728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Cooktops or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Bisque with 4 Elements

30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Bisque with 4 Elements

Cleaning up accidental kitchen spills is a breeze with the GE 30 in. Coil Built-In Electric Cooktop. Simply lift up the smooth porcelain-enamel surface and prop it up on the support rod to gain easy access to messes underneath the cooktop. Equipped with upfront controls for easy operation, this powerful cooktop has 4 burners that deliver 5,600 - 7,400 watts of power to help you meet a range of cooking requirements.
Overall rating:
4.367 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product54 of 59reviews
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(31)
4
(23)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Features 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product54 of 59reviews
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for 30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Bisque with 4 Elements
Review 1 for 30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Bisque with 4 Elements
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rental Unit Reno

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I purchased and installed this appliance for a rental unit in another state, so I can't really speak to how well it operates over a period of time. I would assume it will perform well at such a basic task as heating a pan. The cooktop slid right into where the old, malfunctioning cooktop was, and I was able to get the included power supply (with Romex) to reach the junction box below the floor of the kitchen in the basement -- barely. One glaring negative was when I drilled in screws through the subpan of the cooktop to the countertop, the screws cracked the enamel of the subpan when tightened. Not good, although it did not affect the overall look of the cooktop when the outer surface was lowered in place. Also, I'm not sure why this thing is nearly $400, but if you need a new cooktop to match the color of some existing appliances this is a good fit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
Cons: pricey for a basic unit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Bisque with 4 Elements
from Colorado
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good price and quallity

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
quality is good, price was right.
Mounting the cook top directions for the diy person needs to be better.
Care should be exercised when securing to counter top as over tightening will crack the porcelain.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Looks Great
Cons: installation derecitions needed expanded, mounting to tight causes porclin crack, light weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Bisque with 4 Elements
from Columbia, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GE Cooktop

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Stove was delivered in a timely manner. We hired an electrical contractor to install. Installation was straight-forward. When the top panel was installed, we noticed it was warped - i.e., corners were approximately ¼" off of the counter. We contacted GE and they had a technician at our house within a week. Technician ordered a replacement top, which arrived within the week. Replacement top was also warped. Technician ordered another replacement top. Second replacement top has some warp on sides, but it is acceptable. Stove functions well, and is easy to clean.
We would not hesitate to recommend this cooktop primarily because of the GE technician's timeliness, hard work, and professional attitude.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Bisque with 4 Elements
from Grand Prairie, Tx

Bisque GE cooktop

PostedMarch 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered unit on Monday delivered on Tuesday and a
neighbor and I installed which consisted of enlarging
the cut out in counter by an inch on each side with a jig
saw. Took out the old unit some 20 plus yrs old. I connected electrical and it works perfect and wife
says it heats up faster so she is pleased. It looks great
in a dated kitchen area. I would highly recommend the unit.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Bisque with 4 Elements
from Vancouer, WA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Basic Cooktop

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have had this almost two years - still looks like new. It fit right in the old opening and cleans up very easily. It's nothing fancy, but a decent replacement.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Bisque with 4 Elements
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A +

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great: product, price, delivery, and fit in where old one came out.. Don't get any better !
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Bisque with 4 Elements
from New Jersey

PostedMay 3, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This stove was easy to install and looks good.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Bisque with 4 Elements
from Edenton, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good stovetop that was as advertised.

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 4 Elements
the stovetop measured the correct depth and length which I needed to fit our existing hole in the counter. The unit installed easily and without issue. Home Depot employees were easy to deal with and were willing to go extra to make the sell.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Bisque with 4 Elements
from Northwest Florida

Not bad!

PostedNovember 16, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Black with 4 Elements
I was surprised for the price, the counter top stove is quite nice in quality. I like the fact that it is easy to clean.
I am still getting used to the knob location, but thats just habit. I see no problem with it.
I was dissapointed however that it did not come with a pigtail plug to just plug it in to my existing stove socket.
The change over was not difficult, but for those who are not do it yourselfers...check on price to have the electric hooked up for you. I think the Home Depot should have something in the description about the stove not having a pigtail plug on it.
I like it...I would reccomend the stove....I am older woman and I hooked it up fine
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Bisque with 4 Elements

Good Product once it is installed

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Black with 4 Elements
The burners handle the large and small pots & pans. They also cool off quickly once shut off. Installation is a bit tricky, however. The installation instructions are sparse. The lid does not lift high enough to get a straight shot at the screws in the back. Mark the holes on the counter and drill pilot holes then put the cook-top into place. You will need an offset screwdriver to put the screws in. A great value for the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: installation instructions are lacking, installation is not as easy as it should be
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Bisque with 4 Elements
from Overland Park, KS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I love this stove top!

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 4 Elements
I ordered this stove top off the Home Depot website and the product came just as ordered, on time, and in perfect condition. The elements heat up very quickly and all my food cooks evenly. I love the numbers engraved onto the stovetop so there is no glass needed for the numbers, like my old one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Bisque with 4 Elements
from Atlanta GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GE Stove Top

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 4 Elements
Typical low end stove top. Adequate for the job. Using as a temporary stop over till we redo the kitchen.
Basic and just gets the job done
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Bisque with 4 Elements
from Hammonton NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Warped and will not sit flat

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 4 Elements
Seemed nice in the store and looked nice out of the box. However, stove does not sit flat on our counter top. Not much we can do about that so we are stuck with it. Warped in the middle front and sticks up 1/8 inch
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: warped in the middle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Bisque with 4 Elements
from Washington State

GE Cooktop

PostedNovember 26, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Black with 4 Elements
Replace a $60.00 switch on our existing cooktop, and a second went out, so deceided to look at new options. Went to Home Depot, and the person who helped me explained the different alternatives, and showed me many different manufactures and options. The GE Cooktop is an excellent value. Very easy install, with no fine print. Installed and working in less than an hour. My expectations were more than met, by the associate at the store, and the CookTop we purchased. Thank You.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Bisque with 4 Elements
from cortland ny

My new stove

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 4 Elements
I really like this. My only reservation is that the stainless steel is a lesser quality or something than the old Dacor stove top we just got rid of. I could use steel wool on that thing with no scratching. This is more like the stainless steel of the refrigerators of today and the finish is a bit tempermental. But overall i really like it. It looks good and works great and for the price id do it all over again. I also liked the free shipping!!!!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Bisque with 4 Elements

Good bargain!

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Black with 4 Elements
For a coil built-in electric cook top, this is a very good bargain. It works well and as expected, was easy to install, and so far all is good. We were not ready to redo the whole kitchen with the updated expensive appliances, but we still wanted a quality product. GE is a good company and we are satisfied with this cook top for serving its purpose. The coils heat up evenly and quickly. The knobs turn easily and are not difficult to figure out or work with. Yes, I would recommend this product to any one looking for a good coil electric cook top trying to save a little money.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Bisque with 4 Elements
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Product was as shown--no bells or whistles--but nice

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in White with 4 Elements
The cooktop was nice but with some underlaying problems
--as a replacement for another GE, the cooktop pan that enters the countertop was too exact with no way to shim for forward or sideway slop---the old cooktop had thumb screws for just that reason----and the cooktop itself has a tinny ( as in tin ) rattle when touched--it needs some kind of cushioning instead of metal on metal
And yes I am aware that an extra installation package was available for $ 100.00 or so---but why---for a couple more dollars on the product price, this could easily be fixed for easy installation -----and who's to say the package would cure all said problems
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Bisque with 4 Elements
from Cordova, TN (Memphis area)

Very good product.

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Black with 4 Elements
Thus far, I feel the product has lived up to my expectation. I wanted a cooktop that looked good, performed well and very durable.
I replaced a glass cooktop with the coil electric and I'm very happy with my decision. I no longer have to worry about accidently breaking the glass top again.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Bisque with 4 Elements
from Toronto, ON, Canada

Excellent

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 4 Elements
While the glass tops look good, burners are easier to maintain -- perfect for seniors. stainless steel makes it look high end. Efficient and heats up quickly.
Pros: Easy to Use
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Bisque with 4 Elements
from San Jose, CA

Nice Cooktop, Scratches easily

PostedDecember 2, 2007
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:30 in. Coil Electric Cooktop in Stainless Steel with 4 Elements
works just fine, but the chrome isn't the flat type you find on ovens, it's a shiney chrome that begins to scratch on day 1.h
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>