728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Insect & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Electronic Rat Trap

Electronic Rat Trap

Known for the most innovative rodent control products on the market, Victor presents the Electronic Rat Trap, the only rat trap with a patented 3-plate design to prevent escapes. Easy to use, the trap is simply baited, placed against the wall and turned on. The trap uses advanced smart circuit technology to sense when a rodent enters the units. Once the rodent is inside, the system delivers a humane, high-voltage shock to effectively kill the rat or mouse in seconds. A green indicator light illuminates when a rat has been exterminated and is ready for removal. Rodents can then be dumped directly into the trash for no-touch, no-view mouse control. Since rats have the ability to restart their hearts after an electrical shock, the Victor Electronic Rat Trap applies shock for 2 minutes ensuring high kill rates. Additionally, the Victor Electronic Rat Trap is the only trap that automatically resets after an irregular escape. Safe for use anywhere in the home, the Victor Electronic Rat Trap is ideal for Attics, Garages, Basements, Sheds, and Kitchens. A lifetime investment, the Electronic Rat Trap is easy to clean and can be reused indefinitely. For effective rat control, one set of 4 ‘C’ batteries will eliminate up to 50 rats, and a red light indicates when batteries need replacing. Batteries are not included.
Overall rating:
3.976 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(210 reviews) 210
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product153 of 197reviews
Rating Breakdown 210 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(135)
4
(20)
3
(10)
2
(5)
1
(40)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product153 of 197reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer reviews for Electronic Rat Trap
Review 1 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Lake Worth FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does EXACTLY what it says it will

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
For the last week I have heard mice in my walls and attic. Last night I had the pleasure of seeing one run across the room. This morning on my way to work i stopped and bought this after reading other reviews. I got home and set this up about 6 pm. Here it is 10:30 pm and one is already dead. I did use the Welcome mat which is a wet paper towel in front of it. I actually put 2 small dabs of peanut butter in the bottom holes. I also place the back of it against the wall so they could reach in from the back and eat. I wanted them to go inside and die! This is a great product I didn't use gloves either. Doesn't really make since to spend money on those as you don't know how many times these were handled by other people before you bought it so to me gloves was just a waste
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Good Shape
Cons: battery area is a little cheap
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Electronic Rat Trap
from West Hollywood, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unbelievable Rat Trap

PostedApril 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We've had the product for two nights and have already caught two rats in out kitchen!
The first night we didn't catch anything because we didn't follow the directions exactly. We placed some dried top ramen with some peanut butter at the back of the trap (our rat likes top ramen LOL). The next morning the bait was gone and no rat. NEXT We followed the directions EXACTLY and placed a small amount of peanut butter through one of the bottom holes directly on the black gate and within a few hours we had caught our first rat. We reset the trap before we went to bed and the next morning we caught a much larger rat!
Tips:
The damp towel welcome mat is genius.
Put the peanut butter right on the back of the trap like the directions say.
Put the trap along a wall where the rats are known to travel.
Try to not handle the trap or the bait with your bare hands. (rats can smell you and it tips them off)
Happy hunting!
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: battery compartment seems cheap
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Electronic Rat Trap
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works!!!! It really works!!!!!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this product because of the customer ratings. When I was checking out at the store, I asked the cashier if these traps work and told the girl that I had read all the great reviews. She told me that if people were willing to take the time, review it, and give it good reviews then it must be good. So I bought it. Got home, put batteries in it, smeared some peanut butter through the center hole on back, and carefully placed it where I had seen a rat in my garage. I check the trap this morning and noticed that the green light was flashing! Lo and behold, the rat was dead!!!!! It was that easy! I definitely recommend this trap. The only drawback is the price, but I'd rather pay the $39.99 then have a rat infested home. Also, best part is, you dont even have to touch the rat. Just dump it in a bag by holding the trap housing and you're good to go!
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Sharp
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Electronic Rat Trap
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

IT WORKS and that's all I ever wanted.

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This has worked very well and I have already caught 2 mice in a row up in my attic. Tonight I am going for 3. Very easy to dispose of and I never had to touch the poor little fellows. I use fresh peanuts each time so the bait is not so gooey and difficult to install. This seems to be a very humane death === no suffering animals and I am so happy about that.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape, humane
Cons: none!!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Orange County, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally Got Our Kitchen Intruder

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After 10 days of trying various snap, glue and humane traps, I finally decided it was time to try the Victor Electric Trap and I'm so glad I did. (we did call an exterminator, but as many have said, they are essentially worthless) I didn't have a first night success, but I think that was because he wasn't hungry enough to risk it at first (he had gotten away with some free peanut butter on some of my other snap traps the night before). So I switched up the gameplan so that the only food source/trap available to him was the Victor Electric Trap. It took two more nights but this morning I woke up to the gross/beautiful sight of a tail hanging out of the trap.
I used the damp "welcome mat" like others had suggested because it's extremely dry weather this time of year. I also used gloves when baiting and placing the trap.
But to be honest, I think the most effective thing I did was ensure that the ONLY food source available to him was the bait inside the Victor electronic trap. My hunch is that after two nights of zero sustenance, his hunger took over his caution and he had to take the risk.
What I'm most happy about is that the trap did it's job when he finally did. There is nothing worse than waking up to find that a rat got away with bait off a trap that didn't go off.
It was a rough and stressful week and a half, but I'm glad it's over. Next time I won't even mess around with the snap traps or humane cages, I'm going straight for my Victor Electronic Rat Trap.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Honolulu, HI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The Best Rat Trap

PostedMay 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It worked the first night! I was hesitant - my husband persisted - I said go ahead, buy it. Followed box instructions and reviewer tips. Placed batteries in, I used chopsticks to place a cheerio with a glob of peanut butter way in the back towards the small cut out holes. I also added 4 pieces of dried cat food, and a oreo cookie crumb. I sat the sleek little house up against a wall (demo kitchen/bath area), turned the switch on, it buzzed for a moment and blinked green once, then it sat silent. The next morning I saw the green light flash and a tail sticking out. It ate all, but two pieces of cat food which were outside of the trap. Perhaps the sticky peanut butter kept the critter in there long enough to be zapped! The house feature is super nice as I just picked it up, and let the rat slide right into the trash. I used gloves, I can't believe I did this. Cockroaches give me the creeps, but protecting my family makes me fearless, this little Rat Trap made me feel like Super Mom! Buying another one today.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Universal City, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Electronic Rat trap

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was having rats in my garage, I tried rat poison and spring traps with no progress. I found Victor
electronic trap and decided to spend the money and give it a try. The second night I caught the rat by using roasted peanuts. I placed the peanuts in the back of the trap and it worked. I did not see any more signs of rats in the garage. About a month I noticed rat signs around my storage shed. I again loaded the trap with peanuts out side my shed. I have a drainage ditch behind my house. I have been
catching rats and mice every night for the last week. I am well pleased with the results I have had with this trap. I am stilll using the same batteries.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Bothell, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

THE BETTER MOUSE TRAP IS FINALLY HERE !! VICTOR DESERVES TO MAKE BILLIONS !!!

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Field mice are so small they weigh in at under 1/2 a gram. Because of their extremely petite build and light weight, they simply can NOT trip the release mechanism and activate ANY of the normal mouse traps. I have quite a collection of live release traps & spring loaded kill traps. I'm throwing all of them away,because they are now (happily!)... OBSOLETE !... This mechanism is so efficient and so fast the animals do not have time to defecate or urinate, resulting in leaving the trap spotless ! There is no "smell of death", to deter others from entering to get their last meal.
I am a certified Nuisance Wildlife Control Officer and this is THE best control mechanism I've come across in my entire life.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Tampa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked First Night! (I almost feel guilty!)

PostedJune 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After trying a few other traps for a week with no results the husband agreed to pony up the cash to try a few of these. We have dogs so poisonous baits are out and sticky traps are just not going to work at our house so two of these electronic ones were set up with peanut butter and put in known pathways. First thing this morning we saw the blinking green light indicating an intruder. I almost feel guilty but it was a fast and clean kill. Easy to clean up and reset. Well worth every dollar!
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Houston, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this particular trap does not work

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I live in a 100 + year old house with wooden lapboard walls. It is pier and beam about 2 feet off the ground. I can hear the rats and mice running in the walls and watch them scamper from the dog dish on the porch to beneath the house when I open the door. I bought this trap sure I had the fifty rodents the label said it could kill. Since purchasing, I remove the dog food from the porch when I come home from work. I load the trap with peanut butter and turn it on. I cover the trap with a large tub knowing the rats have access between the boards, Every morning the light indicates a kill. The peanut butter is licked clean and the trap is completely empty. I wish I had my money back and my peanut butter.
Cons: good rat feeder
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Electronic Rat Trap
from San Diego
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works, but HOW TO CLEAN??!!

PostedJuly 10, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This works exactly as advertised, BUT if you have a rat that has been in the trap for a period of time, and is NOT easily removed, you MUST take the trap apart. This isn't very easy as the wires to the three metal panels on the base of the trap are on opposite sides, so dropping the bottom of the trap to 'clean' isn't as easy since the middle panel wire holds it, as opposed to all wires on the same side, allowing the bottom panel to drop and swing out.
PLEASE consider a way to take the unit apart for proper cleaning!!! My only option now is to purchase a new trap... or was that the intent?
I will GLADLY RECOMMEND upon a simple re-design for proper cleaning, when needed.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: impossible to clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Decatur, GA, USA

Awesome product give it a try!

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was skeptical when I bought this from HD in Decatur ga. Have had rat problems off and on in my crawlspace since buying an older house...had mixed success with live traps, but it was hit or miss -- they could steal the bait or the smaller ones could escape. Didn't want to use poison because of pets and who wants a dead rat somewhere under the house? Bought this and in about a month a half have killed 12 rats...even about 8 babies that couldn't have been killed any other way. Followed a couple of tips on here re always wearing gloves and the wet paper towel in front of the unit...works like a charm. Use cheese and peanut butter. Highly recommend!
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Roseville, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great!

PostedJune 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This trap got the job done!! Saved me $$$'s from hiring a local company to trap my rats. I learned from the Internet a couple of tricks that ensured my success.
1. Rats like Snickers! Pick up a Snickers bar at the checkout.
2. Put small pea size bits of snickers in a line to the trap. Go back to your childhood days of Elmer Fudd and that Wascally Wabbit.
3. Place a dime size chunk on the back panel of the trap then place it near known paths or on baseboards.
VERY IMPORTANT:
4. DO THIS FOR A DAY OR TWO BEFORE TURNING ON THE TRAP and be sure they are eating the bait from the back wall of the trap. This will make them comfortable with the trap and you will be more successful. Remember that rats are pretty smart and initially fearful of everything.
5. After a few confirmed entries into the trap with the bait gone, bait it up, place the trail, and turn it on.
6. Next morning, blinking green light will let you know that you have success. Dispose of rat by dumping out and tuck the trap away for future use. No blood, no mess, no pest control bill!
SAFE FOR PETS, unless your pet is a rat.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Electronic Rat Trap
from WPB
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best thing I ever bought!

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a single woman who lives alone and bought this trap to catch a rodent. I figured it was a rat as I could hear it in the walls and was lucky to find it's hang out...due to droppings left. I carefully did as one of the other reviewers suggested, put peanut butter INSIDE the trap (not outside) and put in the batteries and placed it where I wanted it and turned it on. The very next morning the dead rat was in it! Now if this trap could just dump the dead body in the garbage for me my life would be perfect:) But it really worked and I didn't hear anything so I think it is quite humane and kills the rat fast. I highly recommend this and will be keeping this for life!
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Electronic Rat Trap

Caught the guy that was keeping me up all night

PostedJuly 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This trap is 100%. The only reason I went out and bought it was before of all the great reviews on here anyways. The first night my boyfriend placed the trap he did it completely wrong (men)! The first thing you want to do is do not get your hands on the trap. Wipe it down so the little guy running around your house doesn't smell it and doesn't run away. Make sure the batteries are well put, the batteries can sometimes get loose and then the trap won't work how it suppose to. Second thing is leave food, the first time we used peanut butter but that didn't seem to work, so instead I used cereal. I left a little trail and put more cereal in front of the trap. Around 3am there was a loud zapping sound and the light was green on the trap this seemed to work so well, it's also mess free! We dumped it out early morning
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Electronic Rat Trap

Awesome product

PostedJuly 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The first time we used this in my house it wasn't affective the father of my son had put the trap wrong.The next day I put a damp small towel with a trail of cereal leading the way into the trap and around 4am the rat landed, we had bought glue traps before but this did nothing! I'm so glad we bought this trap... I recommend it to anyone who has rats/mouse in there home!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Groveland, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Trap ever invented!

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
7 rats/mice dead so far! We have had an increasing rodent problem in our storage shed where we keep our duck feed. The feed is now stored in airtight containers but we couldn't get rid of the rats. Standard mouse traps didn't catch a single one and we can't use any poisons as we have 5 pet dogs that we don't want to accidentally eat a poisoned rat. The electronic rat trap is incredible! In the evening, I just put a little piece of a cookie in the back, put the trap against the wall and turn it on. The next morning there is a dead mouse/rat. It even killed one rat that was so big it didn't even fit all the way in the trap. I highly recommend this trap to anyone with a rodent problem!
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Parkland, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The Rat's Last Meal...

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This trap is 100% effective if you do a few E-Z steps. #1. Use gloves when handling the trap when installing the 4 size "C" batteries. This will prevent your smell to get on the unit. Also, for those of you that the trap is not turning on with fresh batteries, look at the battery compartment and make sure that the batteries are making the proper contacts. The area for the batteries is a little tight and can sometimes pinch the batteries not allowing them to make the right connections. #2. Place a damp paper towel underneath the trap making sure that the area in front of the trap has the exposed wet/damp paper towel. This will make the rats feet/body more conductive and prevent a dry shock. #3. Use a variety of foods. I found that a trail mix containing nuts, raisens, and m&m's with a little Peanut Butter unresistable to all rodents #4. Place the trap turned off, but set up as I explained for 24-48 hours, so that the rats are comfortable, then turn it on and you will have your problem resolved :)
Hope this helps...
+47points
47out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Electronic Rat Trap
from port a tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

did not work

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
rats got peanut butter and kept going.baited several times and checked voltage got 28vdc
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Electronic Rat Trap
from Curently Kansas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Killer Product!

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Place a small dab of peanut butter (diameter of a pencil) on a small section of a popsicle stick, place near center of middle of three electrical plates inside, place trap in known or suspected path of mouse or rat, and the varmint will be dispatched to mouse heaven. Make sure to power off unit for a few minutes before inserting bait if you are resetting unit after a "kill," otherwise you may get a "buzz." Try to find entry point(s) to house and seal with expansion foam. Can be left in garage on permanent basis, but do check and replace batteries often. Easy to dump dead varmint into outside trashcan. I have purchased several of these units for work and home over the past four years in two states.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>