728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Weather Shield 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan

Weather Shield 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan

Customize your air circulation and conditioning with this LASKO Weather Shield 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan that features an adjustable thermostat and 3 speeds. The fan's Weather Shield turbo motor design allows for weather-secure window use with enhanced power for the aerodynamic blades, which create enhanced air velocity. The wide body design contributes to the fan's floor stability and the ultra performance grill design produces concentrated air flow.
Overall rating:
4.535 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(101 reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product88 of 93reviews
Rating Breakdown 101 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(67)
4
(26)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product88 of 93reviews
Customer reviews for Weather Shield 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
Review 1 for Weather Shield 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
kraken57
from boston

Minor design flaws but good value

PostedJune 12, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this to replace an identical fan that died after one season, having fallen out of the window one time too many. That one, in turn, replaced an older model Lasko box fan that had lasted at least 10 years.
The raised handle with its built-in control knobs makes it difficult to hold the fan in place by lowering the window onto it, and having the feet in back rather than in front makes it prone to pitch forward. I need to shove a book between the bottom of the fan and the window sill to keep it from falling forward, and even then a good strong wind will knock it over. This could be peculiar to my particular window design, and might not affect all users. As I learned from my last one, it will not survive more than a few falls like that, so be sure that it's secure if you use it as a window fan..
Ideally the handle would be flush with the housing and the controls would be moved forward so that you can close a window on the top of the fan. The older generation was better designed and more durable and I was disappointed that the newer design is inferior.
Aside from that, it's a good quality, quiet fan. The thermostat is less sensitive than I would like, leaving about a 5 degree range between On and Off and making it difficult to find the sweet spot. But it is well worth the price, even with tax and shipping, assuming that it lasts more than one season. There do not seem to be any competing box fans with thermostats available anyway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Weather Shield 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
Fred
from Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

Saves Me Lots of Money on Electricity!

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought four of these fans to force hot air out of my second-floor apartment on cool summer nights. It's working exactly as I'd hoped and saving me a lot of money on electricity. It costs mere pennies to run these fans. I took measurements and determined that the Lasko 3755 draws only 40-75 watts of power, depending on the speed setting. That's the amount of power used by one light bulb!
Last summer, I was shocked to discover that constantly running my central air conditioning doubles or triples my electric bill. I then started using my A/C very selectively but found that just opening the windows in the evening didn't release the hot air which gets trapped inside during the day. Now with two fans blowing in and two fans blowing out, I can create a strong breeze in my apartment to bring the cool air in and blow the hot air out for very little money.
Here's an example which shows how well this works and how little it costs. Last night, it was 82 degrees in my apartment and 67 degrees outside. Running all four fans on high for one hour cooled my apartment by 7 degrees. The fans drew 300 watts of power and used 0.3 kilowatt-hours (kWh) of electricity. I pay about 12 cents/kWh, which means it cost me a grand total of 3.6 cents to cool my entire apartment!
In summary, I am very happy with my purchase. These fans do exactly what I bought them to do and will pay for themselves in less than one summer.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Weather Shield 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
bikermanlaxwi
from La Crosse, WI, USA

Quiet thermostat fan

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Thermostat fans are hard to find but very useful. The thermostat allows the fan to switch off at night when it becomes cooler and turn back on during the day if need be. The thermostat on these works well. My other thermostat fans are from Lakewood and these compare nicely.
The fan is quieter than the comparable Lakewood. I don't know if the Lakewood just pushed more air and thus is louder. It also could be that the shield design on the Lasko quiets the fan as well.
I always worried about leaving the fan in the window during a storm and the Lasko shielded motor allays those fears somewhat.
The box, compared to the Lakewood is shallower. This may or may not be useful, depending on the window. I don't know how it effects the operation of the fan.
The power cord is hardwired into the fan at the bottom. The Lakewood had a plug you could remove (good, esp. when storing), but the plug was in the middle of the fan (inconvenient).
I like the fans and bought two for the house. They've been running almost constantly for two months without a problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Weather Shield 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
was21040
from harford co. md

lasko 20 in box fan with thermostat

PostedJuly 24, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
box fans are noisey buy nature they move a lot of air. this fan is fairly quiet for a box fan.air volume is pretty good,i purchased 2 for the bedroom windows 1 for exhaust the other for intake. this way it exchanges the air in the room. when it reaches the temp i like i turn them off with the thermostat this saves money and also you don;t need to get up in the middle of the night to shut them off.if it gets cold. i screwed mine to the window sills so i can open and close my windows without remoiving the fans. holes are predrilled in the bottoms of the fans. 2 screws an flat washers for each fan is all you need. little wood putty for the holes if you ever need to remove them.(TIP)all these newer fans have a fuse in the plug so if your fan quits working check out the plug before you disgaurd your fan.Iit;s a simple fix by replaceing the plug.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Weather Shield 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
Dave
from Portland, OR

Thermostat is well worth the extra $5

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Unlike most box fans, this one shields the fan blades in a circular housing, leaving no space in the corners to interfere with efficient airflow. I'm no aeronautical engineer, but that seems to me to be a smart way to build a box fan, at least for my purpose, which is to work as a window exhaust to cool the house after the outside temp drops below the inside.
The thermostat shuts it off somewhere in the middle of the night when it gets cool enough (if you want to use it that way). You can't set it by degrees (like an indoor thermostat on your HVAC system) but its adjustment seems to work well enough in the two weeks we've been using it.
What was irritating was not being able to either find this in local stores, or even have them order it for my pick up. So I had to wait nearly a week for it to arrive (for an extra $6).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Weather Shield 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
MikeTheEngineer
from Loveland, CO

Hoping for more...

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Overall, I have to say this is a good value for the money. But, this fan is not as quite as I had hoped. For me, the most important feature was the temperature control -which works fine. After that, I wanted it to be quite. Don't get me wrong, it's not as loud as some cheaper fans I've had, but it doesn't match the description "whisper quite." I have two fans sitting side-by-side. The other fan is a "WindMachine" (from Wal-Mart). The WindMachine's Medium speed is as quite as the Lasko's Low speed. To be fair, I think the Lasko moves as much air at Low as the other does at Medium.
My last comment is that the control knobs are too small. If they were a bit larger, it would be easier to turn them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Weather Shield 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
overthehill
from Delaware, OH 43015, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

better than advertized

PostedMay 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this fan for 3 years. it is the best investment I ever made. i purchased 2 originally and went back for another one the following year. We do not have air conditioning in our 2 story house and in the summer, the bedrooms are like furnaces. I turn the fan around in the window in the morning to suck out the hot air and in the evening I turn the fan around to bring in the cool air. WHAT IS TRULY EXECEPTIONAL ABOUT THIS FAN, BESIDES THE LOW PRICE, IS THE THERMOSTAT, WHICH TURNS ITSELF ON AND OFF AUTOMATICALLY. the thermostat senses how cool or warm the room is throughout the night and then adjusts itself accordingly. Now i can get a decent nights sleep.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Weather Shield 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
LandscapeguyinSilverSprin
from Silver Spring, MD

The Toyota of fans

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I think I've had this fan for about 3 years now. I am very surprised it has lasted so long. (I call it the Toyota because it lasts forever, but doesn't have that many features or anything special) I only ever use it on low, because that's all I ever need. I use it for about 10 hours day for at least 3/4 the year. I think my uncle also has one of these fans to circulate air in his climate controlled garage for his 1957 Thunderbird. I'm pretty sure it's been running for about 4 years non-stop. Never ever turned off. He put it in there, and totally forgot about it until 3 years later. I 100% recommend this, but cleaning the blades isn't always fun.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Weather Shield 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
Jason

Great Product for my Greenhouse

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I read all the reviews I was a little concerned about the thermostat, but after having it and playing with all the features, its a great little fan. It will do what you set it to do. It takes a little to figure out the thermostat control and to figure where 70 degrees was, but after that I marked it and its good to go for anything I need it to do in my greenhouse.
I personally think this fan is great for the money and the features. The thermostat is nice. When I want the fan running all the time you just set it for the lowest setting and it runs all the time when I need it. No problems at all with it.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Weather Shield 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
noThanks

where have all the box fans gone?

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had a rather hard time finding anyting close to what I was wanting in a box fan this year - online or in stores. This is as close as I could find, so I went ahead and bought it. I can see how many would find use in the thermostat option, but I do wish that there were a way to just use the fan without it. However, I've yet to have it turn itself off because it thought the room had gotten cold enough. (Then again, I bought it in August, so there haven't been many opportunities for it to feel cold). I use it in a window and because of the weather shielding I don't worry so much about a little rain.
Pros: Performs Well, Durable, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Weather Shield 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
books4me
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good little fan...

PostedJune 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this fan for at least 5 years, using it every couple of months. Overall I love it! The three speeds are nice (I usually only use the lowest speed because the other two can get loud). Even if the fan seems loud, it seems to get quieter as you get used to i.
Two complaints: How the heck do you use the thermostat? The dial just says "---> Cooler" but how do you tell it what temperature you want it set at?
Also, there is next to no information about the fan, with the box or on the internet. What is the energy rating? How do you set the thermostat? how long can you safely use it? etc.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: No Instructions
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Weather Shield 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
tmim
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product, quite versatile

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I needed a large fan that can be used indoors (to blow in front of me as I do workout on my indoor bike trainer during the hot summer days) and in the window (to save on AC electricity). This fan has helped me do both. I like that it has a thermostat, which you can set, and 3 speeds. I also like the cheap price for this fan which has so many features and is of great quality. No issues so far (4 months or so) with the quality of this product. The fan doesn't make noise, except the noise of air passing through the propeller, which depends of the fan speed you set. Extremely satisfied.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Weather Shield 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
sbonds

Thermostat works pretty well

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The thermostat works better than I expected for something mounted on the fan itself. I thought it would cycle a lot since the thermostat would be aggressively cooled while the fan was running, but it seems to manage things well.
The fan itself... well... it's just a fan like any other. I haven't had it long enough to tell if the "weather shield" will help or not. Based on its appearance, my expectations are pretty low. I can't see how it will help keep rain out of the fan's workings, so it's probably a good idea to take this out of the window when things are wet.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Weather Shield 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
JMGIII
from Denver, Co

Great Fan

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have 4 of these fans in the office and on the weekends the A/C is turned off in our Downtown building. Sitting in front of computers for 12 hours get's even more tiresome when the temp. in the building goes up when it's turned off for weekend. Those fans work great which prompted me to purchase one from my unconditioned home. As a single father, I need to make sure my kids are comfortable and it works great pulling in cool air at night and circulating air throughout the house during the day. As soon I can afford it, I'll purchase another.
Thanks,
Maurice
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Weather Shield 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
parkmana
from Glendale, California

Just right for the money. Plenty of power.

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well, now we have five of them. That's 650 watts total if they are all on HIGH. Five fans in a 650 sf. apartment and only three need be turned up. Two in the window to force ventilation and, the other three for circulation. There's practically no need for the 1,800 watt A/C unit, especially considering the electric bill. Also, they are slim enough to be stored away quite easily, although we always have a few of them running. And, yes, they sound like fans but are fairly quiet on the LOW setting. You should have at least three for a small apartment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Weather Shield 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
pr01
from St. Louis, MO

Lasko Weather Shield 20 inch 3-speed box fan

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been extremely pleased with the performance of the Lasko box fan described above. I have been buying them for the past 5 years. I run the fans constantly when I'm home (I enjoy the hum and the flow of air around me). The fans last 2-3 years if not more and are well worth the cost. They are quiet and do an excellent job of providing cooling air flow in the warmer months. I don't have to run the air conditioner as much. I well recommend them to anyone who wants cool, calming air flow performance for nominal cost. 5 stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Weather Shield 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
TAS28

Good lightweight fan for lighter-duties

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second and third fan I have bought. While it certainly isn't going to air your house or entire floor by itself, or cool you off when it's torrid outside; it's ideal for blowing cool night air into a bedroom or other smallish room. It's also very lightweight, so you can easily bring it to wherever it is needed. What I've done lately is to put the fan in the window at night to suck cooler air into the house, then close the window and use the fan inside the house to blow the cooler air around.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Weather Shield 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
Anonymous
from California

So Great, Must Have Another One!

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this fan for my brother who is very demanding of products purchased and he is so satisfied, he is still raving about it. He says its the perfect size and keeps his room cool. He particularly likes the 3-speed feature and adjustable themostat. Although you can put this fan in the window, he does not need to because it keeps the room cool enough. I am sold on his satisfaction and as soon as I finish this review, I will purchase one for myself. I will give my first-hand personal review later.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Weather Shield 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
Melodie
from Lancaster, Pa

Great Fan!

PostedJuly 22, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this fan to use at the barn for my older horse who can not tolerate too much heat. I have it hanging from the ceiling to circulate some air for her when she needs to be out of the hot sun and it works great. I love the fact that it has a temp control on it and when it gets cooler, it shuts off! I don't have to worry that she will get cold at night if the temp drops a lot. One of the other girls bought one for her horse too. I recommend this product for it's features and cost.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Weather Shield 20 in. 3-Speed Box Fan
Marsh
from nj
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great fan!!!! Buy one!!!!

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this fan!!! Had it for 5+ yrs and worked great to the very end which just happened during this last heat wave. I am soooo glad they still make them. You know how they make something great and they just stop making them. Well I'm glad to say they still have them!!!!! Yea!!!! Oh the temp gauge works well and the weather guard as well. So forget to take it out during that rain storm??? No prob. Hope you don't have a leather sofa though :{ Hope my next one works as well. Enjoy!!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>