728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Window Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

The LASKO 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan circulates air through up to 3 rooms. The Storm Guard feature makes it possible to close the window behind the fan during inclement weather and for security when you're away. The fan fits windows sized 26-1/2 in. L x 34-1/2 in. W x 22 in. H and includes side expander panels for a custom fit. Electrically reversible motor changes air flow with the turn of a dial.
Overall rating:
4.114 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(333 reviews) 333
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product277 of 317reviews
Rating Breakdown 333 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(150)
4
(118)
3
(33)
2
(17)
1
(15)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product277 of 317reviews
Customer reviews for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
Review 1 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from New Jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best window fan I've ever purchased

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fan is awesome. I use it in my bedroom ,motor is very powerful and I don't need to have the speed on high for it to be effective . I have two windows in my room , so i open the second window when I have fan on exhaust which helps ventilate the room even better,because it sucks out the hot air from the room leaving the room cool. I didn't need to use side panels even if i did there is no major assembly required which I love and the fan has a very sturdy and strong frame. I've talked about this fan with my friends and some relatives they had to witness it in action and they all concluded that is an excellent fan ; few of them even purchase this fan.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

Nice product

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My family was looking for a window fan to circulate air and take out smoke in our living room from cigarette use. This fan works really well and gets the job done. Even in the cold weather and snow, the room stays warm as long as the fan is working and sucking air out. On really cold and windy nights we have noticed some cold air tries to push through. When the fan is not in use just be sure to close the window so the cold does not enter. Window installation was pretty easy, just be sure to take the extendable side out and line them up and mark to place screws instead of the entire fan, it makes it much easier.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Astoria, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Fan

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The fan is exactly what we needed. It is exactly as the description. It did make a lot of noise at first, but I buffered it with some thin cardboard and it is fine. While I found it for a little less on Amazon but they were out of stock. the convenience of ordering on line and picking it up at my local store was a plus.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: noisy as made
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Vero Beach, FL, USA

Does exactly what I bought it to do.

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
One of the few things I've bought that I can say that about. :)
I bought it because several evenings/nights here in Florida it's warm enough inside to need the AC yet the outside air feels cool and dry enough that it seems a waste to run the AC. I put it in a window in an unused room, turn it on exhaust, open the window by my bed(or wherever I am) and have a nice QUIET cool breeze that I could never achieve with my floor fan.
I feel it's one of those all-too-few "good investments" that I've tried to make that actually worked.
I realize that with the thick humidy down here in the summer, there will be nights when it won't do the trick but until then, it does just what I bought it for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Rick 357
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great window fan.

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The fan was easily installed although some thought has to be give to clearance for the window opening and closing in front of it. Note the maximum and minimum dimensions carefully and measure twice! Once in place it moves a lot of air pretty quietly, at least on the slow and medium speeds. It gets a little noisy at maximum. We use it to exhaust warm air at medium speed in the evening and leave it running at low speed overnight which pulls in nice cool outside air from open windows on the other side of the house. I thought I might need two but this one seems to do everything I need it to.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Philadelphia, PA, USA

nice reveverse and foward air flow.easy to install.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
its very convienent because you can close your window without taking the unit out.this is our 3rd fan in the last 15 years.i would give it a 5 star if it would last longer but i cant complain because we use it alot in the house.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Evansville, IN

This is a huge fan. Make sure your window is large enough.

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This fan is huge !
It's almost totally plastic, and appears to be well constructed. It moves a lot of air, which is a good thing, but it's size is too large for my needs.
If you need a window fan,and don't mind it being big, you may want to consider this one. If you're limited in space to install it, look elsewhere.
I almost returned it, but it seems like a lot of trouble. I'm sure I'll find a use for it, but for now it's stored in the closet.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: Too Heavy, vary large
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

No surprises here. It moves lots more air than a box fan or twin window fan

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm enjoying this fan. It has done a great job so far bringing in fresh air. The low and medium settings are nice and quiet however the high setting does produce a lot of noise, but I guess that is to be expected. I really like the ability to attach it to the window frame rather than having to reinstall the fan each time I want to open and close the window.
My only concern is that the dial feels kind of flimsy. It's made of plastic and I'm almost certain that it will break one day. Or maybe that's just me being paranoid.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Charlotte, North Carolina

16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this fan. I run an in-home daycare and as you can imagine, the house does not always smell good. Now that I have this exhaust fan, I can open the window everyday for about 20 minutes and the results are incredible. The fan was easy to install and I can open and close the window easily without moving the fan. I bought an air conditioner weather strip (foam, 2 inches wide) to put between the fan and the window when it is open to ensure a snug fit. I am no longer embarrassed when I open the door. I haven't used the fan to pull air in yet, we are going through pollen season.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Live in an Attic

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So, I live in an attic and this fan works just great! I have to run the a/c during the day, but this allows me to open the windows (ahhhh!) during the evening and night time. I live in the mid-atlantic region, so it's super humid, but this fan still seems to work well cooling off 3 of my four rooms. The price is very good too. And you really can open and close the window behind it (if your trim is wide enough - the fan installs to the trim on the inside of your window). The only thing it that the plastic that holds it in place seems kind of flimsy, so I don't know how long it will last. The plastic on the fan seems higher quality. Over all very happy with this purchase.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Warner Robins, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Window Fan

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
One of the criteria I had was the noise factor. This fan is not as noise as most other window fans and that was an important issue with me. I mostly use on reverse- as it is used in a smoking area- and it seems to do the job of keeping the area free of the old smoke smell fairly well. I like the fact that the window can be shut behind the fan. It was easy to install. Overall, I am satisfied with this fan and would recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: would have like it have a stronger motor
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Boise, ID
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lasko 16" reversible fan

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I knew that the fan would not expand to a window that was 46" across so I made a spacer out of a white shelf and wood. After priming and painting the wood, I installed it with a few screws on the bottom and left side to make it solid to mount to. I installed the fan and tried it out. The room that it is in is a 500 sq. ft. bonus, which is upstairs. In the summer it runs warmer than the rest of the house even though it is on the house air conditioning. It was cooler outside than in the house so I put the fan on high to pull the colder air in. My wife said she could feel the cool air coming down the stairs into the hallway and kitchen. The upstairs room quickly cooled down. This is a great fan for the application and is certainly powerful.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

A good exhaust fan.

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
good product. Easy to install and works as expected.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Hershey PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Five Stars is an understatment

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd purchase of this model, over a span of many years. I was thrilled to see it still available. It saves me a bundle on air conditioning costs when outside temperatures are moderate. I'm very tempted to buy another as a backup for when this one dies, just in case Lasko finally stops making them. Mounting in a window is quick and easy. Being able to raise and lower the window behind it without removing the fan is a great feature. I couldn't find another fan anywhere with comparable features. This is a definite winner.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Ct
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Adaquate

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
There are not a lot of options when it comes to window fans. This fan works well with moving air but the dial to change the speed from low, med and high is very flimsy and in fact falls off on a regular basis. Since there is really no other choice this fan will do however I don't really expect it to last.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, on/off dial falls off
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from New York, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Breathe of Fresh Air

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is my third purchase of this same make and model of this fan by Lasko reversible window fan. That in itself says it all. IT kept my apartment quite cool this past summer. Then when the weather suddenly turned chilly I just put it on exhaust to keep the cold air out.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Aurora, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does a great job!

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought the fan for a window that a smoker in our home uses to vent the smoke. The fan does an excellent job sucking the smoke right out. The storm feature allow us to close the window and keep out the cold when they are not smoking. I highly recommend this fan. Very quiet for the size.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Blue Ridge, Ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This fan runs too deep (thick)

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
The fan is much too deep to allow the window to close, as it was advertised it would do. Perhaps it would be suitable in a much older house with deeper windows.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality
Cons: Difficult to Install, too deep
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Bluffton sc
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fan

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Because of the effectiveness of this fan I can now work in my
shop when the temoerature is over 90 drgrees F
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and does exactly what it claims

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a large efficiency around 650 sq ft and I smoke all day everyday in my house. I keep the fan on and the room is cleared pretty much by the time done smoking. I had to wearer strip my door because it was sucking all the outside air inwards . Very powerful fan, I've gone thorough a few just because the old ones didn't work well and clear the room how I like.. This ones here to stay!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Durable, High Quality
Cons: Too Heavy, not for small or even medium sized windows.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 17 >>