728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Extension Cords or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Wonder Winder Electrical Cord Reel-DISCONTINUED

Wonder Winder Electrical Cord Reel-DISCONTINUED

Automatically coil cable with this Grelea Wonder Winder Electrical Cord Reel which includes twist-lock mounting plates for interior or exterior installation.
Overall rating:
4.556 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product16 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product16 of 17reviews
Customer reviews for Wonder Winder Electrical Cord Reel-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Wonder Winder Electrical Cord Reel-DISCONTINUED
from Aromas, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Got it as a joke but love it!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Received this as a gag gift but the joke is on them ... I love it. Mounted touside my garage, I have about 100' of cord in it. Works great! Only time I have a little trouble & the wheel "slips" is if the cord is stiff from cold weather. If the cord is supple, it will work like a champ!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wonder Winder Electrical Cord Reel-DISCONTINUED
from Mishawaka, IN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy one, you won't regret it.

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had one of these for over ten years and it is one of those things that will never leave my garage workshop until I pass away or it falls apart.
All of us have struggled with an extension cord. We've wound them up using our hand and elbow, they become twisted and tangled and generally a pain when you go to use them. I bought this on a lark, never expecting it would turn out to be one of the things I show off the most in my shop. My contractor saw? Nope. My solid oak workbench that I built with my own hands? Nope.
No, I show off my Wonder Winder to anyone with an interest. It's simple to assemble, simple to install and never fails. Bonus: If you need a replacement part(I haven't needed one), the manufacturer doesn't charge an arm and a leg for them.
Also, being made of plastic I never would have imagined it would last as long as it has. It has far exceeded my expectations.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wonder Winder Electrical Cord Reel-DISCONTINUED
from Petal, MS.

Wonderful and simple

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product that is easy to use holds my heavy duty cord and doesn't take up a lot of space. I would recommend to anyone. I have recommended it to some one already.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wonder Winder Electrical Cord Reel-DISCONTINUED
from Fresno, California

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the 2nd cord winder I have owned. The first
one deteriorated after 15 years in the direct Fresno
sun. This is an EXCELLENT device and I recommend
it highly for its' convenience
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wonder Winder Electrical Cord Reel-DISCONTINUED

Very handy

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The best thing for extention cords I have ever had. Pulls out easy and winds up fast. No more wrapping the cord around my arm. If you're concidering buying this Wonder Winder, just do it, you will be happy you did.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wonder Winder Electrical Cord Reel-DISCONTINUED
from Charlotte, NC

Good Product, but arm gets tired

PostedOctober 8, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I received this item a few years ago after seeing it in my brother's garage. The products works good, just like it advertises.
However, after several uses your arm will get tired of winding up 125' of cord. Imagine if you use a heavier guage cord.
Consider the plastice rollup reels instead, they only cost $5-$8.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wonder Winder Electrical Cord Reel-DISCONTINUED

Use it every day

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have it in the garage and it gets used 6 days of the week for over 7 years.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wonder Winder Electrical Cord Reel-DISCONTINUED
from Chicago,il.

Bad idea

PostedApril 23, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one of these winders and it does not work well at all. When you hold back to put some pressure on cord it does not wind up mine is going in the garbage this week and putting up a retractable reel.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wonder Winder Electrical Cord Reel-DISCONTINUED
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have two of these and can't imagine anything that works better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wonder Winder Electrical Cord Reel-DISCONTINUED
from Rupert, ID
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool for organizing cords or smaller hoses.

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased two of these to help organize extensions cords in my shop. I ended up using one for an air hose. These cord reel winders have worked very well. The wind-up feature is not as smooth as I expected, but it does work. I have been happy with their performance and will probably buy more as needed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wonder Winder Electrical Cord Reel-DISCONTINUED
from Sacramento,CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and use

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product on our club trap shooting range to reel in the control cords. It worked perfect and the members liked the easy retracting handle. It is mounted outdoors on a pole and will be put to the weather test this winter. We'll see how long it will last.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wonder Winder Electrical Cord Reel-DISCONTINUED
from Delaware

GREAT

PostedAugust 19, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've considered getting one of these for years, but couldn't bring myself to spend the money on something I didn't really think would do what it said. I finally went for it, and I'm glad I did. I love this thing, It works great, and I no longer have to spend 10 minutes untangling the cord before each use.
I've only had this a few weeks, and I've already raved about it to everyone I know!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wonder Winder Electrical Cord Reel-DISCONTINUED
from kansas

Glad we found another one.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had purchased 1 several years ago from a magazine on a United flight. It finally gave out and was so glad that we found them. They are great and couldn't do without it. Just so handy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wonder Winder Electrical Cord Reel-DISCONTINUED
from Seattle, Wa

hangin hooks

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the hanging shelves and thought I might find a use for the hooks but didnt count on it. I am pleasantly surprised. They hook in neatly and look sharp. I use em for bicycles.
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wonder Winder Electrical Cord Reel-DISCONTINUED
from Seattle, Wa

Window film

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Went on Utube and found a couple of excellent videos about the installation. I put it on a south facing slider to cut down on the heat. It works well.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wonder Winder Electrical Cord Reel-DISCONTINUED
from Seattle, Wa

Wonder Winder

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a great idea. I installed it in the garage. Pull out as much cord as you need then simply reel it back in. No kinks. very durable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wonder Winder Electrical Cord Reel-DISCONTINUED
from San Antonio

Cord Winder

PostedMay 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Super! I wish that I had this product long ago.
The only problem I had is that it is not portable. You must hang it on the wall. So you must have one in several areas if you have a large outdoor space.
Once hung easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wonder Winder Electrical Cord Reel-DISCONTINUED

Men Laughed At It Until They Tried It

PostedNovember 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband had I don't know how many wind up reels for the electrical cords in the garage. Upon finding myself a single homeowner I got real tired of my arms getting really tired having to hold the orange reel while the cord was wound up. The closer to being done, the heavier the reel got. Found this 24k gem of a find in an odd-ball catalog in 1994. I have had it ever since and LOVE IT!!! Many a neighbor (men) laughed at me and it -- that is until they tried it. Each one reluctantly admitted it is a good idea and it works real slick. I now own two and will get a third for the different types and and gauges of electrical cords I have in the garage. Mine came with two wall mounts each so they can be moved around. Yes, your arm will get tired winding a long cord, but it won't be near as tired as using the orange reels that have to be held while you wind. If it is mounted too high on the wall for your height, you will tire easily. Remount it at a lower height. I would gladly pay twice as much for these. The first one has followed me to three additional homes since I first purchased it. Love it! Love it! Love it! Love it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.