728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-Gal. Elastomeric White Seal

5-Gal. Elastomeric White Seal

This product is a styrene acrylic silicone roof and wall sealer. It is a single component, elastomeric sealer that will adhere tightly to many surfaces and provide a thick, high performance, 100% water and weather resistant membrane, usually without need of a primer coating.
Overall rating:
4.182 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product9 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(1)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product9 of 11reviews
Customer reviews for 5-Gal. Elastomeric White Seal
Review 1 for 5-Gal. Elastomeric White Seal
from Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

I Love it...

PostedAugust 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product, no primer need, dry quickly and seal strong. I used in my mobile home metal roof that was leaking bad from few cracks and worked perfect.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-Gal. Elastomeric White Seal
from North Fort Myers, Florida

lanco roof coating

PostedJune 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I researched several roof coatings for asphalt shingle roofs and I decided on the Lanco White Seal roof coating. I had several small leaks where my hip roof meets the flat roof over the garage and had tried roof tar, mastic etc. and all had cracked or peeled off. I applied the Lanco White Seal early in the morning(mid morning) after the dew had dried so about 9:30 am. I did one coat then next day I applied a second coat. I did check for rain as it must dry fully but this dries in about 2 hours. I now have no leaks in my roof and I will be applying a third coat just becasue my roof is old but it is amazing. It reflects the sun so you must wear sunglasses when applying this so you don't damage your eyes. My cooling costs have gone down. My a/c isn't working as hard and my attic is not a thousand degrees. This is really a very amazing product that I would recommend for everyone florida. It will save you money on your electric and you will also possibly get a discount on your home owners insurance because it actually seals the shingles so they don't leak and won't blow away in hurricane season.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-Gal. Elastomeric White Seal
from cocoa ,florida

excellent finish coating

PostedApril 19, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
my parents roof has leaked for years i patched scraped off old tar coating ,fixed holes in roof and recoated w cold tar and still leaked ,so ontop i used the patch version of elastico roof patch in area i thought might be problem
and then coated whole roof ,a house trailer 1968 and garage with this white coating 2 coats lot easier on back then tar and no more leaks and whole house is actually cooler ,85 degrees outside and east coast breeze keeping it cool ,so no ac in use yet so thats saving on electric already ,
r
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-Gal. Elastomeric White Seal
from Santa Rosa Beach, FL
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Lanco White-Seal

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used the product before and it is a good product. But the dry time is inacurate. The add states 1-2 hr dry time. I gave it over 6 hrs to dry and it washed off with the rain. Wasted over 7 gallons of paint. It only drys quick if its in direct sun at the heat of the day. If it is done when its cool, 75-80 as the sun goes down and the roof cools it doesnt dry quick at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-Gal. Elastomeric White Seal
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Ease of use

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product go's on fast when using a 3/4 nap roller and easy to clean up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-Gal. Elastomeric White Seal
from miami,fl

roof paint

PostedJune 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
hi
i am an electrician and i painted my roof with the better version of this paint at home depot. the reason i say i am an electrician is because i have an electronic heat sensor and i checked the temp on my roof. where i had put on one coat it read 98 to 101, where it was not painted it read 140 to 142 average degrees. it not only cools my house it fixed some leaks i had in my kitchen. also i have a flat rooled roof so you know. i give it 5 stars
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-Gal. Elastomeric White Seal
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

It works for me

PostedJune 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought 10 buckets used it on shingles 1800 sq. roof took 3 coats first coat did about 50 to 75 sq. ft second coat did about 100 sq. ft third did over 100 sq. ft it said on the company web site shingles takes 4 coats, my shingles were 17 years old in the Florida sun sealed great did a lot of research before buying this worked great lower my temp in my house enough so I didn't have to turn my air on until approx. 3:00 pm and less running time to keep house cool (1800 sq. ft. house. I will touch up later because some spots needed it also used the same stuff of vents on roof buy more than 5 get a discount on buckets, roofers don't want to hear this but if you want to save money and you can't afford a new roof I believe this is a great way to go.
Use a extended pole and 3/4" nap wash roller with outside hose after use good let dry I bought two rollers so one can dry while I use the other did the roof by my self I'm 65 if I can do it so can you.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-Gal. Elastomeric White Seal
from South Florida

Ultra Siliconizer

PostedJune 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In South Florida, Home Depot carries the higher end product Lanco Ultra Siliconizer. South Florida's environment is brutally hot and humid. My 450 sq ft flat roof was not leaking but was very worn and my newly enclosed room was incredibly hot due to no insulation. At one time it got up to 97 degrees in the room. I purchased 4 5-gal containers of Ultra at about $107 ea and so far it was worth every penny. My room no longer even needs a fan and never gets above 82 even though the other day it was 103 outside. It reflects so much sunlight now I can't even look at it or take a picture of it. Following directions it was easy to apply. I didn't have to pressure clean but I did sweep off any loose material. It took me 4 days to do, 1 day to patch and 3 days to seal, 1 coat each day so I did 3 coats. Believe me...plan on 3 coats if the roof was never sealed before. I had to spread the work out over a couple of weeks because the roof was dry on the first day but then we had morning dew every day for a week. The roof has to be dry and not hot in order to apply this stuff. The first coat soaked up a container and a half...the 2nd coat 1 container and the 3rd coat was about 2/3 of a container. Apply the coats thick but as even as possible. It is a very light blue when applied and turns ultra white when cured. The 4th container I returned unopened. I used Siliconizer sealer a day before the first application for 2 spots that had weird gaps in corners and I think that was a good idea. Ultra went smoothly over those patched spots. Oh...and dress appropriately. I wore stuff I was ready to throw away and it's a good thing I did. I tried to be neat but got it on my shoes, shorts, shirt and hands and it was difficult just to remove from my hands. I strongly recommend this product to those like to DIY and need to cool down or seal a flat roof. One other thing that might be helpful is how I got the containers up on the roof and lowered them down when I needed to. I hoisted them onto my shoulder and up the ladder to the lowest part of the roof just off of the flat roof. I lowered them down via rope and a good knot. I needed to get them off the roof on days where I couldn't continue because the roof was wet and I didn't want the container baking in the sun all day.
+17points
24out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-Gal. Elastomeric White Seal
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent roof paint !

PostedApril 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product for flat concrete tile roofs in South Florida. I put it on with a paint roller. It goes on easy and dries quickly. I can already feel the difference in the house! Cool product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5-Gal. Elastomeric White Seal
from Pompano Beach

Roof Paint

PostedFebruary 22, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Good for saving energy.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5-Gal. Elastomeric White Seal
from holiday fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Turned black in less than a year

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Turned black in less than a year.. was cheap but now I have to do the roof all over.
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.