728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Heater Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer

Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer

The Watts Plastic Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer provides instant hot water at your faucet or shower, eliminating water waste caused by waiting for water to heat up. The unique pump design offers quiet, maintenance-free operation and includes a programmable timer that activates the pump only when you need it.
Overall rating:
4.101 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(109 reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product88 of 108reviews
Rating Breakdown 109 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(65)
4
(21)
3
(5)
2
(5)
1
(13)
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product88 of 108reviews
Customer questions and answers:
47 Questions | 227 Answers
Customer reviews for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
Review 1 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Taylor, TX
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This fixed a need!

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Surprisingly easy to install. Gives me the desired hot water. Only drawback I see is that I have to set the timer every time my schedule changes and that's every day or two. But at least NOW I can have hot water in my bathroom!!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Novi, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

circulating pump

PostedMay 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This pump is best used hooked up to a remote switch..press the switch remote on to run the pump when preparing to shower, wash dishes, etc., or switch on when entering the bathroom so water will be circulated and hot when you wash your hands, then off after the hot water is fully circulated. Then your water heater won't run more than usual. In the winter the heat radiating off the pipes as the hot constantly circulates would not be wasted, but with a switch you have the option of limiting circulation to what is necessary.
Or, you could run a wire from the outlet to a switch installed upstairs, but good, convenient remote systems are available
Pros: Easy to Install
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Wallkill, NY 12589, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product reduces the wasted water that goes down the drain waiting for hot water to reach the faucet.

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product reduces the wasted water that goes down the drain waiting for hot water to reach the faucet.
I installed it on the output of the internal hot water (tank less) coil in my oil burner. I cut the pipe and inserted it in series with the hot water output pipe. I also had to purchase a 3/4 in union and a 3/4 in male thread adapter to complete the installation. I also choose not to use the programmable internal timer or leave it on constantly. Instead I put it on a remote control wireless outlet and can turn it on and off remotely from the bath room. It works great. Prior to installing it three gallons of water would go down the drain before hot water reached the faucets. It take about 4 minutes before the hot water reaches the facet, but we just turn on the remote first and do some other thing until the hot water reaches the faucet I could still choose to use the programmable timer and have it automatically start before we get up or set it to go on and off during the day using the internal timer.
Reading the reviews before I bought this re-circulating pump people were complaining that the hot cold diverter valve that is at the heart of the system "wore out or failed and had to be replaced.
After installation I noticed even with the pump off hot water was still re-circulating in the cold water pipe. At first I thought the hot cold diverter valve had failed. So I ran the hot water until it reached the temperature that it was supposed to close at. The valve did indeed close so the valve was working properly. I discovered I was getting gravity feed through the system from the hot water side to the cold water side. I solved this problem by installing an anti-gravity (one way) valve above the pump. This solved the problem and stopped the siphoning. The system has been working great ever since.
We have been very happy with the system and are saving about 9 gallons of water a day on average that would be about 3285 gallons a year from going down the drain
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+97points
120out of 143found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Chesapeake, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This was exactly what we were looking for.

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was easy to install. My biggest issue was how the hot water line out of the hot water heater was very close to the exhaust for the hot water heater (gas heater). Other than that it was easy to install and set up. We haven't had a water or gas bill since installing but we love having the hot water when we want it and not having to run the water for 5 minutes for it to warm up.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and easy to install.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed one of these on my house a few years ago and installed this one at my parents' house in Dec 2011. They are very happy with this product and wonder now just how much water they have been wasting over the years without it!
No additional trips to Home Depot were needed to install this product...everything you will normally need is included. The pump itself is actually a very high quality german made one I'm familiar with from many years in the aquarium hobby.
The price has gone up quite a bit since I first installed mine which is the only reason I gave it less than highest rating for value. I still think it's worth it even at the higher price.
+29points
31out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer

This circulator is the Cat's Pajamas

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
DO NOT listen to the bad reviews.
Yes I was skeptical at first. I couldn't understand how this would work.
We installed it and BLAMO. Hot Water in 4 seconds.
No lie.100 foot run.
I repeat, HOT WATER in 4 SECONDS.
I am a believer.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from South Carolina
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

May use considerably more gas.

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed the unit several months ago and it works as advertised for the most part. A few observations that aren't discussed in the materials. Depending on the duration of the interval(s) the pump is on will impact your energy bills.
I started out keeping it on 100% of the time. I assumed the sensor would cut off the flow and not waste gas. The water heater ran much more frequently. We are retired and do not keep a tight schedule so it was difficult to find a time where we all took showers or used much hot water. I compromised down to seven hours divided into two intervals. Then I compared the gas bills for the same months the previous year for two months. It is difficult to confirm with only two months data -- but the unit seems to be costing between 13 and 18 dollars per month to operate. I think that cost falls far short of "justified" by the water savings. I will need to reduce the running time significantly. The only way I can accomplish this, is to turn the pump on only when hot water is needed. I am planning to install a wireless remote controlled outlet for the unit. I plan to run the pump for a few minutes before getting into the shower etc. This means everyone in the family will need to learn the on/off remote control process -- and hopefully never forget to turn the pump off after the hot water arrives. I have found several wireless outlets that can control a 1/3 HP Motor using google etc. .
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: Too Slow, wastes energy, lacks electrical specs.
+38points
41out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Chino Valley, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Small pump but does the job.

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Might want to consider hiring a plumber to install, especially if you have an older water heater. Hot water connections that once were flexible in our 20 year-old home had to be modified with some new connections not included with the pump. Happy with the pump now that it is in and working, however.
Pros: Reliable, efficient pump
Cons: tough to install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Sacramento, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Watts Recirulating Pump

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product did not work as well for me as it did for others. I installed it as directed. No joy. No instant hot water even at the bathroom sink where the sensor valve was installed – it was lukewarm. Then I called Watts tech support and was on hold for over an hour. The support tech gave me several suggestions, none of which were relevant, and then put me on hold for another 5 minutes. When he came back he said everything seemed to be installed “okay.” He suggested I buy another sensor valve as that may be the problem. Whoa! I need to buy another sensor valve for over $50? They aren’t going to offer to replace the one THEY suspect of being faulty? I asked if the pump itself could be faulty. He said no. He said maybe the water temperature wasn’t high enough (it was 117 degrees), so I turned the water heater to max – no difference. I even returned the first system and tried a second system (no way I was going to spend my money for a new sensor valve); new pump and sensor valve. Same result! The pump had no effect on my kitchen sink – it still took about 90 seconds to get hot. But, since I was getting lukewarm water at my shower in just 25 to 30 seconds, versus 90 or more seconds before, I decided to keep the system. I thought I would try installing a second valve at my kitchen sink/dishwasher to see if that would help. It did. Now I was getting lukewarm water almost immediately at that sink and hot water in about 20 seconds – a 70 second improvement. Bottom-line - just be aware that it doesn’t work well in all homes. Summary: I can jump into a lukewarm shower in about 30 seconds (versus 90 seconds or more before) and I get lukewarm, water almost immediately at the kitchen sink (about 90 seconds before). I don’t get hot water at either place until about 20 – 30 seconds after the lukewarm water hits. I guess my experience was unique, but I did want to warn that this pump doesn’t always provide “instant” hot water. Though, it does provide usably warm water fairly quickly and does save me from having to run the water for 90 seconds to get usably warm water. At the least, their customer support stinks. For me, it certainly does not provide instant hot water.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: doesn't provide instant hot water
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Los Angeles area
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works perfectly

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this pump for almost 2 months now and it works great. Where it used to take just over a minute to get hot water in the bathroom it is now instant. A plumber installed it for me but it didn't look all that difficult. You do need an electrical outlet within 10 feet though but I know an electrician who does jobs on the side and he put an outlet in for me right where my water heater is. Since the pump is at the top of the water heater and I would have to use a ladder any time I needed to change the built in timer I just use one of those lamp timers at the outlet. I set it to come on at 7am and go off at 10pm. Don't really notice any higher electric usage but then again in our So. Calif. heat wave it's hard to tell since we've been using the A/C much more often. It has a slight hum sound to it but is pretty quiet running. Saving a few gallons of water a day. Not a heck of a lot but worth it in the long run especially with our draught going on here.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: need electrical outlet not too far away.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Ventura, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This should be code in CA.

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a 1850sqft single story home in Ventura, not far from the coast. The house has insulated copper pipe in the attic. There are two bathrooms on the far side of the house from the water heater. The wait for hot water was around 1.5 minutes in the summer morning to 2.5 minutes in the winter. I installed the sensor valve in the kid’s bathroom. My two boys are tough to get into the shower. Hot water is delivered in about 2-3 seconds. Now we can turn the water on and put one of them in. The second bathroom receives hot water in about 5-7 seconds.
The pump was very easy to install, the sensor valve under the sink, well you know, it’s under the sink.
I can’t imagine how much water we have wasted over the 4 years in this house, and in my other homes.
If you have any wait time for hot water, you should install this system. In California it’s should be in the building code.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good for some installations

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've had this system installed and in use for about four years. The most important feature is the use of the cold water return to the heating tank. A cross-over valve is used at the destination to return the heated water to the cool side and back to the water heating tank. This has the great advantage of eliminating a dedicated return pipe. No walls have to be opened and in many houses this avoids a prohibitive cost. But this does degrade performance a bit. Instead of waiting for hot water for the shower for 2-3 minutes, as I previously had to do, warm enough water arrives in a few seconds. A dedicated return line would sense low water temperature at the heater and more evenly supply hot water at the shower or faucet. Water temperature does fluctuate for the first minute or two, but it is an acceptable tradeoff. There is some heating of the cold water but running the water for only perhaps 3 seconds clears that. Not much of a problem there. The pump is very quiet and reliable and you can set it to supply heated water during desired hours only. Overall I'd say this unit meets the requirements for good performance in some situations.
Pros: Reliable
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from San Diego, Ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Outstanding product !

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed the entire system in about half an hour. Fast and simple. I set the timer and things work flawlessly. When pumping, there is warm water at the farthest sink for about 5-10 seconds, a lot better than the one and a half to two mins. it took before. A perfect product to conserve our ever vanishing resources.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

leaky bath tub faucet

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Instulation was easy & works fine for hot water instantly but when the pump is running the bath tub faucet leaks. I have 50to 60 PSI line preasure from utilities. Even replaced kohler valve which is only 7 years old and still leakes. Called Watts up took two weeks to get a call back and have no clue how to stop the leak. Iam ready to remove it and try another brand.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from DELRAY BEACH, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

WILL NEVER USE A WATTS PRODUCT AGAIN

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
PRODUCT UNDER PERFORMED, WHEN I TRIED TO CONTACT WATTS DIRECT WAS KEPT ON HOLD FOR 26 MINUTES, NO ONE EVER ANSWERED. LEFT THREE MESSAGE NEVER HAD A RETURN CALL
Cons: Too Slow, did not fully supply my home
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Flagstaff, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works well and easy to install

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Once I understood that the pump and valve went at different points in the hot water system (pump goes at the water heater and the plastic valve at the farthest point in the hot/cold water system) the install was much easier.
Make sure you read the manual first. The timer setting is easy - if you've read the directions. Typical for most men, I didn't bother and just fiddled with the timer. It would have saved me a few minutes to read the instructions.
Watch that you have a 120 volt outlet near the pump. If you do, insure you put the pump close enough to reach with the cord.
The people at HD were helpful. I needed some help with the right plumbing fittings. I got the "Shark" brand connectors. They needed no soldering. They do cost a bit more, but they were easy to install. Make sure you get some Teflon tape for the threaded fittings on the pump.
So far, we're happy and would recommend this pump. The pump comes on just before we get up and goes off at bedtime. No more wasted water or washing hands with 50 degree water! Our home is Flagstaff and the cold water (in the winter) is 45 to 50 degrees.
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wasted my money

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I did not expect 120 degree water in 3 seconds but I did expect warm/hot water faster than before the installation. It was marginal at best. I was trying to save money by not getting a 2nd hot water heater or on-demand unit and the plumber's recommendation along with product reviews led me to believe that this was a better choice. My bad. "Warm" water comes at about the 5 second mark but it is noticeable but barely warmer than before. Takes just as long as before to actually get hot (1.5 minutes or so) like for shaving or shower but is OK for washing hands or brushing teeth. Soon as I get a decent thermometer I will post accurate readings. I'll end up getting a real hot water heater and it just irks me to no end to have wasted about $300 (Pump + install) on the empty promises of this product. The unit itself seems to be made well-it just does't perform as advertised. That is, keep hot water moving throughout the system for faster startup in remote areas of the home. I read a review stating about a 100 degree temperature, which is less than at the heater and would be quite acceptable to me. That would be great, but I doubt seriously mine is over 80 degrees. The heater is set at 120 degrees which is standard for my area. It is 90 degrees outside every day and I can only imagine how the performance will degrade once winter arrives. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY! I would return the product if I did not have to pay a plumber to uninstall it but I will definitely write to the company to voice my dissatisfaction.
Pros: Good Instructions, No Leaks, quiet motor
Cons: barely works as advertised
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Florida

watts recirculating pump

PostedSeptember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the greatest thing ever. I admit I was skeptical, but there is nothing to fear. The cold water becoming hot has not been a problem, not even noticeable. I set the pump for most usage. i.e. 7:30am to ll:am then 3pm to 9:00pm. Works like a charm, always hot water easily available, no noticeable increase in electric either. Sorry I didn't get one a lot sooner. It has saved me 13 quarts of water every time I or the family takes a shower. (cold water before hot arrives in bath room) Easy to install. Runs quiet.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great prroduct

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The pump was installed exactly the way the instructions said to install the item.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Folsom CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Watts Pump

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install. I had to purchase an extra valve on-line because my kitchen is on a different circuit than the master bath. Home Depot did not carry the valve kit in the store.
Hot water is warm and quickly gets hot and the cold water is slightly warm but quickly cools.
I have read that some people have used a 7 day timer with the pump instead of the 24 hour timer on the pump so that on weekends the pump is on during the entire day.
This is saving lots of water!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>