728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Filters & Cartridges or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Stainless-Steel Tank and Filtration System for InSinkErator Instant Hot Water Dispensers - DISCONTINUED

Stainless-Steel Tank and Filtration System for InSinkErator Instant Hot Water Dispensers - DISCONTINUED

The InSinkErator Stainless-Steel Tank and Filtration System for InSinkErator Instant Hot Water Dispensers is designed for InSinkErator instant hot-water dispenser faucets (except model Hot1). It is engineered for durability and peace of mind, with a generous 2/3-gallon capacity. It offers on-demand flow and unmatched performance with a patented expansion chamber and an efficient aspiration system. It has built-in overheating protection and a durable stainless-steel core for long service life.
Overall rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product39 of 53reviews
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(24)
4
(16)
3
(5)
2
(11)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product39 of 53reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for Stainless-Steel Tank and Filtration System for InSinkErator Instant Hot Water Dispensers - DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Stainless-Steel Tank and Filtration System for InSinkErator Instant Hot Water Dispensers - DISCONTINUED
Eliot
from Georgia

love it!

PostedMarch 30, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We use our InSinkErator Instant Hot Water system every day. It's great for stripping labels, cleaning stuck-on food off plates and oh yeah, it makes hot water for soups, coffee and tea....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stainless-Steel Tank and Filtration System for InSinkErator Instant Hot Water Dispensers - DISCONTINUED
dxb0077
from brookings, oregon

PostedApril 12, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
good quality item. easy to understand instructions. fairly easy to install. works great. no regrets making this purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stainless-Steel Tank and Filtration System for InSinkErator Instant Hot Water Dispensers - DISCONTINUED
ChuckG73
from Richmond VA

Lasted 2 years

PostedDecember 14, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Actually had it installed by a plumber and after about a year and half I started seeing water under my sink. It took a while to find but after troubleshooting found that the heater had started leaking,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stainless-Steel Tank and Filtration System for InSinkErator Instant Hot Water Dispensers - DISCONTINUED
Grandmalj
from Southern California

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love having hot water in an instant so much, we have 3 of these dispensers. It's really convenient for guests to make tea or hot chocolate whenever they want without waiting for a teakettle to boil.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stainless-Steel Tank and Filtration System for InSinkErator Instant Hot Water Dispensers - DISCONTINUED
eg70

When working - great. Fails too soon though.

PostedMay 29, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Within 7 years, we have gone through 2 InSinkErator Instant Hot systems. Both times, the hot water container got corroded, failed and leaked.
When the system is new, its great to have instantly hot water on demand.
However, the units fail way too soon, especially for the very high price point of around 250+ dollars.
Our most recent InSinkErator Instant Hot unit has failed in less than 2 years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stainless-Steel Tank and Filtration System for InSinkErator Instant Hot Water Dispensers - DISCONTINUED
jedpdx
from Portland, OR

SST-FLTR

PostedJune 10, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed the tank 31/2 years ago and worked great until now. There was a burning smell from the tank, so I unplugged it. The next morning it started leaking. Of course the warranty is only for 3 years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stainless-Steel Tank and Filtration System for InSinkErator Instant Hot Water Dispensers - DISCONTINUED
Matty44
from Boise, Idaho

Leaking Tank

PostedJuly 20, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
We replaced our original tank after 12 years. I was impressed with this replacement tank. It had larger volume and adjustable water temp. Very easy to install. Worked fine until just after the 3 year warranty expired.
The flow of water out of the Instant faucet became slower and soon after that I found the water under the sink. I think the leak was very slow to worsen.
We love the instant hot water and use it daily. We considered installing a unit in our summer cabin, but with the leaking problem we will never do it.
Too bad about the poor quality build to cause leaking. Note there are many reviews about the leaking....
Buyer Beware & Forewarned.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stainless-Steel Tank and Filtration System for InSinkErator Instant Hot Water Dispensers - DISCONTINUED
firestorm0327
from Los Angeles, CA

Lasted for 2 years

PostedAugust 4, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this product in 2008 and it last me 2 years before it started leaking. I called the telephone number written on the unit and since it has warranty for 3 years, they replace it with a new one free of charge. Installed it and i guess i have another 2 years before i replace this one, coz im sure it will leak again. I wouldnt buy this one when its time to replace.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stainless-Steel Tank and Filtration System for InSinkErator Instant Hot Water Dispensers - DISCONTINUED
deaconblu
from Washington, DC

Ignore the leak complaints !! IT'S A KEEPER !!!

PostedAugust 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The cause of the leaks in reviews on this appliance is the accumulation of salts in the water source. As these solutes concentrate the salts corrode the stainless steel liner. The same thing is happening in your home water heater in the basement, it just takes 15 years because , rather than 5, because the tank is larger.
The appliance is a great timesaver but like all water appliances it has to be maintained. Change the water filter every 6 months and drain the tank once a year. That will double the lifespan of the tank. I have owned these dispensers for years, its is a great product.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stainless-Steel Tank and Filtration System for InSinkErator Instant Hot Water Dispensers - DISCONTINUED
Ed4Handyman
from Long Island, NY

Great product but leaking

PostedAugust 30, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed this item about three years ago and attached it to the Reverse Osmosis system. I suspect it started to leak about three weeks ago and it was only today when I found the cabinet under the sink is destroyed due to prolonged exposure to water. The previous post recommends to clean It but reverse osmosis supposed to give ultra pure water!
I love the convinience of having hot water 24/7 but I can't afford to replace the kitchen cabinet again and I am looking now for other options
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stainless-Steel Tank and Filtration System for InSinkErator Instant Hot Water Dispensers - DISCONTINUED
b01723
from Boston, MA

Does the job

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The tank from my older InSinkErator started leaking. The new tank is sold separately and can replace the old one. So I didn't have to buy a whole new unit. The hew tank came with all the right parts and was easy to install and is working fine.
I would give it 5 stars except that I haven't had it long enough to judge whether this one will leak over time also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stainless-Steel Tank and Filtration System for InSinkErator Instant Hot Water Dispensers - DISCONTINUED
cdebord
from Auburn, Washington

Hot Water Dispenser

PostedDecember 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
LOVE THIS DISPENSER!!! It is a hot water and filter. I use this all of the time for instant hot water and filtered cold water. Another great feature this has is you can adjust the temperature of your water to be as hot as you want it. It works great. I don't know what I did without it before.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stainless-Steel Tank and Filtration System for InSinkErator Instant Hot Water Dispensers - DISCONTINUED
VancouverPurchaser
from Vancouver, WA

Useful, but very short life

PostedDecember 24, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The tank on this product started to leak just over 3 years after installation. First it started taking a long time to get the hot water out, then it stopped delivering water altogether. That's when we found the leak, which had probably been happening for quite a few weeks. The cabinet and part of the kitchen wall had quite a bit of water damage.
One reviewer suggested changing filters every 6 months to extend the life of the tank, but filters cost $60 each - that's $120 a year, plus the tank at $330.
Pretty expensive hot water. We'll be looking into other brands to see if they're any better.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stainless-Steel Tank and Filtration System for InSinkErator Instant Hot Water Dispensers - DISCONTINUED
Waterleakinguser
from Bay area, CA

Water leak

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I just found out the unit is leaking because the water tube insides the unit is broken. I am trying to replace it since it passed the warranty.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stainless-Steel Tank and Filtration System for InSinkErator Instant Hot Water Dispensers - DISCONTINUED
SeattleFixer
from Seattle

If it breaks, fix it

PostedFebruary 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As with the other reviewers my unit lasted around 3 years before it took a while for the water to come out which prompted me to look underneath the sink and sure enough it was wet. Thanks to a roll of paper towels there was very little damage.
I was set to buy a new unit but decided to open it up and see what the problem was. Turns out the tubing inside the unit was leaking and after a trip to Home Depot and 50c later, the leak was fixed and the unit is operational again. Don't buy a new one without opening it up. It is really easy. The tank is stainless steel and actually pretty good but this is a classic design flaw.
Hope this helps, 50c/$220, you decide.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stainless-Steel Tank and Filtration System for InSinkErator Instant Hot Water Dispensers - DISCONTINUED
Craig8
from Orlando

Instant Hot Water

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is great if you are a tea drinker or are a cook and like to have instant hot water. In order to install you need a 120V power outlet installed under your sink!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stainless-Steel Tank and Filtration System for InSinkErator Instant Hot Water Dispensers - DISCONTINUED
schtrumf
from cleveland, ohio

one of the cheapest PrOductS i have seen

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
after a year the drain plug started leaking.
the problem is not in the screw but the cheap plastic on the body of the tank that became lose.
save your money and do not buy it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stainless-Steel Tank and Filtration System for InSinkErator Instant Hot Water Dispensers - DISCONTINUED
MikeBro2
from Old Tappan, NJ

Reliable Product

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second time we have used this product. The first one was installed by the previous owner several years ago. Whenever we want very hot water we just press the lever and there it is. Ordered this one online since all we needed was what is under the sink. Did not need to pay extra for a faucet that we already had.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stainless-Steel Tank and Filtration System for InSinkErator Instant Hot Water Dispensers - DISCONTINUED
paul3317

Works great but may not last

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Like many others who wrote reviews my unit lasted just short of its three year warranty. Insinderator replaced it without question and provided a $25 self intall gift card for my trouble. The thing is that this unit was bought to replace a cheaper plastic unit that lasted seven years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stainless-Steel Tank and Filtration System for InSinkErator Instant Hot Water Dispensers - DISCONTINUED
msladeda

Leaked, out of warranty, company is sending me a new one!

PostedJune 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this in 2008 and it worked like a champ but started leaking 3 years later. I looked 2 days for the receipt and couldn't find it, but I found the manual and called the service number 800-558-5700 #2. I told them it was leaking from the bottom of the unit. They said according to the serial number it's out of warranty, but they're going to send me a new unit. Period. That's all! Even though my cabinet and wood floor has a little bit of water damage, I'm really excited about this kind of service. I think I'm going to keep some kind of drip pan under the sink in the future though, because I have a garbage disposal that's about due to leak too. LOL
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>