728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan

20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan

The LASKO 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan combines the cooling power of 3 fan speeds with the wide-area air flow of 2,500 CFM air circulation and a 20 in. fan diameter, all in a compact, lightweight, energy-efficient design. The 6 ft. cord and slip-resistant feet allow flexible placement without fan slippage and the built-in carry handle makes it easy to transport the fan between rooms. The plastic material provides reliable strength and durability.
Overall rating:
4.101 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(286 reviews) 286
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product237 of 277reviews
Rating Breakdown 286 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(141)
4
(87)
3
(23)
2
(16)
1
(19)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product237 of 277reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
Review 1 for 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
from Southeast Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Long Lasting Value

PostedJune 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This 20 inch box fan is light weight and durable. I have used for over a year now and it still works perfectly. Also nice is it still looks brand new even though I leave it outside most of the time in Southeast Florida where the salt air usually makes everything rust in no time. For the value price of this fan, you can't beat it. I do have heavier duty fans when I need to move a lot of air, but this light weight, portable fan is just right when you just want to move some air. We use it a lot out by the pool and spa just to add some additional air movement to the ceiling fans. And it is so quiet that we often forget to turn it off when we come in. Everyone should have one of these box fans for general use. It also fits nicely in an open window to help blow a breeze through the house when it isn't 95 degrees outside. Excellent buy for the money.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
from Las Vegas, NV, USA

great, inexpensive fan!

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This my second purchase of one of these fans. The first one, ran non-stop for 3 years. So why you ask the 5 star rating? Because the first fan as well as the new one, are in my chicken coop. We live in a very fine dust area. My fans have everything happen to them you can picture living in a coop. Feathers, rain, dirt, dust, chickens roosting on them. I figured with the abuse the first fan was taking I'd be happy to get a year out of it, but three, most impressive! They move a good amount of air, and for the price and durability you can't go wrong.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
from Houston, Tx
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best value for the price.

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No assembly needed. You just pull it out of the box and start using it. I needed it for a DIY HEPA air purifier project. I mounted the 20x20x1 HEPA filter to the fan and it was done.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+32points
33out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
from West Columbia, SC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This item works well and seems to be durable for the price.

PostedJune 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This box fan does everything I want for a very good price. It moves air nicely and has held up well, even after it tumbled off a counter.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, great value/price.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
from LaPlace, LA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does The Job

PostedMay 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this fan to circulate the air in my garage at night. Does a very good job of helping to reduce the heat and bring in more fresh air through the window.
Pros: Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
from Monroe, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good choice for bedroom

PostedJuly 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A tiny bit noisy but you get used to it quickly. It's a mid-frequency level noise when on high and it blends into the rest of the world of noise. i put the fan, on high, in the window at night and it cools the room very quickly. Leaving it on low is great for sleeping. It's a great functional design overall; good handle, big enough screen holes for good air flow and yet not allowing for small fingers or cat tails, light as a feather yet stable on it's feet, attractive enough not to stand out in the room. This is the best box fan I've bought.. ever.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
from Port Charlotte FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not very sturdy

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Died after two days of use so not very happy with the quality
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
from Ashburn, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

OK Product

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good: The fan speed and motor seems to be pretty good....can draw in/out a lot of air in a very short time.
Bad: The blades are made of weak plastic....and a tilt and fall would cause the blades to easily break and make the fan useless. The fan that I bought had a minor tilt(while on floor) and subsequent fall, and one blade broke causing the fan to go off balance. Fortunately HomeDepot replaced with another one free of cost. I had a box fan in the past that had aluminum blades (if i recollect properly), and that lasted several years.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, lightweight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
from Nixa, MO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Fan for the money.

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This fan was purchased as a replacement for a box fan that finally stopped working after 8 years.
The old model was exactly like this one, so I figured why not stick with something that was tried and true and lasted way longer than the warranty period.
This fan is lightweight, energy efficient, and fairly quiet even on high. In our household we use fans all year to move air, as well as when we all are sleeping. So no matter what fan we buy, it is truly put to the test as far as usage goes.
I have ALWAYS had great luck with Lasko box fans. They are less than 20 bucks, and not even one time have I ever had a unit be defective. In fact, They typically last about 4 years up to 8 years if you clean them, and vacuum the dust off of the motor vent slots.
I would recommend this fan to anyone who wants something affordable and reliable. You just cannot go wrong with this box fan.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
from Albany, Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good fan and everyone needs a fan.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Lightweight but sturdy, Very quiet for the amount of air it circulates. I have a need to have air circulating around me to control my chemotherapy "Hot Flashes" and this fan has thus far preformed very well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
from NYC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheaply made, noisy, 2 damaged in shipping

PostedJuly 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very cheaply made and noisy. On low sound is tolerable but not on med or high. Only good thing is it moves a lot of air. Am paying $10 more and buying Lasko Weather Shield box fan that has higher customer reviews.
The other issue is HD ships this in the manufacturer's box with no outer box for protection. Had to return 2 cause they had chips in plastic and one had foot broken off so it was wobbly even with the plug in feet. What a waste of time. Highly recommend picking up in store instead of shipping.
Pros: moves lots of air
Cons: Not Durable, Noisy, packed poorly for shipping
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan

Cheap, a little bit noisy.

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The fan is light, does not require almost any assembly, does not cost arm and leg.
It is not quiet, especially, on medium and high speeds but to make it quiet will require very expensive blades with sophisticated geometry.
Hope that for a few bucks more better blades can be molded.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan

base too narrow to stay up.

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fan works well but WAY too narrow and light. Don't expect it to stay up on a carpet or slightly uneven surface. Fell or blew itself over several times till it finall snapped a fin off. Will be looking for something with wider base to replace it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
from lakewood,ca. 90712
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good value

PostedJuly 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
extremely efficient does a great job of cooling things down.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan

Others are spot on

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
In the middle of Florida summer, the fan cooled down my warmest room (2nd floor bedroom, over the garage). Airflow is nice and it's easy to maneuver (lightweight). My only issue is the noise. Other reviewers we're spot on. This fan is LOUD. May return it, but doubt I'll find another as good, in this price point. Purchased a less expensive because it'll only be used for about a two (maybe 3) month period each year, in one room (not everyday).... Not bad for under $20.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
from Savannah, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Box Fan

PostedJuly 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Air movement is a must in a greenhouse filled with orchids. Finding the right size fan, one that doesn't take up to much space, with adjustable speeds is sometimes not easy. The twenty inch is easy to balance on shelf takes high humidity well with little or no rust after full Summer. I own four. Can't get along without them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
from Grants Pass, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Value

PostedJuly 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Snap on the legs, plug in, and go. Fan blows plenty of air in an enclosed area.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

20 Inc 3-Speed Box Fan

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We are very pleased with the fan. The delivery time was much faster than we thought and that was great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
from Flagstaff, AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good fan, great price

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not the quietest fan but you can't expect too much for under $20. Works well and does the job.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product for the money

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a good fan, excellent value for the price. I wanted white rather than black, and got it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 15 >>