728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garbage Disposals or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

The InSinkErator Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal is great for use in a variety of kitchens. It features MultiGrind technology that allows it to rip through hard-to-grind food waste, such as rib bones and artichokes. The grinding chamber is crafted with stainless steel for strength and has SoundSeal technology, making it at least 40% quieter than standard disposers.
Overall rating:
4.708 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(692 reviews) 692
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product653 of 679reviews
Rating Breakdown 692 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(553)
4
(104)
3
(17)
2
(8)
1
(10)
Features 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product653 of 679reviews
Customer questions and answers:
30 Questions | 128 Answers
Customer reviews for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from New Jersey

Easy to install and very quiet

PostedJuly 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My husband and I installed this unit a couple of weeks ago and I love it! We did have an existing unit to replace which made this installation very easy. You can barely hear the unit when it is on and the grinding capability so far is excellent. I would highly recommend this unit to everyone. It is a little more expensive than other units but you really do get what you pay for. A++++
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Miami

Bones too?!

PostedMay 20, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'll tell you, my wife said, "NO!! Not bones!!! Are you crazy?!!!" Well, I was feeling adventurous that day and I decided to throw some rib bones down the disposal. Not just 1 or 2 but over 12 bones, almost all at once and this disposer completely ground them up and down the drain they went in a couple of minutes. This thing is amazing, indestructable and quiet. Feel free to grind up almost anything and down it will go, no more nasty food waste in the garbage. I've had mine for over 2 years.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Excellent disposal

PostedJune 7, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our old Kenmore unit finally gave up and died. When it ran, it shook the kitchen with its noise and vibration. Often, it sprayed the person operating it with water as it ran. It often didn't grind well enough and the sink would clog. We initially decided to buy the GE model as it is $60 less. However, the store only had Insinkerator brands when we went to buy. Wife talked me into the Evolution. Unit was a breeze to install. Only hard part is snapping on the wire ring (don't forget to really loosen the screws before trying). Actually hooking up the unit was a simple twist. I was able to use existing plumbing connections and my existing power cord from the old unit. Total install was probably 40 minutes. The removable baffle/splash guard is a great idea, not only because it greatly reduces noise from the disposal but also that it can be removed and washed or cleaned. One note of caution, grinding bones is very loud and does involve quite a lot of vibration. Normal operation is as others say - extremely quiet. Basically you only hear the water and the humming of the motor.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Charlotte, NC

Evolution Essential

PostedApril 8, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this disposer to replace the builder installed GE unit. The InsinkErator Evolution disposer is excellent. It’s so quiet that the plumber and I had trouble determining if it was running. I almost purchased the $319 Excel but at $199 this disposer more than met my needs, in fact it exceed my exceptions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Tampa Florida

WOW

PostedMarch 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
All I can say is wow. I replaced a builder grade InSinkErator 1/4 hp that wouldn't grind up soft butter. This thing can double as a wood chipper. When I turned it on it sounded like my old one, when stuck. This is whisper quiet. I have yet to convince my wife that is is actually running. Really impressed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Paramus, NJ

Quiet

PostedJanuary 24, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a noticeably quieter unit than previous units that I have installed. Installation was simple. I recommend this disposer strongly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from punta gorda,fl.

monty3

PostedMay 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Does the job quietly !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Puyallup, WA

Worth the $$

PostedApril 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The other reviews are true. This is very quiet and easy to install. You will need to purchase the power cord if you can not reuse the one from your old disposer. Also, if you are replacing the sink flange, you will need plumbers putty. I did not need a hacksaw as my current trap was situated OK. The only slowdown I had was when trying to get the snap ring on the flange mount. It turned out I had it upside down.
I got 9 years out of the 1/3 hp GE that came with the house, which is a couple years less than expected. The blade came off and tore up the teeth; I found it in the trap. It must have rusted through. That disposal was also very noisy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Farmington Hills, Michigan

Oh So Quiet and Easy to Install

PostedMay 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After reading other reviews, I figured on about an hour-long install. But because the unit I was replacing was a previous model In Sink Erator (Badger5), I didn't need to bother with installing the new collar. I just twisted the old disposal off, and twisted the new one on (fantastic design feature) - hooked up the electrical, the drain pipe, and dishwasher line - and in 15 minutes was good-to-go!
My local Home Depot had a display that let you hear simulations of what the three different sound deadening methods used in the In Sink Erator models would sound like. This model uses the mid level sound deadening. I was awfully tempted to shell out the extra $115 for the top of the line model. But after getting this one installed and running it the frst time I couldn't be happier. Compared to the Badger5, this baby runs as quiet as a Lexus engine. I honestly find it hard to beleive that the top of the line model could be any quieter than this one.
I figured there'd be a huge difference when I noticed the rubber 'neck' suspending the unit from the collar - isolating vibrations from ever reaching the sink. Which is especially important with brushed aluminum sinks because they transmit a lot more noise than porcelain ones. So the unit actually is allowed to shake and sway independent of the collar that attaches it to the sink.
Note to self: Never pour industrial strength drain opener down disposal again... EVER. That's what cremated the seal on my 3-year old Badger5 sending it to an early grave. R.I.P. and good riddance to that loudly obnoxious beast.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from tucson,az.

disposal

PostedMay 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
quiet,quiet, efficient. easy install. hope it lasts forever.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Atlanta

5 Stars

PostedSeptember 9, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A year later, it's still running like new and just as quite.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Federal Way, WA

Easy to install and quiet

PostedSeptember 12, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our house came with a noisy and relatively ineffective disposal. When it quit working all together, I could no longer put off replacement and looked for a quiet model. After doing an online search, I checked the local Home Depot to see if the models I was interested in were available. The store rep recommended a less expensive model until I told him I was looking for quiet. The Essential is worth its higher price. It is so quiet, it can hardly be heard over the running water! Also, the disposer is large enough to reach in (when power is off) to get inappropriate items out, should they get past the black part which is removeable for cleaning.
I was hesitant about installiation, but the store rep said it was easy and the online and written instructions were clear. Because the old mount was corroded, I decided to replace it - this part took the longest. First, I followed the instructions and used a towel and disposer to hold the ring - I had to redo it with someone to hold the ring in place from the top of the sink while I tightened from below. The rest was extremely easy and there were NO leaks!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Fair Lawn, NJ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

quieter and more efficient than our previous unit

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have installed four different food disposal units and this one was the best both in terms of performance. It is very quiet, has minimal vibration and the installation was simple and straightforward.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Elk Grove, CA

Easy install

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It took all of about 1 hour and 15 minutes to install this disposer. I replaced the original Badger 1 from the builder. The installation time includes replacing the sink ring, swapping the power cord over from the old disposer to the new one, reading the instructions as I went along and clean up. No modifications to the existing plumbing was necessary. We have found this new disposer to be very quite as some of the other reviews have stated. I just installed it so I cannot comment on long term performance.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Puyallup, Washington

Amazing

PostedFebruary 3, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I almost purchased the top of the line model for 299.00 but opted for this one at 199.00 and I can't imagine how the extra hundered dollars would have been able to give more than this disposal delivers. Installation was a breeze and I was installing under a sink that had no disposal to start with. The installation instructions are very well written and easy to follow. I also added the air activated switch ( also easy installation ). This unit is unbelievably quiet. With the under sink cabinate closed, its very hard to detect that its even running. Someone really did their homework when designing this. You won't be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Salinas, CA

The best for your money

PostedMay 8, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Its worth your money, at first i couldn't decide which one to buy, but after al little research i decided for this one and i am very happy.
My old one stoped working about a month ago, but i was worried that if i tried replacing it i wouldn't know how to install the new one, being that i have very little pluming experience.
All i did was follow the instructions step by step and i was done in about an hour, I was surprised how easy it was to install, I think any person can do it.
I do recomened you buy a new externsion cord, instead of trying to use your old one.
The disposer does not come with one, but buying one is only $12.00 and it comes with everything you need to install it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Dallas, Tx

This is just for installation and noise factor.

PostedJanuary 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just installed this unit for my mother. She already had the Badger 5 that gave out after...4 years? Even though it lasted that long, it was noisy and smelled. This unit took me 15-30 min install begin to finish (including taking out the old one). It comes right off (the new unit fits right on the old mount), the electric cord is simple to switch, and the necessary plumbing mod is in the box! Perfect fit. Plug it in run cold water and it sounds like it's not even working. Haha really! The motor is obviously running but the blades move so quietly. I know she is going to love it! Be sure to look at the instructions, they are simple, and tell you to knock out the dishwasher stopper (which I see some people forgot to do, lol). I'll update if anything happens!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Broken Arrow, OK, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great unit

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My first time to replace a garbage grinder.Great instructions everything went smoothly. I was certainly impressed with the quiick attach/detach coupling. The unit is very quiet and vibration free. The unit replaced was a 1/3 hp contractor version installed when our home was built. Noisy and vibrating it lasted six years. The essential 3/4 hp is a disposer we are proud to have. Special thanks to the manufacturer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

extremely quiet

PostedApril 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We purchased this unit to replace the badger that we had for 8 years and finally wore out. The old one was also very noisy after installing a stainless steel sink. This new Essential model is so quiet you can't even tell it is grinding anything, even attached to a stainless sink. The all stainless steel interior makes it easy to find something that doesn't belong in the disposer and may have gotten past the rubber baffle, even though it is pretty tough for anything to get past the baffle. The baffle also easily lifts out in order to see inside the disposer. Love how well it grinds up anything with ease. Installation was easy as it fit the existing sink flange attachment. Would definitely purchase again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Master Plumber's review 10/23/11

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My fiance has just installed at my home a new Insinkerator Evolution Essential. It is replacing a 30+ year old Insinkerator top model 50 year anniversary model. Obviously, 30+ years is pretty darn good. The old disposal had reached a noise level that was deafening.
My fiance installs this model constantly at the homes of customers and has never had a complaint. Of course, as a Master Plumber the installation is easy, however, sometimes he even runs into situations that are more complicated. He asked me to write this review to let homeowners know that this model is even the choice of professional installers. The previous reviewers are certainly correct in rating this model as extremely quite and being very effective in its grinding capability.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 16 >>