728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Electronic Rat Trap

Electronic Rat Trap

Known for the most innovative rodent control products on the market, Victor presents the Electronic Rat Trap, the only rat trap with a patented 3-plate design to prevent escapes. Easy to use, the trap is simply baited, placed against the wall and turned on. The trap uses advanced smart circuit technology to sense when a rodent enters the units. Once the rodent is inside, the system delivers a humane, high-voltage shock to effectively kill the rat or mouse in seconds. A green indicator light illuminates when a rat has been exterminated and is ready for removal. Rodents can then be dumped directly into the trash for no-touch, no-view mouse control. Since rats have the ability to restart their hearts after an electrical shock, the Victor Electronic Rat Trap applies shock for 2 minutes ensuring high kill rates. Additionally, the Victor Electronic Rat Trap is the only trap that automatically resets after an irregular escape. Safe for use anywhere in the home, the Victor Electronic Rat Trap is ideal for Attics, Garages, Basements, Sheds, and Kitchens. A lifetime investment, the Electronic Rat Trap is easy to clean and can be reused indefinitely. For effective rat control, one set of 4 ‘C’ batteries will eliminate up to 50 rats, and a red light indicates when batteries need replacing. Batteries are not included.
Overall rating:
3.804 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(102 reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product71 of 94reviews
Rating Breakdown 102 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(61)
4
(12)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(25)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product71 of 94reviews
Customer reviews for Electronic Rat Trap
Review 1 for Electronic Rat Trap
JonD
from Orange County, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally Got Our Kitchen Intruder

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After 10 days of trying various snap, glue and humane traps, I finally decided it was time to try the Victor Electric Trap and I'm so glad I did. (we did call an exterminator, but as many have said, they are essentially worthless) I didn't have a first night success, but I think that was because he wasn't hungry enough to risk it at first (he had gotten away with some free peanut butter on some of my other snap traps the night before). So I switched up the gameplan so that the only food source/trap available to him was the Victor Electric Trap. It took two more nights but this morning I woke up to the gross/beautiful sight of a tail hanging out of the trap.
I used the damp "welcome mat" like others had suggested because it's extremely dry weather this time of year. I also used gloves when baiting and placing the trap.
But to be honest, I think the most effective thing I did was ensure that the ONLY food source available to him was the bait inside the Victor electronic trap. My hunch is that after two nights of zero sustenance, his hunger took over his caution and he had to take the risk.
What I'm most happy about is that the trap did it's job when he finally did. There is nothing worse than waking up to find that a rat got away with bait off a trap that didn't go off.
It was a rough and stressful week and a half, but I'm glad it's over. Next time I won't even mess around with the snap traps or humane cages, I'm going straight for my Victor Electronic Rat Trap.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Electronic Rat Trap
MahoeMahanaMakue
from Honolulu, HI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The Best Rat Trap

PostedMay 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It worked the first night! I was hesitant - my husband persisted - I said go ahead, buy it. Followed box instructions and reviewer tips. Placed batteries in, I used chopsticks to place a cheerio with a glob of peanut butter way in the back towards the small cut out holes. I also added 4 pieces of dried cat food, and a oreo cookie crumb. I sat the sleek little house up against a wall (demo kitchen/bath area), turned the switch on, it buzzed for a moment and blinked green once, then it sat silent. The next morning I saw the green light flash and a tail sticking out. It ate all, but two pieces of cat food which were outside of the trap. Perhaps the sticky peanut butter kept the critter in there long enough to be zapped! The house feature is super nice as I just picked it up, and let the rat slide right into the trash. I used gloves, I can't believe I did this. Cockroaches give me the creeps, but protecting my family makes me fearless, this little Rat Trap made me feel like Super Mom! Buying another one today.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Electronic Rat Trap
KSSS
from ATLANTA, GEORGIA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DOES NOT WORK AT ALL!!! MOUSE GOT SHOCKED AND LEFT!

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
DOES NOT WORK AT ALL!!! MOUSE GOT SHOCKED AND LEFT!
Cons: Not Durable, does not work at all!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Electronic Rat Trap
Lori
from Sugar Land, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Rat Killer

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was leery of this trap but bought it anyway because it got good reviews on Amazon, and if it didn't work I could return it. Well, this thing is NOT going back. Once I figured out where the rat was, I locked him in that room with the trap, putting a towel under the door. Within 24 hours, the little green light on top was blinking (slow blink and not terribly bright, so look for it). Sure enough, the electrocuted rat was splayed out inside the trap. I just dumped him into an old grocery bag and threw him away. The trap uses peanut butter for bait, and the 4 D batteries are supposed to kill 50 rats.
Overall, this is a great way to get rid of your problem. Clean, efficient, and while the initial cost is high, it is WAY cheaper than calling an exterminator. And no toxins in your house.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Electronic Rat Trap
mrsage
from Prosper, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The wife is happy

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Using this expensive beast along with PB and a dry kibble piece we killed a mouse in the first 12 hours that hat evaded a few other cheaper traps -- the DCon twist up kind and a spring trap. It feels solid enough except for - as others have noted - the battery compartment, which appears to be cheaply made. Batteries are a tight fit as also stated but it didn't take more than a minute or two to get them in and the unit turned on. Because it worked as desired and is definitely big enough to get the rats we're sure to get out here I do recommend it.
Pros: Functionality, Good Shape
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Electronic Rat Trap
Jacob
from Decatur, GA, USA

Awesome product give it a try!

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was skeptical when I bought this from HD in Decatur ga. Have had rat problems off and on in my crawlspace since buying an older house...had mixed success with live traps, but it was hit or miss -- they could steal the bait or the smaller ones could escape. Didn't want to use poison because of pets and who wants a dead rat somewhere under the house? Bought this and in about a month a half have killed 12 rats...even about 8 babies that couldn't have been killed any other way. Followed a couple of tips on here re always wearing gloves and the wet paper towel in front of the unit...works like a charm. Use cheese and peanut butter. Highly recommend!
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Electronic Rat Trap
HappyCustomer

Definitely works!

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought a new home with a known rat/mouse problem in our crawl space. After calling two different exterminators and saw all that they were going to do was place traps, decided to do it myself. I sealed all of the entry points and then placed this electronic bad boy along the wall outside the house near an entry way. We had a blinking light and a dead rat the following morning after having baited it with dog food. One down, hopefully not too many more to go. Understandably it probably only works if you put it in a known travel area as I did.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Cons: no cons. worked great!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Electronic Rat Trap
PDXGal
from Portland, OR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Caught the rat in my kitchen last night! At first I didn't think it was working, since I'd put it out several nights in a row without any luck. Then I re-read the instructions (!) and realized the green light was supposed to flash after putting in the batteries. That hadn't happened, so I checked and the batteries weren't quite in place. It's a bit fiddly to get them in correctly. I did notice that the food I'd put in the trap was gone, so at least that told me the rat was going inside. After I made sure the batteries were lined up and it was working (green light came on), I put the trap back in place and the next morning the rat was no more. I had previously used snap traps to catch mice, but one time the trap only caught the mouse's leg and didn't kill it. That seemed very cruel so I didn't want to use that method again. And I didn't want to use poison, both for environmental reasons and because I have pets. This electronic trap is a great alternative. A bit pricey, but it proved effective and was easy to use.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: a bit pricey
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Electronic Rat Trap
sherry
from Groveland, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Trap ever invented!

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
7 rats/mice dead so far! We have had an increasing rodent problem in our storage shed where we keep our duck feed. The feed is now stored in airtight containers but we couldn't get rid of the rats. Standard mouse traps didn't catch a single one and we can't use any poisons as we have 5 pet dogs that we don't want to accidentally eat a poisoned rat. The electronic rat trap is incredible! In the evening, I just put a little piece of a cookie in the back, put the trap against the wall and turn it on. The next morning there is a dead mouse/rat. It even killed one rat that was so big it didn't even fit all the way in the trap. I highly recommend this trap to anyone with a rodent problem!
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Electronic Rat Trap
beachdays73
from WPB
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best thing I ever bought!

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a single woman who lives alone and bought this trap to catch a rodent. I figured it was a rat as I could hear it in the walls and was lucky to find it's hang out...due to droppings left. I carefully did as one of the other reviewers suggested, put peanut butter INSIDE the trap (not outside) and put in the batteries and placed it where I wanted it and turned it on. The very next morning the dead rat was in it! Now if this trap could just dump the dead body in the garbage for me my life would be perfect:) But it really worked and I didn't hear anything so I think it is quite humane and kills the rat fast. I highly recommend this and will be keeping this for life!
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Electronic Rat Trap
Stretch
from Euless, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use and effective trap!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We live close to some woods and rats and mice are regular visitors to our house, but we have dogs, so I didn't want to use traditional spring traps or poison. This trap is a great alternative because it's easy to use and it works. One of the best features is that you never have to touch the dead rat or mouse to empty the trap, and there's no blood or mess because they are killed with an electric charge. It's a little pricey, but in the long run it's worth the price because of it's ease of use, and effectiveness.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Electronic Rat Trap
edinpanama
from panama city
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

don't waste your money

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this electronic trap two weeks ago. First thing I noticed how cheaply made this battery compartment was designed and it was slightly difficult to install the batteries, which had poor connection against this springs. Second, the light that is suppose to flash when a kick has been made intermittently flashed without being trigged. After exchanging this unit for another I had it in use for about 3 days when I watched a rat run into the trap and take about two minutes to eat the bait and run away. I check the unit to make sure it was on, which it was. No activation and no kill. The best results I am getting is with the victor black plastic traps. So in my opinion this unit is a waste of money.
Pros: none
Cons: does not work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer ServiceJanuary 22, 2014
Dear Customer,

I did reach out to the MFG for more information on this issue and below is their response to you.

With this trap it is important that the interior metal plates be clear of any dirt, debris or bait to ensure that the trap can properly sense the rats entering the trap.

To clean your trap:

• Remove the batteries.
• Wipe the plates of your trap with a damp cloth – water only, no soaps or detergents (soaps and detergents will repel rodents).
• Allow trap to completely air dry.
• Replace the batteries

Once the trap has been cleaned, be sure to bait the trap with just a small amount of peanut butter on the back wall and check that none of the bait has gotten onto the metal plates inside the trap.

We are sorry to hear that you have not yet seen the desired results with this Victor® Trap. If you have tried these steps and are still not seeing results, please do not hesitate to contact our Consumer Relations Team at 1-855-5-VICTOR (1-855-584-2867) for additional assistance.

Best Regards,

Susan
Consumer Relations Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Victor®
Review 13 for Electronic Rat Trap
Dagdernit
from Parkland, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The Rat's Last Meal...

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This trap is 100% effective if you do a few E-Z steps. #1. Use gloves when handling the trap when installing the 4 size "C" batteries. This will prevent your smell to get on the unit. Also, for those of you that the trap is not turning on with fresh batteries, look at the battery compartment and make sure that the batteries are making the proper contacts. The area for the batteries is a little tight and can sometimes pinch the batteries not allowing them to make the right connections. #2. Place a damp paper towel underneath the trap making sure that the area in front of the trap has the exposed wet/damp paper towel. This will make the rats feet/body more conductive and prevent a dry shock. #3. Use a variety of foods. I found that a trail mix containing nuts, raisens, and m&m's with a little Peanut Butter unresistable to all rodents #4. Place the trap turned off, but set up as I explained for 24-48 hours, so that the rats are comfortable, then turn it on and you will have your problem resolved :)
Hope this helps...
+39points
39out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Electronic Rat Trap
Edward
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The trap does not work

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I set this trap under cover, near my chicken coop because I have been seeing rat activity (holes dug under the fence etc.) I also put a large glue trap nearby. The glue trap had a rat in it the next day. This electronic trap had peanut butter for bait and was not touched even though I had it out for several weeks.
Pros: Easy to Install, Strong
Cons: does not catch rats
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Electronic Rat Trap
Sherry
from Groveland, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Trap if you don't want any poisons around

PostedJune 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently purchased the Victor Electronic Rat Trap. We have 5 dogs and accidently poisoned one earlier this year when he partially ate a dead poisoned rat. Thank goodness he is fine now after a multiple visits with our vet and medications. This product is being used in our outbuilding where we store feed, they tore through one of the bags and multiplied quickly. I am very pleased with it so far. The first night I used peanut butter and a little piece of a pop tart with no luck. Last night, I used a bit of pizza and that worked! Very easy to use. Just pop in the batteries add a little food, set it down and turn it on. The rat is killed instantly. And I don't have to touch it, just dump the critter in a bag and reset the trap.
+20points
22out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Electronic Rat Trap
Willeniumvii

Fantastic Product!!!

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This has to be one of the greatest inventions ever. The first night that I used it, I caught a rat. Within a week I caught another rat and a mouse. Last night, the first time I've had to set it up in a month, I got rat number 3. This trap totally works and you don't hear a sound. It is humane; there is no torture of the animal or blood to wipe up. It is easy clean-up and all you have to do is throw the critter away. You don't even really see the dead rodent. You might see the tail sticking out of the trap a bit, but that is all. This trap has saved me hundreds of dollars since I haven't had to call a professional company to come in and set traps and do whatever else they do. I am completely satisfied with this product and it is totally worth the money. It is 1000 times better than traditional traps. I would totally recommend this product. Just set it in the right place with the right bait (in my case I use a few pellets of dry dog food) and just wait for the magic to happen.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Good Shape, Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality, humane, simple to operate
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Electronic Rat Trap
VADELIA

GREAT TRAP

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
THIS THING IS GREAT. I LIKED IT SO MUCH I GOT ONE FOR MY ELDERLY MOTHER. I USED PEANUT BUTTER COOKIES AND GOT ONE THE FIRST COUPLE OF HOURS. DISPOSAL IS NEAT.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Electronic Rat Trap
mikemce

This really works!

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This electronic trap works as advertised! My only suggestion is to add a few walnuts to the peanut butter bait, and put a few small walnut pieces outside the trap. I never knew my garage and garage attic had 7 rats! All are now in rat heaven.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Electronic Rat Trap
1jtb
from San Antonio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't work

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Piece of junk hums and acts like its charging up but doesn't work. New style of plastic snap traps work better.
Cons: doesnt work, expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Electronic Rat Trap
Willow
from Everett WA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Electronic Rat Trap

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We had a few rats running around our garage and taring stuff up we didn't want to use poison because we have kids we bought this with in two days they were dead its nice to have my laundry room back & didn't have to deal with cleaning up messes!Pick it up and throw away pretty easy!!Just make sure your batteries are in there good if not it wont turn on!
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>