728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Gate Openers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package

Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package

The FM500 Automatic Gate Opener is Mighty Mule’s strongest single gate operator. As a Home Depot Exclusive the Access Package offers 2 additional Single Button Remotes (FM135) and a Wired or Wireless Digital Keypad (FM137). The FM500 heavy duty gate opener is designed for single swing gates up to 18 ft. or weighing up to 850 lbs. The Mighty Mule 500 gate opener is ideal for ornamental, vinyl, tubular steel farm gates, chain link or wood gates.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product8 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product8 of 9reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
Review 1 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from cave junction
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

having gate opener means no one has to get wet

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i had no problem with the product easy to install amd to operate
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Palmdale CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Equipment but not easy to install

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Excellent design, materials and install kit. Not easy for this DIYer probably due to the challenges on my site.
Pros: excellent design & materials
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Lawrence, Ms
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NO Contractor will install

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two of these units on sale, Upon contacting a local fence company to install some fencing and new gates they informed me they would not touch the Mighty Mule. Then another and finally a third fence company. They say they get NO support from the manufacturer. I fear I am stuck with some junk, too late to return probably. May try and install with help of an electrician and some friends myself?? Not off to a good start thought...
Cons: contrators wont install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Camp Verde, AZ
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes my life easier!!

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We had a manual sliding gate and installing this Mighty Mule has made my life so much easier!! It was fairly simple to install but is pretty sensitive to any drag on the gate. We have a 16.5' gate and had to reinforce the gate post so it would hold the gate up without sagging. (Could be the fault of the fence installer!) We have installed the solar panel as well and so far the charge is perfectly adequate for our needs. Closing time needs to be quicker and we are having bit of difficulty with that....dogs will get out if gate is open too long. Overall I LOVE this thing!
Pros: Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Dalton, GA

Great for animal lovers!!!

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is perfect for those of us with animals. The automatic gate opener gives us more security and we don't have to get out of the vehicle to open and close the gate. We recently closed in our front yard with a fence and gate on the front side. We already had the other 3 sides closed in with fence for our horses. Now our dogs can roam in our yard and we don't have to worry about them getting into the road. This product is the perfect solution!!!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Oakland, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It is nice to have a gate open automatically,easy to install.On my gate i had to adjust the pull of the gate as it was set low but after i got it set it works great.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Irvine, KY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes Life So Much Easier!!!!!!

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got mine on a "Deal of the Day" at a great price! Had it installed in no time at all and it works great. The quality is excellent except for mounting brackets. They are not very heavy made. Also if you have a tube gate you have to get another piece of pipe that will go over existing to strenghthen it. A piece of car tailpipe split long ways worked great.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Placerville, CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great deal!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this product on a "Deal of the day" sale. It was less money than the smaller FM350 model, and it came with 3 clickers and a key pad! Install was apiece of cake with included video and easy to read instructions. I also purchased a solar panel, that was again an easy install. The remote clickers work from about 50 feet away so, by the time you get to the slow moving gate, it's open. So far, a great product.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Oneonta, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

good product

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was recommended this product by a friend and I would recommend it to anyone needing an automatic gate opener.Mighty Mule is a first class opener.Buy this kit and it will save time and money because it has every thing you need.
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Alabama
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Working perfectly

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my Mother's home as a replacement. My brothers were able to install it and the only glitch they had at all was setting the opener to stop at the correct position. Took a Saturday morning but then that is not their line of work so all is well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.