728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Dual Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package

Heavy Duty Dual Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package

The Heavy-Duty Dual Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package (FM502) is Mighty Mule’s strongest dual gate operator. Offering two additional single button remotes and a wired or wireless digital keypad, the gate opener is designed for dual swing gates up to 18 ft. or weighing up to 850 lbs. per panel. This package is ideal for ornamental, vinyl, tubular steel farm gates, chain link or wood gates.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product14 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(9)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product14 of 17reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Heavy Duty Dual Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
Review 1 for Heavy Duty Dual Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Gresham Or
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolutely the most aggravating thing I've ever owned!

PostedMarch 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Following a pretty simple installation of the 350/352 the system ran pretty smoothly for about 3 months. After that connections start to fail, boards go down, water somehow gets in, or it just quits. After the initial install (over the last 3 years) I would estimate I've worked over 40 hours at the end of my driveway on the phone with their tech support. There is never the same issue twice, and you never get the same instruction twice. This thing is so aggravating I've just kept my drill, screwdrivers, voltage meter and manual in my truck for the last two years in anticipation of it quitting. Every nice day that I can handle going back out there I try again. $1300 for a cheap parts and poor design. Don't waste your money.
Cons: cheap and flimsy, apt to fail
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heavy Duty Dual Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from BOISE, ID
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tough, strong and handy

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No more getting out of the car to open or close the gate. Smooth, quiet action closes gates at the click of a button. My brother in law has had his got 10 years without a let down. That kind of life service makes it a reasonable cost per year.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By GTOSupportJuly 9, 2015By GTOSupportJuly 9, 2015
Charles,

Thank you for posting your review! we are very happy to hear your are enjoying your dual Gate Opener.
Review 3 for Heavy Duty Dual Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Sacramento, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Use caution when reading reviews. Excellent ratings first 3 months, Terrible rating after a few months.

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have been researching Dual gate openers and found that Quality is all over the board. read the manufacturers LIMITED WARRANTY. WHY is it limited ? Plastic and cheap gears and mechanical parts. Cheap phenolic PC boards or Fiberglass Epoxy high quality boards designed for outdoor use in inclement weather? Please read the comments of the other one star rating. You may need a bucket of tools and back up replacement parts every time you try to enter/exit this gate.. Think about how nasty it to repair a new gate during a rain storm. Make sure you have plenty of extra pc BOARDS AND OTHER PARTS.. Other than this---the gate works great! I recommend this gate for house flippers and anyone who is selling their house. Gates work great for long enough to sell the house. Note the LIMITED warranty is LIMITED..
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: fails as soon as warranty expires!, low quality components, you get what you pay for.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy Duty Dual Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Walnut Creek, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

comfortable security

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very satisfied with the overall results but as a DYI project it was hardly as easy for me as the video would have you believe. I'm a pretty handy person but found almost every step shown was not like my situation and required hours more work to complete ie, a concrete driveway which required cutting to bury the slave power cable, a sloping steep driveway with high walls on both sides requiring all work to be done from one side, well, you get the picture. But even with all that, this product does the job very well and I would still do it again. Your situation has to be easier than mine was.
Pros: High Quality of Material
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy Duty Dual Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from FT Worth Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not very good quality

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased a single gate opener. The install and set up were fairly easy. Good instructions. The opener lasted less than one year then began to give trouble. The electronics appear cheap. It worked intermittently and then quit altogether. Purchased a second system and it only lasted 6-9 months. The price is OK but it doesn't last. Finally had to go with a different brand which cost more but has n o issues. Spend more once and get a better system.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GTOSupportMarch 25, 2015By GTOSupportMarch 25, 2015
Hello JCW199,
Thank you for your feedback and we're sorry that you experienced issues with your gate opener. Please know that our Technical Support Team can be reached for a resolution to any problem or issue you may be having with your Mighty Mule gate opener. The Technical Support Team can be reached at (800) 543 -1236.
Review 6 for Heavy Duty Dual Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Rockies

Staying Warm and Dry

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is so nice and convenient to have an electric gate opener. We replaced a single gate with a double gate and were very happy that we could reprogram our existing remotes to operate the new system. We also have 2 existing solar panels so we had to buy a new battery (the system came with 1 battery) but that was no big deal as the batteries are very reasonably priced. We also chose to buy a second key pad so that our visitors could get out as easily as they got in! We are extremely happy with the new 2 gate heavy duty Mighty Mule automatic opener.
Pros: High Quality of Material, works with solar panels
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavy Duty Dual Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Tennessee

This thing is GREAT

PostedApril 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was very easy to install. Took about 3 hours total. Very easy to adjust so it closes just right. Directions were clear and there was also a DVD included. It shipped quickly and arrived with 3 days of ordering. We use the gate about 4 times a day and it operates as advertised.
I highly recommend it.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heavy Duty Dual Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package

Works as advertised

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installation was easy - instructions were right on. It has been working without any problems for about two months. It is slower than I would like and sometimes when using the remote transmitter when approaching the gates it starts to open and then stops at about 6 inches requiring closing and starting over. I have not determined if my vehicle is interfering with the signal or not. If I come to a complete stop it works ok.
Overall I am happy to have it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heavy Duty Dual Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Crestview, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I wanted. Fast delivery, easy installation, works perfect.

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This opener is more than I expected.Easy to install, works great. Best buy that I could find.Highly reccommend.I am 74 yr old with severe disabilities and the install took a little more time, but was not the fault of the opener.I am proud that I was able to do it by myself.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Light Weight
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heavy Duty Dual Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Dundee, OR 97115, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gate opener is just what I needed

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Coordinates with the single gate opener that I have on our other access gate. Common remotes, easy to install, and set-up master and slave operators. In use for a month thus far, with no issues. Single gate unit has been in operation for a year now. No issues. Previously I had used a similar unit for more than 10 years with just battery replacement being required one time.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heavy Duty Dual Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from South Carolina, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works fine but slow opening

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Works well. Opens very slowly. Customer support at Mighty Mule very responsive to unusual questions without a long wait to reach. Recommend if willing to wait for gate to open.
Pros: Easy to Install, low price
Cons: gate opens slowly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heavy Duty Dual Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package

Amazing product!!!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love this opener! Works great!
Easy to install, if you know what you're doing.
Directions are easy to follow.
Watch the DVD too. Very informative!!
I pulled the video up on youtube, on my Ipad so I could have it at the installation location.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heavy Duty Dual Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Mighty Mule Dual sing Gate opener Combo Kit 502

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good product,Easy to install and good technical support fom
Manufactors.suggest to get an extended warrenty also.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heavy Duty Dual Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

the product is eactly what we needed.

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product suits our needs perfectly, it provides the servicing for our home.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heavy Duty Dual Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Mississippi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality and value

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The only reason I didn't give this product a 5 star rating was I had it almost installed and discovered the slave arm wire was 8 ft. too short. Called and they sent me another arm with the correct length wire without any problem other than the 3 day wait .it was easy to install and appears to be a quality product. works great
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heavy Duty Dual Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package

Great product

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this combo and installed in within 2days. Installation was not very difficult. Great product..so far very happy with the quality.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heavy Duty Dual Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from El Dorado CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good purchase

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Must remove circuit board to view the serial number. Not good.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heavy Duty Dual Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Louisiana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm satisfied with it

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
I have only been using it for about a week ,everything works as indicated
Pros: High Quality of Material
Cons: a person need to be a handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heavy Duty Dual Swing Automatic Gate Opener Access Package
from Northern California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy set-up and install

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installation of an automatic gate as this product makes opening and closing a gate so easy. No more getting out of the car to open the gate in the rain, and added security to your property.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.