728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Window Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

The LASKO 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan circulates air through up to 3 rooms. The Storm Guard feature makes it possible to close the window behind the fan during inclement weather and for security when you're away. The fan fits windows sized 26-1/2 in. L x 34-1/2 in. W x 22 in. H and includes side expander panels for a custom fit. Electrically reversible motor changes air flow with the turn of a dial.
Overall rating:
4.115 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(364 reviews) 364
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product303 of 348reviews
Rating Breakdown 364 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(167)
4
(125)
3
(35)
2
(21)
1
(16)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product303 of 348reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
Review 1 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from New Jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best window fan I've ever purchased

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This fan is awesome. I use it in my bedroom ,motor is very powerful and I don't need to have the speed on high for it to be effective . I have two windows in my room , so i open the second window when I have fan on exhaust which helps ventilate the room even better,because it sucks out the hot air from the room leaving the room cool. I didn't need to use side panels even if i did there is no major assembly required which I love and the fan has a very sturdy and strong frame. I've talked about this fan with my friends and some relatives they had to witness it in action and they all concluded that is an excellent fan ; few of them even purchase this fan.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Baltimore, Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Exhaust Fan

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The fan was easy to install in the window. once I made sure the extended were in place and wide enough to fit into the window. This fan is very quiet,if I needed to get another fan I would buy this fan again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Vero Beach, FL, USA

Does exactly what I bought it to do.

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
One of the few things I've bought that I can say that about. :)
I bought it because several evenings/nights here in Florida it's warm enough inside to need the AC yet the outside air feels cool and dry enough that it seems a waste to run the AC. I put it in a window in an unused room, turn it on exhaust, open the window by my bed(or wherever I am) and have a nice QUIET cool breeze that I could never achieve with my floor fan.
I feel it's one of those all-too-few "good investments" that I've tried to make that actually worked.
I realize that with the thick humidy down here in the summer, there will be nights when it won't do the trick but until then, it does just what I bought it for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

Nice product

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My family was looking for a window fan to circulate air and take out smoke in our living room from cigarette use. This fan works really well and gets the job done. Even in the cold weather and snow, the room stays warm as long as the fan is working and sucking air out. On really cold and windy nights we have noticed some cold air tries to push through. When the fan is not in use just be sure to close the window so the cold does not enter. Window installation was pretty easy, just be sure to take the extendable side out and line them up and mark to place screws instead of the entire fan, it makes it much easier.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Grand Junction, Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just the window fan I was looking for.

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was looking for a window fan that would move a little more air than the double window fans. This did the job for me. Thanks!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from cleveland ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Fan

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
At the highest speed the fan vibrates and is slightly noisy. I think the expanders could be longer. I was not able to fit it on the outside of the window casing. On the inside it does allow me to lift the window by the bottom handle. I have to lift at the top of the window sash which is not where I'm suppose to grab it. Neither do I have enough room to raise or lower the blinds, I have to remove the fan to lower the blinds for privacy. If I could mount on the outside of the casing, then that would give me enough room to raise or lower the blinds without removing the fan.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

Exhaust fan

PostedSeptember 1, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Needed this to remove heat build up in my garage. Fit window with some modification.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Brooklyn, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Efficient and quiet window fan

PostedSeptember 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very quiet and highly effective window fan. Eliminates the need for AC.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from delaware
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

for the price it is made cheap

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
it is noisy - cheap made - the knob falls off, it will not stay on. when it runs it sounds like something in side is loose and it rattles
Cons: Not Durable, it rattels, very noisy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Phoenix.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality fan

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This reversible fan was easy to install, It has the power I need and the reversible feature makes it very versatile,
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Roanoke, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't last long

PostedAugust 24, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Nice fan, but a little less powerful than my last one, and it only lasted two years just using it in the summer months since we live in VA.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

No surprises here. It moves lots more air than a box fan or twin window fan

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I'm enjoying this fan. It has done a great job so far bringing in fresh air. The low and medium settings are nice and quiet however the high setting does produce a lot of noise, but I guess that is to be expected. I really like the ability to attach it to the window frame rather than having to reinstall the fan each time I want to open and close the window.
My only concern is that the dial feels kind of flimsy. It's made of plastic and I'm almost certain that it will break one day. Or maybe that's just me being paranoid.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

Love our fan

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
fast shipping,great product at the best price I could find
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Charlotte, North Carolina

16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love this fan. I run an in-home daycare and as you can imagine, the house does not always smell good. Now that I have this exhaust fan, I can open the window everyday for about 20 minutes and the results are incredible. The fan was easy to install and I can open and close the window easily without moving the fan. I bought an air conditioner weather strip (foam, 2 inches wide) to put between the fan and the window when it is open to ensure a snug fit. I am no longer embarrassed when I open the door. I haven't used the fan to pull air in yet, we are going through pollen season.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Astoria, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Fan

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The fan is exactly what we needed. It is exactly as the description. It did make a lot of noise at first, but I buffered it with some thin cardboard and it is fine. While I found it for a little less on Amazon but they were out of stock. the convenience of ordering on line and picking it up at my local store was a plus.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: noisy as made
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Near Brentwood, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simply the best window fan ever.

PostedAugust 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The fan comes ready to assemble, the installation is easy, and the fan is top quality. It cools my entire house down very quickly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Hunterdon County, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A DECENT FAN

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The fan works well but is cheaply made. The switch needs a lot of force to turn. I am satisfied with this product but since you can buy a 16" fan for $19 I find it hard to understand why it cost $60 for a cheap plastic fan. There are few window fans available these days so your choices are limited.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
Cons: cheap feel
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Nashua, NH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Met my need

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needed the frame to extend to its maximum (36 3/4") to attach to the outer edge of the window frame. The inside frame edge was too narrow. The color is a light ivory.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Washington DC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

OKay but not as solid as older models

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There are very few choices for this type of exhaust fan. It performs fine but is much flimsier than my previous fan, which would have worked fine for many more years if I had not made a mistake that resulted in a motor burnout. So it is fine, less expensive that competitor, and Home Depot had the best price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

Large Window Fans

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great fan! I need to pick up a few more... They do a great job keeping a room cool!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 19 >>