728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Window Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

The LASKO 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan circulates air through up to 3 rooms. The Storm Guard feature makes it possible to close the window behind the fan during inclement weather and for security when you're away. The fan fits windows sized 26-1/2 in. L x 34-1/2 in. W x 22 in. H and includes side expander panels for a custom fit. Electrically reversible motor changes air flow with the turn of a dial.
Overall rating:
4.114 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(351 reviews) 351
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product293 of 335reviews
Rating Breakdown 351 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(160)
4
(122)
3
(34)
2
(19)
1
(16)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product293 of 335reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
Review 1 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from New Jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best window fan I've ever purchased

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This fan is awesome. I use it in my bedroom ,motor is very powerful and I don't need to have the speed on high for it to be effective . I have two windows in my room , so i open the second window when I have fan on exhaust which helps ventilate the room even better,because it sucks out the hot air from the room leaving the room cool. I didn't need to use side panels even if i did there is no major assembly required which I love and the fan has a very sturdy and strong frame. I've talked about this fan with my friends and some relatives they had to witness it in action and they all concluded that is an excellent fan ; few of them even purchase this fan.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Grand Junction, Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just the window fan I was looking for.

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was looking for a window fan that would move a little more air than the double window fans. This did the job for me. Thanks!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Vero Beach, FL, USA

Does exactly what I bought it to do.

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
One of the few things I've bought that I can say that about. :)
I bought it because several evenings/nights here in Florida it's warm enough inside to need the AC yet the outside air feels cool and dry enough that it seems a waste to run the AC. I put it in a window in an unused room, turn it on exhaust, open the window by my bed(or wherever I am) and have a nice QUIET cool breeze that I could never achieve with my floor fan.
I feel it's one of those all-too-few "good investments" that I've tried to make that actually worked.
I realize that with the thick humidy down here in the summer, there will be nights when it won't do the trick but until then, it does just what I bought it for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

Nice product

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My family was looking for a window fan to circulate air and take out smoke in our living room from cigarette use. This fan works really well and gets the job done. Even in the cold weather and snow, the room stays warm as long as the fan is working and sucking air out. On really cold and windy nights we have noticed some cold air tries to push through. When the fan is not in use just be sure to close the window so the cold does not enter. Window installation was pretty easy, just be sure to take the extendable side out and line them up and mark to place screws instead of the entire fan, it makes it much easier.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Hunterdon County, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A DECENT FAN

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The fan works well but is cheaply made. The switch needs a lot of force to turn. I am satisfied with this product but since you can buy a 16" fan for $19 I find it hard to understand why it cost $60 for a cheap plastic fan. There are few window fans available these days so your choices are limited.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: cheap feel
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Great fan!

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This fan does exactly what it is designed to do. Mounted in bathroom window, this was my only option for ventilation, since there is no overhead light and no way to mount a ceiling based exhaust fan. Draws hot air out the window after showers when set on exhaust and draws in cool air from outside at night. Screen on outside keeps bugs out. Relatively easy to install and 6 ft. cord perfect reach from window to GFI outlet by bathroom sink. Perfect for what I needed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Window Fan

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This was the second fan like this that I've bought from Home Depot. The first one was bought around four years ago. This one looks and performs the same as the first. I am satisfied with the fans operation. The only problem that I had was that the screws to mount the fan in the window were missing from the box. I just went out and purchased what I needed to mount the fan.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from delaware
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

for the price it is made cheap

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
it is noisy - cheap made - the knob falls off, it will not stay on. when it runs it sounds like something in side is loose and it rattles
Cons: Not Durable, it rattels, very noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It works

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
It's the cheapest priced window fan in it's class. You get what you pay for though. My old one lasted 2 years and just died. The original Fan's blades were out of balance and rattled badly. It does move a lot of air. In all fairness, this fan was on 80% of the time in my lanai, so I guess that's a lot of hours.
I bought the same one as a replacement, this one doesn't rattle.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

Best window fan

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great powerful fan - only hard part was installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Astoria, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Fan

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The fan is exactly what we needed. It is exactly as the description. It did make a lot of noise at first, but I buffered it with some thin cardboard and it is fine. While I found it for a little less on Amazon but they were out of stock. the convenience of ordering on line and picking it up at my local store was a plus.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: noisy as made
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from morgantown WV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

not a good product for the price

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fan is not well made and knob is hard to turn on and off.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

No surprises here. It moves lots more air than a box fan or twin window fan

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I'm enjoying this fan. It has done a great job so far bringing in fresh air. The low and medium settings are nice and quiet however the high setting does produce a lot of noise, but I guess that is to be expected. I really like the ability to attach it to the window frame rather than having to reinstall the fan each time I want to open and close the window.
My only concern is that the dial feels kind of flimsy. It's made of plastic and I'm almost certain that it will break one day. Or maybe that's just me being paranoid.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from San Francisco
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Fan

PostedMay 29, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This fan pushes a lot of air, it's noisy on high, medium isn't too bad and low is a whisper. It installed easily in our window, we were right at the wides limit. It would be perfect if it looked a little nicer, but that would have pushed the cost up. It's in a dining areas and looks pretty industrial with the side fins extended all the way out. The ability to close the window without removing it is great! The old standard 2 fan unit, was a real pain and didn't come close to pushing this much air.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from ct
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very good product at best price anywhere

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Product is very well constructed, I have had 3 of these fans in the past and they all worked well and lasted a very long time. I would not hesitate to recommend this product to anyone who needs a whole house fan.Does an excellent job of removing hot air from your home.Home Depot delivered and gave me the lowest price available. Thank you !
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Charlotte, North Carolina

16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love this fan. I run an in-home daycare and as you can imagine, the house does not always smell good. Now that I have this exhaust fan, I can open the window everyday for about 20 minutes and the results are incredible. The fan was easy to install and I can open and close the window easily without moving the fan. I bought an air conditioner weather strip (foam, 2 inches wide) to put between the fan and the window when it is open to ensure a snug fit. I am no longer embarrassed when I open the door. I haven't used the fan to pull air in yet, we are going through pollen season.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Philadelphia, PA, USA

nice reveverse and foward air flow.easy to install.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
its very convienent because you can close your window without taking the unit out.this is our 3rd fan in the last 15 years.i would give it a 5 star if it would last longer but i cant complain because we use it alot in the house.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Charleston, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wise purchase

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I use this fan at my home in coastal South Carolina to bring cool air into the house at night and reduce the need for air conditioning. With 3 intake and 3 exhaust settings, it moves air very well through my 1500 square foot home. Highest settings may be too noisy to sleep in the room with but can sure move some hot air out of the house in a pinch.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Aurora, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does a great job!

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We bought the fan for a window that a smoker in our home uses to vent the smoke. The fan does an excellent job sucking the smoke right out. The storm feature allow us to close the window and keep out the cold when they are not smoking. I highly recommend this fan. Very quiet for the size.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Boise, ID
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lasko 16" reversible fan

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I knew that the fan would not expand to a window that was 46" across so I made a spacer out of a white shelf and wood. After priming and painting the wood, I installed it with a few screws on the bottom and left side to make it solid to mount to. I installed the fan and tried it out. The room that it is in is a 500 sq. ft. bonus, which is upstairs. In the summer it runs warmer than the rest of the house even though it is on the house air conditioning. It was cooler outside than in the house so I put the fan on high to pull the colder air in. My wife said she could feel the cool air coming down the stairs into the hallway and kitchen. The upstairs room quickly cooled down. This is a great fan for the application and is certainly powerful.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 18 >>