728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Heater Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer

Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer

The Watts Plastic Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer provides instant hot water at your faucet or shower, eliminating water waste caused by waiting for water to heat up. The unique pump design offers quiet, maintenance-free operation and includes a programmable timer that activates the pump only when you need it.
Overall rating:
4.158 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(95 reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product77 of 94reviews
Rating Breakdown 95 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(59)
4
(18)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(12)
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product77 of 94reviews
Customer questions and answers:
33 Questions | 133 Answers
Customer reviews for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
Review 1 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
SkullGirl
from Taylor, TX
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This fixed a need!

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Surprisingly easy to install. Gives me the desired hot water. Only drawback I see is that I have to set the timer every time my schedule changes and that's every day or two. But at least NOW I can have hot water in my bathroom!!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
Latney
from Chesapeake, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This was exactly what we were looking for.

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was easy to install. My biggest issue was how the hot water line out of the hot water heater was very close to the exhaust for the hot water heater (gas heater). Other than that it was easy to install and set up. We haven't had a water or gas bill since installing but we love having the hot water when we want it and not having to run the water for 5 minutes for it to warm up.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
Rich
from Wallkill, NY 12589, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product reduces the wasted water that goes down the drain waiting for hot water to reach the faucet.

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product reduces the wasted water that goes down the drain waiting for hot water to reach the faucet.
I installed it on the output of the internal hot water (tank less) coil in my oil burner. I cut the pipe and inserted it in series with the hot water output pipe. I also had to purchase a 3/4 in union and a 3/4 in male thread adapter to complete the installation. I also choose not to use the programmable internal timer or leave it on constantly. Instead I put it on a remote control wireless outlet and can turn it on and off remotely from the bath room. It works great. Prior to installing it three gallons of water would go down the drain before hot water reached the faucets. It take about 4 minutes before the hot water reaches the facet, but we just turn on the remote first and do some other thing until the hot water reaches the faucet I could still choose to use the programmable timer and have it automatically start before we get up or set it to go on and off during the day using the internal timer.
Reading the reviews before I bought this re-circulating pump people were complaining that the hot cold diverter valve that is at the heart of the system "wore out or failed and had to be replaced.
After installation I noticed even with the pump off hot water was still re-circulating in the cold water pipe. At first I thought the hot cold diverter valve had failed. So I ran the hot water until it reached the temperature that it was supposed to close at. The valve did indeed close so the valve was working properly. I discovered I was getting gravity feed through the system from the hot water side to the cold water side. I solved this problem by installing an anti-gravity (one way) valve above the pump. This solved the problem and stopped the siphoning. The system has been working great ever since.
We have been very happy with the system and are saving about 9 gallons of water a day on average that would be about 3285 gallons a year from going down the drain
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+80points
101out of 122found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
BigBlue
from South Carolina
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

May use considerably more gas.

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed the unit several months ago and it works as advertised for the most part. A few observations that aren't discussed in the materials. Depending on the duration of the interval(s) the pump is on will impact your energy bills.
I started out keeping it on 100% of the time. I assumed the sensor would cut off the flow and not waste gas. The water heater ran much more frequently. We are retired and do not keep a tight schedule so it was difficult to find a time where we all took showers or used much hot water. I compromised down to seven hours divided into two intervals. Then I compared the gas bills for the same months the previous year for two months. It is difficult to confirm with only two months data -- but the unit seems to be costing between 13 and 18 dollars per month to operate. I think that cost falls far short of "justified" by the water savings. I will need to reduce the running time significantly. The only way I can accomplish this, is to turn the pump on only when hot water is needed. I am planning to install a wireless remote controlled outlet for the unit. I plan to run the pump for a few minutes before getting into the shower etc. This means everyone in the family will need to learn the on/off remote control process -- and hopefully never forget to turn the pump off after the hot water arrives. I have found several wireless outlets that can control a 1/3 HP Motor using google etc. .
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: Too Slow, wastes energy, lacks electrical specs.
+33points
35out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
Randy
from Folsom CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Watts Pump

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install. I had to purchase an extra valve on-line because my kitchen is on a different circuit than the master bath. Home Depot did not carry the valve kit in the store.
Hot water is warm and quickly gets hot and the cold water is slightly warm but quickly cools.
I have read that some people have used a 7 day timer with the pump instead of the 24 hour timer on the pump so that on weekends the pump is on during the entire day.
This is saving lots of water!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
GravyDavy
from San Diego, Ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Outstanding product !

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed the entire system in about half an hour. Fast and simple. I set the timer and things work flawlessly. When pumping, there is warm water at the farthest sink for about 5-10 seconds, a lot better than the one and a half to two mins. it took before. A perfect product to conserve our ever vanishing resources.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
apextony
from NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and easy to install.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed one of these on my house a few years ago and installed this one at my parents' house in Dec 2011. They are very happy with this product and wonder now just how much water they have been wasting over the years without it!
No additional trips to Home Depot were needed to install this product...everything you will normally need is included. The pump itself is actually a very high quality german made one I'm familiar with from many years in the aquarium hobby.
The price has gone up quite a bit since I first installed mine which is the only reason I gave it less than highest rating for value. I still think it's worth it even at the higher price.
+27points
29out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
Schnarfy

Everything as promised!

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's easy to install and you'll never have to wait for hot water again. This is the 4th one I've installed for friends and they're amazed!
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
wchen
from Glen Cove, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

COLD WATER BECOME HOT WATER

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It work 3 months after that cold water become warm or hot water even my toilet water is hot water. Call tech. support and change sensor valve still same problem. Don't know what to do. My old house use Teco and work good for 7 years, I think Watts w/timer should good try but I did regret my change. If someone know the problems please help me. Thanks!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: desgin problem
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
Duke

Installed fairly easy

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The only problem I have is the timer in multiple setting a problem, not accurate & seems to run to long if not all the time Marty
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
Twiddy4008
from Indian Land, SC 29707, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

easy installation

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product took about an hour to install. Worked as I expected after reading different ratings and reviews. I also ordered a 2nd valve kit. I installed the timer/pump on the water heater and the 1st valve kit in the master bed room in the back of the house. I installed the 2nd valve kit in the kitchen sink. My house is a rancher and built on a concrete slab with the water lines buried in the floor. The kitchen feed is on a separate line than the bathroom. I set the times to run in the early morning, supper time and bedtime. Before the installation, it up to two minutes to get hot water in the bathroom. During the specified run times of the pump, it takes around 5 seconds. I have heard the biggest complaint of the unit was the valve becoming defective. I will have to wait to see if this happens. I would like to order a spare valve, but without all the connections and adapters. The only way I have found to order a spare valve is to order the whole spare valve kit for around fifty dollars. I would think just the plastic valve should be no more than twenty five dollars. I will add that during the time the pump is running, the cold water becomes warm. I don't find this a problem and I was aware of it before I ordered the unit.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
FISHMONGER
from Lake County, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

PRODUCT PERFORMS PERFECTLY.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
EASY TO INSTALL AND SET UP AND OUR HOME IS TWO STORIES AND OUR WATER IS NOW HOT AT ALL POINTS.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
Daisy
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Didn't work at all

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I paid over $1000 to have an additional electrical outlet installed next to the hot water heater, plus another $300 to have it professionally installed by a plumber. We noticed no difference in the hot water. It still takes almost two minutes to get hot water to our master bath. I tried turning it to the "always on" setting. I could feel the pump running in the unit, but still no difference. Any suggestions?
Cons: didn't do anything.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
coyote
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good for some installations

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've had this system installed and in use for about four years. The most important feature is the use of the cold water return to the heating tank. A cross-over valve is used at the destination to return the heated water to the cool side and back to the water heating tank. This has the great advantage of eliminating a dedicated return pipe. No walls have to be opened and in many houses this avoids a prohibitive cost. But this does degrade performance a bit. Instead of waiting for hot water for the shower for 2-3 minutes, as I previously had to do, warm enough water arrives in a few seconds. A dedicated return line would sense low water temperature at the heater and more evenly supply hot water at the shower or faucet. Water temperature does fluctuate for the first minute or two, but it is an acceptable tradeoff. There is some heating of the cold water but running the water for only perhaps 3 seconds clears that. Not much of a problem there. The pump is very quiet and reliable and you can set it to supply heated water during desired hours only. Overall I'd say this unit meets the requirements for good performance in some situations.
Pros: Reliable
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
DAnS64
from Sun City Ctr., Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Awesome to now have hot water in bathroom remotely located !

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation was easy for this product. Our bathroom is located quite a distance from the hot water heater and this pump makes it so that the bathroom has instant hot water instead of waiting and waiting and waiting for the hot water once you turn on the faucet. Love it.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
nini
from cornville, az
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

only lasted two years

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
easy to install, but did not last.. stopped working after two years
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: only lasted two years and watts would not give me
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
Bruce
from Woodland Hills, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best product I have ever bought at Home Depot so far

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought and installed this product and since the last 2 days I finally can have the hot water quicky in all bathrooms and kitchen.
I bought my house 3 years ago and every time I had to take a shower I had to let the hot water run for at least 4 to 5 minutes until it gets to the shower. that was a lot of wasted water.
I installed this compact product and 20 minutes after installing it I tried it and I was amazed. instead of taking 4 to 5 minutes now it take like 10 seconds for the water to get to my shower and the water has never been so hot. I just love this product.
The installation was pretty easy except that I have to tweak the exhaust pipe since it's pretty close to the exhaust. The timer is pretty easy to setup.
As far as the quality of the product I guess it's is too early to judge. I am hoping that this product can last for at least a few years and continue to work so efficiently as it does right now.
As far as the kit that comes with I did't have to use it, so i found it useless. I hope Watts can sell the circular pump at a cheaper price without the kit and let the end consumers buy the kit if needed.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
Rosco
from Shreveport, La
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

DO NOT BUY THIS PUMP

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This pump cost $208 at big box store. It was installed by a professional plumber for $335. Approx. $50 of that was my tank specific (different flexible hose, etc) and not really product related. So about $285 installation. The timer does not work. The manufacturer says if I take the pump to the big box store, it'll be replaced. BUT.......it'll cost approximately $200 to take it off of the water tank, and approx $200 to install the new pump. I'd be out about $894 total. The company considers this MY problem. So now I have a pump that runs 24/7. A waste of electricity for the pump and gas for the tank.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: unreliable
-13points
13out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
saddened
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't work

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I put this in after soldering and fighting. Added water and it didn't go on. Played with the buttons and it wont go on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
Will
from Flagstaff, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works well and easy to install

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Once I understood that the pump and valve went at different points in the hot water system (pump goes at the water heater and the plastic valve at the farthest point in the hot/cold water system) the install was much easier.
Make sure you read the manual first. The timer setting is easy - if you've read the directions. Typical for most men, I didn't bother and just fiddled with the timer. It would have saved me a few minutes to read the instructions.
Watch that you have a 120 volt outlet near the pump. If you do, insure you put the pump close enough to reach with the cord.
The people at HD were helpful. I needed some help with the right plumbing fittings. I got the "Shark" brand connectors. They needed no soldering. They do cost a bit more, but they were easy to install. Make sure you get some Teflon tape for the threaded fittings on the pump.
So far, we're happy and would recommend this pump. The pump comes on just before we get up and goes off at bedtime. No more wasted water or washing hands with 50 degree water! Our home is Flagstaff and the cold water (in the winter) is 45 to 50 degrees.
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>