728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Heater Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer

Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer

The Watts Plastic Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer provides instant hot water at your faucet or shower, eliminating water waste caused by waiting for water to heat up. The unique pump design offers quiet, maintenance-free operation and includes a programmable timer that activates the pump only when you need it.
Overall rating:
4.141 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(128 reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product105 of 127reviews
Rating Breakdown 128 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(78)
4
(24)
3
(6)
2
(6)
1
(14)
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product105 of 127reviews
Customer questions and answers:
56 Questions | 259 Answers
Customer reviews for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
Review 1 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Buford, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love having instant hot water

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love having hot water at every faucet. It is a simple install as long as your hot water heater is in an open area and you don't have to do any of the plumbing re-work. Mine had a little re-working that needed to be done, but it didn't take too long. Great product - not sure if I have saved much on the water bill yet, but not having to wait for minutes at a time for hot water = priceless.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Taylor, TX
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This fixed a need!

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Surprisingly easy to install. Gives me the desired hot water. Only drawback I see is that I have to set the timer every time my schedule changes and that's every day or two. But at least NOW I can have hot water in my bathroom!!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Frankenmuth, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Warm water instantly

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Happy with the pumps ability to provide warm water at the kitchen sink. It is easy to install if you are a handy person. The only drawback is getting warm water out of the cold side initially. My wife didn't care for that so I bypassed the cold water feed and ran a return line back past the point of the cold water feed into the house. Now everyone is happy. I only set the timer for times that we ordinarily use the kitchen sink water so the pump doesn't have to run much. Like it a lot. Hard to tell if it has effected my gas and power bill much.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Cave Creek, AZ
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice upgrade!

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is an easy to install upgrade that makes a huge difference. Due to a very long run from the hot water heater to the master bath, we were waiting for what seemed like minutes for the hot water. Very wasteful. Installed this recirculator and set it up and voila, hot water is near instantaneous. Only complaint was the length of the 2 supply lines Watts includes with the kit--very short which made working under a bath sink with them difficult. For some folks, might be worth just buying longer braided supply lines to help with the install.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: supplied braided supply lines very short
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer

Watts Timer recirculation pump

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Canon
The sensor valve that is put under the sink is temperature activated. It stays open and circulates the water from the water heater to the sensor and to the cold water side and back to the water heater, but when the circulated water reaches a certain temperature the valve will shut down. I installed this in my cabin and now I have hot water within seconds. I did put temp 3 valves because my pipes are branched and not looped The only draw back is sometimes I have warm water on the cold side but I just don't need cold water that often and it also stopped my pipes from freezing because the water is moving quite often. I was running to get the water hot for 3 minutes every time at every faucet lots of waste. I think this is a life saver and will buy it again when I need it.
JD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did More than expected

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I renovated an old building and the plumbing was put in from scratch. Its right downtown and the water pressure is low (about 40PSI) so we used 1" PEX. This helps with the pressure but the downside is that the water literally never got Hot. Showers were warm at best and I never could get hot water at the kitchen sink. I had installed the pump on the tank when we did the plumbing but only just put the valve in. I was hoping that it would help and I would get hot water at the kitchen sink at least until i could get to put a pump in to increase pressure. Well, I had the pump on for about 5 minutes and went to try it. I was expecting hotter than warm water. but WOW! It was HOT! in seconds. In fact I have to turn the heat down on the tank. And the shower? I had to turn the balance valve all the way to cold this morning!
As for the cost? I don't care if it costs me $10 a week..(which it wont) . I use way less hot water, I turned the heat on the tank down, and I have instant hot water. As far the hot in the cold line - its warm not hot, minimal and worth it! I would rather wait 5 seconds for cold water that 5 minutes for hot! I'm going to add a second valve in the other bathroom just to get the instant hot.
Pros: hot water in seconds, turned the water temp down
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Ventura, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This should be code in CA.

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have a 1850sqft single story home in Ventura, not far from the coast. The house has insulated copper pipe in the attic. There are two bathrooms on the far side of the house from the water heater. The wait for hot water was around 1.5 minutes in the summer morning to 2.5 minutes in the winter. I installed the sensor valve in the kid’s bathroom. My two boys are tough to get into the shower. Hot water is delivered in about 2-3 seconds. Now we can turn the water on and put one of them in. The second bathroom receives hot water in about 5-7 seconds.
The pump was very easy to install, the sensor valve under the sink, well you know, it’s under the sink.
I can’t imagine how much water we have wasted over the 4 years in this house, and in my other homes.
If you have any wait time for hot water, you should install this system. In California it’s should be in the building code.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Wallkill, NY 12589, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product reduces the wasted water that goes down the drain waiting for hot water to reach the faucet.

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product reduces the wasted water that goes down the drain waiting for hot water to reach the faucet.
I installed it on the output of the internal hot water (tank less) coil in my oil burner. I cut the pipe and inserted it in series with the hot water output pipe. I also had to purchase a 3/4 in union and a 3/4 in male thread adapter to complete the installation. I also choose not to use the programmable internal timer or leave it on constantly. Instead I put it on a remote control wireless outlet and can turn it on and off remotely from the bath room. It works great. Prior to installing it three gallons of water would go down the drain before hot water reached the faucets. It take about 4 minutes before the hot water reaches the facet, but we just turn on the remote first and do some other thing until the hot water reaches the faucet I could still choose to use the programmable timer and have it automatically start before we get up or set it to go on and off during the day using the internal timer.
Reading the reviews before I bought this re-circulating pump people were complaining that the hot cold diverter valve that is at the heart of the system "wore out or failed and had to be replaced.
After installation I noticed even with the pump off hot water was still re-circulating in the cold water pipe. At first I thought the hot cold diverter valve had failed. So I ran the hot water until it reached the temperature that it was supposed to close at. The valve did indeed close so the valve was working properly. I discovered I was getting gravity feed through the system from the hot water side to the cold water side. I solved this problem by installing an anti-gravity (one way) valve above the pump. This solved the problem and stopped the siphoning. The system has been working great ever since.
We have been very happy with the system and are saving about 9 gallons of water a day on average that would be about 3285 gallons a year from going down the drain
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+109points
133out of 157found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Novi, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

circulating pump

PostedMay 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This pump is best used hooked up to a remote switch..press the switch remote on to run the pump when preparing to shower, wash dishes, etc., or switch on when entering the bathroom so water will be circulated and hot when you wash your hands, then off after the hot water is fully circulated. Then your water heater won't run more than usual. In the winter the heat radiating off the pipes as the hot constantly circulates would not be wasted, but with a switch you have the option of limiting circulation to what is necessary.
Or, you could run a wire from the outlet to a switch installed upstairs, but good, convenient remote systems are available
Pros: Easy to Install
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good purchase

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had this for 8 or 9 years. I don't know if it has saved any water or money, but being to turn on the hot water valve and having Almost instant hot water is a real plus. I did have problems with the under sink gizmo. Because of extremely hard water in my area, it would stick open. The last one I installed has worked correctly for over 5 years. If the pump were to ever not work, I Would replace it.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Palo Alto, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I am very disappointed

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have the re-circulating pump installed on the tankless water heater about two months ago. It took me forever to wait for the hot water to come out. I kept changing the timer setting and have my contractor to check several times and the problem still remain. I finally have decided to call the customer services. I have waited more than 20 minutes to talk to someone. The only answer I got was "The re-circulating pump does not work for tankless water heater". I checked the manual several times and do not see anything indicate that. It was misleading. I waste $189 and time for nothing. Now I have to pay my plumber to come back to de-install it.
I am very disappointed and will not recommend this product at all.
Cons: not working on tankless water heater
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Rockwall County, Texas

what a USEFUL product!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Man alive this thing does all that they say it does! It took all of 15 minutes to install. Our shower no longer takes 5 minutes (no exaggeration whatsoever here) to warm up - it now literally takes 8 seconds to be warm enough for human enjoyment. So very pleased.
It is true - you will get some warm water in your cold water until the valve reaches temperature and closes, but what a small insignificant price to pay for faster warm water!
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer

Stopped working second year installed

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed pump last year at beginning of winter, all worked as advertised. Turned pump off during summer months because water was warm enough without pump. Turned it back on this winter and it did not come on. Probably explains why Watts website has such a large repair kit inventory listed with this pump. On city water.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer

Works as advertised

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It does the job well. Some negative impacts: cold water is warmer and hot water heating bill goes up
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from San Antonio Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Surprised at how easy it was to install....and it works!

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The kitchen was the last in line for hot water and I probably spent $500 over the years wasting water to get it hot in the kitchen...just the dishwasher working through the cycle was enough to time to let the hot water cool down between fill-ups while washing a load. I now have hot water or at least warm water then quickly hot water instantly. I will probably save a great deal in water and sewer costs and be happy each time I turn on any tap and have hot water!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Nutrioso Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Recirculating Pump

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Well I was pleasantly surprised. I must say. We live in the tall pines of nutrioso arizona and it gets down to about -20 some times in the winter. I was a little worried about buying this unit and not getting to try it out first but that is not possible. My wife and I installed this unit in about 1 hour and we have a kitchen and 2 baths. The instruction were very simple and the unit was easy to install. After installation and doing the check to make sure the cross over water temp sensors were working properly I was very impressed with the quickness that we now have hot water at all the rooms. We have a branch piping system with no return loop so we had to use 2 more of the sensors and they were a little pricey but to get water to all my rooms in less than 10 seconds versus 2 minutes it is worth it. I set the pump up to run every 30 minutes because our water is so cold up here and it sometimes freeze up here. We now do not loose water in the rooms as we did before when it gets real cold and we are not wasting water. The pump running only added 5 bucks to our electric bill because the pump is so small so the cost to operate was minimal and was worth it. Just remember to install the extra sensors at the other rooms if you have a branch system and not a return loop system. The great thing about this is that it is a retrofit system for your home and no re-piping is required. I noticed that some people complained about the cold water being warm, but we have not experienced that maybe because our cold water is really cold up here with the well and all.
Thanks for all your help at the show-low home-depot with this and Thanks Watts for a great Product.
Thanks
JD DeWitt
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Fuquay Varina, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would definitely do it again

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was able to do the loop back connections, needed a plumber to cut the copper pipes and fit it on top of the water heater.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: needed a plumber to finish installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and easy to install.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I installed one of these on my house a few years ago and installed this one at my parents' house in Dec 2011. They are very happy with this product and wonder now just how much water they have been wasting over the years without it!
No additional trips to Home Depot were needed to install this product...everything you will normally need is included. The pump itself is actually a very high quality german made one I'm familiar with from many years in the aquarium hobby.
The price has gone up quite a bit since I first installed mine which is the only reason I gave it less than highest rating for value. I still think it's worth it even at the higher price.
+31points
34out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Loganville, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A real problem solver!

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My problem was two fold. It's an 80 foot run from the water heater to the nearest bathroom in my home. So, we were having to wait quite a while for hot water. The second problem is that in the winter, our hot water line freezes and we don't get any until the temp rises.
My son and I installed the pump. It went in as easily as they said it would. I did get a length of flexible hot water line just in case. This was to match up the pump with the old work. The one I bought had a Shark Bite connector on one end. I had to cut the copper line because the screw on connector to the water heater output was soldered on.
The install in the farthest bathroom was sweet! It took all of 15 minutes to put the sensor in, if that.
Bottom line is: (1) We have hot water all through the house without a delay. (2) I won't have a freezing problem. (3) The system is so quiet that I had to put my hand on the pump to see if it was even pumping. (4) I found that the timer was very easy to program.
All in all, I feel that I got my money's worth with this product and the women in the house, especially, sure do love the immediate hot water. I should have done this 20 years ago.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hot Water Re-Circulating Pump with Timer
from Chesapeake, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This was exactly what we were looking for.

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This was easy to install. My biggest issue was how the hot water line out of the hot water heater was very close to the exhaust for the hot water heater (gas heater). Other than that it was easy to install and set up. We haven't had a water or gas bill since installing but we love having the hot water when we want it and not having to run the water for 5 minutes for it to warm up.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>