728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Programmable Thermostats or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Backlight-DISCONTINUED

7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Backlight-DISCONTINUED

The Honeywell 7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Backlight offers nearly effortless programming with an extra-large display that is straightforward and user friendly. It has precise temperature control to keep your house the optimal temperature when you are home and away. It is easy to program and retains its memory after a power outage.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product32 of 34reviews
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(10)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product32 of 34reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for 7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Backlight-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Backlight-DISCONTINUED

Easy installation, tips

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The directions were easy to follow and the unit easy to install. Three tips: 1 the directions don’t explain how to separate the thermostat from the wall plate. It pulls apart, just grab each and pull. 2 The screws that hold the wires down are very small. Before you start be sure you have a screw driver that will fit. 3 It uses two AA batteries as backup power but they are not included.
I would recommend and buy this thermostat again.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Backlight-DISCONTINUED
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Okay for the most except

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The thermostat is pretty decent, works well so far, only there is one thing I would change about it. Anytime you want to set multiple schedules for select days, you have to push "Save" after each set schedule, and then start over again to set the next schedule. Thus, what I would change is, after saving a schedule, the unit should remain in Edit mode, so you can select other days for the next schedule. And then once you are completely finished setting and saving all your schedules, there should be a "Done" or "Finished" button that will take you out of "Edit/Schedule" mode.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Backlight-DISCONTINUED
from Virginia Beach, VA

Nice Product....Easy Update

PostedApril 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THE UPS….
Very nice thermostat
Easy to install
Looks nice on the wall
Backlighting is easy to see and easy on the eyes at night
It’s a Honeywell
THE DOWNS
The users manual is a little tricky when configuring thermostat
My recommendations
Make sure that you know as much about your heating and cooling systems as possible BEFORE switching out your thermostats, read through programming section once you DO know and circle your codes so you can breeze through set-up and make sure that you use the provided labels to tag the wires BEFORE unhooking them. I took a picture with my camera and printed it out and taped it to the wall as a reference.
It comes preset with energy star ratings to save you money I left my alone and I guess I will check the gas and power bill next month to see the savings. I installed this model a few years back in my mom’s house and she has had 5 years of trouble free use with it. It is compatible with most all types of heating and cooling systems but if you need help call the 1-800 number and the staff at Honeywell will be ready to help you out.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Backlight-DISCONTINUED
from Fairport, NY (near Rochester - Western NY State)

Easy to Install, Tricky to Program

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a heat pump/furnace combination. They take you step by step marking the wires coming out of the old thermostat, so installation is easy...a very small screw driver (for the heads of the wire terminals), regular screw driver for two mounting screws, hammer (for plastic screw holders),wire cutters (if you need to clean up the old wire), and drill with 3/16 or 3/32 inch bit depending on wall type.
For simple installations, the programming is super easy. For more complicated AC/Furnace combinations there are 'functions' that need to be programmed into the thermostat.
I ended up calling the 800 number and they led we through it...you have to press a button twice (where the instructions indicate once) and hold of of them down longer than the five seconds the instructions indicated to get the function screen to come up. From there on, it was pretty easy. The Honeywell call center was EXCELLENT...fast, knew the answer quickly, etc.
Operation of the unit is very good.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Backlight-DISCONTINUED

Does exactly what it is supposed to

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our old thermostat was attached with duck tape. Having rambunctious cats around, I was in constant fear of them breaking it and getting mercury poisoning, so I was very determined to replace our thermostat.
If you want to do it yourself, please follow instructions carefully and make sure to carefully mark all your wires. We made that mistake and ended up having to bring in a professional to install it. But that's our fault, not the fault of the thermostat.
Once we got it installed, it works fantastic. It's nice to be able to set the house to the exact temp. we want, not to have that "fiddle room" you get with the old fashioned thermostats. It looks nice on the wall too, rather than some clumsy dial or box.
The timers work perfectly, and it's nice not having to remember to set the heat up or down at certain times. We have it set to go low at night and then to go up about an hour before we wake up, so no more, "I don't wanna get up, it's too cold out there!"
We couldn't be more pleased with the unit.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Backlight-DISCONTINUED
from Hanover, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

installed 8 of these

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
over the last 3 or 4 years I have purchased and installed 8 of these thermostats at church and at home. Honeywell's on line assistance made installation easier- all are working properly and we have saved a lot of money at church with the 24 hour/ 7 day programming for the different usage in various areas of the church building. There are also Honeywell thermostats with more features- but this model has all the functions we wanted and using it is intuitive.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Backlight-DISCONTINUED
from Suffolk, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product has great features

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this product was easy to install. the scheduling instructions were easy to do and it came with labels for the wires. the backlight was a bonus...happy with the honeywell product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Backlight-DISCONTINUED
from Fairfax, VA

Easy install

PostedAugust 23, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This model was installed in 15 minutes, as advertised. Need to go thru the user's manual carefully as there are many programming functions. Need to know the type of heating/cooling system first, as there are many functions with programming features that depend on the type of heating/cooling system. I have a heatpump and the programming was a easy as soon as I understood which functions to program or avoid. Unit works well. Love the resolution of the daily heat/cool functions, with warning for filter change.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Backlight-DISCONTINUED
from Beachwood , N.J.
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Should have bought this one the first time

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace a 3 year old programmable Rite Temp. I never could get the Rite Temp to work properly, it was hard to program and began turning on the A/C even when set for heat. The Honeywell was much easier to program and works as expected. The backlight is a really nice feature. I will be buying another Honeywell stat for my basement zone.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Backlight-DISCONTINUED
from Virginia Beach, VA

Very Easy Installation

PostedOctober 14, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to install especially since I replaced a Honeywell in a home built in 2002. Programming was straight forward. Before doing so, plan out the times and temperatures ahead of time. This will make the process even quicker. Would be cool if the display could be permanently backlit instead of going dark after a few seconds.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Backlight-DISCONTINUED
from Northern NJ

PostedFebruary 9, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replaced an older Honeywell model with this unit - installaltion was <15 minutes, programming added another 10-15 mins. Used in an institutional setting - the ability to program seven days independently was a must - we've reduced our overall gas/electric consumption by +25%!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Backlight-DISCONTINUED
from north texas

excellent choice

PostedJanuary 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this replaced a one year old rite temp that had screen issues from the get go.
installed in 20 minutes.
seems to keep the house at a more even temp.
like the fact that it will auto switch between heat and ac. living in north texas this could come in handy.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Backlight-DISCONTINUED
from Myrtle Beach, SC

PostedAugust 20, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product that is easy to install for the do it yourselfer and for people still using an old mercury thermostat I've found this one to be much more accurate in reading temperatures for turning the system on and off thus saving money for the homeowner. Enough said.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Backlight-DISCONTINUED
from Austin, TX

Automatic cutover

PostedDecember 1, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The thing I *love* about this thermostat, which nobody else has mentioned, is that it will automatically switch between heating and cooling. No more getting up to a freezing house because a cold front came through overnight!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Backlight-DISCONTINUED
from Georgetown, Indiana

Very Good

PostedSeptember 23, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was installed and programmed in 20 minutes. It keeps my house at a constant temp, and is very easy too use.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Backlight-DISCONTINUED
from Tucson, AZ

Awesome!!!

PostedJanuary 19, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was a little tricky to setup due to me having a heat pump. But got it working and it is a great little money saver.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Backlight-DISCONTINUED
from Madison, Al

Great Item!

PostedFebruary 8, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great thermostat. But the instalation was really tricky!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Backlight-DISCONTINUED
from Gurnee, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just as expected...

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I read the reviews before purchasing this thermostat. It was just as easy to install as they said it would be. SO COOL!!! I have a couple of small things to add..... 1) You should be prepared to paint the wall behind the thermostat. The old one was bigger... and now there's old wallpaper peaking through. I was in such a hurry to install it and get the heat going in the house that I didn't want to paint. Now I either have to take it down or paint around it.... big decision... big :) Lastly: The top is not a straight line, it's decorative, so what's the point of the level? I tried to level it... but really?
Pros: Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Backlight-DISCONTINUED
from Cary, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the second house I've used this product in.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 7-Day Programmable Thermostat with Backlight-DISCONTINUED
from Ontario, OR

The thermostat works perfectly and the service was exceptional

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The old thermostat served us well, and when it failed we were just going to replace it with the same thing. The new one is a superior product, it performs even better than the old one which had done well for us. The service from Home Depot was exceotional as we have come to expect from them.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>