728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garage Door Openers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener-DISCONTINUED

1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener-DISCONTINUED

The Chamberlain 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener is a durable and reliable garage opener system with an industrial-strength chain. Its 1/2 HP motor is powerful and can lift almost any garage door. The opener has a 5-piece quick install rail system that can be assembled in 60 seconds. The rail and chassis are made from solid steel for strength and long-lasting performance. This unit includes Security Rolling Code Technology that changes to 1 of more than 100 billion never-repeated, new codes whenever the remote control is activated. This provides an added security measure.
Overall rating:
4.167 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(168 reviews) 168
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product140 of 163reviews
Rating Breakdown 168 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(94)
4
(45)
3
(7)
2
(7)
1
(15)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product140 of 163reviews
Customer questions and answers:
54 Questions | 85 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener-DISCONTINUED
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well, but kit is missing parts

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Opener itself is great and I love the convenience of it, however the kit doesn't actually include the parts to mount the device to the ceiling! Be sure to open the box in the parking lot, swipe the manual, and head back inside for the steel plate and bolts/nuts you'll need to actually put the thing on the roof! ;)
Other than the missing parts, the opener is really very simple to install and operate. My house was pre-wired for an opener, so no wires to fish, and everything went exactly as described in the instructions (which is a rare delight). It has two little knobs on the side to adjust how far up/down it goes, and lots of clever safety features to keep from accidentally crushing Fluffy. A great deal for the price.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, Lots of Features, Good Size & Fit
Cons: missing parts
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener-DISCONTINUED
from Greensboro, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product that is easy to install!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was a replacement for an older 1/3 hp model. The new model installed seamlessly and took under an hour. Excellent product, value priced.
Photo shows back panel of old model with screws, which have been replaced in the new model with pressure fittings that are much easier to work with.
Pros: Great Value, Well Made, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener-DISCONTINUED
from Johns Creek
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good purchase

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replaced an existing unit so installation was very easy. Directions are fairly clear. Rail snaps together but is very stout once together. I was not planning on buying this particular package as the description here on the web page didn't show that it had optical safety sensor. At the store I looked at the box and it did have the safety sensors. We have a bigger than normal one bay door. It is also solid wood so quite heavy. The opener has no trouble at all opening and closing. It was easy to adjust the open/close travel. It has been working great for about two months. Hoping it continues to work well....
Pros: Sturdy
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener-DISCONTINUED
from san francisco
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good and cheap

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Our garage door opener died after 10 years so we had to get one replaced. We were looking for one that is cheap, programmable and easy to install.
Installation was relatively painless but we did have to make some modification (and replacements) to fit the new opener onto the existing bolts that is holding the old door opener.
It is definitely a bit louder than the old ones (we were aware of that when we ordered it) but it works and that's important… It was also easy to program all our existing remotes to work with the new opener since it only came with one remote.
Pros: Easy to Install
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener-DISCONTINUED
from Olympia, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As advertised!

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Generally good. With only one remote is a big setback. Should all models come with a standard of two remotes!
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Great Detail
Cons: with only one remote
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener-DISCONTINUED
from Florence, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great garage door

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I are getting older and our old garage door opener died. We went to Home Depot, bought an opener and had it installed. No fuss, no muss. The man who installed it was curteous, and quick. It was up in no time. I'd tell anyone who needs something to get it at Home Depot and have it installed. For the small amount if installation fee, it's worth it to have it installed and save your old bod!
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Sturdy, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener-DISCONTINUED
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

For the moneyand ease of installation for the DIY its a goodchoice

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When my old garage door opener stopped working, I must admit I dreaded going through the process of getting a new one. Thankfully HD had my back and advised a perfect fit for a replacement. Clear instructions and in about 1 hour I had the new door opener in place and functoning perfectly. Highly recommended!!!
Pros: Great Value, Well Made, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Install
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

did not work

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Travel adjustments did not work. Unit was faulty. If travel was adjustd to minimum or maximum the opener would run for 27 seconds in either direction regardless. This led to the door hitting the safety bolt on the rail while opening and the door jamming against the ground when closing. It almost broke my rail! I decided to return it and repair my old chamberlain which is 17 years old. The old unit works perfectly and the new one is cheaply made in comparison to the old.
Cons: not functional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener-DISCONTINUED
from Middletown, NJ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great value and well built.

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is essentially the same uint as the 23 year old Craftsman that had just failed. The pros and cons are as follows:
Pros: great price, well built, good directions, no missing hardware
Cons: Only one one-button remote, variable codes means you can't use any existing programmable remotes or keyless pads, wiring connections are difficult to manage, but once wired, there should be no need to "rewire".
Pros: Great Value, Well Made, High Quality
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener-DISCONTINUED
from Brentwood TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

really happy with this opener

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am not one to buy the cheapest anything. I was very suspect of this garage door opener and how loud it would be. But,,,,, I needed to replace an existing door opener that had died. It wasn't in the budget and I straggled with waiting or buying cheep. After a rain storm and me getting wet closing the Garage I decided cheep was the way. The opener was easy to assemble and took about 2.5 hours. iI works really well and the nose is much quieter than the old beast it replaced.. for the price I am extremely happy. I personally am so excited the I saved money and it is really a good machine. Usually when i buy cheep I regret it. Not this time!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener-DISCONTINUED
from midwest
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Installation! Quiet

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the "no frills" model but still a quality opener. Wish that it had smart phone capability or another remote but priced accordingly. Went up easy without any special tools and one person. The unit is very quiet and lifts a 7x15 ft door effortlessly. Very happy with it so far.
Pros: Great Value, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener-DISCONTINUED

Great Opener at a Great Price

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed a new opener for my in-laws single car detached garage. I've traditionally always been a Genie screw drive guy, but I was shocked to see the reviews and how much the quality has decreased. Between removing the old opener, balancing the door, and installing this, it took approx 6 hours to do the full project. Directions were great, and the unit is very solid...you can feel the quality in this device. To be clear, this is a barebones model...designed for people who don't want the bells and whistles, and it only comes with one remote. If this is a problem for you, I suggest buying the next model up (HD600D). This is not as quiet as a belt drive but if you have a detached garage or don't care about noise, this is perfect for you.
For those saying this opener died a few months after purchase, you MUST BALANCE YOUR GARAGE DOOR BEFORE INSTALLING ANY OPENER. Garage door openers are meant to "guide" the door up and down, but the springs really do the lifting. if you fail to do this crucial step, you will burn out even the highest quality opener, which you cannot blame on the manufacturer.
All in all, this is a great high quality opener and exactly what I would expect for the money I paid. Highly recommend.
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener-DISCONTINUED
from Texas

Great value!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a replacement for a 10-year-old Craftsman opener. Chamberlain brand was recommended by the installer. So far, it's proven to be very quiet and smooth. I suppose it's somewhat slower when opening and closing, but I really have no complaints except that only one remote comes with this unit
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener-DISCONTINUED

It works very well

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Luckily I was able to use the old mounting straps and didn't have to bother with additional drilling. The biggest problem I had was with the wire connections to the unit. They were incredibly fine and it took over an hour of frustrating attempts to insert them into the "push and lock". I would prefer the type of connections where you slide the wire under a tiny screw and tighten it in place. The unit has been up and running for over two months and runs more quietly than my old Chamberlain 1/3 hp unit. It's strange that the old unit had lots of squeeking from the well oiled door as it raised. This one, no squeeks at all. My wife is happy, so I'm happy. The Chamberlain tech rep people were very helpful in answering some questions that wern't in the instruction manual
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener-DISCONTINUED
from NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

new garage door and opener

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a new garage door and opener from Home Depot I had them set up the installation I am very impressed with the two items that I purchased and the contractor that installed them.
The opener is very quiet and runs very smoothly I am so happy with my purchase both items were really reasonably priced. This is why I shop Home Depot.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Great Value, Beautiful Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener-DISCONTINUED
from mound
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

run from this one

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
installed easily but raised 5 feet then sensors failed. waited 5 minutes then it lowered and sensors failed again. cold solder joint is my guess. I expect dependability in a product I purchase this one failed right out of the shoot.
Cons: Quality, not functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener-DISCONTINUED
from Marietta, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great - HD Installation worth the money

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We purchased the basic Chamberlain garage door opener and purchased the in-home installation. The installer came within 3 days and included removal of the device which no longer worked. the new unit was compatible with home link and all universal remotes we already had. very happy
Pros: Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener-DISCONTINUED
from Fullerton, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Easy installation, works as advertised, no keychain remote.

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Opener works as advertised. Installation was simple, one person can do it. It opens and closes my one-car sectional metal garage door with ease. The instructions were clear, the parts went together easily. The door opened and closed the first time, I didn't need to do anything but adjust the limits. The only drawback with this unit is that it does not come with a keychain remote. I haven't decided how to handle this yet. I suppose I'll carry around the big clunky visor-mount remote for now and save up to buy a second remote, which would elevate the cost of this unit from "good bargain" to "would be a good bargain if I could close the door from outside the car". Perhaps Chamberlain can have a focus group and invite folks who own cars and garages. Or print something on the box that says "If you want to close the garage door from outside the car, buy an additional keychain remote."
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value
Cons: no keychain remote
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener-DISCONTINUED
from Norwalk, CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

so quiet!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had a friend install this in my rental house. He said it was easy to install. The motor is quiet and it works very well.
Pros: Great Value, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 HP Chain Drive Garage Door Opener-DISCONTINUED
from Appleton WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

took me one hr to install

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
motor on my Craftsman garage door opener died so went out brought this home every part was in box very easey to install Very Happy with it
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>