728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Heater Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Hot Water Recirculating System with Built-In Timer

Hot Water Recirculating System with Built-In Timer

Never wait for hot water again. The Watts Hot Water Recirculating Pump provides hot water at every faucet or shower when needed, eliminating wasted water. It is easy to install on any water system and requires no additional piping. The unique design of the pump ensures quiet, maintenance-free operation. The system includes a built-in 24 hour, dual setting programmable timer to activate the pump only when needed.
Overall rating:
4.213 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(174 reviews) 174
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product146 of 173reviews
Rating Breakdown 174 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(109)
4
(34)
3
(7)
2
(7)
1
(17)
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product146 of 173reviews
Customer questions and answers:
81 Questions | 424 Answers
Customer reviews for Hot Water Recirculating System with Built-In Timer
Review 1 for Hot Water Recirculating System with Built-In Timer
from San Jose, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Should have installed this a long time ago.

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The builder of our home put the HW heater in the garage and the master bath and kitchen on the other side of the house. We would need to run the what for over 1 minute to get HW. It took me less than 30 minutes to install the HW Heater pump (you need to pre-measure and pre-plan your hook up). It took 45 minutes to install the under-sink bypass manifold. Mounting the bypass manifold was not an option because of space restrictions; I left it hanging and it is working just fine. It was so nice to wake up this AM and wash my hands in warm water.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: only one manifold
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hot Water Recirculating System with Built-In Timer
from Frankenmuth, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Warm water instantly

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Happy with the pumps ability to provide warm water at the kitchen sink. It is easy to install if you are a handy person. The only drawback is getting warm water out of the cold side initially. My wife didn't care for that so I bypassed the cold water feed and ran a return line back past the point of the cold water feed into the house. Now everyone is happy. I only set the timer for times that we ordinarily use the kitchen sink water so the pump doesn't have to run much. Like it a lot. Hard to tell if it has effected my gas and power bill much.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hot Water Recirculating System with Built-In Timer
from Buford, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love having instant hot water

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love having hot water at every faucet. It is a simple install as long as your hot water heater is in an open area and you don't have to do any of the plumbing re-work. Mine had a little re-working that needed to be done, but it didn't take too long. Great product - not sure if I have saved much on the water bill yet, but not having to wait for minutes at a time for hot water = priceless.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hot Water Recirculating System with Built-In Timer
from New Mexico
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the Concetpt - Simple Yet Effective

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Just installed this unit a day ago and it is working perfectly. It took me about an hour and a half to install. Very straight forward and easy. In fact, when I removed the original nipple from the outlet of the water heater I discovered it had a lot of mineral build up which has now help improve the water flow. I like most people was frustrated watching precious water go down the drain waiting for it to get hot. I just learned about these products a few weeks ago from a radio home improvement guy. The concept and design is so simple yet effective that I don't know why all houses aren't built with these. Or, at least all new water heaters should already have one installed on them. To any contractors out there that either build houses or install water heaters, don't assume your customers know about these. Do yourself and your customers a favor and let them know about these recirculators. I suspect you'll end up selling a lot more of them. In these days of water rationing especially here in the Southwest and in California. This is a simple, effective and cheap way to save water and some money.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hot Water Recirculating System with Built-In Timer
from Cupertino, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Good Purchase so far.

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I do not have a lot of skills with plumbing. With the severe CA drought , I like to do my part in saving water. The pump, costing $189 plus electricity may not have a very good payback, but definitely should help with saving water. After reviewing a number of articles, product reviews and YouTube videos, I decided to buy this product. I installed it in about two hours.
Good:
** Product comes with everything I need, except a little teflon tape that I have to buy separately.
** I found the Watts manual to be very useful and descriptive with easy to follow instruction. This is true especially with the part about how to handle the hot water heater before installing the pump.
** The timer as part of the system is very useful. I set it to be ON except from 11pm - 7am. So I do save some electricity not running 24 hours. I know some of my friends who have water recirculating pump have a on/off switch. They told me they turn the system on 10 - 15 minutes before taking their showers, and then turn it off. This is so inconvenient. I do not think the pump will use a lot of electricity. So with the built-in timer, I can have the convenience of having hot water whenever.
Bad:
** So far, since I just installed the system (April 15, 2015), none. Hope the system will work for years. I read some reviews about the pump going bad after a few months or a couple of years. Will see. Hope the by-pass temp sensing valve will last as well.
I am very happy with the purchase.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hot Water Recirculating System with Built-In Timer
from Taylor, TX
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This fixed a need!

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Surprisingly easy to install. Gives me the desired hot water. Only drawback I see is that I have to set the timer every time my schedule changes and that's every day or two. But at least NOW I can have hot water in my bathroom!!
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hot Water Recirculating System with Built-In Timer
from Reedley Ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Wish Had I bought If Earlier

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The hardest part of the job is doing minor replumbing at the hot water heater to accept the pump assembly. The under sink was really easy to do and did not take up any extra storage I had under the sink. If You are not handy you might need a plumber to do the hot water heater hookup. The electric cord is ten feet so you may have to have electricity run to it as well. I was lucky and had a plug right next to the hot water heater.
This thing really works and saves water! My shower literally took three and one half minutes to get hot water. That was seven gallons of water! When the pump is turned on, I now get hot water in six seconds, and the water is hotter than when the pump is not running. Power consumption is only 25 watts, so it does not do in your electric bill either. I am really happy I bought this system. I would do it all over again.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hot Water Recirculating System with Built-In Timer

Watts Timer recirculation pump

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Canon
The sensor valve that is put under the sink is temperature activated. It stays open and circulates the water from the water heater to the sensor and to the cold water side and back to the water heater, but when the circulated water reaches a certain temperature the valve will shut down. I installed this in my cabin and now I have hot water within seconds. I did put temp 3 valves because my pipes are branched and not looped The only draw back is sometimes I have warm water on the cold side but I just don't need cold water that often and it also stopped my pipes from freezing because the water is moving quite often. I was running to get the water hot for 3 minutes every time at every faucet lots of waste. I think this is a life saver and will buy it again when I need it.
JD
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hot Water Recirculating System with Built-In Timer
from Wallkill, NY 12589, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product reduces the wasted water that goes down the drain waiting for hot water to reach the faucet.

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product reduces the wasted water that goes down the drain waiting for hot water to reach the faucet.
I installed it on the output of the internal hot water (tank less) coil in my oil burner. I cut the pipe and inserted it in series with the hot water output pipe. I also had to purchase a 3/4 in union and a 3/4 in male thread adapter to complete the installation. I also choose not to use the programmable internal timer or leave it on constantly. Instead I put it on a remote control wireless outlet and can turn it on and off remotely from the bath room. It works great. Prior to installing it three gallons of water would go down the drain before hot water reached the faucets. It take about 4 minutes before the hot water reaches the facet, but we just turn on the remote first and do some other thing until the hot water reaches the faucet I could still choose to use the programmable timer and have it automatically start before we get up or set it to go on and off during the day using the internal timer.
Reading the reviews before I bought this re-circulating pump people were complaining that the hot cold diverter valve that is at the heart of the system "wore out or failed and had to be replaced.
After installation I noticed even with the pump off hot water was still re-circulating in the cold water pipe. At first I thought the hot cold diverter valve had failed. So I ran the hot water until it reached the temperature that it was supposed to close at. The valve did indeed close so the valve was working properly. I discovered I was getting gravity feed through the system from the hot water side to the cold water side. I solved this problem by installing an anti-gravity (one way) valve above the pump. This solved the problem and stopped the siphoning. The system has been working great ever since.
We have been very happy with the system and are saving about 9 gallons of water a day on average that would be about 3285 gallons a year from going down the drain
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+114points
138out of 162found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hot Water Recirculating System with Built-In Timer
from Cave Creek, AZ
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice upgrade!

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is an easy to install upgrade that makes a huge difference. Due to a very long run from the hot water heater to the master bath, we were waiting for what seemed like minutes for the hot water. Very wasteful. Installed this recirculator and set it up and voila, hot water is near instantaneous. Only complaint was the length of the 2 supply lines Watts includes with the kit--very short which made working under a bath sink with them difficult. For some folks, might be worth just buying longer braided supply lines to help with the install.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: supplied braided supply lines very short
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hot Water Recirculating System with Built-In Timer
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did More than expected

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I renovated an old building and the plumbing was put in from scratch. Its right downtown and the water pressure is low (about 40PSI) so we used 1" PEX. This helps with the pressure but the downside is that the water literally never got Hot. Showers were warm at best and I never could get hot water at the kitchen sink. I had installed the pump on the tank when we did the plumbing but only just put the valve in. I was hoping that it would help and I would get hot water at the kitchen sink at least until i could get to put a pump in to increase pressure. Well, I had the pump on for about 5 minutes and went to try it. I was expecting hotter than warm water. but WOW! It was HOT! in seconds. In fact I have to turn the heat down on the tank. And the shower? I had to turn the balance valve all the way to cold this morning!
As for the cost? I don't care if it costs me $10 a week..(which it wont) . I use way less hot water, I turned the heat on the tank down, and I have instant hot water. As far the hot in the cold line - its warm not hot, minimal and worth it! I would rather wait 5 seconds for cold water that 5 minutes for hot! I'm going to add a second valve in the other bathroom just to get the instant hot.
Pros: hot water in seconds, turned the water temp down
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hot Water Recirculating System with Built-In Timer
from Fort Worth, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

hmmm

PostedAugust 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
It's expensive but worth it. Our shower is hot in under a minute now compared to (I'm not kidding) almost 5 minutes before. Our gas (water heating) bill has actually been lower since using it - that could be the new water heater too though. Water consumption can't help but be lower but that's hard to call since we water the yard so much. Supper easy to install, less than 45 minutes from start to tools put away! We do not experience any heating of the cold water at the return installation point but that could be because our ambient water temp is so high here in Texas. No complaints other than the cost for such a simple device - but we all have to make a living and this device sure made our lives better. Should have done it years ago!
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hot Water Recirculating System with Built-In Timer
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mixed Feelings

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This is a must for the upstairs bathroom, it is a long run & would be a long wait for hot water so I knew I would need a recirc. pump. And it is so nice to have hot water when you open the pipe. But for two hundred bucks I think it should last longer. I had to replace at 4 years as the pump wore out. Not real hard to replace but 200 bucks. Hope this one lasts a lot longer.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: short lived
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hot Water Recirculating System with Built-In Timer
from Novi, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

circulating pump

PostedMay 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This pump is best used hooked up to a remote switch..press the switch remote on to run the pump when preparing to shower, wash dishes, etc., or switch on when entering the bathroom so water will be circulated and hot when you wash your hands, then off after the hot water is fully circulated. Then your water heater won't run more than usual. In the winter the heat radiating off the pipes as the hot constantly circulates would not be wasted, but with a switch you have the option of limiting circulation to what is necessary.
Or, you could run a wire from the outlet to a switch installed upstairs, but good, convenient remote systems are available
Pros: Easy to Install
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hot Water Recirculating System with Built-In Timer
from NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and easy to install.

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I installed one of these on my house a few years ago and installed this one at my parents' house in Dec 2011. They are very happy with this product and wonder now just how much water they have been wasting over the years without it!
No additional trips to Home Depot were needed to install this product...everything you will normally need is included. The pump itself is actually a very high quality german made one I'm familiar with from many years in the aquarium hobby.
The price has gone up quite a bit since I first installed mine which is the only reason I gave it less than highest rating for value. I still think it's worth it even at the higher price.
+31points
34out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hot Water Recirculating System with Built-In Timer

Worked Great For Us!!

PostedMay 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After reading all of the reviews it was obvious you need to cover all of the details before purchasing. If you have a newer hot water heater with 3/4 inch outlet with braided supply line, this goes very fast. I only had 14" clearance above our water heater but everything went great. If you want to save money and install yourself, I recommend measuring the space above your water heater and verify you have a newer hot water supply line before purchasing. If you have to change out older copper or metal pipes and fittings you may want to refer to a professional. installation of the valve under the sink took only 15 minutes. If you are not sure, take a picture of your hot water heater and under sink fittings and have your local HD Team Member verify your needs.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hot Water Recirculating System with Built-In Timer
from Ventura, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This should be code in CA.

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have a 1850sqft single story home in Ventura, not far from the coast. The house has insulated copper pipe in the attic. There are two bathrooms on the far side of the house from the water heater. The wait for hot water was around 1.5 minutes in the summer morning to 2.5 minutes in the winter. I installed the sensor valve in the kid’s bathroom. My two boys are tough to get into the shower. Hot water is delivered in about 2-3 seconds. Now we can turn the water on and put one of them in. The second bathroom receives hot water in about 5-7 seconds.
The pump was very easy to install, the sensor valve under the sink, well you know, it’s under the sink.
I can’t imagine how much water we have wasted over the 4 years in this house, and in my other homes.
If you have any wait time for hot water, you should install this system. In California it’s should be in the building code.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hot Water Recirculating System with Built-In Timer
from Tustin, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Great for saving water, but has its downsides

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This pump/valve combo does what the manufacturer says it will. We needed quick hot water at a bath far from our water heater. We set the timer to send the hot water in the morning and evening hours and off otherwise. When the valve opens under the sink, there is a slight water rushing sound, but not bad. The install above the water heater could not have been easier. I am concerned a little about the high heat the unit is exposed to because it is placed directly at the outlet of the water heater and next to the vent stack. However, Grunfoss has been making this little units for decades now (Watts just puts their name on them) and heat is probably not an issue.
I am expecting that our local hard water will likely clog the valve in a year or two and the cost of replacement of this non-repairable part is high. Buying a new valve could considerably reduce the water savings. Perhaps less so here in Southern California, where water has become the highest utility bill for some of us. Also, there is no doubt about the energy squandering nature of re-circulation pumps, especially if the hot water pipes are located, un-insulated, in the ground below a concrete slab as mine are.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hot Water Recirculating System with Built-In Timer
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good purchase

PostedNovember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had this for 8 or 9 years. I don't know if it has saved any water or money, but being to turn on the hot water valve and having Almost instant hot water is a real plus. I did have problems with the under sink gizmo. Because of extremely hard water in my area, it would stick open. The last one I installed has worked correctly for over 5 years. If the pump were to ever not work, I Would replace it.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hot Water Recirculating System with Built-In Timer
from Rockwall County, Texas

what a USEFUL product!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Man alive this thing does all that they say it does! It took all of 15 minutes to install. Our shower no longer takes 5 minutes (no exaggeration whatsoever here) to warm up - it now literally takes 8 seconds to be warm enough for human enjoyment. So very pleased.
It is true - you will get some warm water in your cold water until the valve reaches temperature and closes, but what a small insignificant price to pay for faster warm water!
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>