728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Princeton 5 ft. Americast Left-Hand Drain Bathtub in Bone

Princeton 5 ft. Americast Left-Hand Drain Bathtub in Bone

A recessed bath with an integral apron and tiling flange, the American Standard Princeton 5 ft. Americast Bathtub in Bone is built from durable and lightweight material that has great temperature-insulation qualities. The integral lumbar support and beveled headrest provide comfort while you bathe, and the slip-resistant floor promotes safety.
Overall rating:
3.833 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product9 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(5)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product9 of 12reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Princeton 5 ft. Americast Left-Hand Drain Bathtub in Bone
Review 1 for Princeton 5 ft. Americast Left-Hand Drain Bathtub in Bone
from FLORIDA

TUB HAVEN

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
JUST RECEIVED AND HAD TUB INSTALLED AND I REALLY LOVE IT. THE COLOR PICTURED ONLINE IS SLIGHTLY LIGHTER THAN ACTUAL COLOR BUT VERY NICE AND GIVES AN UPDATED TOUCH OF COLOR INSTEAD OF PLAIN WHITE. MY PLUMBER NEIGHBOR SAID IT WAS EASY TO INSTALL. IT FEELS SOLID WHEN YOU STAND IN IT , NO BOUNCY FLIMSY FEELING! THE TURN AND LIFT DRAIN THAT COMES WITH THE TUB SYSTEM IS GREAT AND EASY TO USE. VERY HAPPY WITH THIS PURCHASE. TIME FOR DELIVERY WAS REASONABLE. TOOK ABOUT A WEEK FROM ONLINE PURCHASE.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Princeton 5 ft. Americast Left-Hand Drain Bathtub in Bone
from Upstate New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tub! But you need to know which model you are buying

PostedMay 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Princeton 5 ft. Americast Left-Hand Drain Bathtub in White
I've installed three of these tubs (one for myself, two for others) and Love them. Looks, Feels and Sounds like cast iron, but MUCH lighter and keeps the water hot longer. Care is pretty much the same as with cast iron. Avoid abrasive cleaners.
In regards to the issues that other reviewers had. 'TheGDog' If the tub is creaking, then he either didn't shore it up and shim it properly or his floor joists are weak or not structurally sound. Also be sure not to wedge the tub into the space too tightly. All tubs will expand and contract with the heat of the water. If the floor is solid and the tub is properly installed, it should be as solid as a rock and just as quiet.
As for 'berk30' The tub he has must be the "Above the floor rough" model. The floor of this tub is several inches above the bathroom floor to make room for the drain to come out of the back or side. (see install specs) It's designed for use one a concrete slab floor where you can't have the drain or trap go beneath the floor as with wooden floor joists. That's why it's so shallow inside. If he doesn't have a slab floor then he bought the wrong tub and paid $200 extra for nothing. You have to be sure of what model you are buying or need. Check the Model #. I almost made the same mistake. The product photos and titles shown on this web site are not always consistent or correct. Check and double check.
The Princeton 2392 and 2393 are Above the floor rough in's. (left / right drain, respectively) The 2390 and 2391 are not. If you want a Deeper tub, you need to get the Cambridge model 2460 or 2461 (left / right drain) The water depth is 14" instead of 9.5" from the drain to the overflow. The Cambridge is also 32" wide instead of the standard 30".
They also make a 34" wide Luxury model that has a wider rim for putting stuff on, like towels or candles or jars of bath beads, etc. But the inside tub well is no bigger than the Cambridge.
As always, if you receive a tub that's damaged in any way, send it back to be replaced. Order it and have it delivered well before you put sledge hammer to wall. You don't want to be stuck without a shower unless you have a second bathroom.
Hope this helps.
Happy hunting.
+48points
48out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Princeton 5 ft. Americast Left-Hand Drain Bathtub in Bone

Good tub

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Princeton 5 ft. Americast Left-Hand Drain Bathtub in White
The tub looks great. Works well. The price could be a bit lower.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Princeton 5 ft. Americast Left-Hand Drain Bathtub in Bone
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very impressed with this tub

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Princeton 5 ft. Americast Left-Hand Drain Bathtub in White
Home depot's delivery of this product was very seamless and we are very impressed with the look and quality of the product
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Princeton 5 ft. Americast Left-Hand Drain Bathtub in Bone
from Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wasn't as deep as I thought but it does the job.

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:Princeton Above Floor Rough 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
I purchase 2 tubs to go into a remodeled home. Both chipped when in stalling but where easy to fix. I wasn't happy about the chips but when I went back to Home Depot I was able to purchase the fix. They have seem to hold up and look beautiful in a 40yr+ old home.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Great Value
Cons: Build Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Princeton 5 ft. Americast Left-Hand Drain Bathtub in Bone

the jury is still out

PostedSeptember 2, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This review is from:Princeton Above Floor Rough 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
The tub itself is very nice. Nice clean lines. The surface that would be visible was unmarred. Nice anti slip bottom. We had to return the tub, however, because on the underside there was a nickel sized hole, and the edge of the tiling flange was chipped. There were also bubbles in the metal underside and a smaller hole which our plumber said were no problem He did advise returning it because of the hole and the chipped flange. We have ordered another tub. A misconception I had was that the 17 in tub would be deeper. It is not. The distance from the drain on the floor of the tub and the outlet is the same as a 14 inch tub. The drain, therefore does not sit right on the floor but above. It probably looks nicer to have a taller tub, but not 200 dollars nicer. I reordered the 14 inch tub.My recommendation to a friend will be based on the condition of the tub that is on its way.
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Princeton 5 ft. Americast Left-Hand Drain Bathtub in Bone

AWFUL, AWFUL, AWFUL!

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Princeton Above Floor Rough 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
DO NOT BUY THIS TUB!!!!!!!! Terrible quality. Tub floor seems to flex and "pop" while taking a shower. It also makes a creaking sound, as other reviewers have reported. Finish was shiny and glossy when new, but became dull after less than a month. It seems like the white finish is also coming off, as I'm starting to see black patches appear. The tub is less than 3 months old and I hate it. Never buying American Standard Americast ever again. BUY A KOHLER CAST IRON INSTEAD!!!!!!!
Cons: Noisy, Build Quality, Unbalanced, Appearance
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Princeton 5 ft. Americast Left-Hand Drain Bathtub in Bone
from sacramento CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Princeton Above Floor Rough 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
this tub was easy to install and looks great I would buy this tub again
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Princeton 5 ft. Americast Left-Hand Drain Bathtub in Bone
from Garden Grove, CA

Horrible Creaking!

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Princeton Above Floor Rough 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in White
Because I was doing the remodeling job myself solo I decided not to go with a cast-iron like my mother had recommended. The thought of hefting the cast-iron tub into place did not sound like something I wanted to tackle.
I SOOOOO wish I'd gone with the cast-iron tub. This thing creaks soo loud and sounds horrible. I followed installation recommendations to a "T". At first I assumed the creaking I heard was simply because I had not yet laid tile right up to the floor edge of the tub as the instructions say you must do.
I cannot tell you how angry I was when after laying in all the tile... the creaking remained. And then sounded louder of course since eveything was now installed and floor edge secured via tile, thus conduction of the sound was greater.
I hope I can save at least 1 other person the anger and frustration this product caused me.
Everyday when I step into that creaking tub I'm reminded of that fatal choice of not gong cast-iron. Don't be like me, please.
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Princeton 5 ft. Americast Left-Hand Drain Bathtub in Bone
from Rockwell, NC 28138, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Bathtub

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:Princeton Above Floor Rough 5 ft. Right Drain Soaking Tub in Linen
Great Bathtub! Well built! Looks great installed! I am very happy with it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Princeton 5 ft. Americast Left-Hand Drain Bathtub in Bone
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
1 out of 2 recommend this product