728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Bathroom Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel

Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel

The Franklin Brass Zinc Recessed Toilet Paper Holder in Satin Nickel features a beveled edge design and a satin nickel finish that can complement most styles of decor.
Overall rating:
4.548 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(146 reviews) 146
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product128 of 134reviews
Rating Breakdown 146 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(98)
4
(34)
3
(11)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product128 of 134reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer reviews for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
Review 1 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from san diego, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well-made, solid, nice finish

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Most people want to know how far a full roll of TP sticks out from the wall, since a recessed holder is installed in small bathrooms or regular bathrooms that don't have room for a standard roll holder, which stick out quite a bit and risk getting bumped or completely knocked off the wall by drunks or kids. with this particular holder, a fresh 4.5" roll protrudes about 4" from the drywall, which should save you some clearance room over a standard roll holder.
Install can be a little complex for novices. once you find out where your studs are (don't cut your studs! just drywall !) you can cut your access hole, I think it comes with a template to assist in sizing the hole. I used a oscillating saw with a drywall bit but you could probably use a rotary tool like a dremel or drywall hand saw.
Once I cut the hole I could see insulation because it's an exterior wall so I was unable to screw directly through the rear of the shell (two screw holes and screws provided) for fear of punching through the outside of the house. since I mounted it flush against the side of the stud, I am going to try to anchor into the stud on the side of the shell, which will be tricky. if that doesn't secure it well enough I will buy the bracket that home depot sells. it is not clear to me exactly how to install the holder without this bracket - even if you are mounting into an interior wall you would have to be concerned about running the mounting screws through the far side into the next room. (the bracket gets set into the hole and you can screw the holder into the bracket. allegedly.) I suppose if you cut a super accurate hole in the drywall you may be able to glue the whole thing in.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Use of Space
Cons: Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from Neenah, WI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It installed fairly easily, seems solid, and works.

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ordered this on-line so didn't see it until it was delivered. This toilet paper holder seems fairly solid and well built, although it seemed about the same as some less expensives one in the store (some came with their own mounting bracket included). The spring in the tube is a little to strong for now so you need to get a little leverage to take it out but better this than to weak. Install was fairly easy but that was because a recessed holder had been in there previously. A block of wood was wedged into the back of the recess for mounting so the extra mounting bracket was not needed.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Glad I read the reviews/complaints & ordered the Recessed Wall Clamp

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was glad I read the complaints in the reviews for the Franklin Brass Double Post Toilet Paper Holder in Bright Stainless Steel, as it wasn't clear to me that you also needed the recessed wall clamp.
I had contractors do the work, but I think it was easy enough for them to install. The paper holder looks great, fits in the wall securely & works fine.
You can just barely see the holder on the wall to the right under the window.
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Modern, Solid, Depth, Good Use of Space
Cons: needs to include the wall mount
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from WA.
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good looks for a great price

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
nice look with easy install specs spot on for backing and great space saver!
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Use of Space
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel

satin nickel recessed toilrt paper holder

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
it looks very smooth and is very easy to install. Quite satisfied with product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice looking, good value, a few simple design changes needed

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very nice looking and sturdy and the price is right. The spring inside the roller needs to be altered so it is not so stiff and tight. I compressed the spring so it would be shorter (to make changing the paper easier) and thinner (so it would slide in the roller easily). Also the roller ends are too small for the openings in the holder so that the roller clanks every time paper is used, so I put tape around the ends of the roller to make them fit better and prevent metal from hitting metal. Our installation did not require an installation kit because long mounting screws could go through drywall to unfinished space. The 1000 sheet rolls of paper fit the holder easily; they rest on the bottom of the holder when new but this is not a problem. I would definitely buy this product again.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Great Value
Cons: a few easy fixes needed
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from Albuquerque, New Mexico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

As expected

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The time from ordering to receiving was fast. Exactly as represented. Very easy replacement, fit perfectly.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: not carried in stock
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from Lone Tree Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Replacement recessed toilet paper holder

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Installation was easy. Product looks and works fine. I did not need the backing plate as the existing plate worked. Price is very high for this product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from Parkersburg, WV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, but note the installation details.

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
The holder itself is great. Sturdy construction. Big enough to hold the extra-large (double) rolls. The center bar is metal, not plastic, and has a strong spring. The brushed nickel finish matched the finish of the towel bar and light fixture from other manufacturers.
The problem was with the materials included for installation. I knew this holder needed a separate rear bracket, which must be ordered separately to mount it recessed into drywall. Both the holder and the bracket came with special long screws. The screw heads with the holder had matching nickel finish, and the rear bracket came with 3 sets of screws finished in white, brass, and silver to make sure they matched the finish of the holder. The holder came with pre-drilled and threaded holes for the screws, and the screws fit into these drilled holes.. THE PROBLEM: All of the furnished screws were wood screws, and the threaded holder took machine screws. I tried to use the wood screws anyway (because they fit) but ended up stripping all the threads off the screws as I tightened the holder to the drywall. You guessed it: had to make a trip to the hardware store to get special long machine screws with the proper head finish to match the nickel holder. It was very disappointing to not have the proper hardware included in the package!
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Depth
Cons: wrong hardware included
 
Products related to my review
 
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally a NICE recessed toilet paper holder

PostedJune 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Having looked in all the big box stores, I found it impossible to find a NICE recessed toilet paper holder that wasn't either cheap plastic chrome or white. If you live in a place like an apartment, etc where a recessed holder is the only option, then this is a great replacement for the "construction" grade stuff you might already have. All metal (even the roll holder) is a big plus considering alot of higher end non-recessed holders still use cheap plastic for the holder portion. Very nice brushed nickle finish.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from Washington
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a toilet paper holder!!

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This TP holder is brushed nickel and a direct replacement for the old chrome one I had. A bit on the expensive side, but luckily I only needed one.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Stylish, Durable
Cons: price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel

Ok but......

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product was polished nickel as promoted but it came without the backing plate needed for installation. Our contractor made it work but this problem would not be ok for someone who didn't know about the necessity of the backing plate.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from Havre de Grace, MD, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

paper roller does not fit well spring is poor fitting otherwise I think it is nice i would recommend this product to others

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product is nice except of the paper roller it does not fit together well it must be forced to go into the proper place for use.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Solid
Cons: paper roller not good
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from Prattville, AL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product with Irritating Flaw

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Installing a recessed toilet paper holder requires a recessed wall clamp - which is never included and must always be purchased separately. But they don't tell you that; you just have to know. Help out the DIYer and include it in the box - on all models. If you don't know it, you'll buy the item, get home, and then drive back for the next part (or order the additional part on line and kill a few days.)
Pros: Looks Great, Modern, Good Use of Space
Cons: Difficult to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Stylish and sleek

PostedApril 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very stylish and good quality for the price. It is not cheap like other products I have looked at.
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel

Difficult to find this product in stores, so I was thrilled when a store clerk found it online.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was a perfect replacement for the outdated brass recessed toilet paper holder. It was a little tricky putting it back in, but it fit in the same spot and looks great!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Stylish, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Good Use of Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Half of its good quality / Half of its not

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The housing portion is nice sturdy construction sheet metal, nice finish, easy to install if already framed for an inset TP holder. Otherwise you need to purchase a mounting bracket separately to sandwich it to your drywall.
either way super easy install, just be aware you may need an additional part that's not included and may have to order separately.
The spring loaded spindle that runs through the middle of the roll is poor quality.
Overall I rated it a 3 star because it's somewhat pricey in my opinion for a TP holder so I believe they should include the mounting bracket for those that may need it and a better quality spindle.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel

As pictured

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very good quality and looks true to picture. Thanks Home Depot!
Pros: Sleek, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Value, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from Lake Orion, Mi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality, deelivered quickly.

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
More difficult to install than expected as new holder is 5/8" deeper than original. Attaching surfaces had to be pushed off the current drywall 5/8".
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from Jim Thorpe
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not great, not awful

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I guess you get what you pay for. It was not super expensive but also is not super high quality. So so.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>