728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Grinders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder

4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder

The Dewalt 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder features a Quick-Change wheel release that helps provide easy and quick wheel removal without the need for a wrench. This grinder has a 7 Amp AC/DC motor to maintain performance during extended use and offers 11,000 RPM for fast material removal and high-overload protection. The grinder has a low-profile, jam-pot gear case that helps provide durability and allows the tool to fit into tight spaces with a lock-on switch that allows you to operate the tool comfortably for extended periods of time.
Overall rating:
3.889 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product14 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(8)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product14 of 17reviews
Customer reviews for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
Review 1 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
Rockman

Solid construction, easy to handle, great value

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this for a repointing project, didn't want to spend big bucks on a grinder but wanted decent quality and something that would hold up. Based on previous good experiences with DeWalt tools chose this for around $60. Been using it for a few weeks and so far rock solid, good power, easy to handle, not too loud but I wear hearing protection because I run the thing for 20 minutes or more continuously. No problems with the on/off button or quick release like some other reviewers, tool's well designed and easy to use. Perfect for repointing, sufficient power, blade swaps quickly.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
vinster

Worth the money.

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's your basic grinder, plenty of power, seems well built. I'm not a fan of the on/off switch though, it's in an awkward position and takes some getting used to. Other than that I'm pretty happy with it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
Gonzo259

Great tool!

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Got the grinder along with some wire wheel brushes to strip an iron railing I was refinishing. Worked great to strip off layers of rust and paint to bare metal. Grinder ran continuously for couple of hours with no issue. Easy to use. Substantial power for it's size.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
Denali86
from Columbus Ohio

Switch sticks in "on" position

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just got this grinder a week ago because my DW400 model had a bearing that burned up. I am using it right now for tuck-pointing my chimney bricks. I am using a ¼” thick diamond blade and I quickly noticed that the slide switch will stick in the ON position, probably due to the mortar dust. A couple of times I had to work at it to shut the grinder off. DeWalt should go back to their larger switch design on their older DW400 model, I never had a problem with it. I do like the fact that I can re-position the head of the grinder so that the switch can be on either side, on top or bottom, and this model is 10 amps verses the 5 amps on the old DW400.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
MiddleBruce
from Dallas, Tx

Not great for concrete - needs better manual

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought it for a very specific purpose - I had some plumbing work done which necessitated the plumber to pour concrete in my bathroom. He didn't level it very well so I needed to grind down the high spots. So not knowing much about angle grinders, I bought this one along with the Dewalt diamond cup wheel attachment. The instructions that came with the grinder don't cover installing the cup wheel and the cup wheel itself came with no documentation at all. Maybe I'm using it wrong, but the locking ring falls off frequently which is scary. The tool gets very hot so use gloves. I hate that it doesn't come with a case. I'll probably use it for other stuff so maybe I'll write a different review for general use, but for concrete, don't buy it unless you really know what you're doing.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
Makoshark
from Dallas, Texas

Dewalt small angle grinder..Great product!

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this little grinder and is definitely much better , in so many ways , compared to my black and orange model that stopped working after a year of use . The Dewalt angle grinder is very light , has plenty of power , has a nice low-profile head , as well as the quick change wheel nut . I do a lot of metal work (welding and fab) and have to say that i am very pleased with this product . Definitely worth the 10-20 bucks over the cheaper brands Works as a grinder and cutter . Plus they have a great warranty plan!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
someguyinca

Cutting requires accessory not available at Home Depot

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this primarily to do some cutting and discovered that cutting requires a Type 1 guard accessory that is apparently not available through Home Depot. Ordering on line through the manufacturer.
Otherwise it seems to work fine.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
air1514
from Harrison, AR 72601, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ive had better results from harbor frieght!!

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
first grinder went bad 2 weeks after purchase. 2nd grinder didnt make it a full 5 months before the gears in the head were stripped. looks like to me that if i were being to hard on them- the motors and/or brushes would go bad- not the gears stripping out. seems like poor manufact and soft metal is the norm because ive went thru 2 dewalts and 1 makita with the same result across the board.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
Tuck
from Madison, WI

Handy Little Guy

PostedSeptember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this to refinish some metal along with some more grinding disks and a cup attachment. Worked better than I thought and project was a success. Not too bad for the amount I spent on it.
@MiddleBruce - If the cup is falling off, make sure you remove the inner ring between the grinder and the disk, I forgot to the first time and it rolled right off. (When using a disk, there is the outer ring, the disk and an inner ring. The cup attachment will not work if the inner ring is left in).
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
FontuckyDan
from Fontana, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Light and powerful. Great value

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this cut out a small dog door through my stucco wall. Put a cheap diamond masonry blade on sold by Home Depot for $10 and this thing cut through the stucco like a champ. The handle is easily reversible and the guard is easily adjustable. I had no problems cutting with this tool right out of the box, so I'm not sure what the other reviewer was referring to. I put a $4 metal blade on to cut the top of an earthquake foundation bolt off that was in the way. No problem.
Pros: Powerful, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
Spain
from Austin, TX

Good grinder

PostedNovember 11, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a nice grinder for small to medium sized jobs. Good amount of power to it. My only complaint is that I'd like it more if it had a paddle switch like their more powerful grinders. Still worth the price. Easy, quick change for consumables as well. This grinder can take quite a beating.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
jean
from englewood fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

this product has great features

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
excellent for home or on the job...Husband just loves it ... perfect for a lot of uses
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
mokinho
from Rio Linda, CA

DeWALT 4 1/2" angle grinder

PostedMarch 2, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It might be small but hold on when you start it this little grinder has some torque! Very handy, easy to move around. The only thing I didn't like is it's a little loud I guess that's characteristic but a little annoying. Other than that it's a great tool for the money.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
FloRida

...

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this product and a cutting disc to cut some wire and first the center of the disc broke. Was like okay let me put a new one on. Then to find out that because the disc is so small you cant have the nut on the way they want it to be on. You have to reverse it so the disc wont move on you. After doing so and luckily stopped just in time the nut was falling off.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: needs a better locking mechanism
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
nicholas1951

Solid, powerful grinder.

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have only used it a short time, but, if it holds up, it's a heck of a grinder!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
Georgie21
from Tarpon Springs, FL

For Tough Jobs

PostedJune 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed an angle grinder for a tough job, but was limited on funds. This was the most affordable one on the shelf and sure is tough! Both my dad and my grandpa use Dewalt products so now it was my turn. Cool machine, lot's of power in my hands!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
tabascofan
from Texarkana, TX

good power!

PostedSeptember 7, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice compact size that reduces fatigue during use. Adequate torque & power for many jobs. Perfect tool for smaller jobs. Can be used for larger jobs but would require more time due to smaller size disk. Priced well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
Carl96
from Blue Bell, Pa

Good unit

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For the DIY with small jobs this is all you'll need. IEasy to use and versetile.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.