728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Removers & Thinners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8-oz. Pro Power Remover

8-oz. Pro Power Remover

The 8 oz. Goo Gone Pro-Power Remover eliminates gooey, gummy, greasy, and sticky cleaning problems. The liquid formula works on carpets, upholstery, clothing, wood, cement, metal and plastic. The non-corrosive formula is safe on virtually all surfaces.
Overall rating:
4.353 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product15 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product15 of 17reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for 8-oz. Pro Power Remover
Review 1 for 8-oz. Pro Power Remover
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best remover I've used!

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Read about this product online and used it to remove the badges on my car. After using a lot of goo gone I was surprised it had no effect on the white paint on my car. My car looks great and I'm very pleased with this product
Pros: Easy to Clean, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8-oz. Pro Power Remover
from Harvest, AL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gets the Job Done

PostedApril 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this for getting the sticky residue off of a powder coated tool chest after I had peeled off a sticker. It still required some elbow grease, but it works far better than the competition's similar product, which just turned the sticky residue into gummy, sticky residue. I also tried rubbing alcohol, and the Goo Gone far outperformed that as well.
I found the best method was to wet a paper towel with the Goo Gone, wipe it all over the sticker residue, and then wait for a minute or two to let it soak in. Then I took a clean paper towel and scrubbed. The residue balled up and came right off the surface. It does leave a little bit of an oily residue, but some soap and water wipes that right off.
Next time I have to remove sticker residue, I won't even mess with any other products - I'll reach for the Goo Gone right away!
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8-oz. Pro Power Remover
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for Removing Old Caulking

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wanted to remove the caulking in my shower stall that had a lot of mold that wouldn't wash off with bleach or anything. I was going to get some heavy duty caulk remover but nobody had it in stock. Read online about using goo gone for this project and happened to have some on hand.. Well all I can say it works. It loosens the caulk from the tile/stall area and comes off easily using a utility knife and single edge blade scraper. The caulking was a real pain to remove without the goo gone.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8-oz. Pro Power Remover
from Pasadena
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great remover

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This remover is really easy to apply and works great.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8-oz. Pro Power Remover
from Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, but my bottle did not have a squirt cap insert

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Goo Gone has been very effective for me at removing all kinds of sticky, gummy residues. My recent purchase of the 8 oz bottle on 2/8/14 was my fourth purchase of Goo Gone in the past 10 years. I can't do without having some around.
I was disappointed to discover, however, that the bottle I purchased did not have the squirt cap insert in the top of the bottle. An open top is pretty risky because it's easy to knock the bottle over and, without the cap insert, a whole lotta Goo Gone will be gone in a jiffy. I ended up pouring the contents of the new bottle into my old bottle and discarding the new bottle.
Please. Bring back the squirt cap insert.
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8-oz. Pro Power Remover
from Old Bridge Township, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Make sure to use Goo Gone while caulking bathroom...

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used Goo Gone while caulking my bathroom. I used GE Silicone Caulk and Goo Gone worked amazingly well with this product. I used Goo Gone to clean the edges of the caulking bead after smoothing w/my finger. Goo Gone is great to use during clean up too.
Pros: Easy to Use, works well with ge silicone caulk for bathroom
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8-oz. Pro Power Remover

does not remove silicone

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this with the intention of removing beads of silicone caulk from a shower door. Did not do a thing to loosen it. Tried it several times and it doesn't budge. It might still remove sticky junk from left over stickers but does not remove silicone as was advertised.
Pros: not as smelly as normal goo gone
Cons: Difficult to Use, did not do as expected
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By GooGone Customer CareApril 16, 2014By GooGone Customer CareApril 16, 2014
jdsliver,
Thank you for your review. When using the Pro Power to remove silicone caulk, you need to let the product sit for 5-10 minutes for it to soften the caulk. You may need several applications to get it soft enough to remove with a plastic putty knife. If you need assistance, please contact us at homax@homaxproducts.com.GooGone
Review 8 for 8-oz. Pro Power Remover
from Camanche Iowa

Goo Gone worked Great

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My last wood project I got 3 spots of Elmers Carpenters wood glue on a good pair of pants. I went to the internet searching for what would remover carpenters wood glue and had no luck, but i did see Goo Gone was recommended to remove white glue. We bought one of the spray bottles at our local Home Depot store and for 3 days I sprayed the spots about 3 times per day. After 3 days I could still feel the stiffness of the glue and thought I now had failed. I soaked the pants in water and dish wahing soap overnight and hung to dry. Next day I found the spots were gone. I am now a raving fan of Goo Gone, and for Home Depot for having it on the shelf.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8-oz. Pro Power Remover
from Around

Buy one. You're going to need it one day.

PostedDecember 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Let's get this out of the way first: Yes, it works. In fact it may be overkill for some jobs. But if you follow the directions, this is the nuclear option for cleaning up little problems that other cleaners can't handle.
But you're probably thinking you might not use it that much. You may be right. But when you need something like goo gone, you really need it. When you find someone has dropped chewing gum on your carpet and it's embedded there, or there's tape or a label stuck to something important, you don't want to wait hours or days to get the product that can fix it, you want the problem gone NOW. Luckily this stuff is cheap enough to buy and stick in the basement or a cleaning cabinet somewhere and forget about it until you need it. So if you're thinking about buying this instead of reading goo gone reviews because you're bored, then just buy a bottle. Odds are you're going to need it one day.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8-oz. Pro Power Remover
from North Hills, CA

GOO GONE IS THE BEST BY FAR

PostedMay 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am so glad I found this incrediable product GOO GONE. I have a carpet cleaning business and I use this product all the time. Its GREAT on removing all kinds of things such as make-up, gum, glue,adhesives, and even more and its gentle on the carpet. I am telling you it is INCREDIABLE Yes, and I will never leave home with out it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8-oz. Pro Power Remover
from Silver Spring, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work. Not impressed.

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Recommended to remove tar & tree sap from the hood of my 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee.
Followed instructions and it removed a few spots - but removed more of the shine.
Now instead of a few small spots of tar & sap - I have large spots where the buff/shine is wiped clean from the hood.
Basically it barely worked. Not impressed.
Cons: didn't work
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GooGone Customer CareDecember 2, 2013By GooGone Customer CareDecember 2, 2013
Ozweldian,
When using the Goo gone Pro Power, we always recommend testing the surface for compatibility first in an inconspicuous area such as the door jam or the trunk.
This will ensure that the Goo Gone will not dull the clear coat on the vehicle. It is also very important that you wash the Goo Gone off with soap and water after use. If you have any further questions, please contact us at 1-800-729-9029. Thank you for your input.GooGone
Review 12 for 8-oz. Pro Power Remover
from Troutdale, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for wood and glass, but not plastic

PostedJune 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use this product around the house and on the job. When it comes to paint stains and some adhesives on wood and glass its great! However when it comes to removing labels and the adhesives used by velcro this product just is more work and doesn't get the job done when you need to get it done now. I have let projects set overnight at work and it seem to work ok, but if you need to get something off plastic in a hurry then find another product.
Pros: Easy to Clean, High Quality, great on wood metal and glass
Cons: Difficult to Use, not good removing labels and adhesive from plastic, oily residue
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8-oz. Pro Power Remover

Inexpensive Effective Product

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to get smudges and old remnants of stickers off of my bedroom door and it worked WONDERS! It's like "Goof Off" but cheaper and just as effective. Really simple to use and you get a LOT for your money :] I would DEFINITELY recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8-oz. Pro Power Remover
from LA and OC

Even in the Treatment Room

PostedSeptember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ok so I am a Skin Therapist (part of cosmetology - Esthetician) With that said I work with wax.... that stuff is hard to get out if it gets all over the place..... Goo Gone works WONDERS.... cuts right through it and gets the messed up stuff right off my equiptment when it got knocked over.... I recoment this to EVERYONE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8-oz. Pro Power Remover
from tallahassee fl

omg

PostedMay 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This really works i am a single mom of five 11,7,3,2,4 and the little ones just got into coloring and painting and they colored with pens, crayons, markers, all on my walls and carpet.. it really works.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 8-oz. Pro Power Remover
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product