a spackling paste for interior and exterior applications. The Silica-free formula resists shrinkage and will not sag or crack. This product is sand able and paintable.
Overall rating:
4.067 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product10 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product10 of 12reviews
Customer reviews for 1-Qt. Ready Patch Spackling and Patching Compound
Review 1 for 1-Qt. Ready Patch Spackling and Patching Compound
from MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Happy

PostedJune 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been very happy with this product. I have used it on exterrior jobs to prep facia boards for paint and also on craftier jobs. On one project in particular, I used it to fill all the cracks and voids in a project I built from low grade plywood. It took a few applications, but by the end everything was perfectly smooth and ready for paint. After a paintjob you couldn't see any plywood cracks, joint seams, or plywood edges.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-Qt. Ready Patch Spackling and Patching Compound
from Cranford, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Spreads like the better butter

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The sparkle goes on easily and spreads uniformly. It works well but dries too slowly for multiple layers in large holes. A great product for cracks and small to medium holes.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-Qt. Ready Patch Spackling and Patching Compound
from Holly Springs, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is what the pros use period!

PostedApril 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a professional residential painter, used many other spackles, mh is a very high quality spackle, I won't use another product eventhough it might be slighly less expensive.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Dries Quickly
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-Qt. Ready Patch Spackling and Patching Compound
from Pennsy

H W Ready Patch great stuff

PostedMarch 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This "spackle" was a revelation--unlike other spackle, it can be used anywhere, and it's completely easy to handle and work with. I have used it on wood, plaster, and outdoor brick. I even plugged large voids with it, drilled into it to hang stuff, easily rebuilt cracked and sagging plaster knee wall, rebuilt deteriorating porch trim. It takes paint beautifully --in short, iit is holding our old house together--literally. AND, if that was not enough, you can paint over it as soon as the surface is dry--minutes. It goes on smooth as satin, but you can also sand it. It spreads so thin with a wallboard knife that even an amateur like me can feather it out to turn uneven cracked areas into smooth wall. Love this stuff!
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-Qt. Ready Patch Spackling and Patching Compound
from Oregon

MH Ready Patch works

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product on the exterior of house built in 1978. The old T1-11 siding was checked and cracked and in places had a honeycomb look with pin holes. I took the surface down to bare wood and primed with Peel Bond. The I used ready patch, sanded and primed again. When my finish coat was applied the surface looked awesome. I like this product because it dries quickly, sands smooth and is very easy to use. I had no issues with bubbling or peeling over the patched areas. I highly recommend this product.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-Qt. Ready Patch Spackling and Patching Compound
from Tracy, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cracked before I even painted.

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this to fill hairline cracks and to fill in nail holes on my exterior wood trim. A few days later as I was going to prime & paint, it had shrunken and cracked in every place I used it. Now I guess I have to return it, sand it off, & use something else- just a delay I did not want.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-8points
2out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-Qt. Ready Patch Spackling and Patching Compound

Great product

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used this product to repair missing wood from fascia chewed by a squirrel, deteriorated garage door side trim near the ground, and water damaged soffit. It dries to a hard surface that's almost like sanding wood and can easily be blended with the surrounding area. If appled in thicker coats it takes a lot longer to dry than light weight spackling to dry. I've experienced no shrinkage and the repairs I've made with it look great.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-Qt. Ready Patch Spackling and Patching Compound

My Go-To Product for interior wall repair.

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used Ready Patch many times for interior plaster and drywall repair. It applies well, sands easily and is essentially permanent. When used to fill larger holes it is necessary to apply in multiple applications to allow for minor shrinkage and drying - which will take at least 24 hours. The resulting patch, painted over, will be invisible.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Looks Great, keeps well in closed can
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-Qt. Ready Patch Spackling and Patching Compound
from Bloomington, MN, USA

Easy to use

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have been removing several layers of wallpaper at home and scraped a bit too much so we were left with a couple of patches that had brown paper showing from the drywall. I used Ready Patch to cover it up. It went on smoothly and easily. Dries very quickly. One other reviewer mentioned that as well. You need to clean your blade often in order to keep a nice smooth surface. Overall, I liked this product for my particular problem and would recommend it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-Qt. Ready Patch Spackling and Patching Compound

Disappointed

PostedApril 7, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Maybe this product works OK for filling nail holes, but it is terrible for wider patches from 1/2 inch or wider on plaster walls. Applying MH to a thorougly vacuumed area (no dust or particles remaining) results in gouges caused by dried bits of the MH spackle on on the blade. It is as if it dries too fast on the spackling knife. The first swipe will be OK. Then in quick succession the second swipe is alread gouging. You practically have to wipe the blade perfectly clean with a wet rag before every swipe. I do not have this problem with the same knife when using drywall compound or DAP Crackshot products.
Cons: dries way to faat on the blade, spread with gouging streaks
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-Qt. Ready Patch Spackling and Patching Compound
from nj
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only product I will use!

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product for many years and have never been disappointed. I took old oak kitchen cabinets that I wanted to paint but did not want to see the oak through the paint. So I applied a coat of MH to the doors, sanded them, and then painted them an ivory color and then did an antique wash over the doors. They came out great!. Product does dry quickly so you do have to wipe off your tool to maintain a smooth finish. When it drys it is a rock hard finish.
I have also used this product to repair my MIL's peeling plaster walls with much success. After one coat dries, sand, and then apply the 2nd coat until you build it up and you no longer see the missing plaster lines. I have not had any problems using this product over the years, but it does take a little practice to get it smooth because it does dry quickly.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: dries a little too quickly, can be difficult to keep smooth
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-Qt. Ready Patch Spackling and Patching Compound
from Cherryville, PA

Mh patching compound

PostedSeptember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My puppy chewed the legs of my dining room chairs. On the advice of a friend I tried MH patching compound on the chair legs. I molded the compound to the leg and when it hardened I painted the chair legs. They are as good as new. Its great for patching holes in walls too!
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-Qt. Ready Patch Spackling and Patching Compound

Excellent product

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very effective and easy to apply. I bought the product since I had some pests in the apartment (centipedes) and there were cracks in between baseboards and floors. I am glad I found this product since caulking with the silicon gun will take forever. This is way faster and better solution for the problem that I had.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-Qt. Ready Patch Spackling and Patching Compound

Limited Purpose Product

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I had some fairly serious damage to fascia boards on a flat roof shed. I was going to purchase PC Woody, but was steered toward this product by a HD associate. Wrong product for the job. Even after applying wood hardener, the MH had difficulty bonding. Also, It had to be applied in multiple thin layers so that it would dry all the way through. In the end, I abandoned this time bandit and used the PC Woody epoxy, which required only a single application and to date, is performing quite well.
-8points
1out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-Qt. Ready Patch Spackling and Patching Compound
from wny
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not meet what was said on can

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
1. went on easy
2. very hard to sand
3. shrunk slightly
4.gave off a bad odor
Cons: bad odor
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.