728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer

Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer

The Watts Plastic Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer provides instant hot water at your faucet or shower, eliminating water waste caused by waiting for water to heat up. The unique pump design offers quiet, maintenance-free operation and includes a programmable timer that activates the pump only when you need it.
Overall rating:
4.163 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(153 reviews) 153
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product126 of 152reviews
Rating Breakdown 153 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(94)
4
(29)
3
(7)
2
(7)
1
(16)
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product126 of 152reviews
Customer questions and answers:
69 Questions | 349 Answers
Customer reviews for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
Review 1 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from San Jose, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Should have installed this a long time ago.

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The builder of our home put the HW heater in the garage and the master bath and kitchen on the other side of the house. We would need to run the what for over 1 minute to get HW. It took me less than 30 minutes to install the HW Heater pump (you need to pre-measure and pre-plan your hook up). It took 45 minutes to install the under-sink bypass manifold. Mounting the bypass manifold was not an option because of space restrictions; I left it hanging and it is working just fine. It was so nice to wake up this AM and wash my hands in warm water.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: only one manifold
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Frankenmuth, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Warm water instantly

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Happy with the pumps ability to provide warm water at the kitchen sink. It is easy to install if you are a handy person. The only drawback is getting warm water out of the cold side initially. My wife didn't care for that so I bypassed the cold water feed and ran a return line back past the point of the cold water feed into the house. Now everyone is happy. I only set the timer for times that we ordinarily use the kitchen sink water so the pump doesn't have to run much. Like it a lot. Hard to tell if it has effected my gas and power bill much.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Buford, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love having instant hot water

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love having hot water at every faucet. It is a simple install as long as your hot water heater is in an open area and you don't have to do any of the plumbing re-work. Mine had a little re-working that needed to be done, but it didn't take too long. Great product - not sure if I have saved much on the water bill yet, but not having to wait for minutes at a time for hot water = priceless.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Cupertino, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Good Purchase so far.

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I do not have a lot of skills with plumbing. With the severe CA drought , I like to do my part in saving water. The pump, costing $189 plus electricity may not have a very good payback, but definitely should help with saving water. After reviewing a number of articles, product reviews and YouTube videos, I decided to buy this product. I installed it in about two hours.
Good:
** Product comes with everything I need, except a little teflon tape that I have to buy separately.
** I found the Watts manual to be very useful and descriptive with easy to follow instruction. This is true especially with the part about how to handle the hot water heater before installing the pump.
** The timer as part of the system is very useful. I set it to be ON except from 11pm - 7am. So I do save some electricity not running 24 hours. I know some of my friends who have water recirculating pump have a on/off switch. They told me they turn the system on 10 - 15 minutes before taking their showers, and then turn it off. This is so inconvenient. I do not think the pump will use a lot of electricity. So with the built-in timer, I can have the convenience of having hot water whenever.
Bad:
** So far, since I just installed the system (April 15, 2015), none. Hope the system will work for years. I read some reviews about the pump going bad after a few months or a couple of years. Will see. Hope the by-pass temp sensing valve will last as well.
I am very happy with the purchase.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from New Mexico
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the Concetpt - Simple Yet Effective

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Just installed this unit a day ago and it is working perfectly. It took me about an hour and a half to install. Very straight forward and easy. In fact, when I removed the original nipple from the outlet of the water heater I discovered it had a lot of mineral build up which has now help improve the water flow. I like most people was frustrated watching precious water go down the drain waiting for it to get hot. I just learned about these products a few weeks ago from a radio home improvement guy. The concept and design is so simple yet effective that I don't know why all houses aren't built with these. Or, at least all new water heaters should already have one installed on them. To any contractors out there that either build houses or install water heaters, don't assume your customers know about these. Do yourself and your customers a favor and let them know about these recirculators. I suspect you'll end up selling a lot more of them. In these days of water rationing especially here in the Southwest and in California. This is a simple, effective and cheap way to save water and some money.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Taylor, TX
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This fixed a need!

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Surprisingly easy to install. Gives me the desired hot water. Only drawback I see is that I have to set the timer every time my schedule changes and that's every day or two. But at least NOW I can have hot water in my bathroom!!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer

Watts Timer recirculation pump

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Canon
The sensor valve that is put under the sink is temperature activated. It stays open and circulates the water from the water heater to the sensor and to the cold water side and back to the water heater, but when the circulated water reaches a certain temperature the valve will shut down. I installed this in my cabin and now I have hot water within seconds. I did put temp 3 valves because my pipes are branched and not looped The only draw back is sometimes I have warm water on the cold side but I just don't need cold water that often and it also stopped my pipes from freezing because the water is moving quite often. I was running to get the water hot for 3 minutes every time at every faucet lots of waste. I think this is a life saver and will buy it again when I need it.
JD
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Cave Creek, AZ
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice upgrade!

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is an easy to install upgrade that makes a huge difference. Due to a very long run from the hot water heater to the master bath, we were waiting for what seemed like minutes for the hot water. Very wasteful. Installed this recirculator and set it up and voila, hot water is near instantaneous. Only complaint was the length of the 2 supply lines Watts includes with the kit--very short which made working under a bath sink with them difficult. For some folks, might be worth just buying longer braided supply lines to help with the install.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: supplied braided supply lines very short
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did More than expected

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I renovated an old building and the plumbing was put in from scratch. Its right downtown and the water pressure is low (about 40PSI) so we used 1" PEX. This helps with the pressure but the downside is that the water literally never got Hot. Showers were warm at best and I never could get hot water at the kitchen sink. I had installed the pump on the tank when we did the plumbing but only just put the valve in. I was hoping that it would help and I would get hot water at the kitchen sink at least until i could get to put a pump in to increase pressure. Well, I had the pump on for about 5 minutes and went to try it. I was expecting hotter than warm water. but WOW! It was HOT! in seconds. In fact I have to turn the heat down on the tank. And the shower? I had to turn the balance valve all the way to cold this morning!
As for the cost? I don't care if it costs me $10 a week..(which it wont) . I use way less hot water, I turned the heat on the tank down, and I have instant hot water. As far the hot in the cold line - its warm not hot, minimal and worth it! I would rather wait 5 seconds for cold water that 5 minutes for hot! I'm going to add a second valve in the other bathroom just to get the instant hot.
Pros: hot water in seconds, turned the water temp down
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mixed Feelings

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This is a must for the upstairs bathroom, it is a long run & would be a long wait for hot water so I knew I would need a recirc. pump. And it is so nice to have hot water when you open the pipe. But for two hundred bucks I think it should last longer. I had to replace at 4 years as the pump wore out. Not real hard to replace but 200 bucks. Hope this one lasts a lot longer.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: short lived
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Fremont, Ca
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Pump only

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I only used the pump. I ran a 1/2" copper hot water return line from the farest point in the house with a inline swing check valve to prevent back flow and piped it to the drain of the hot water heater. Before you had to wait over a mintute now I get hot water in 6 seconds. I run the timer from 6am to 9pm very quite. I did not use the sensor valve, it requires you to pipe it back thru the cold water piping of the house. In doing that you could get hot water at your ice maker with the pump running. I only wish that you could buy the pump by itself, for my type of installation. Because of the price and I have no use for the other parts that come it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Wallkill, NY 12589, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product reduces the wasted water that goes down the drain waiting for hot water to reach the faucet.

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product reduces the wasted water that goes down the drain waiting for hot water to reach the faucet.
I installed it on the output of the internal hot water (tank less) coil in my oil burner. I cut the pipe and inserted it in series with the hot water output pipe. I also had to purchase a 3/4 in union and a 3/4 in male thread adapter to complete the installation. I also choose not to use the programmable internal timer or leave it on constantly. Instead I put it on a remote control wireless outlet and can turn it on and off remotely from the bath room. It works great. Prior to installing it three gallons of water would go down the drain before hot water reached the faucets. It take about 4 minutes before the hot water reaches the facet, but we just turn on the remote first and do some other thing until the hot water reaches the faucet I could still choose to use the programmable timer and have it automatically start before we get up or set it to go on and off during the day using the internal timer.
Reading the reviews before I bought this re-circulating pump people were complaining that the hot cold diverter valve that is at the heart of the system "wore out or failed and had to be replaced.
After installation I noticed even with the pump off hot water was still re-circulating in the cold water pipe. At first I thought the hot cold diverter valve had failed. So I ran the hot water until it reached the temperature that it was supposed to close at. The valve did indeed close so the valve was working properly. I discovered I was getting gravity feed through the system from the hot water side to the cold water side. I solved this problem by installing an anti-gravity (one way) valve above the pump. This solved the problem and stopped the siphoning. The system has been working great ever since.
We have been very happy with the system and are saving about 9 gallons of water a day on average that would be about 3285 gallons a year from going down the drain
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+114points
138out of 162found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Bakersfield CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this is my second one in 5 years :( :( :(

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I think this product should have lasted a lot longer than 5 years.
Pros: Good Instructions
Cons: didn't last long enough
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Ventura, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This should be code in CA.

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have a 1850sqft single story home in Ventura, not far from the coast. The house has insulated copper pipe in the attic. There are two bathrooms on the far side of the house from the water heater. The wait for hot water was around 1.5 minutes in the summer morning to 2.5 minutes in the winter. I installed the sensor valve in the kid’s bathroom. My two boys are tough to get into the shower. Hot water is delivered in about 2-3 seconds. Now we can turn the water on and put one of them in. The second bathroom receives hot water in about 5-7 seconds.
The pump was very easy to install, the sensor valve under the sink, well you know, it’s under the sink.
I can’t imagine how much water we have wasted over the 4 years in this house, and in my other homes.
If you have any wait time for hot water, you should install this system. In California it’s should be in the building code.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from San Francisco
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Watts Recirculating Pump

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our bathroom is far from the hot water heater so water was wasted while waiting for the water to run hot. (Yes, our pipes are insulated, but even so it took a full minute of running cold water before it ran hot.) The Watts pump now delivers hot water instantly. You attach it to the hot water heater and attach a small sensor unit under the bathroom sink. This sensor installs in just minutes with only pliers.
You need to have an electric outlet within maybe ten feet of the hot water heater, and you may need to sweat fit the pump in place using a union (not provided). It's pretty quick for a plumber to do.
The built-in timer lets us run the pump two hours in the morning and two late in the evening. Works great, better than I expected.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Novi, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

circulating pump

PostedMay 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This pump is best used hooked up to a remote switch..press the switch remote on to run the pump when preparing to shower, wash dishes, etc., or switch on when entering the bathroom so water will be circulated and hot when you wash your hands, then off after the hot water is fully circulated. Then your water heater won't run more than usual. In the winter the heat radiating off the pipes as the hot constantly circulates would not be wasted, but with a switch you have the option of limiting circulation to what is necessary.
Or, you could run a wire from the outlet to a switch installed upstairs, but good, convenient remote systems are available
Pros: Easy to Install
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Rockwall County, Texas

what a USEFUL product!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Man alive this thing does all that they say it does! It took all of 15 minutes to install. Our shower no longer takes 5 minutes (no exaggeration whatsoever here) to warm up - it now literally takes 8 seconds to be warm enough for human enjoyment. So very pleased.
It is true - you will get some warm water in your cold water until the valve reaches temperature and closes, but what a small insignificant price to pay for faster warm water!
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from San Jose, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed this Watts pump to replace a Grundfos CS-1 pump that was installed for Hot Water recirculation when I repiped my house 7 years ago. The Grundfos pump motor was no longer spinning the turbine fast enough to generate any kind of pressure, so the hot water side of my piping was not pressurized enough to flow through the valves on each branch.
This Watts pump is manufactured by Grundfos and is an exact replacement of the more-expensive ($300) Grundfos pump, with blue paint instead of reddish brown paint on the pump housing. It was a very simple procedure to replace the pump, and I saved over $100 for basically the identical part by buying at Home Depot instead of through a plumbing supply company. Now I have a spare valve to use if one of the existing valves ever becomes clogged with mineral deposits.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good purchase

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had this for 8 or 9 years. I don't know if it has saved any water or money, but being to turn on the hot water valve and having Almost instant hot water is a real plus. I did have problems with the under sink gizmo. Because of extremely hard water in my area, it would stick open. The last one I installed has worked correctly for over 5 years. If the pump were to ever not work, I Would replace it.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Dublin, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product

PostedMay 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product works and does a great job. It is easy to install without much plumbing experience. Everyone in California should be using this to help lower their water use. I have recommended this to several people who now use it. Everyone has told me how easy it is to install.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>