728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Insect & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Electronic Rat Trap

Electronic Rat Trap

Known for the most innovative rodent control products on the market, Victor presents the Electronic Rat Trap, the only rat trap with a patented 3-plate design to prevent escapes. Easy to use, the trap is simply baited, placed against the wall and turned on. The trap uses advanced smart circuit technology to sense when a rodent enters the units. Once the rodent is inside, the system delivers a humane, high-voltage shock to effectively kill the rat or mouse in seconds. A green indicator light illuminates when a rat has been exterminated and is ready for removal. Rodents can then be dumped directly into the trash for no-touch, no-view mouse control. Since rats have the ability to restart their hearts after an electrical shock, the Victor Electronic Rat Trap applies shock for 2 minutes ensuring high kill rates. Additionally, the Victor Electronic Rat Trap is the only trap that automatically resets after an irregular escape. Safe for use anywhere in the home, the Victor Electronic Rat Trap is ideal for Attics, Garages, Basements, Sheds, and Kitchens. A lifetime investment, the Electronic Rat Trap is easy to clean and can be reused indefinitely. For effective rat control, one set of 4 ‘C’ batteries will eliminate up to 50 rats, and a red light indicates when batteries need replacing. Batteries are not included.
Overall rating:
3.968 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(216 reviews) 216
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product157 of 203reviews
Rating Breakdown 216 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(139)
4
(20)
3
(10)
2
(5)
1
(42)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product157 of 203reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer reviews for Electronic Rat Trap
Review 1 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Lake Worth FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does EXACTLY what it says it will

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For the last week I have heard mice in my walls and attic. Last night I had the pleasure of seeing one run across the room. This morning on my way to work i stopped and bought this after reading other reviews. I got home and set this up about 6 pm. Here it is 10:30 pm and one is already dead. I did use the Welcome mat which is a wet paper towel in front of it. I actually put 2 small dabs of peanut butter in the bottom holes. I also place the back of it against the wall so they could reach in from the back and eat. I wanted them to go inside and die! This is a great product I didn't use gloves either. Doesn't really make since to spend money on those as you don't know how many times these were handled by other people before you bought it so to me gloves was just a waste
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Good Shape
Cons: battery area is a little cheap
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Electronic Rat Trap
from West Hollywood, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unbelievable Rat Trap

PostedApril 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We've had the product for two nights and have already caught two rats in out kitchen!
The first night we didn't catch anything because we didn't follow the directions exactly. We placed some dried top ramen with some peanut butter at the back of the trap (our rat likes top ramen LOL). The next morning the bait was gone and no rat. NEXT We followed the directions EXACTLY and placed a small amount of peanut butter through one of the bottom holes directly on the black gate and within a few hours we had caught our first rat. We reset the trap before we went to bed and the next morning we caught a much larger rat!
Tips:
The damp towel welcome mat is genius.
Put the peanut butter right on the back of the trap like the directions say.
Put the trap along a wall where the rats are known to travel.
Try to not handle the trap or the bait with your bare hands. (rats can smell you and it tips them off)
Happy hunting!
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: battery compartment seems cheap
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Orange County, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally Got Our Kitchen Intruder

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After 10 days of trying various snap, glue and humane traps, I finally decided it was time to try the Victor Electric Trap and I'm so glad I did. (we did call an exterminator, but as many have said, they are essentially worthless) I didn't have a first night success, but I think that was because he wasn't hungry enough to risk it at first (he had gotten away with some free peanut butter on some of my other snap traps the night before). So I switched up the gameplan so that the only food source/trap available to him was the Victor Electric Trap. It took two more nights but this morning I woke up to the gross/beautiful sight of a tail hanging out of the trap.
I used the damp "welcome mat" like others had suggested because it's extremely dry weather this time of year. I also used gloves when baiting and placing the trap.
But to be honest, I think the most effective thing I did was ensure that the ONLY food source available to him was the bait inside the Victor electronic trap. My hunch is that after two nights of zero sustenance, his hunger took over his caution and he had to take the risk.
What I'm most happy about is that the trap did it's job when he finally did. There is nothing worse than waking up to find that a rat got away with bait off a trap that didn't go off.
It was a rough and stressful week and a half, but I'm glad it's over. Next time I won't even mess around with the snap traps or humane cages, I'm going straight for my Victor Electronic Rat Trap.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Electronic Rat Trap
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

IT WORKS and that's all I ever wanted.

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This has worked very well and I have already caught 2 mice in a row up in my attic. Tonight I am going for 3. Very easy to dispose of and I never had to touch the poor little fellows. I use fresh peanuts each time so the bait is not so gooey and difficult to install. This seems to be a very humane death === no suffering animals and I am so happy about that.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape, humane
Cons: none!!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Honolulu, HI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The Best Rat Trap

PostedMay 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It worked the first night! I was hesitant - my husband persisted - I said go ahead, buy it. Followed box instructions and reviewer tips. Placed batteries in, I used chopsticks to place a cheerio with a glob of peanut butter way in the back towards the small cut out holes. I also added 4 pieces of dried cat food, and a oreo cookie crumb. I sat the sleek little house up against a wall (demo kitchen/bath area), turned the switch on, it buzzed for a moment and blinked green once, then it sat silent. The next morning I saw the green light flash and a tail sticking out. It ate all, but two pieces of cat food which were outside of the trap. Perhaps the sticky peanut butter kept the critter in there long enough to be zapped! The house feature is super nice as I just picked it up, and let the rat slide right into the trash. I used gloves, I can't believe I did this. Cockroaches give me the creeps, but protecting my family makes me fearless, this little Rat Trap made me feel like Super Mom! Buying another one today.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Electronic Rat Trap
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works!!!! It really works!!!!!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this product because of the customer ratings. When I was checking out at the store, I asked the cashier if these traps work and told the girl that I had read all the great reviews. She told me that if people were willing to take the time, review it, and give it good reviews then it must be good. So I bought it. Got home, put batteries in it, smeared some peanut butter through the center hole on back, and carefully placed it where I had seen a rat in my garage. I check the trap this morning and noticed that the green light was flashing! Lo and behold, the rat was dead!!!!! It was that easy! I definitely recommend this trap. The only drawback is the price, but I'd rather pay the $39.99 then have a rat infested home. Also, best part is, you dont even have to touch the rat. Just dump it in a bag by holding the trap housing and you're good to go!
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Sharp
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Austin, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good results with this trap

PostedAugust 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was skeptical, but after failing to catch two rats in my attic with conventional snap traps and a have-a-heart live trap, I paid the $40 to try this trap. I took 5 days, but I finally got both rats out of my attic. I used a wet towel in front of the trap at first, but the attic was hot and that dried out pretty quickly. I did not find the wet towel necessary as some earlier reviewers stated. I got one rat with peanut butter and one with dry small dog food. I am keeping this loaded with dog food in my garage to prevent future rats from making it up to the attic.
I am a very happy and satisfied customer!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Universal City, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Electronic Rat trap

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was having rats in my garage, I tried rat poison and spring traps with no progress. I found Victor
electronic trap and decided to spend the money and give it a try. The second night I caught the rat by using roasted peanuts. I placed the peanuts in the back of the trap and it worked. I did not see any more signs of rats in the garage. About a month I noticed rat signs around my storage shed. I again loaded the trap with peanuts out side my shed. I have a drainage ditch behind my house. I have been
catching rats and mice every night for the last week. I am well pleased with the results I have had with this trap. I am stilll using the same batteries.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Bothell, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

THE BETTER MOUSE TRAP IS FINALLY HERE !! VICTOR DESERVES TO MAKE BILLIONS !!!

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Field mice are so small they weigh in at under 1/2 a gram. Because of their extremely petite build and light weight, they simply can NOT trip the release mechanism and activate ANY of the normal mouse traps. I have quite a collection of live release traps & spring loaded kill traps. I'm throwing all of them away,because they are now (happily!)... OBSOLETE !... This mechanism is so efficient and so fast the animals do not have time to defecate or urinate, resulting in leaving the trap spotless ! There is no "smell of death", to deter others from entering to get their last meal.
I am a certified Nuisance Wildlife Control Officer and this is THE best control mechanism I've come across in my entire life.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Utah
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smoke and Mirrors

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was a waste of money. It never worked correctly from the beginning. After turning on the unit I got the green light and then it started flashing red four times. It never killed anything accept my budget.
Cons: Not Durable, waste of money
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD-CSAugust 18, 2015
Dear Valued Home Depot Customer, ""When the trap is turned on the green light will flash once indicating it is on and working. If the red light is flashing we would recommend trying a new set of batteries and making sure that no dust or debris are touching the metal plates.

We apologize for this experience and would like to learn more about what is occurring. Our Consumer Relations Team can be reached at 1-855-5-VICTOR (1-855-584-2867) to resolve this matter.

Sincerely,

Kelly
Consumer Care Representative
Woodstream Corporation
Victor®
"
Review 11 for Electronic Rat Trap

nevermore

PostedJuly 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was a little after three and I had just laid down for my afternoon nap. When all of a sudden I heard a scratching sound. I looked around only to see my dog already sound asleep. Again, I laid my head down only to rise once more at the faint scratching sound. Quietly I crept into the kitchen. I was horrified at the sight of a large, grey unsightly creature. I thought, "There is no way this dirty rat is going to prolong my much needed rest!" I rushed to the nearest Home Depot and bought the necessary arsenal. As soon as I returned home, I spotted the little devil meandering about. I shuddered in disgust. Without letting another moment pass, I popped the batteries into the machine, laid out some fresh peanut butter, and pressed the "On" switch. Then, I sat eagerly upon my sofa. Less than ten minutes had struck the clock when I heard the scamper of those detestable little feet. "Go on. Go on, little imp. Find your way to the gooey, tasty treat," I whispered. Suddenly, there was a loud buzz. The critter let out such a screech that my dog jumped up from her slumber and ran around the house in a desperate panic. And then, all fell silent. An evil grin spread across my lips as I exclaimed, "It worked! The blasted contraption worked!" All is well. I shall hear of that deathly scratching nevermore, and I shall resume my peaceful slumber.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Electronic Rat Trap

Caught the guy that was keeping me up all night

PostedJuly 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This trap is 100%. The only reason I went out and bought it was before of all the great reviews on here anyways. The first night my boyfriend placed the trap he did it completely wrong (men)! The first thing you want to do is do not get your hands on the trap. Wipe it down so the little guy running around your house doesn't smell it and doesn't run away. Make sure the batteries are well put, the batteries can sometimes get loose and then the trap won't work how it suppose to. Second thing is leave food, the first time we used peanut butter but that didn't seem to work, so instead I used cereal. I left a little trail and put more cereal in front of the trap. Around 3am there was a loud zapping sound and the light was green on the trap this seemed to work so well, it's also mess free! We dumped it out early morning
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Tampa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked First Night! (I almost feel guilty!)

PostedJune 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After trying a few other traps for a week with no results the husband agreed to pony up the cash to try a few of these. We have dogs so poisonous baits are out and sticky traps are just not going to work at our house so two of these electronic ones were set up with peanut butter and put in known pathways. First thing this morning we saw the blinking green light indicating an intruder. I almost feel guilty but it was a fast and clean kill. Easy to clean up and reset. Well worth every dollar!
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Roseville, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great!

PostedJune 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This trap got the job done!! Saved me $$$'s from hiring a local company to trap my rats. I learned from the Internet a couple of tricks that ensured my success.
1. Rats like Snickers! Pick up a Snickers bar at the checkout.
2. Put small pea size bits of snickers in a line to the trap. Go back to your childhood days of Elmer Fudd and that Wascally Wabbit.
3. Place a dime size chunk on the back panel of the trap then place it near known paths or on baseboards.
VERY IMPORTANT:
4. DO THIS FOR A DAY OR TWO BEFORE TURNING ON THE TRAP and be sure they are eating the bait from the back wall of the trap. This will make them comfortable with the trap and you will be more successful. Remember that rats are pretty smart and initially fearful of everything.
5. After a few confirmed entries into the trap with the bait gone, bait it up, place the trail, and turn it on.
6. Next morning, blinking green light will let you know that you have success. Dispose of rat by dumping out and tuck the trap away for future use. No blood, no mess, no pest control bill!
SAFE FOR PETS, unless your pet is a rat.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Decatur, GA, USA

Awesome product give it a try!

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was skeptical when I bought this from HD in Decatur ga. Have had rat problems off and on in my crawlspace since buying an older house...had mixed success with live traps, but it was hit or miss -- they could steal the bait or the smaller ones could escape. Didn't want to use poison because of pets and who wants a dead rat somewhere under the house? Bought this and in about a month a half have killed 12 rats...even about 8 babies that couldn't have been killed any other way. Followed a couple of tips on here re always wearing gloves and the wet paper towel in front of the unit...works like a charm. Use cheese and peanut butter. Highly recommend!
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Electronic Rat Trap
from WPB
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best thing I ever bought!

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a single woman who lives alone and bought this trap to catch a rodent. I figured it was a rat as I could hear it in the walls and was lucky to find it's hang out...due to droppings left. I carefully did as one of the other reviewers suggested, put peanut butter INSIDE the trap (not outside) and put in the batteries and placed it where I wanted it and turned it on. The very next morning the dead rat was in it! Now if this trap could just dump the dead body in the garbage for me my life would be perfect:) But it really worked and I didn't hear anything so I think it is quite humane and kills the rat fast. I highly recommend this and will be keeping this for life!
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Electronic Rat Trap
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A rat trap that is easy to use.

PostedAugust 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased this rat trap 3 months ago. I use sunflower seed bird feed for bait. They love it. I put seeds at the back of the trap and in front of the trap. I placed the trap outside in the yard where it will not get wet. The trap is placed next to the fence. I have killed about 30 rats so far. I killed one a night for the first 3 weeks. Now I get 1 or 2 a week. Just pick up the trap and dump the dead rat into a plastic bag.
Great product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Product!!!

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I rarely ever take the time to write a review but in his case I feel it is worth my time. I recently found evidence of a rodent in my home. So I did a bit of research and after reading what others had to say about this product I came to the conclusion that it was worth the money. I have four small children and a dog in my home, so I really don't want to set out any kind of poison. I bought this trap earlier today and and set it in my laundry room (where I first began to suspect I had an unwanted guest). I baited the trap with a few small pieces of dog food and figured I probably wouldn't see results until the next morning. How wrong I was! Only two hours later I went into my laundry room and discovered a very long tail protruding from the trap! From nose to tail it was almost two feet long! This trap is fantastic, worth every penny! I've baited and set it again just in case he was not alone! Happy Hunting Everyone!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Great Quality, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Electronic Rat Trap

MONEY!

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Wore gloves, used extra chunky peanut butter inside the back of the trap and had a dead rodent in less than 3 hrs. Awesome!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Groveland, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Trap ever invented!

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
7 rats/mice dead so far! We have had an increasing rodent problem in our storage shed where we keep our duck feed. The feed is now stored in airtight containers but we couldn't get rid of the rats. Standard mouse traps didn't catch a single one and we can't use any poisons as we have 5 pet dogs that we don't want to accidentally eat a poisoned rat. The electronic rat trap is incredible! In the evening, I just put a little piece of a cookie in the back, put the trap against the wall and turn it on. The next morning there is a dead mouse/rat. It even killed one rat that was so big it didn't even fit all the way in the trap. I highly recommend this trap to anyone with a rodent problem!
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>