728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Colonial Style 200 sq. ft. Electric Stove

Colonial Style 200 sq. ft. Electric Stove

The Cambridge Colonial Style 200 sq. ft. Electric Stove features realistic flame and log effects that are sure to add warmth and beauty wherever the stove is used. The vent-free design does not require hookups, and the unit is completely portable so it can warm almost any room in your home. This stove includes 2 replacement bulbs.
Overall rating:
4.61 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(77 reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product71 of 77reviews
Rating Breakdown 77 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(58)
4
(12)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(1)
92%of customersrecommend this product71 of 77reviews
Customer reviews for Colonial Style 200 sq. ft. Electric Stove
Review 1 for Colonial Style 200 sq. ft. Electric Stove
Lildab
from Largo, Florida

antique looking

PostedFebruary 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this stove at HD in dec 2006....Just love it too death. It looks better then the picture. I love antiques and this fits right in. It warmed my whole 1 bedroom apartment perfectly and the fire is very quiant...But the heater quit on it yesterday, feb. 2010..I live in Florida so it's not like it was in constant use...no replacement parts that I know of. Fire still works though.....I dont know, how long do heaters last anyway?...Buying another one today..;^)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Colonial Style 200 sq. ft. Electric Stove
JessD
from Eagleville, PA

PostedNovember 30, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is great - I originally was looking for an electric (or possibly gas) fireplace, but read some scary warnings about using those!
This is a great compromise. It is a fairly good space heater, but the real value is in the flames. They are great! I run it most often with flames only, no heat, and it is still great and definitely worth the money to me.
It came out of the box, plugged it right in and it was working. So easy and a great item!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Colonial Style 200 sq. ft. Electric Stove
ColdonanIsland
from Key West, Florida

Cambridge Colonial Style Electric Stove

PostedJanuary 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A recent record breaking cold spell inspired my purchase. As I live in a warm climate and have no need for heaters, I am so excited to have my Fireplace. The flickering fire looks so authentic and romantic, and can be used with or without heat. Imagine! I must say the shipper took less time than anticipated and the box was left cut on the bottom so I just lifted it off and "Voila! " Warmth and Happiness.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Colonial Style 200 sq. ft. Electric Stove
miggiemags

WOW!

PostedDecember 29, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just love this fieplace. What a gem. Yes , it will keep a small room well heated and take the chill off larger rooms. But me I just love the ambience. It doesn't get much better that this - the flames are totally realistic. And the price- outstanding. At first I thought the fireplace was too inexpensive too be any good. Well I was so wrong - you will just love this fireplace.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Colonial Style 200 sq. ft. Electric Stove
AMCR
from Pennsylvania

LIKE THE HEATER

PostedJanuary 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have only had this heater/stove for a week and so far we like it. Heats the room like a small heater we have but the look of the fireplace is so cool. We had it shipped to us and that was free and you can't beat that.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Colonial Style 200 sq. ft. Electric Stove
goode2shoes
from Southern Indiana

Not as good as reviews state but worth the money

PostedDecember 28, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I read all the reviews prior to purchasing 2 of these units. We are retired and are trying to use wood fireplaces and these 2 electric fireplaces for all our heat this year.
Our home was built by the previous owner, not a contractor. The original part of our home is over 20 years old and the previous owner put on 3 additions himself. A rough total of 1,500 sf home.
These heaters do heat an average area of 200 sf but there is no way on earth they will heat more sf than that!
So if you are looking at heating a larger area than 200 sf, you would be better off looking into a larger btu unit.
Also the heating element and blower are just above floor level so all the heat dissipates prior to warming a 3 ft elevated level (with use of a ceiling fan to keep warm air from gathering at ceiling heighth).
The fireplace effects are much better than I expected or read about.
Overall a great unit to heat a small, windowless room but not a open floor plan house.
I have not received my electric bill as yet so I can't make a statement on if/how much it will save us on electricity instead of using the inadequate central heat pump system in our home.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Colonial Style 200 sq. ft. Electric Stove
jimt35769
from Scottsboro, Alabama (Beautiful Appalachins)

Colonial style E-stove

PostedNovember 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this little sweetie last yr on impluse because of its' appearance, mainly. We were surprised (and pleased) by the variety of control options. Then all I did was plug it in! It is operating even as I type this, the ambience of a warm fire that LOOKS like a fire! We would buy another one if this one breaks, but I DO have one minor (very minor) detraction, for those of you who see the glass 1/2 empty. The fan control could be 2 speed so the heat dispersion speed matches the lower range of the thermostat. (Yes, I have an engineering background), but this certainly does NOT detract from the overall excellence of the unit by any means....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Colonial Style 200 sq. ft. Electric Stove
SurfinRI
from Coventry, Rhode Island

A Genuine Bargain!

PostedOctober 4, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After having read some of the earler on-line reviews, I bought this electric stove/heater on 10/03/2009 and am absolutely delighted that I did. At only $99, this is a really incomparable bargain. The unit looks really great (with quite realistic flame effect); The fit & finish are superb; No assemply is required; It fit into the back seat of my Ford Focus; Was very easy to unpack; Has cleverly-disguised, easy to understand and operate controls; and, Delivers plenty of heat to take the chill off of my 12'x18' living room. Thank you Home Depot - I am very pleased with this purchase and will recommend this product to my friends and family without hesitation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Colonial Style 200 sq. ft. Electric Stove
CCOH
from Cuyahoga Falls, OH

Looks Nice

PostedJanuary 9, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just purchased this item on line since my local store was sold out of them. I got it very quickly with free shipping and was anxious to get it set up. I plugged it in and turned on the flames and I was impressed with the realistic look of the fireplace. It puts heat out but not as much as I was expecting. I was using a radiant heat space heater which is like an oversized toaster where you feel the heat immediately but only directly in front of it. This heater blows the heat out into the room and you do notice the increase in temperature. Overall I rated it 4 stars because it is a good product for a great price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Colonial Style 200 sq. ft. Electric Stove
Jes1234s
from Ohio

Very nice, but the heater is not great

PostedNovember 29, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I mainly bought this for the heater. I have it in a small room & it does not add much heat to the room at all. Because of this, I am somewhat disappointed. So, if the heater is the reason that you are considering this item, then I would suggest looking into something else. It does add a little bit of heat to the room, although not enough to get excited about.
But, overall I like it.! The flame affect is pretty & it is adjustable. The unit is very simple to use. It looks nice, as it does not have a 'cheap' look to it. It is not to heavy, but is sturdy all the same. And, it can be used year round.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Colonial Style 200 sq. ft. Electric Stove
LIColdie
from Long Island, NY

Great little stove

PostedOctober 31, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this heater so I could keep my thermostat low but have it warm in the living room. I could have spent less and just gotten a heater but I liked the looks of the stove. I'm very happy with it. I come home, turn it on and by the time I'm ready to relax the room is nice and warm. In the evening I turn the flame on and although I know it doesn't generate heat the glow just gives a warm feeling. It's not made of metal but it's heavy and looks great. It's also larger than I thought it would be and the fan is very quiet. I would recommend this stove to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Colonial Style 200 sq. ft. Electric Stove
MTMTN
from Billings, MT

This is it! This is the one!

PostedOctober 30, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this stove about 3 hours ago and I just love it. I put it in my family/office room as I work from home and love the fact I can have the flame on with out the heater. It is keeping me warm, I also like the fact the heater turns on and off to keep a consistance heat level. I emailed a pic to my friend in Portland and she is going to get one tomorrow after I told her how much I like it. I may just have to go back and pick up another one tomorrow for upstairs. My Home Depot had 16 on Thursday and today Friday they only had 7. They are going fast!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Colonial Style 200 sq. ft. Electric Stove
NoPlaceLikeHome

Perfect Fit

PostedOctober 22, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had an antique mantel in my home for years, with a tile topped hearth that I built to try to achieve the look of having a real fireplace. I've been looking for an electric stove to place on the hearth and landed upon this at the Home Depot store the other day. I couldn't be more pleased with the look! It's PERFECT. I looked at different models at other stores and even online, and all that I had considered purchasing were at least twice the price, but the quality was nowhere near this nice. I am so pleased with this stove, I ordered a full sized fireplace for the upstairs TV room. I can't wait to get it, and know that I will be just as impressed. Thanks Home Depot for carrying a quality product at a very reasonable price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Colonial Style 200 sq. ft. Electric Stove
Anonymous
from Georgia

A nice looking replica for smaller rooms.

PostedDecember 21, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This heater, like ALL 120v electric heaters only puts out a small amount of heat. From the hugh $1,000+ mantles to the small $10 space models. This is nothing more than a replica with a small electric unit attached to the bottom of it. The reason it is "cool to the touch" is because there isn't any heat coming from anywhere but the small electric box attached to the bottom. If you look at all 120v models you will see that all of them are rated at 4,600 btu's or 1,350-1,500 watts. This is because 1,500 watts is the max used on a 120 volt heater. The only way to get more heat from an electric heater is to go with a 240 volt model.
Now, that being said, if all you want is something to heat a small bedroom or office, or just to help knock the chill off, any 120 volt electric heater will probably do the trick. If you like the looks of this heater and don't mind the extra cost then go for it. Just keep in mind that it doesn't heat any better than the $10-$15 models.
This is a nice looking replica of an early model wood stove and it does produce enough heat for a smaller room. It also seems to have some good safety features. So if you have a small room and want the look and feel of a wood stove without the cost, this could be for you!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Colonial Style 200 sq. ft. Electric Stove
joverman
from Elizabeth City NC

So Happy !!

PostedJanuary 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had been looiking for one, comparing sizes, prices but found this one online and decided to go check it out before buying from another. All the others were black like a woodstove, which was ok, so was shocked and pleased to see it was color of mahogony not the stark black steel look... wanted one because when I run my fireplace in the living room it stops the heater from coming on so the very back bedrooms get cold....so thought this would help and it really did. I love it and the guy I work with is going to go and buy the other two on the shelf today for the same purpose. Yes I know from what others say it has "the artificial fire look"........well come on..!!! it's not a real fireplace but think it is adorable, heats well, love it .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Colonial Style 200 sq. ft. Electric Stove
diyshopper
from OH

fan is too loud

PostedOctober 24, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I agree with those who say the fan is way too loud when the heat is on. I am returning the unit.
I also agree it does not put out a lot of heat.
The flames/ambiance is nice, and I like the overall look of the unit, but for $99 I would like it to put out more heat, and I would like it to be much more quiet. I am going to explore other "fake flame electric heater" options.
Heck, my cat did not even lay near it! lol.
I usually have some soft music playing in the background in my living room, and I could not hear the music over the fan noise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Colonial Style 200 sq. ft. Electric Stove
gailc
from Savannah, GA

Happy

PostedDecember 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this style and size - only ours has a wood finish- for a transition room between the kitchen and the screened in porch that is not well insulated. We can now use this extra family room all year long!
Although it is small, it fits anywhere, is attractive...simply open and plug in. It takes about 15 minutes for the room to fully warm up but we are so happy to be able to use this room again when we have a chilly day. We paid 99. for the wood version - originally was 149.
The flame-look adds ambiance - we are pleased!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Colonial Style 200 sq. ft. Electric Stove
THEMILLERRANCH
from Kutztown, PA

GREAT LITTLE FIREPLACE AND A SUPER PRICE!

PostedDecember 27, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Everyone who visits our 1860s colonial farmhouse has commented on the lovely fireplace and asked where it came from. We were faced with $14,000 to open the authentic one or $125 for this lovely little one. Heats a drafty room 20x12 room to 70 degrees as an oil furnace supplement or maintains 65 on it's own. Not a big electric problem. I think our electric bill went up $50 with 2 running constantly on high vs $150-$200 monthly oil savings. It has increased the comfort range of our home as well. I definitely recommend this!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Colonial Style 200 sq. ft. Electric Stove
handyman57
from elmer,nj

great heater

PostedJanuary 2, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bought this for a 15ft by 12 ft bedroom, makes it toasty warm and offers the look and feel of a real fireplace.
the only thing we aren't crazy about is that the outside is made mostly of a MDF product that is painted rather than a real metal to resemble cast iron.
the multi function fan speeds, temp. control and flame speeds are very nice.
have already showed this to friends and family and they are going to purchase one also.
great space saving yet heats the room really well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Colonial Style 200 sq. ft. Electric Stove
JFlower
from Tucson, Arizona

Quaint stove - good buy

PostedOctober 31, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This stove had a difficult trip here and arrived with a beaten up box. But it weathered the journey with a few knicks here and there and actually works great. The hardest set up was taking off all of the tape! It works best in a smaller space, but did warm up our 25 x 25 foot living room a few degrees when we needed it in an emergency. The surface areas don't get too hot either, and will be safe when our grandchild starts crawling. It looks nice and is well made.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>