728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Window Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

The LASKO 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan circulates air through up to 3 rooms. The Storm Guard feature makes it possible to close the window behind the fan during inclement weather and for security when you're away. The fan fits windows sized 26-1/2 in. L x 34-1/2 in. W x 22 in. H and includes side expander panels for a custom fit. Electrically reversible motor changes air flow with the turn of a dial.
Overall rating:
4.12 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(308 reviews) 308
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product259 of 295reviews
Rating Breakdown 308 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(138)
4
(112)
3
(29)
2
(15)
1
(14)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product259 of 295reviews
Customer reviews for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
Review 1 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Astoria, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Fan

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The fan is exactly what we needed. It is exactly as the description. It did make a lot of noise at first, but I buffered it with some thin cardboard and it is fine. While I found it for a little less on Amazon but they were out of stock. the convenience of ordering on line and picking it up at my local store was a plus.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: noisy as made
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

Nice product

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My family was looking for a window fan to circulate air and take out smoke in our living room from cigarette use. This fan works really well and gets the job done. Even in the cold weather and snow, the room stays warm as long as the fan is working and sucking air out. On really cold and windy nights we have noticed some cold air tries to push through. When the fan is not in use just be sure to close the window so the cold does not enter. Window installation was pretty easy, just be sure to take the extendable side out and line them up and mark to place screws instead of the entire fan, it makes it much easier.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Philadelphia, PA, USA

nice reveverse and foward air flow.easy to install.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
its very convienent because you can close your window without taking the unit out.this is our 3rd fan in the last 15 years.i would give it a 5 star if it would last longer but i cant complain because we use it alot in the house.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Vero Beach, FL, USA

Does exactly what I bought it to do.

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
One of the few things I've bought that I can say that about. :)
I bought it because several evenings/nights here in Florida it's warm enough inside to need the AC yet the outside air feels cool and dry enough that it seems a waste to run the AC. I put it in a window in an unused room, turn it on exhaust, open the window by my bed(or wherever I am) and have a nice QUIET cool breeze that I could never achieve with my floor fan.
I feel it's one of those all-too-few "good investments" that I've tried to make that actually worked.
I realize that with the thick humidy down here in the summer, there will be nights when it won't do the trick but until then, it does just what I bought it for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Live in an Attic

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So, I live in an attic and this fan works just great! I have to run the a/c during the day, but this allows me to open the windows (ahhhh!) during the evening and night time. I live in the mid-atlantic region, so it's super humid, but this fan still seems to work well cooling off 3 of my four rooms. The price is very good too. And you really can open and close the window behind it (if your trim is wide enough - the fan installs to the trim on the inside of your window). The only thing it that the plastic that holds it in place seems kind of flimsy, so I don't know how long it will last. The plastic on the fan seems higher quality. Over all very happy with this purchase.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Boise, ID
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lasko 16" reversible fan

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I knew that the fan would not expand to a window that was 46" across so I made a spacer out of a white shelf and wood. After priming and painting the wood, I installed it with a few screws on the bottom and left side to make it solid to mount to. I installed the fan and tried it out. The room that it is in is a 500 sq. ft. bonus, which is upstairs. In the summer it runs warmer than the rest of the house even though it is on the house air conditioning. It was cooler outside than in the house so I put the fan on high to pull the colder air in. My wife said she could feel the cool air coming down the stairs into the hallway and kitchen. The upstairs room quickly cooled down. This is a great fan for the application and is certainly powerful.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

No surprises here. It moves lots more air than a box fan or twin window fan

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm enjoying this fan. It has done a great job so far bringing in fresh air. The low and medium settings are nice and quiet however the high setting does produce a lot of noise, but I guess that is to be expected. I really like the ability to attach it to the window frame rather than having to reinstall the fan each time I want to open and close the window.
My only concern is that the dial feels kind of flimsy. It's made of plastic and I'm almost certain that it will break one day. Or maybe that's just me being paranoid.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

16 inch window fan

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Its a nice fan but the description is misleading. A 16 inch fan should fit in my window however the frame the fan is in exceeds 23 inches tall and hence it would not fit. Moreover the side extensions are different from my windows, being fiberglas I cannot drill into them like a wood window.
Bottom line is the fan housing needs to be redesigned so the frame size height for the 16 inch fan is no bigger than 20 inches and the side extensions need to have the option of no edges if you need to slide it into window tracks. They need a stiffer material for the extensions that will slide into narrow tracks. Possiblly they could offer a choice of side extensions or include both kinds in the box.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install, size in description does not match measured height
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Denver Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AWESOME customer service from Lasko

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am going on my third fan in 10 years, and they're on almost all summer 24-7. I dismantled the fan to clean it and lost one of the locking washers. I phoned Lasko and they sent me replacements for free. Prior to this fan I broke one of the blades. Glue and epoxy were not a good fix and threw off the balance. Lasko sent me a new one for $15 plus shipping. It arrived quickly and the shipping on the package cost more than I was charged. That was a nice surprise.
I have encouraged many friends to buy and install this fan. They think a box fan will do the job until I bring this over and show them the difference.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, great factory support: american made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Baltimore, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

invaluable for brick rowhouse in Baltimore

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had these fans for the last 10 years (al least) and they go a long way to making sleeping possible in summer months (I don't like window-unit air-conditioning). The only frustration I have had with these fans is that lubricating them (after years of use) is not possible. I am delighted that Home Depot carries these fans online but I'm frustrated that they're not carried in-store. I bought 2 recently (online) and finally was able to replace my 2 expired/defunct versions of these fans. A great product, not particularly high-tech, but very servicable. The plastic grill eventually degrades in sunlight after 5? 6? 7? 8? years so an older fan should be handled gingerly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Charlotte, North Carolina

16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this fan. I run an in-home daycare and as you can imagine, the house does not always smell good. Now that I have this exhaust fan, I can open the window everyday for about 20 minutes and the results are incredible. The fan was easy to install and I can open and close the window easily without moving the fan. I bought an air conditioner weather strip (foam, 2 inches wide) to put between the fan and the window when it is open to ensure a snug fit. I am no longer embarrassed when I open the door. I haven't used the fan to pull air in yet, we are going through pollen season.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Brooklyn, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Second one that I purchased

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this fan!
I have one on the first floor and it works great for both exhaust and intake. The floor is about 800 square foot and it does a really nice job.
I bought this for a second one for the second floor of the house. It is in my daughters room and it also works great. We have really cut down on the need for AC which saves us money and helps the environment.
The ability to close the window with the fan in place is H U G E !!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design, works great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Rye Brook, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Okay and it is working.

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The fan doesn't move as much air as I thought it would but it does move a good amount on high. The construction is a bit filmsy but it is working. The dial on the fan is stiff. I would have expected slightly better construction for the price. I would buy it again. I hope to have it work for a few seasons and then it will be worth it. The box looked liked it had been repacked and returned so I was a bit worried but it worked out of the box with no problem.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Franklin, NCAA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst purchase - it arrived broken and it's taking over a month to get credit back on my card!

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I will never do another internet purchase withHome Depot. We do not have a store in our town and the nearest one is almost 40 miles away. I didn't want to spend the money on gas and used their return ups sticker. Big mistake! It's taking about 6 weeks to get credit on my card for the defective merchandise.
Cons: broken
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Very Good Reversible Window Fan

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The fan was easy to install and for the past month has done a fine job in cooling the room. The reversible feature has worked well. I would put "Excellent" in categories of "Overall", "Quality", and "Value" but will wait until the season is finished to see how the fan performs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works as a "downsized whole house fan

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Didn't want the whole house fan with louvers etc.....too too noisy
Put this in ceiling of second floor. Does the same job. I am disappointed manufactures have discontinued building a simple whole house fan. The only item missing on this fan is a thermostat.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

Good Fan

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It's a nice fan and I like the features it has but the $77 price tag is a bit on the pricey side. For $77 I would have expected a little more to it, but it is a good fan overall, once you get passed the cost.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Palm Coast, FL
Age Range:65 or over

The Perfect Choice

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fan was simple to install in the window and covers entire opening. It's very quiet and moves lots of air.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Maryland
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

very good purchase

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using the fan since I bought.It has been troubled free. I like it very much and I bought another one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
from Santa Cruz, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as claimed

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install, works as claimed. Not as noisy as I thought it would be.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 16 >>