728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Window Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

The LASKO 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan circulates air through up to 3 rooms. The Storm Guard feature makes it possible to close the window behind the fan during inclement weather and for security when you're away. The fan fits windows sized 26-1/2 in. L x 34-1/2 in. W x 22 in. H and includes side expander panels for a custom fit. Electrically reversible motor changes air flow with the turn of a dial.
Overall rating:
4.118 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(271 reviews) 271
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product227 of 258reviews
Rating Breakdown 271 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(122)
4
(99)
3
(23)
2
(14)
1
(13)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product227 of 258reviews
Customer reviews for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
Review 1 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
maragha001

Nice product

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My family was looking for a window fan to circulate air and take out smoke in our living room from cigarette use. This fan works really well and gets the job done. Even in the cold weather and snow, the room stays warm as long as the fan is working and sucking air out. On really cold and windy nights we have noticed some cold air tries to push through. When the fan is not in use just be sure to close the window so the cold does not enter. Window installation was pretty easy, just be sure to take the extendable side out and line them up and mark to place screws instead of the entire fan, it makes it much easier.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
Richard
from Vero Beach, FL, USA

Does exactly what I bought it to do.

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
One of the few things I've bought that I can say that about. :)
I bought it because several evenings/nights here in Florida it's warm enough inside to need the AC yet the outside air feels cool and dry enough that it seems a waste to run the AC. I put it in a window in an unused room, turn it on exhaust, open the window by my bed(or wherever I am) and have a nice QUIET cool breeze that I could never achieve with my floor fan.
I feel it's one of those all-too-few "good investments" that I've tried to make that actually worked.
I realize that with the thick humidy down here in the summer, there will be nights when it won't do the trick but until then, it does just what I bought it for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
marclife

No surprises here. It moves lots more air than a box fan or twin window fan

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm enjoying this fan. It has done a great job so far bringing in fresh air. The low and medium settings are nice and quiet however the high setting does produce a lot of noise, but I guess that is to be expected. I really like the ability to attach it to the window frame rather than having to reinstall the fan each time I want to open and close the window.
My only concern is that the dial feels kind of flimsy. It's made of plastic and I'm almost certain that it will break one day. Or maybe that's just me being paranoid.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
Daycare
from Charlotte, North Carolina

16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this fan. I run an in-home daycare and as you can imagine, the house does not always smell good. Now that I have this exhaust fan, I can open the window everyday for about 20 minutes and the results are incredible. The fan was easy to install and I can open and close the window easily without moving the fan. I bought an air conditioner weather strip (foam, 2 inches wide) to put between the fan and the window when it is open to ensure a snug fit. I am no longer embarrassed when I open the door. I haven't used the fan to pull air in yet, we are going through pollen season.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
Smoker
from New York State
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Perfect for Smokers: Venting Smoke to Outside in 4 seasons weather

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Confined to one room of your home due to cigarette smoking? Mounted this in my small office so I can close the window when not smoking, esp. needed in winter! Draws the smoke and pushes it outside. Pulls the fresh air (from the rest of the home) under the closed door. No one else is now bothered by the smoke.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
smokingman
from Woodstock, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great for my purpose! I am a smoker.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This window fan works great in my garage to exhaust smoke.
I am a smoker but only in my garage. This fan, when set to exhaust, clears most of the smoke from one or two smokers. It will not handle more than that but neither will any other system that doesn't cost hundreds, if not thousands, of dollars. It is usually just me using it and I find that even set on low it generally does the trick. Medium setting works even better but I have never even had it on high. It removes enough smoke to at least keep it from going into the house when I open the interior door.
I have used the smaller double window fans before without much luck (even in a smaller space). I have a fairly typical 2 car garage that is approx. 20' x 20'.
I installed it in about 5 minutes and love the fact that I can keep my screen on and close the window easily when fan is not in use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Lots of Features
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
Bill
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great fan, great purchase.

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd Lasko fan of this type. They are great for keeping the elements out while still providing light to heavy ventilation. As smokers, this fan is perfect for completely removing smoke from the room. Relatively easy to clean and relatively long lasting depending on your use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
Pisces3rd
from Flatbush - Ditmas Park, Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product works great

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like this product very much. But I was very disappointed when I received this product because I thought this fan has metal blades and metal front and back. Only metal part is the front cover and rest of the body is made of plastic, which I think is easy to break. So be careful when using this fan. This is not a quiet fan but better than the others. I bought this to use it as an exhaust fan in my kitchen and Will use it more in summer time. So far I used it only 2 times.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: plastic made- easy to break
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
ColoradoKate
from Aurora, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does a great job!

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought the fan for a window that a smoker in our home uses to vent the smoke. The fan does an excellent job sucking the smoke right out. The storm feature allow us to close the window and keep out the cold when they are not smoking. I highly recommend this fan. Very quiet for the size.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
SteveBassFisher
from Bartow, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation, Works great!

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Moves the air as expected. 3 speeds make it easy to control air flow through the house. Very quite operation. Great product for the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
Dacokes
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and does exactly what it claims

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a large efficiency around 650 sq ft and I smoke all day everyday in my house. I keep the fan on and the room is cleared pretty much by the time done smoking. I had to wearer strip my door because it was sucking all the outside air inwards . Very powerful fan, I've gone thorough a few just because the old ones didn't work well and clear the room how I like.. This ones here to stay!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Durable, High Quality
Cons: Too Heavy, not for small or even medium sized windows.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
Alex
from Skokie, IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cool our whole house

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was the largest fan that would fit into one of our windows, but I bought it with some trepidation. I'm delighted with it. It takes some time, but with a window open just a little in each room and the fan set on high exhaust it brings the temperature down in our 1300 SF house once the outside temperature is lower than the inside temp. As others have pointed out, it is noisy on high and we've been very careful of the center control knob. We are using it in a room other than our bedroom because of the noise. For the money, I'm very pleased!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
PiEMoNt

Great Fan

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased 2 for my 2 story house and installed 1 downstairs and 1 upstairs. It definitely cools the entire house down. On exhaust mode, the only way you will feel a breeze no matter what fan you purchase is if you get enough air flow (cfm) for the volume of air in your house. Opening/closing select windows and proper placement of the fans is just as important as the proper fan and the correct airflow (cfm) if you want to feel a "breeze". I can testify that you can literally feel the air being sucked into the house with my setup. Having too many windows open on exhaust mode will minimize air flow through each window so you won't feel a breeze but that doesn't mean it doesn't work.
On intake mode on high, you may need to secure the door because the fan will blow it shut.
I like them so much I plan on purchasing two more, especially for the price.
My only negative comment is that the selector switch may have been damaged during the delivery and the hi/med/low/off switch did not operate properly. It required a relatively easy fix to verify the wiring connections inside the selector switch were making proper contact, good as new after the fix and 1 hour of time.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
The225riot
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, easy installation, gets the job done.

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Using it as an intak/exhaust fan for my workshop to take out smoke or bring In fresh air. Works great so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
walenevea
from Lisbon, Ohio

Non-Smokers Savior

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I purchased this fan to put in my mother in laws (her mother) room as she is an avid smoker and neither of us smoke! Prior to having this fan the upstairs constantly smelled of smoke and it was annoying to both of us. I installed the fan right next to her chair where she does 99% of her smoking while watching TV and it has made a tremendous difference in the upstairs smell! We had her place it on "EXHAUST" which draws the smoke directly outside and this was a godsend for us! The fan is VERY easy to install and will fit MOST normal size windows! I would definitley reccomend this to anyone needing a window fan for similar purposes and I'm quite sure the actual "FAN" works just as well if someone used it for this as well!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
flydangler
from Pawtucket, RI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much better than a double fan window unit.

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This replaces a double window fan and the difference was amazing! It doesn't have all the bells and whistles some window fans have, but pushes or exhausts much more air than any other unit I've ever seen. Easy to mount and use.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
shell
from pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works wonderful

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
lasko fan 16 inch works great just what i needed.
would recommed for moving air in summer and winter .
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
CD180
from Maine

"Good" Quality fan

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this fan recently after spending countless hours of searching for large single blade type fan. The only manufacturers out there In the U.S. are Lasko and air king ( much higher priced )
The only draw back is it does not have a thermostat, something I installed before using. Yes I have voided the warranty but if you desire this and know someone with good electrical skills ...try it .
Also mentioned in other reviews .....It is important to keep the unit clean , when the fan starts to show signs ( as with any fan) of slow starts , take apart and lubricate with a turbine oil (light oil). Clean the shaft with WD-40 on a Q-tip wipe away any residue. Apply 1-2 drops oil at base of shaft where it enters the bushing. Spin by hand several times and then turn fan on without blade, for 1-2 min ...no more. Try a restart , fan should come back to normal turn on speed right away. If these fans (or any other fan ) become too sluggish to start they will over heat and a thermal fuse will blow ...killing the fan to prevent the possibility of fire. But for those with the better skills ,the thermal fuse can be replaced ...with some patience ....and most any fan will last a very long time.
This is a good fan and I would recommend it all around. P.S. any vibration of the blades at full speed should warrant you return it to the nearest H.Depot store after calling the online customer service for notification of problems and get another fan.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
ThrftGrl

Can't believe how much power it packs!

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This little thing is amazing! I used it on exhaust in a second bedroom, and it actually blew the door closed when on HIGH setting, that's how much power it has. You can practically feel the suction, and yet it's not sucking *you* in. Installation was a breeze once I figured out how to "drive a screw" into the wall. This little guy turned my second bedroom into smoking lounge that even non smokers can't smell! I smoked one cigarette in there, and when I walked back into the room, it actually smelled fresh! Worth every penny!
Pros: Great Value, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 in. Electrically Reversible Window Fan
rgt50846
from Rego Park, NY

Shoddy product

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this fan last December 29, 2012. It just stopped running yesterday 10/23/13. Didn't even last 10 months of normal daily use as a window fan. Was not subjected to any type of extreme conditions. As a matter of fact, I took it out of the window if it was really windy outside because you could see that the (underpowered) motor was struggling to keep the fan spinning, even on medium. At high speed, the thing was so noisy it was virtually unusable. We had one of these a few years ago and didn't think much of it then either, but our options are limited because of the size and shape of the window we use it in. The only thing I can really say about it is it's priced low, but now I know why. Didn't even try to get it replaced under 1 year limited warranty. Just got aggravated and threw it out. I'll find something else, even if I have to pay more money. Don't buy this if the window you're going to put it in is exposed to any winds - the unit can't take it.
Pros: cheap cost
Cons: Not Durable, underpowered motor
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>