728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel

Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel

The Franklin Brass Zinc Recessed Toilet Paper Holder in Satin Nickel features a beveled edge design and a satin nickel finish that can complement most styles of decor.
Overall rating:
4.503 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(165 reviews) 165
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product144 of 153reviews
Rating Breakdown 165 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(109)
4
(38)
3
(12)
2
(4)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product144 of 153reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer reviews for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
Review 1 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from Joliet, IL
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Quality

PostedMay 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased three recessed toilet paper holders to inspect for our remodel project. We were really pleased with the sturdy construction of Franklin Brass Recessed Toilet Paper Holder. It was much heavier than other brands. The Franklin Brass had a much nicer overall design INCLUDING BEVELED EDGES – it was apparent that greater attention to detail was put into this product. The roller was also heavier and NOT plastic. Most importantly, the DEPTH was significantly greater to accommodate larger size toilet paper rolls. Of the three Recessed Toilet Paper Holders purchased for inspection, one was 1” in depth; another 1 ¼” in depth. The Franklin product was 1 3/4” in depth.
We really loved this fixture, but preferred Polished Chrome to the Satin Nickel; however, that was not a Home Depot purchase option. We called the company directly; they were very polite and helpful and sent out a Polished Chrome Recessed Toilet Paper Holder, which was perfect for our project. . I would recommend Home Depot to offer Polished Chrome as a purchase option for this product.
This product does not come with the installation bracket – be sure to remember to order that separately.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Durable, Depth, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from san diego, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well-made, solid, nice finish

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Most people want to know how far a full roll of TP sticks out from the wall, since a recessed holder is installed in small bathrooms or regular bathrooms that don't have room for a standard roll holder, which stick out quite a bit and risk getting bumped or completely knocked off the wall by drunks or kids. with this particular holder, a fresh 4.5" roll protrudes about 4" from the drywall, which should save you some clearance room over a standard roll holder.
Install can be a little complex for novices. once you find out where your studs are (don't cut your studs! just drywall !) you can cut your access hole, I think it comes with a template to assist in sizing the hole. I used a oscillating saw with a drywall bit but you could probably use a rotary tool like a dremel or drywall hand saw.
Once I cut the hole I could see insulation because it's an exterior wall so I was unable to screw directly through the rear of the shell (two screw holes and screws provided) for fear of punching through the outside of the house. since I mounted it flush against the side of the stud, I am going to try to anchor into the stud on the side of the shell, which will be tricky. if that doesn't secure it well enough I will buy the bracket that home depot sells. it is not clear to me exactly how to install the holder without this bracket - even if you are mounting into an interior wall you would have to be concerned about running the mounting screws through the far side into the next room. (the bracket gets set into the hole and you can screw the holder into the bracket. allegedly.) I suppose if you cut a super accurate hole in the drywall you may be able to glue the whole thing in.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Use of Space
Cons: Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel

Spring too strong

PostedJune 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Like the other reviews, the spring is too strong & will eventually bend or loosen the side arms because of this increased pressure.
After looking at the steel roller, I noticed that there was a 1/4" gap showing the spring between the two roller pieces.
This means that the spring was too long.
To correct this, I removed one roller end
& screwed the spring into one roller
end, then I put the other roller end on &
screwed it on as well.
When I had the second roller end off, I noticed that there was a round indentation
edge that the spring screws into.
This effectively shortened the spring length.
The factory should have done this before shipping.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Glad I read the reviews/complaints & ordered the Recessed Wall Clamp

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was glad I read the complaints in the reviews for the Franklin Brass Double Post Toilet Paper Holder in Bright Stainless Steel, as it wasn't clear to me that you also needed the recessed wall clamp.
I had contractors do the work, but I think it was easy enough for them to install. The paper holder looks great, fits in the wall securely & works fine.
You can just barely see the holder on the wall to the right under the window.
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Modern, Solid, Depth, Good Use of Space
Cons: needs to include the wall mount
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We used these in 2 bathrooms and would highly recommend.

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very nice looking and easy to install with the wall clamp.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Solid, Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Reliable, Good Use of Space
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from Neenah, WI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It installed fairly easily, seems solid, and works.

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ordered this on-line so didn't see it until it was delivered. This toilet paper holder seems fairly solid and well built, although it seemed about the same as some less expensives one in the store (some came with their own mounting bracket included). The spring in the tube is a little to strong for now so you need to get a little leverage to take it out but better this than to weak. Install was fairly easy but that was because a recessed holder had been in there previously. A block of wood was wedged into the back of the recess for mounting so the extra mounting bracket was not needed.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from Phoenix
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks good! Works well for confined space around toilet.

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought this holder to replace another one that was gold. It was really easy to install but we also had the plate that goes behind the wall to keep it in place. Fits nice and snug and seems like it will hold up well.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Use of Space
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from Troy Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice product!

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installed quickly and easily! Looks fantastic and matches other brushed nickel products perfectly.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from Utah
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This has a great high-end look! It only took me about 5 minutes to install and half of that was removing my old one.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Good Use of Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from Portland, Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

TP Holder

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is sturdy and looks expensive. It is deep enough for large rolls.
Pros: Looks Great, Depth
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great replacement to update our bathroom!

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We are very pleased with these recessed toilet paper holders in satin nickel. We purchased them to replace existing recessed holders. The quality is very good and the color was perfect to go with the brushed nickel faucets, lighting, etc. We did have the hardware to attach them so did not need to order it!
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from WA.
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good looks for a great price

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
nice look with easy install specs spot on for backing and great space saver!
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Use of Space
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from Federal Way, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality, but need to buy mounting bracket separately

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a very standard design that has been around for years. The overall quality and finish looks good. However you MUST BUY THE MOUNTING BRACKET SEPARATELY. This means additional wait time for online order and the total cost is much higher. I rated the value fair because of the hidden cost.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: no mounting bracket
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from Parkersburg, WV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, but note the installation details.

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
The holder itself is great. Sturdy construction. Big enough to hold the extra-large (double) rolls. The center bar is metal, not plastic, and has a strong spring. The brushed nickel finish matched the finish of the towel bar and light fixture from other manufacturers.
The problem was with the materials included for installation. I knew this holder needed a separate rear bracket, which must be ordered separately to mount it recessed into drywall. Both the holder and the bracket came with special long screws. The screw heads with the holder had matching nickel finish, and the rear bracket came with 3 sets of screws finished in white, brass, and silver to make sure they matched the finish of the holder. The holder came with pre-drilled and threaded holes for the screws, and the screws fit into these drilled holes.. THE PROBLEM: All of the furnished screws were wood screws, and the threaded holder took machine screws. I tried to use the wood screws anyway (because they fit) but ended up stripping all the threads off the screws as I tightened the holder to the drywall. You guessed it: had to make a trip to the hardware store to get special long machine screws with the proper head finish to match the nickel holder. It was very disappointing to not have the proper hardware included in the package!
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Depth
Cons: wrong hardware included
 
Products related to my review
 
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finally a NICE recessed toilet paper holder

PostedJune 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Having looked in all the big box stores, I found it impossible to find a NICE recessed toilet paper holder that wasn't either cheap plastic chrome or white. If you live in a place like an apartment, etc where a recessed holder is the only option, then this is a great replacement for the "construction" grade stuff you might already have. All metal (even the roll holder) is a big plus considering alot of higher end non-recessed holders still use cheap plastic for the holder portion. Very nice brushed nickle finish.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from Gulfport, MS
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of time

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The quality and cost of the item seemed to be good. The parts to install it in the wall were not included, the ad didn't make this clear and the local store did not stock the bracket to install it. I returned the paper holder to the store and purchased one (that had all the needed parts) from another building supply company. Would not recommend.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: does not have the parts to install.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from Charleston, SC

I agree with other low ratings

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I agree this product should come with the wall clamp included. In spite of that I thought I would just use the clamp on my existing recessed paper holder. Sorry....... although my existing clamp has three sets of holes none lined up with this holder. Also, the wood screws that came with the new holder won't thread into the existing clamp, which correctly uses machine screws. Now I have to order the matching clamp and have it shipped to store to avoid shipping charges. The closest Home Depot is an hour away and according to the reviews of this product the screws that come with the new clamp don't work. We'll see.
This product is very poorly executed. Once I spend time, money, and drive two hours round trip to collect the right parts it will likely be simple to install (no promises tho) and look nice in my newly remodeled bathroom.
Cons: doesn't come with the right parts
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel

Great replacement to match new nickel finish

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have a 70's house we are updating. We didn't want to do drywall work so this worked out great. Please tell the manufacturer to make metal replacement rollers to match. Everything on line is plactic...but the one that comes with it is metal. They just need to make more, we would pay extra to get good quality roller.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from Prattville, AL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product with Irritating Flaw

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Installing a recessed toilet paper holder requires a recessed wall clamp - which is never included and must always be purchased separately. But they don't tell you that; you just have to know. Help out the DIYer and include it in the box - on all models. If you don't know it, you'll buy the item, get home, and then drive back for the next part (or order the additional part on line and kill a few days.)
Pros: Looks Great, Modern, Good Use of Space
Cons: Difficult to Install
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Recessed Toilet Paper Holder with Beveled Edges in Satin Nickel
from Lawrence, Kansas

Nice, but doesn't come with mounting bracket!

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
The finish was nice and overall the holder is of good quality. The only downside was it did not come with a mounting bracket. The only way to install is by attaching to a stud - thank goodness my husband had the foresight to save the old mounting bracket from the previous holder. Seems for this price a sheet metal mounting bracket could be included.
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>