728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garbage Disposals or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

The InSinkErator Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal is great for use in a variety of kitchens. It features MultiGrind technology that allows it to rip through hard-to-grind food waste, such as rib bones and artichokes. The grinding chamber is crafted with stainless steel for strength and has SoundSeal technology, making it at least 40% quieter than standard disposers.
Overall rating:
4.717 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(548 reviews) 548
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product521 of 539reviews
Rating Breakdown 548 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(435)
4
(89)
3
(12)
2
(6)
1
(6)
Features 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product521 of 539reviews
Customer questions and answers:
27 Questions | 113 Answers
Customer reviews for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Puyallup, Washington

Amazing

PostedFebruary 3, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I almost purchased the top of the line model for 299.00 but opted for this one at 199.00 and I can't imagine how the extra hundered dollars would have been able to give more than this disposal delivers. Installation was a breeze and I was installing under a sink that had no disposal to start with. The installation instructions are very well written and easy to follow. I also added the air activated switch ( also easy installation ). This unit is unbelievably quiet. With the under sink cabinate closed, its very hard to detect that its even running. Someone really did their homework when designing this. You won't be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from New Jersey

Easy to install and very quiet

PostedJuly 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My husband and I installed this unit a couple of weeks ago and I love it! We did have an existing unit to replace which made this installation very easy. You can barely hear the unit when it is on and the grinding capability so far is excellent. I would highly recommend this unit to everyone. It is a little more expensive than other units but you really do get what you pay for. A++++
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Atlanta

5 Stars

PostedSeptember 9, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A year later, it's still running like new and just as quite.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Crown Point, In

Great quiet product

PostedMarch 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Nice and quiet and works great. Easy to install.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Puyallup, WA

Worth the $$

PostedApril 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The other reviews are true. This is very quiet and easy to install. You will need to purchase the power cord if you can not reuse the one from your old disposer. Also, if you are replacing the sink flange, you will need plumbers putty. I did not need a hacksaw as my current trap was situated OK. The only slowdown I had was when trying to get the snap ring on the flange mount. It turned out I had it upside down.
I got 9 years out of the 1/3 hp GE that came with the house, which is a couple years less than expected. The blade came off and tore up the teeth; I found it in the trap. It must have rusted through. That disposal was also very noisy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Annapolis, MD

Fantastic disposer

PostedMay 7, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great disposer. I bought and installed the Essential to replace my basic builder GE disposer (which sounded like an aircraft taking off everytime I turned it on). I have never installed a disposer nor any other type of plumbing device, and I managed to install this product in about 3 hours by myself.
All you need is some wrenches, screwdrivers, plumbers putty and you're ready to install this puppy. When I turn it on, I can hardly hear it. I am very very pleased with this purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from PA

Outstanding disposal

PostedOctober 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After reading the online reviews, I purchased this disposal. As my home did not already have a disposal, I had to run new electrical lines for a new wall switch and under cabinet outlet. The disposal now has its own dedicated line from the breaker box feeding a single switched outlet. The wall switch shares a now enlarged receptacle box with the ceiling lights dimmer switch. Toughest part of the entire installation was removing the existing sink strainer which had corroded in place and would not unscrew off. I used a Dremel with a cutting wheel to carefully make cuts in three places around the strainer locknut and peeled the parts off the threads thus removing the entire fixture. Installing the new parts was easy enough provided you either have someone hold the new strainer down or use the disposal itself to provide weight. Don't forget the plumbers putty before assembly!!! Get a handful of putty and roll into a snake and wrap around the underside of the strainer before inserting into the sink. The spring clip can be a little tricky but keep at it. Lastly, the unit camlocks into position and plugs in. You won't believe how quiet this unit is. It is much like the sound of a jammed disposal...just a buzz. The running water is twice as loud as this unit. And it grinds every bit as fast as ordinary disposals. Although a little pricier than normal disposals, this one is worth every penny.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Laramie, Wyoming

nice and quite

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A very good buy
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Dallas, Tx

This is just for installation and noise factor.

PostedJanuary 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just installed this unit for my mother. She already had the Badger 5 that gave out after...4 years? Even though it lasted that long, it was noisy and smelled. This unit took me 15-30 min install begin to finish (including taking out the old one). It comes right off (the new unit fits right on the old mount), the electric cord is simple to switch, and the necessary plumbing mod is in the box! Perfect fit. Plug it in run cold water and it sounds like it's not even working. Haha really! The motor is obviously running but the blades move so quietly. I know she is going to love it! Be sure to look at the instructions, they are simple, and tell you to knock out the dishwasher stopper (which I see some people forgot to do, lol). I'll update if anything happens!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Price is Worth the Upgrade

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our old unit was installed 7 years ago in our brand new home. It was an InSinkErator however, it was builder grade - lesser horsepower resulting in less than optimal performance. Additionally, after having it for seven years it started leaking and needed to be replaced. My husband and I decided to stick with the brand but purchase one with more power and a different model of InSinkerErator. So far, we are extremely pleased and agree the extra money was worth it. For the most part we agree with the other positive reviews submitted for the product - which is one thing we considered when deciding what to purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Fair Lawn, NJ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

quieter and more efficient than our previous unit

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have installed four different food disposal units and this one was the best both in terms of performance. It is very quiet, has minimal vibration and the installation was simple and straightforward.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Good Product - good experience with tech support

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was very impressed with how quiet and effective this disposer was. Easy to install, too. However, after about a year I started to get a lot of noise and vibration. I searched on the internet to see if others were reporting similar problems, but found nothing. Since the product was under warranty, I was going to call a service person to have the thing fixed. I'm glad that I first submitted a form from the "We Come To You" tab on Insinkerator's Service and Support web page. I mentioned that my problem was noise and vibration, and got back a lengthy letter detailing things to check and do for this problem before calling in a repair service. One of those things fixed my problem (an impeller was stuck throwing the disposer out of balance) in about 30 seconds. Since the disposer was not defective, I would have been liable for cost of the service call. This worked out fine for me, but the info they sent me should be on their web site. Had it been, I'd have fixed the problem sooner ... and given this product a five star rating.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Poway, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Couldn't be happier!

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My old badger rebelled in a big way and it looked like a Chinese food C4 bomb went off under the sink.
I thought about buying the next model up, but I'm glad I saved the money because this model is perfect.
The Evolution Essential installed super quickly using the existing mount. As others have mentioned, it's fatter than the old one so I had to manipulate the pipes a bit. I did have to make another run to the store for the power-cord kit when I discovered I couldn't get the power cord off the old badger. On thing that threw me at first, that I now realize is brilliant is that the baffle (the black plastic bit) installs from the top. Yesterday, I popped it out and ran it through the dishwasher, and it just feels so much more sanitary that the fixed ones that are permanently manky. Plus, I discovered you can see clearly down into the grinding chamber if you need to dislodge something instead of blindly fishing while having horror-movie flashbacks.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Built Better

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was an upgrade to our existing 12-yr old Badger. I like the stainless steel chamber, which I'm counting on for product longevity. Amazingly quiet compared to it's earlier sibling. Installation was straightforward. Very pleased after 3 weeks of use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from New Jersey
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

LOVE it !!!!

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This garbage disposal is AWESOME I just had it installed and really love it! Would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a good quality disposal and is willing to pay a little more for it. This is worth every penny its powerful and works great... a must have for me!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Quiet

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Have had 2 weeks and so far works well and is quiet. Does grind up some of the tougher foods well.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Delaware, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Without a doubt it seems much more effective than the unit i had.

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I found the product extremely easy to install by simply following the directions provided. It is an easily discernible fact that the unit is much more quiet than my previous unit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

extremely quiet

PostedApril 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased this unit to replace the badger that we had for 8 years and finally wore out. The old one was also very noisy after installing a stainless steel sink. This new Essential model is so quiet you can't even tell it is grinding anything, even attached to a stainless sink. The all stainless steel interior makes it easy to find something that doesn't belong in the disposer and may have gotten past the rubber baffle, even though it is pretty tough for anything to get past the baffle. The baffle also easily lifts out in order to see inside the disposer. Love how well it grinds up anything with ease. Installation was easy as it fit the existing sink flange attachment. Would definitely purchase again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Paramus, NJ

Quiet

PostedJanuary 24, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a noticeably quieter unit than previous units that I have installed. Installation was simple. I recommend this disposer strongly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Excellent disposal

PostedJune 7, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our old Kenmore unit finally gave up and died. When it ran, it shook the kitchen with its noise and vibration. Often, it sprayed the person operating it with water as it ran. It often didn't grind well enough and the sink would clog. We initially decided to buy the GE model as it is $60 less. However, the store only had Insinkerator brands when we went to buy. Wife talked me into the Evolution. Unit was a breeze to install. Only hard part is snapping on the wire ring (don't forget to really loosen the screws before trying). Actually hooking up the unit was a simple twist. I was able to use existing plumbing connections and my existing power cord from the old unit. Total install was probably 40 minutes. The removable baffle/splash guard is a great idea, not only because it greatly reduces noise from the disposal but also that it can be removed and washed or cleaned. One note of caution, grinding bones is very loud and does involve quite a lot of vibration. Normal operation is as others say - extremely quiet. Basically you only hear the water and the humming of the motor.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>