728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for The Big Island 30 in. Kitchen Island

The Big Island 30 in. Kitchen Island

The Catskill Craftsmen The Big Island 30 in. Kitchen Island offers 7-1/2 sq. ft. of work space. The cabinet features doors on both sides for convenient access to stowed items while the large full-extension gives even more storage space. This island also features locking caster wheels, towel bars on both sides, an adjustable/removable middle shelf and decorative nickel plated handles. Constructed of North American hardwood with a natural oiled finish and warp-resistant hardwood veneer panels.
Overall rating:
4.28 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product22 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product22 of 25reviews
Customer reviews for The Big Island 30 in. Kitchen Island
Review 1 for The Big Island 30 in. Kitchen Island
from Michigan

Well-constructed and beautiful, but needed to replace part.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The island is well-constructed and beautiful. It fits our needs exactly as we expected (remember to buy the mineral oil - it's essential).
The only difficulty we had is that we found a crack in one of the main pieces - AFTER my husband had spent several hours putting it together. He had to take it completely apart and then put it back together after the replacement piece arrived. Customer service was great; we had the new part in less than a week.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: needed to replace cracked piece
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Big Island 30 in. Kitchen Island
from Arlington, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Big Island 30" Kitchen Island is a great buy!

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The unit is well constructed and the installation instructions are excellent. One of the parts was broken in shipment, but I called Customer Services and they shipped one out to me that same day. The Island is beautiful and very functional....we would recommend it to our friends. Thanks!
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Big Island 30 in. Kitchen Island
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, difficult assembly

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I consider myself somewhat handy but this thing took over 8 hours to assemble and the drawer still doesn't work quite right. We decided to exclude the wheels, which gives it a much sharper finish but makes it sit low to the ground.
It would have been much easier had the different pieces of wood and hardware been labeled. It was a guessing game the majority of the time.
I would recommend this to most people, if you can spare the expensive price tag and the cost of hiring a professional to put it together for you.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: difficult assembly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Big Island 30 in. Kitchen Island
from Kansas City, MO

Survives heavy use and wild toddlers!

PostedJune 18, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have had this island for a year now. I chose this particular model because it has the doors on both sides for easy access and I like the dimensions of the top. I decorate cakes and cookies for a living and this gives ample area to roll out large batches of dough or assemble/decorate a large wedding cake. The other models may have had the same overall surface area but they were wider and not as deep. This model is wide enough without sacrificing depth. Who cares if an island is wide if it's not deep enough to roll a pie crust? The islands that have a leaf extension can only hold so much weight on the leaf. So even though those models can have comparable surface area with the leaf up, not all of that is completely sturdy. There's tons of storage inside. I use it to hold all of my huge, bulky, hard-to-store items, like a huge electric griddle, crock-pots, big bowls, etc.
I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 just because I had no idea how much effort it took to maintain a butcher block (to stay attractive that is)! Maybe that's just the nature of butcher block. I've never had it before. You cant leave glasses with condensation, wet food prep such as rinsed veggies, etc. for an extended amount of time. It leaves a white mark where the wet area was. Mind you, this doesn't happen if those wet items are removed somewhat quickly. I will say that those white marks do fade away after an oiling or two (any stains like dye can be removed by slightly sanding with extra-fine grit sandpaper or one of those green scrubber pads). That leads me to my other gripe about the maintenance: this island top needs to be "oiled" frequently to keep it from drying out and cracking. The manufacturer recommends their own product (which does not come with this purchase by the way). If I remember right, it was going to cost $15 plus s/h. But the directions do say that mineral oil is an acceptable substitute. The mineral oil is cheap and readily available so that's what I use (you can find it in most any store by the laxitives). It takes only a couple minutes to rub the oil in with a cloth. It does make the finish look very beautiful and shows off the woodgrain. The bad thing is, although the oil is absorbed somewhat quickly, it leaves a slightly oily residue for a few hours so don't set any important papers on it or lean against it with good clothes til that residue is gone. I usually oil it right before I go to bed so it can soak in of a night. I have medium to dark-colored oak cabinets in my kitchen so I was worried about the wood of this island looking too blonde/light. But the wood darkens with oiling and normal use. It matches perfectly now.
When I first received the island, I can't say that it was packed very well. I was surprised to see there was no padding between pieces. But there wasn't a whole lot of free space for the pieces to "float around" either. The "fake" drawer front had a split in the wood (it looked like a manufacturing flaw rather than damage from shipping). I called the company and a new drawer front was sent within a week. Other than that, I have had no problems. I was worried about sturdiness and attractiveness when I saw the appearance of the wood- it didn't appear to be very thick and the woodgrain wasn't obvious. But once assembled and oiled, it becomes more beautiful with time. I am surprised how sturdy it is actually. I have family over a lot and the toddlers seem to want to use the side bars (towel racks) as a jungle gym/chin bar. I am amazed they havent broken yet as those kiddos have thrown their whole weight and hung on them.
Although this particular model doesn't have an extended bar leaf, we have put 2 bar stools on one side and there's just enough of a lip on the edge that we can sit and eat at it of a morning. My daughter and visitors like to sit in the bar stools and talk to me while I prepare meals. When no one is sitting on that side, I do like the advantage of having a set of doors on that side as well so I don't have to dig around inside to find something. Everything is accessible..there is no "climbing" in a cave to find that one piece you need that always seems to be shoved in the very back : )
I am very hard on my island (I bake and cook alot) but it holds up very well. If I had my choice and money didn't matter, I would choose a granite-top but granite with this large of a surface would cost an arm and a leg. But for the money and the amount of storage and surface area, you can't beat this particular island. I definitely recommend it.
+41points
41out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Big Island 30 in. Kitchen Island
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product was great!

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We ordered this Island and was shipped on time. The pieces were all in two boxes. The directions were easy and simple. The finished product once finished was everything I expected. The drawer is high and deep. The cabinet inside holds so many appliances and you can get to the back of the cabinet from the other side. I would order Catskill products again.
Pros: Portable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Big Island 30 in. Kitchen Island

Just what I was looking for

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a well made, attractive, and useful kitchen island. Having doors that open on both sides make it easy to access items stored on it's large interior shelves. We did have some initial issues with the product when we first opened the boxes, but believe those were shipping issues, and not product or manufacturer related. The manufacturer was always quick to respond and rectify any issues that were brought to their attention.
Pros: Portable, Looks Great, Nice Design
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Big Island 30 in. Kitchen Island
from Albuquerque, NM

Big Island w/ Doors Both Sides

PostedFebruary 14, 2007
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I'm a real person, so no 5 stars. There were several problems, but over all this is still an attractive & functional island. The problems were:
1. The parts list & instructions don't quite match the current product they are shipping.
2. The drawer bottom was 3/16" flimsy and in bad condition. Rather than ask them to replace it, I bought a 1/4" sturdy piece and cut it to size. 1/4" still fits the slots.
3. The shelf supports are inadequate. The upper shelf won't stay in place (falls down) and I'm going to have to jury rig something to hold it up so it can be used.
4. Two of the four wheels don't lock in place leaving the island more mobile that I would like.
Basically, it looks like they've cut a few too many corners on what should be an excellent product.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Big Island 30 in. Kitchen Island

Big surface, roomy drawers and cabinets

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very stable for forceful chopping, kneading and pounding, but also easy to move when needed. Downside is that the surface is a bit rough. Still needs some sanding and treatment with mineral oil.
Pros: Convenient, Looks Great, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Big Island 30 in. Kitchen Island

PostedNovember 20, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The packaging was not good and we had to ask for replacements for two damaged pieces. In addition, there were some screws missing. Replacement parts were sent to us immediately.
Two of us put the island together in 2-3 hours.
I sanded, stained and added polyurethane to the cabinet (not the butcher block) and am happy with the result. For us it is a useful piece.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Big Island 30 in. Kitchen Island
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very solid cabinet. The wheels are solid and moves around very easily even when the cabinet is loaded with a heavy mixer and all my baking racks and pans/dishes.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Big Island 30 in. Kitchen Island
from Elkridge,Md.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great addition to my Kitchen

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Many parts and pieces, but very well made, exactly what I was looking for. Assembly was easy, just follow the instruction sheet. I added my own spice rack to one side , company should make options like that to inhance a very workable piece. I could envision a optional spice rack to go in place of one of the handles/towel racks. Again I would recommend this product and any of the Catskill wood Islands to friends and family.
Pros: Portable, Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Big Island 30 in. Kitchen Island
from Lawrenceville
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As Advertized

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As others have said, one part was broken in transit, but Catskill replaced it with zero hassle. It is pretty simple to assemble, but you have to be careful to sort the connectors. I check at the store before purchasing and the guy said they get zero complaints about quality or durability. It is solid and well built.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Big Island 30 in. Kitchen Island

Very nice product and great way to add some working area to your kitchen.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is very well made and assembly was very straight forward. I would recommend it to anyone.
Pros: Looks Great, Convenient, Nice Design, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Big Island 30 in. Kitchen Island
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Difficult to assemble

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would have given this product an excellent, but, it was an absolute nightmare to assemble. None of the boards or pieces were labeled. Trying to compare a 2 dimensional drawing to 3 dimensional pieces was impossible. I assembled it 4 times and disassembled it 3 times before I got it right. I think it’s right.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Big Island 30 in. Kitchen Island
from Ontario, OR

kitchen island

PostedDecember 27, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The kitchen Island is perfect for our needs. An attractive butcher block top and extremely useful storage in the cabinet below.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Big Island 30 in. Kitchen Island
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

poorly built

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Island came in two boxes, one was packed very well the other had two severely crushed parts. I called and was sent the replacement parts within a week. It took several hours to put together, the directions were not very clear and a lot of time was spent identifying the parts. The island is very nice looking and I was not unhappy until I heard a crash from the kitchen. The front wheel broke off the pressed wood side panel. When I tried to pick up the island a back wheel broke off the pressed wood panel on the other side .It appears that it can not hold it's own weight The cabinet was empty. I called the store and they had it picked up. Now I am waiting for my money to be returned.
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Big Island 30 in. Kitchen Island
from ny
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good for the price

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product is very nice, has good space inside and looks great in my kitchen.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Big Island 30 in. Kitchen Island
from SUN CITY, CA

Kitchen Island

PostedDecember 14, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is wonderful! I've had it only a week, but......No problem to order & arrived on time! My son put it together with ease. Perfect size and I love the door access from both sides of the cabinet. My daughter-in-law likes mine better than the one that's built into her kitchen. Would recommend this to anyone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Big Island 30 in. Kitchen Island

great island but came with broken parts and customer service sucks!

PostedMay 4, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The wood island is very nice looking, holds a lot of stuff, and convenient with both sides having doors. The problem is that it came with a broken wood piece and a missing magnet for a set of doors. It has been a month and the parts have not arrived. Very disappointed with Catskill and their customer service department. I wouldn't have purchased this island if I had known that I would have this issue.
Pros: Portable, Convenient, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: arrived broken and no parts yet to repair it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Big Island 30 in. Kitchen Island
from Rio Rancho, NM, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The quality of this product is great.

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were apprehensive about purchasing this product because we were not able to see anything by this company in the flesh. Sometimes pictures do not adequate depict a product, but the quality was everything and more than we expected. It did take some doing to assemble, but other than one manufacturing flaw and two missing screws everything worked fine. The company promptly sent a replacement board and extra hardware to make the assembly complete. As to use, I fully expect it to be an asset to my kitchen. I would readily recommend this product to anyone.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Portable, Convenient, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>