728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package

Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package

The Heavy-Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package (FM500) is Mighty Mule’s strongest single gate operator. Offering two additional single button remotes and a wired or wireless digital keypad, the gate opener is designed for single swing gates up to 18 ft. or weighing up to 850 lbs. This package is ideal for ornamental, vinyl, tubular steel farm gates, chain link or wood gates.
Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product13 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(10)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product13 of 14reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
Review 1 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package

so so after I got it tweeked

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Iron Gate about 10 foot long.
The motor on this is slow and not to strong . Had a wheel on the bottom of gate and motor would stop at every bump. Had to cut and move brakes on gate higher and remove wheel. Tweeting the angle of the brakes was a little challenging. Battery dose run out quick. Gate still opens too far and was not able to fix that. Finally got it to close all the way to post.
Over all it works for now. One note the brakes that holds motor to the gate not the one that holds the motor to post. That brake did bend and is way to this.
If all variables are good then I would recommend product. If not don't bother.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Eagle Point, Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works great. Plenty of support when needed. Youtube has a lot movie to help install it. It has some good items to work with.
Pros: Multi Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from West Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Personally proven reliable product!

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This makes the third Mighty Mule gate opener I have purchased. The first two are still going strong after many years of service. I am sure this opener will do the same. Thanks to Home Depot for providing it at a very competitive price!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By GTOSupportApril 16, 2015By GTOSupportApril 16, 2015
Hello GMB4957,
Thank you for taking your time to post this positive review. We are happy to hear you are enjoying 3 Mighty Mule Gate Openers!
Review 4 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package

Best choice for operator

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I already have a FM350 and bought the FM500 on sale for a second gate. Definitely prefer the FM500 for easier installation and seems to be an overall better operator.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Camp Verde, AZ
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes my life easier!!

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We had a manual sliding gate and installing this Mighty Mule has made my life so much easier!! It was fairly simple to install but is pretty sensitive to any drag on the gate. We have a 16.5' gate and had to reinforce the gate post so it would hold the gate up without sagging. (Could be the fault of the fence installer!) We have installed the solar panel as well and so far the charge is perfectly adequate for our needs. Closing time needs to be quicker and we are having bit of difficulty with that....dogs will get out if gate is open too long. Overall I LOVE this thing!
Pros: Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package

all works well......

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
took me about 2 days to make adjustments like hanging the gate, etc. So far all works well. Only problem so far is that on rare occasions, it does not close automatically according to the time programmed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Lawrence, Ms
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NO Contractor will install

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two of these units on sale, Upon contacting a local fence company to install some fencing and new gates they informed me they would not touch the Mighty Mule. Then another and finally a third fence company. They say they get NO support from the manufacturer. I fear I am stuck with some junk, too late to return probably. May try and install with help of an electrician and some friends myself?? Not off to a good start thought...
Cons: contrators wont install
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GTOSupportMarch 25, 2015By GTOSupportMarch 25, 2015
Hello Jeauxfan,
I'm sorry to hear you are running into issue's finding a local installer to install the gate opener for you. However our gate opener kits are do it yourself friendly. Each kit comes with an installation DVD as well as a step by step installation manual. If you do have any questions, please know that our Technical Support Team can be reached for a resolution. Our Technical Support Team can be reached at (800) 543 -1236. Thank you!
Review 8 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Dalton, GA

Great for animal lovers!!!

PostedSeptember 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is perfect for those of us with animals. The automatic gate opener gives us more security and we don't have to get out of the vehicle to open and close the gate. We recently closed in our front yard with a fence and gate on the front side. We already had the other 3 sides closed in with fence for our horses. Now our dogs can roam in our yard and we don't have to worry about them getting into the road. This product is the perfect solution!!!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from cave junction
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

having gate opener means no one has to get wet

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i had no problem with the product easy to install amd to operate
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Palmdale CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Equipment but not easy to install

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Excellent design, materials and install kit. Not easy for this DIYer probably due to the challenges on my site.
Pros: excellent design & materials
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Oakland, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
It is nice to have a gate open automatically,easy to install.On my gate i had to adjust the pull of the gate as it was set low but after i got it set it works great.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Oneonta, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

good product

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was recommended this product by a friend and I would recommend it to anyone needing an automatic gate opener.Mighty Mule is a first class opener.Buy this kit and it will save time and money because it has every thing you need.
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Alabama
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Working perfectly

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this for my Mother's home as a replacement. My brothers were able to install it and the only glitch they had at all was setting the opener to stop at the correct position. Took a Saturday morning but then that is not their line of work so all is well.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Placerville, CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great deal!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this product on a "Deal of the day" sale. It was less money than the smaller FM350 model, and it came with 3 clickers and a key pad! Install was apiece of cake with included video and easy to read instructions. I also purchased a solar panel, that was again an easy install. The remote clickers work from about 50 feet away so, by the time you get to the slow moving gate, it's open. So far, a great product.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heavy Duty Single Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Irvine, KY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes Life So Much Easier!!!!!!

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Got mine on a "Deal of the Day" at a great price! Had it installed in no time at all and it works great. The quality is excellent except for mounting brackets. They are not very heavy made. Also if you have a tube gate you have to get another piece of pipe that will go over existing to strenghthen it. A piece of car tailpipe split long ways worked great.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.