728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Nail Guns & Nails or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Industrial Round-Head Framing Nailer

Industrial Round-Head Framing Nailer

The BOSTITCH F21PL Plastic Collated Framing Nailer drives plastic collated framing nails between 2 In. and 3-1/2 In. length (.113-.162 shank). The F21PL provides a lightweight, magnesium design (weighing only 8.1 pounds) and features 1050 in. lbs. of driving power. With all that power, the F21PL is designed to tackle even the toughest engineered lumber applications. Its adjustable push-button depth guide sets nails to desired depths quickly and conveniently. Additionally, the F21PL features a unique 16 in. on center layout indicator for achieving the correct distance between studs in a matter of seconds without the interruption of a tape measure.
Overall rating:
4.722 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product17 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product17 of 17reviews
Customer reviews for Industrial Round-Head Framing Nailer
Review 1 for Industrial Round-Head Framing Nailer
from Canton MI

I'm surprised you don't need a permit to own it.

PostedDecember 29, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned my F21PL for a year and a half and love it. - I have used to make attic truss repairs, Install roof decking, and build a fence. The tool is well balanced. The push button and slide depth adjuster is very easy to use. When starting a new job depending on wood type and dryness I can usually dial in the driving depth within a couple of shots. The swing out rafter hanging hook is a nice feature I have used numerous times. The tool can take several different diameters of nails. The adjustment mechanism is a plastic dowel that inserts down the side of the magazine. If your nails won't load easily, or they rattle in the magazine , check that the rod is in the correct slot.
A few Safety notes. This tool has a lot of power and must be trated with respect. It can counter sink a 3.5" nail with no problems. If you currently own a finish nailer this tool has an order of magnitude more power. When using ALWAYS wear Safety Glasses. The "ammo" is plastic collated nails, when fired the plastic collation breaks off and files everwhere. Also in low light you will see the sparks come off the nail head. The tool comes with 2 triggers, The factory default grey is single shot, (press against work first, then squeeze trigger sectond) while the bump fire ( hold down trigger and gun fires when tip is "bumped" or pressed aginst workpiece) trigger comes in the box. If you aren't using the nailer for commercial use where time is money, or you have young kids stay with to the safer Grey single shot trigger. Also be careful when disconnecting the tool from your airline or the airline at your compressor with the tool installed. The inside of the handle is hollow to act as an air resevoir so there is alot of blow back.
- With regard to "Ammo" for this nailer, If this is your first framing nailer be warned of nail sticker shock. A small box of 500 will run you $10 to $20 and a case can be $40 to $95. Availability in my area seems to vary by store.
-The only down side to the product is the lack of a carrying case. A suggestion is to buy one of those plastic fabric ( TYVEK like) returnable shopping bags for storage. Overall a pleasure to use
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Industrial Round-Head Framing Nailer
from Page
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Product was awsome

PostedMay 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The nailer worked flawlessly. It saved me allot of time and labor.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Industrial Round-Head Framing Nailer
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice piece of equipment and has been dependable.

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am building a house and decided to get this unit. I have used the Bosch trim nailer for about 3 years with no issues so I stayed with them. I have put about 8,000 nails through this one so far, no jams had a few misfires but I attribute that to the nail stick. I don't run the Hitachi's nail sticks through it any more but that's for another review. Once I started using the GripRite the issue went away. I am working on this building only on the weekends which results in very long days. I use this all weekend long (10-12 hours at a time) without any fatigue. Nicely balanced. Used it for the framing and the siding. The adjustments made it very easy to move from 3 1/2 Framing nails to 2 1/2 ringtail nails and it was very easy on the Smart Board installation. Home Depot could do with carrying a broader range of 22 degree nails. Instructions were very clear pay attention to oiling instructions. Measurements on the nail carrier is useful and accurate. Loading is simple depending on the nail size it holds enough nails for me to get through a 16 foot wall segment before reloading. Only down side I would have liked for it to have its own carrying case. Should they decided to include a case in the future it should include the unit the tip adapters and a place for some 3&1 oil.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: needs its own case
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Industrial Round-Head Framing Nailer

Awesome tool.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Never jammed. Lightweight. Easy loading. Easy-to-use. Great hanger. Just a wonderful tool I would recommend to anybody.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Industrial Round-Head Framing Nailer

This product has made framing very quick. It is easy to use, and it has safety features to prevent accidental injury.

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I strongly recommend this nailer to anyone looking for such a tool.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Industrial Round-Head Framing Nailer
from Raleigh, NC

Quality Tool

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased the F21PL based on the Stanley/Bostich name and reputation. Boy, I "nailed" it! For my applications(volunteer building of ramps, sheds, decks etc.), and not a contractor, it's perfect. Great nailing power, easy to load, durable, utility hook is very handy and the "two guns in one" feature is great. The depth guage is easy to use and is actually accurate. I can't rate it a "5" since you have to change the trigger out to use "full auto" PLUS no bag or case is included. This is important to me (as well as others who rated this model and the F28WW). And finally, no, it's not too heavy. Great tool!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Industrial Round-Head Framing Nailer

Husband and daughters boyfriend love it

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The builders of the family love this nail gun and haven't had the same jamming problems they've experienced in other nail guns.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Durable, Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Industrial Round-Head Framing Nailer
from Valencia, CA

Good but great with a few mods...

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product performed well, has plenty of power to fully set 10D & 16D nails in engineered lumber and has a good feel and a sturdy tool that I will have for a long time.
Mods: Needs a quick flip lever for bump nailing from single nailing; replacing the triger is a pain. Needs the to have the ability to shoot at least 3" 10D nails in the hanger hole alignement attachment, the 2.5" max length is a short coming. Smaller height in the overall tool would be nice for tight areas.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Industrial Round-Head Framing Nailer
from Nc
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent nail gun

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent easy to use nail gun. I would recommend this nail gun to a friend......great product and Home Depot made purchasing this very easy...great job Home Depot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Industrial Round-Head Framing Nailer
from Marion, IA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Heavy Duty but doesnt always fire.

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Heavy Duty construction grade tool. However, every now and then I get frustrated because it takes 2 - 3 tries before it fires.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Industrial Round-Head Framing Nailer
from Wartburg, TN

Best all around.

PostedJune 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Out of all the nailers I've used, this is by far the best all around. Top quality.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Industrial Round-Head Framing Nailer
from Mansfield, OH

Bostich F21PL Framing Nailer

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased my first air nailer last year (a Bostich 18 ga. brad nailer) for some trim and finish projects and wondered why I waited so long. Hammers seem so "old school" now and way too slow. I selected the Bostich model F21PL for framing projects based on my overall satisfaction with the quality and feel of my brad nailer, the wide range of nail lenths that the F21PL will accomodate (from 2" to 3.5"), and surprisingly affordable price for a high quality tool. I just wish they made a carrying case to go with it. Yes, it would be rather large, but I would gladly lug it around for the added convenience. Aside from that, I think you are going to love this fine tool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Industrial Round-Head Framing Nailer
from Window Rock, AZ

Excellent Nailer

PostedDecember 13, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I framed my house over the summer months and I used the F21PL 21 degree Bostitch nailer. I am very comfortable with the nailer; as a matter of fact I purchased one more after my first one. Like other nailers, nails will occasionally get stuck in the hammer but overall it was like having three or four individuals hammering nails. I absolutely loved the metal connector accessories; the only problem I had was the difficulty to locate the 21 degree metal connector nails.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Industrial Round-Head Framing Nailer
from Manteca, CA

Bostitch Framing Nailer

PostedOctober 19, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased the F21PL nailer for it's ability to use both standard nails and metal bracket nails. During the construction of a wood deck the nailer has performed flawlessly with galv ring shank nails but I have had 3 jams and several misfeeds using the bracket nails. Tha jams were cleared easily but I can't give it 5 stars. I am happy with the nailer and love the versitility of it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Industrial Round-Head Framing Nailer
from Independence, Ky

Nailed it

PostedJune 10, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got the F21PL for my birthday (sweet!) to use to build a new deck. The cushion on the front works great so as not to scar the wood, very easy to load, and the directed exhaust is great (no more puff in the face). Finding the 21° plastic collated nails (especially exterior) is a pain, but you just have to catch the stores at the right time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Industrial Round-Head Framing Nailer
from Blackfoot, Idaho

great nailer

PostedOctober 19, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to frame a closet and for nailing supports in my trusses. This nailer works great and is easy to use. I especially liked using this nailer in my attic when nailing through dry trusses. Only complaint I have is that it doesn't come with a case or bag for storage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Industrial Round-Head Framing Nailer
from Los Angeles, CA

great tool from bostitch

PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
it is one of the best tools i ever got, just use it as instructed in user's manual.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Industrial Round-Head Framing Nailer
from Green Bay, WI

Worth the price

PostedJanuary 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought my framer from bostitch to renovate an attic. The wood in the attic has been there since 1935, so ordinary nail and hammer used to reinforce rafters, floor josists, etc would just end up in splitting the old wood. This nailer performed flawlessly. The environment was dusty to include a lot of insulation dust but it never quit. I do know some pro's who use it and complain about having to rebuild it but, realistically, there are a lot of soft seals needed to make this work, a rebuild is just part of the maintenance. I have since used this in building a house and a garage, as well as lots of odd jobs in renovation in my own home. Everyone who uses it for the first time is thrilled with the ease of use and the consistant performance of the tool. I agree with another writer that the only down side is not having a case for the tool. Sometimes I think I have too many cases but they make storage and transportation a lot nicer. Anyway, this is a great tool if you drive lots of framing nails of various sizes and the work it will save you over traditional hammering will have you wondering why you didn't but it sooner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.