728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Electronic Rat Trap

Electronic Rat Trap

Known for the most innovative rodent control products on the market, Victor presents the Electronic Rat Trap, the only rat trap with a patented 3-plate design to prevent escapes. Easy to use, the trap is simply baited, placed against the wall and turned on. The trap uses advanced smart circuit technology to sense when a rodent enters the units. Once the rodent is inside, the system delivers a humane, high-voltage shock to effectively kill the rat or mouse in seconds. A green indicator light illuminates when a rat has been exterminated and is ready for removal. Rodents can then be dumped directly into the trash for no-touch, no-view mouse control. Since rats have the ability to restart their hearts after an electrical shock, the Victor Electronic Rat Trap applies shock for 2 minutes ensuring high kill rates. Additionally, the Victor Electronic Rat Trap is the only trap that automatically resets after an irregular escape. Safe for use anywhere in the home, the Victor Electronic Rat Trap is ideal for Attics, Garages, Basements, Sheds, and Kitchens. A lifetime investment, the Electronic Rat Trap is easy to clean and can be reused indefinitely. For effective rat control, one set of 4 ‘C’ batteries will eliminate up to 50 rats, and a red light indicates when batteries need replacing. Batteries are not included.
Overall rating:
3.876 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(137 reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product96 of 126reviews
Rating Breakdown 137 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(84)
4
(15)
3
(5)
2
(3)
1
(30)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product96 of 126reviews
Customer reviews for Electronic Rat Trap
Review 1 for Electronic Rat Trap
from West Hollywood, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unbelievable Rat Trap

PostedApril 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've had the product for two nights and have already caught two rats in out kitchen!
The first night we didn't catch anything because we didn't follow the directions exactly. We placed some dried top ramen with some peanut butter at the back of the trap (our rat likes top ramen LOL). The next morning the bait was gone and no rat. NEXT We followed the directions EXACTLY and placed a small amount of peanut butter through one of the bottom holes directly on the black gate and within a few hours we had caught our first rat. We reset the trap before we went to bed and the next morning we caught a much larger rat!
Tips:
The damp towel welcome mat is genius.
Put the peanut butter right on the back of the trap like the directions say.
Put the trap along a wall where the rats are known to travel.
Try to not handle the trap or the bait with your bare hands. (rats can smell you and it tips them off)
Happy hunting!
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: battery compartment seems cheap
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Orange County, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally Got Our Kitchen Intruder

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After 10 days of trying various snap, glue and humane traps, I finally decided it was time to try the Victor Electric Trap and I'm so glad I did. (we did call an exterminator, but as many have said, they are essentially worthless) I didn't have a first night success, but I think that was because he wasn't hungry enough to risk it at first (he had gotten away with some free peanut butter on some of my other snap traps the night before). So I switched up the gameplan so that the only food source/trap available to him was the Victor Electric Trap. It took two more nights but this morning I woke up to the gross/beautiful sight of a tail hanging out of the trap.
I used the damp "welcome mat" like others had suggested because it's extremely dry weather this time of year. I also used gloves when baiting and placing the trap.
But to be honest, I think the most effective thing I did was ensure that the ONLY food source available to him was the bait inside the Victor electronic trap. My hunch is that after two nights of zero sustenance, his hunger took over his caution and he had to take the risk.
What I'm most happy about is that the trap did it's job when he finally did. There is nothing worse than waking up to find that a rat got away with bait off a trap that didn't go off.
It was a rough and stressful week and a half, but I'm glad it's over. Next time I won't even mess around with the snap traps or humane cages, I'm going straight for my Victor Electronic Rat Trap.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Honolulu, HI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The Best Rat Trap

PostedMay 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It worked the first night! I was hesitant - my husband persisted - I said go ahead, buy it. Followed box instructions and reviewer tips. Placed batteries in, I used chopsticks to place a cheerio with a glob of peanut butter way in the back towards the small cut out holes. I also added 4 pieces of dried cat food, and a oreo cookie crumb. I sat the sleek little house up against a wall (demo kitchen/bath area), turned the switch on, it buzzed for a moment and blinked green once, then it sat silent. The next morning I saw the green light flash and a tail sticking out. It ate all, but two pieces of cat food which were outside of the trap. Perhaps the sticky peanut butter kept the critter in there long enough to be zapped! The house feature is super nice as I just picked it up, and let the rat slide right into the trash. I used gloves, I can't believe I did this. Cockroaches give me the creeps, but protecting my family makes me fearless, this little Rat Trap made me feel like Super Mom! Buying another one today.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Electronic Rat Trap
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

IT WORKS and that's all I ever wanted.

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This has worked very well and I have already caught 2 mice in a row up in my attic. Tonight I am going for 3. Very easy to dispose of and I never had to touch the poor little fellows. I use fresh peanuts each time so the bait is not so gooey and difficult to install. This seems to be a very humane death === no suffering animals and I am so happy about that.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape, humane
Cons: none!!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Universal City, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Electronic Rat trap

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was having rats in my garage, I tried rat poison and spring traps with no progress. I found Victor
electronic trap and decided to spend the money and give it a try. The second night I caught the rat by using roasted peanuts. I placed the peanuts in the back of the trap and it worked. I did not see any more signs of rats in the garage. About a month I noticed rat signs around my storage shed. I again loaded the trap with peanuts out side my shed. I have a drainage ditch behind my house. I have been
catching rats and mice every night for the last week. I am well pleased with the results I have had with this trap. I am stilll using the same batteries.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Electronic Rat Trap
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works!!!! It really works!!!!!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this product because of the customer ratings. When I was checking out at the store, I asked the cashier if these traps work and told the girl that I had read all the great reviews. She told me that if people were willing to take the time, review it, and give it good reviews then it must be good. So I bought it. Got home, put batteries in it, smeared some peanut butter through the center hole on back, and carefully placed it where I had seen a rat in my garage. I check the trap this morning and noticed that the green light was flashing! Lo and behold, the rat was dead!!!!! It was that easy! I definitely recommend this trap. The only drawback is the price, but I'd rather pay the $39.99 then have a rat infested home. Also, best part is, you dont even have to touch the rat. Just dump it in a bag by holding the trap housing and you're good to go!
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Sharp
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Electronic Rat Trap
from SE Pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First night BOOM!

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have been having issues for at least a few years now with mice and the glue traps and snap traps have worked but not as fast as I wanted them to be. Then recently with new construction, we have seen small rats. Purchased this, baited as instructed as not to get human scent on it, and placed wet paper towel at entrance of the trap. Seen little bugger going past it several times..went to bed, woke up and BINGO! First one on first nite. Have to see how it will do with the big ones.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Electronic Rat Trap
from yorba linda, ca.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best money I ever spent

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Never used to have mice & rats, had cats forever but the last one past away 2 years ago. Started seeing them about 1 year ago, got some traps, no luck. Got some glue things, they worked OK, but getting rid of live mice in the trash was hard.
Was at H. D. looking for more glue things and saw the Victor Electronic rat trap for $40, that was like 8 glue things. So I bit the bullet and bought one, best money I ever spent.
Got one the first time I used it, have gotten mice, rats, big field mice even got 2 at the same time, one sitting on top of the other. Got a rat so big it's butt hung out the end of the Victor. Most have gotten at least 45 since I stared using it
The best bait was popcorn followed by peanuts, just throw 1 or 2 popcorns in and 1 in front and wait.
I live on top of hill at the end of a cul-de-sac no homes behind or left of me, just the down slop of a hill, so I get a lot of mice & rats & coyotes back there.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Electronic Rat Trap
from everglades city, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rat on

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Like many I read reviews and followed suggestions. Like many I have used many different rat traps, glue and poison. This Victor electrocution trap is the best so far. It did take two days before a rat entered the trap and ate some of the bait. For some reason it did not kill the rat that time?
However, next morning a see a long rat tail and the blinking green light. The rat was terminated no mess or blood.
For continuous use I would suggest using some dried fruit and/or walnuts. This type of bait won't decompose too fast so you can leave the trap unattended for some time. However, I would use peanut butter and dried fruit if more rats are suspected to be active.
This really is a better mouse trap. Just make sure bait is placed far enough inside.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Decatur, GA, USA

Awesome product give it a try!

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was skeptical when I bought this from HD in Decatur ga. Have had rat problems off and on in my crawlspace since buying an older house...had mixed success with live traps, but it was hit or miss -- they could steal the bait or the smaller ones could escape. Didn't want to use poison because of pets and who wants a dead rat somewhere under the house? Bought this and in about a month a half have killed 12 rats...even about 8 babies that couldn't have been killed any other way. Followed a couple of tips on here re always wearing gloves and the wet paper towel in front of the unit...works like a charm. Use cheese and peanut butter. Highly recommend!
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Electronic Rat Trap
from WPB
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best thing I ever bought!

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a single woman who lives alone and bought this trap to catch a rodent. I figured it was a rat as I could hear it in the walls and was lucky to find it's hang out...due to droppings left. I carefully did as one of the other reviewers suggested, put peanut butter INSIDE the trap (not outside) and put in the batteries and placed it where I wanted it and turned it on. The very next morning the dead rat was in it! Now if this trap could just dump the dead body in the garbage for me my life would be perfect:) But it really worked and I didn't hear anything so I think it is quite humane and kills the rat fast. I highly recommend this and will be keeping this for life!
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

the electric chair

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been putting out bait for 6 months trying to kill a rat he eats the bait but never dies gets my dog food. was living behind my stove. Got the rat zapper he is dead within a hour. put dog food in it wet a paper towel so he had to step on it enter the trap. This is the best product I have ever seen.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Groveland, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Trap ever invented!

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
7 rats/mice dead so far! We have had an increasing rodent problem in our storage shed where we keep our duck feed. The feed is now stored in airtight containers but we couldn't get rid of the rats. Standard mouse traps didn't catch a single one and we can't use any poisons as we have 5 pet dogs that we don't want to accidentally eat a poisoned rat. The electronic rat trap is incredible! In the evening, I just put a little piece of a cookie in the back, put the trap against the wall and turn it on. The next morning there is a dead mouse/rat. It even killed one rat that was so big it didn't even fit all the way in the trap. I highly recommend this trap to anyone with a rodent problem!
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Hyattsville, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love this product

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought my first on about six months ago and it caught 2. I think the battery died or a mouse that didn't get zipped told the family because it wasn't catching anything. I'm a single woman and I can't have nothing that is not paying bills eating my food! So I'd rather have a product that works some of the time than one that doens't work at all. They have been clever enough to take food off the other traps two nights in a row. I bought two of the smaller electronic devices and it caught at least one the I dumped this morning (could have been two, but I wasn't going to open it to look). I used my surgical gloves and had to turn my head as I dumped it in the trash (yuk), but it did what it was supposed to do.
I'm rating it a 3 because it doesn't blink to let me know it's working and I'm not sure it still is, which is why I bought the smaller one. If it's not working, it seems to only have lasted about 6 months (if that). But because it worked well, when it was, I bought another one and I'll probably keep on as long as the critters are gone I'm happy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong
Cons: doesn't last long
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Parkland, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The Rat's Last Meal...

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This trap is 100% effective if you do a few E-Z steps. #1. Use gloves when handling the trap when installing the 4 size "C" batteries. This will prevent your smell to get on the unit. Also, for those of you that the trap is not turning on with fresh batteries, look at the battery compartment and make sure that the batteries are making the proper contacts. The area for the batteries is a little tight and can sometimes pinch the batteries not allowing them to make the right connections. #2. Place a damp paper towel underneath the trap making sure that the area in front of the trap has the exposed wet/damp paper towel. This will make the rats feet/body more conductive and prevent a dry shock. #3. Use a variety of foods. I found that a trail mix containing nuts, raisens, and m&m's with a little Peanut Butter unresistable to all rodents #4. Place the trap turned off, but set up as I explained for 24-48 hours, so that the rats are comfortable, then turn it on and you will have your problem resolved :)
Hope this helps...
+43points
43out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Fort Worth, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Highly Successful Rate of Return

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was cautious about spending this kind of money for something when I wasn't sure if it was even going to work. Mine did not come with instructions other than what was on the box, but I did use the comments in the reviews and I'm hoping my house is just about rat free and I'm not talking little mice the last one it zapped was huge, I thought I had squirrels in my attic for a short time, but I think I got the big man this morning. I love this product so much I am seriously considering buying a second one to place directly in the attic. My rats/mice for some reason love the laundry room and attic. Mice/rats creep me out and being a single woman I can't stand to look at them let alone pick up a trap to throw in the trash. This device zaps the rodent, let's me know with the indicator light that one has been caught and I just dump it in the trash. I do suggest using the glove method, I think they are real sensitive to smells and that is why peanut butter is very effective but it seems to take a bit long for them to go in if you use your bare hands. I free feed my dogs so I moved their food but the rodents were used to going to their bowl, put the trap against the wall as my Dad always told me to do with traps and bingo first day one down. If you have indoor pets and it's possible I would suggest putting a pet fence up to keep them away from it because when I was inserting the batteries I accidently put my finger on the back wall of the unit and it zapped me, I thought it was just the metal plate on the bottom that zapped them. Another convenient thing (because I have used poison too, I get rodents yearly) first of all you can find the dead rodent so it's not stinking up the area and with poison I'm always concerned if my dogs will be poisoned if they get ahold of it, my dogs are sight hounds so they have a tendency to try to grab anything that scurries or flies once they see it.
Truly, truly a good investment. I just couldn't be more satisfied with it's results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Bronx, NY
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really nice trap!

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a really nice product. It helped to catch the first rat within about 2 weeks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Sin City
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product.

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Peanut butter in one bait hole, chocolate almond spread in another bait hole, fresh, new batteries. Five mice in three days. Even had a double kill. : -) Neighbor had mice living in an old unused hot tub. Finally removed it, so mice moved to all other neighbor's yards, (thanks). Check "trap" twice a night, blinking light tells you micky's cousin is inside. Just turn off and dump into trash. Place, turn on, and check in the morning. It works for me. They like the chocolate almond spread better, at least that's my experience.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Chicago

Strike 3 you're out

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product stems from a good idea, but it's so cheaply made it keeps dying. First one killed 3 rats, then stopped working after 5 days, even though we only used it at night. Second one lasted 3 days, one rat. Third one stopped working after a day. No rats. Absolute garbage. Don't waste your money. Or your time.
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Groveland, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Trap if you don't want any poisons around

PostedJune 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently purchased the Victor Electronic Rat Trap. We have 5 dogs and accidently poisoned one earlier this year when he partially ate a dead poisoned rat. Thank goodness he is fine now after a multiple visits with our vet and medications. This product is being used in our outbuilding where we store feed, they tore through one of the bags and multiplied quickly. I am very pleased with it so far. The first night I used peanut butter and a little piece of a pop tart with no luck. Last night, I used a bit of pizza and that worked! Very easy to use. Just pop in the batteries add a little food, set it down and turn it on. The rat is killed instantly. And I don't have to touch it, just dump the critter in a bag and reset the trap.
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>