728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Hedge Hog 24 in. 3.3 Amp Hedge Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

Hedge Hog 24 in. 3.3 Amp Hedge Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

The Black & Decker Hedge Hog 24 in. 3.3 Amp Hedge Trimmer features dual-action blades to cut branches cleanly, quickly and comfortably with low vibration. The 24 in. pre-hardened steel blades are rust resistant to help them stay sharp while providing great reach capabilities and even cutting. The full-sized, 3-sided handle has a soft rubber grip for a large gripping area with comfort and control.
Overall rating:
4.59 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product35 of 38reviews
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(8)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Features 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product35 of 38reviews
Customer reviews for Hedge Hog 24 in. 3.3 Amp Hedge Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Hedge Hog 24 in. 3.3 Amp Hedge Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Kansas City

GO HOG WILD WITH THIS TRIMMER!

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When our old hedge trimmer decided that it didn't want to be a hedge trimmer anymore, I saw RED!
Sadly, this is almost inevitable when the WRONG type of limb is nearly severed thanks to a temperamental, inefficient and dangerous old power tool!
I resolved that whoever designed this psychotic instrument of amputation must hate gardeners with a vengeance.
Enter BLACK and DECKER HEDGEHOG!! Safety features galore, double insulated construction, light weight and a breeze to maneuver! They clearly care about gardeners and the many challenges we face.
This hedge trimmer is FAULTLESS...and with it my dreams of becoming a master topiarist are no longer sad laughable delusions!
Don't see RED anymore...see BLACK and ORANGE!!!
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hedge Hog 24 in. 3.3 Amp Hedge Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

Second Hedge Hog

PostedSeptember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought my original Hedge Hog about 8 years ago. It performed as advertised and never gave me a bit of trouble. However, thanks to some unseen metal ornaments in my hedges, I damaged the blades. Thus, the decision came down to replace the part or upgrade the equipment entirely.
I am glad I chose latter option. The new and improved version of the Hedge Hog is amazing. It is lightweight, balanced, quieter, and thanks to it's longer housing-handle design the cord is a bit more out of harm's way. Not to mention the price was easily the decisive factor for my choosing to upgrade, as ordering, awaiting, and installing the replacement blades lent to a heartburn I did not need to endure.
I own several Black and Decker yard products and I would have to say this company puts some serious engineering into their equipment. That said, I did see the cordless version of this trimmer, but based on the amount of repacked and returned boxes on the shelves I steered clear of them.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hedge Hog 24 in. 3.3 Amp Hedge Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Washington

Great!

PostedJuly 27, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These have been great to trim our hedge. They have a ton of power and did a great job cutting through some of the bigger branches. I would highly recommend. They were cheaper than gas and the battery operated ones were pretty pricey plus they didn't have as good of reviews. So, I chose these and they have worked out wonderful!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hedge Hog 24 in. 3.3 Amp Hedge Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Glendale Arizona

Darn Good Product

PostedJune 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I usually don't write reviews, as I expect to be satisfied with every thing I buy - since I do research before hand.
Most of the reviews for this hedge trimmer were about cutting thicker branches. My situation was just the opposite. I had a Craftsman trimmer for many years and it did a decent job trimming most of my hedges and cut thick enough branches for my needs. However, I have some hedges that are thin and hard to trim because my Craftsman would leave stringy/hairy like cuts behind which looked bad. I just used the B&D 24" Hedge Hog and it cut those hedges clean as a whistle. And with MUCH LESS effort than my old Craftsman.
I am more than happy with this product, and would recommend it highly.
I like the balance of this trimmer as well with it's unique inline motor.
I also have a B&D cordless weed wacker which I have had for years and it is great as well.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hedge Hog 24 in. 3.3 Amp Hedge Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Delray Beach, Florida

Great Trimmers

PostedJune 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought these this weekend basd on the reviews and they are great ! They give a nice clean cut and are they get throught the thick branches. Another satisfied customer.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hedge Hog 24 in. 3.3 Amp Hedge Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Albert, Kansas

Great Trimmer !

PostedApril 6, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I went out to do my spring trimming with my trusty gas hedge trimmer and, no way was it going to start. My mother in law had just bought a new 20" model Hedge Hog so I asked her if I could borrow hers to do my work. Not only did it trim better than my old gas model but, it could cut bigger branches! and, with ease! The next time I went to Home Depot I purchased this model HH2450 and, man does it ever get with the program. I am really pleased that B&D came out with these new models that are more powerful and, will cut bigger branches. I thought that I might not like the cord to drag around but, after I finished I realized that the trade off of the heavy gas trimmer for the power cord was not even an issue. I will also add that these are light weight and balanced very well. No more gas for me!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hedge Hog 24 in. 3.3 Amp Hedge Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Boston, MA.

Hedge trimmer

PostedJune 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is excellent, worked right out of the box. Very strong and cut branches the cheaper versions did not. Good length to make cutting easier. It is worth the extra money than the cheaper versions as it made the job much easier and quicker.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hedge Hog 24 in. 3.3 Amp Hedge Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Olympia, WA

Hedgehog

PostedMay 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used this hedge hog for about 10 years on eight large viny hedges in my front yard and several more in my back yard. It cuts in both directions.
It cuts and trims well and is still sharp after many hours of use.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hedge Hog 24 in. 3.3 Amp Hedge Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Penna

Product does exactly what it is supposed to, and very well

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a much lighter trimmer which was not up to the task. This one cuts through everything.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hedge Hog 24 in. 3.3 Amp Hedge Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Allen, TX

blade broke

PostedJuly 16, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The hedge trimmer did a pretty good job at cutting my hedges, however after a dozen or so jobs, the blade broke. I have had this product for a year or so. I wish I had kept up with the receipt.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hedge Hog 24 in. 3.3 Amp Hedge Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Sacramento, CA

Hedge Trimmer

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product - no assembly required other than putting on the handle. Just plug and go -- works great and has substantial reach. Easy to use.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hedge Hog 24 in. 3.3 Amp Hedge Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Flint, MI

Above average, Tough and light

PostedJune 20, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned this tool for three years and it has never let me down. It is not 'average.' If anything it is above average. It has more than enough power to cut those heavy branches. The bigger limbs still need the chainsaw but if a branch can easily fit in between the teeth of this workhorse then it is as good as chopped off. One reviewer stated that this is a rechargable tool--clearly it is not. Nowhere in the add does it say rechargable. I have let persons borrow this and they were so impressed that they bought the exact model as well. I hope to get many more good years out of it and when it breaks down (eventually everything does) I have no doubt that I'll purchase a Hedge Hog again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hedge Hog 24 in. 3.3 Amp Hedge Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Lakewood, OH

B&D Hedghog Trimmer

PostedAugust 27, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Totally Recommend this trimmer for sure, very happy.
Trimmed both huge boxwoods rapidly and with lovely outcomes, the HEDGEHOG gives a smooth even and professional looking job.
I had to replace my old (old!) smaller B&D, which seemed to do a nice job, but this Hedgehog 24" gives a smooth even sweep, a very nice cut, too. Even though I trimmed a rather substantial amount from 2 overgrown boxwoods, they look fantastic! Far safer to use in the respect of the switching mechanism, it is basically 'locked off'' until you mean for it to be on. Then, you can just hold the trigger as you use it, or "LOCK it ON" for use. If you lock it into the ON position, one split second of not paying attention, and you tend to press the trigger which fortunately shuts them right off again. Keeps you alert as to what your hand is doing, not just what else is going on. However, in just 2 shrubs, I am learning/adapting to this new trigger/thumb lock combo, and find it to actually be far safer. The nuisance level therefore is most temporary as you become accustomed quickly. So in fact I found I actually like this safety feature. No slider switch to accidentally bump "on", which is a great improvement. Only 2 pale reasons I give a 4 and not a 5:
a) I wish the hand guard was slightly larger, it just makes me a little nervous is all, but of course it is hand sized and does just fine. Could be slightly larger though.
b) The paperwork warns you that the trimmer coasts for a second or so upon shut-off. I did not notice any coasting, if so it is very, VERY BRIEF. However, if B&D could get the stop factor any faster in nano-seconds, all the better of course.
So on these 2 points i will leave them room to strive for a "5" :)
Also, I truly love the straight inline shape for a terrific clean sweep. SO! Trimmed both huge boxwoods rapidly and with lovely outcomes, the HEDGEHOG gives a smooth even and professional looking job. Well worth the 69.00 paid, if i have any troubles in nthe future will update, but i do not expect any. Strong durable blades by the way. Great trimmer.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hedge Hog 24 in. 3.3 Amp Hedge Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Pensacola, Fl

WorkHog!!

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When my gas trimmer went Kaput! on me I bought one one of these. That was about 3 seasons ago. It made light work of the large amount of brush I have cut with it. But, it's now binding up on the smallest of branches and the motor cuts out from time to time but, with a sharp tap comes back to life. She has performed well. But, it's off to HedgeHog Heaven with you as I have already bought another to replace you. Yes, I just bought my second one. It should last just as long.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hedge Hog 24 in. 3.3 Amp Hedge Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Peoria,Az

Highly Recommend

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this hedger about 2 months ago and have used it about 6 times.The 24" blade is a real time saver from the 18" that I had before.I have only had to cut limbs about a 1/2" in dia. but it sailed through them like butter.Power trigger is easy to keep engaged and handle is designed around a nice balance for the blade.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hedge Hog 24 in. 3.3 Amp Hedge Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from West Texas

Great light weight tool

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had my first one for 3 years and some electrical parts went out. So I just got another new one about 2 weeks ago. You cant beat price. The hedger works great, if i can get another 3 years out of this one thats all i can ask for.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hedge Hog 24 in. 3.3 Amp Hedge Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Florida

Hedge Hog

PostedAugust 7, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I find this to be a very good trimmer. I have used other trimmers that were lighter in weight but didn't trim as well. I would highly recommend this trimmer. It isn't made cheap like alot of others and the price is right.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hedge Hog 24 in. 3.3 Amp Hedge Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Walnut Creek, Ca

Don't waste your money

PostedApril 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product. It broke just after the warranty ran out. The drive gears are made poorly, and a replacement blade assembly costs over $40. Save your money
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hedge Hog 24 in. 3.3 Amp Hedge Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from North Carolina

Hedge Hog Does the Job

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For several years I have laboriously clipped the bushes around my house by hand. I finally got tired of the blisters and bought the Hedge Hog to do the job. Wow!
This Black and Decker trimmer gets the job done quickly and easily. The trimmer is fairly lightweight, but the blade is tough. It cut through the various branch sizes easily and I had no trouble handling it. Unlike my lawnmower, the vibrations were minimal and my hands didn't feel numb afterward. I have owned it for over a year and have had no problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hedge Hog 24 in. 3.3 Amp Hedge Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Light weight easy to use. Swivel feature used regularly. Good price.

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I always had problems in the past with a trimmer not having far enough reach and if it did it was too heavy. Also with the swivel capability, I am able to adjust it in small spaces against the pool screen.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, swivel feature
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>