728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garbage Disposals or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

The InSinkErator Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal is great for use in a variety of kitchens. It features MultiGrind technology that allows it to rip through hard-to-grind food waste, such as rib bones and artichokes. The grinding chamber is crafted with stainless steel for strength and has SoundSeal technology, making it at least 40% quieter than standard disposers.
Overall rating:
4.709 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(454 reviews) 454
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product430 of 447reviews
Rating Breakdown 454 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(359)
4
(75)
3
(9)
2
(5)
1
(6)
Features 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product430 of 447reviews
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 74 Answers
Customer reviews for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Emily
from Washington DC

So quiet!

PostedSeptember 15, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although this dispoal is quite a bit more expensive than the basic version, I think it's well worth the extra money. It is amazingly quiet. I can barely hear it when the water is running. Also, it does a great job of grinding objects. I didn't install it so I can't speak to that but it does work wonderfully.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
hookcapn
from Paramus, NJ

Quiet

PostedJanuary 24, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a noticeably quieter unit than previous units that I have installed. Installation was simple. I recommend this disposer strongly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
DavidJ
from Puyallup, Washington

Amazing

PostedFebruary 3, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I almost purchased the top of the line model for 299.00 but opted for this one at 199.00 and I can't imagine how the extra hundered dollars would have been able to give more than this disposal delivers. Installation was a breeze and I was installing under a sink that had no disposal to start with. The installation instructions are very well written and easy to follow. I also added the air activated switch ( also easy installation ). This unit is unbelievably quiet. With the under sink cabinate closed, its very hard to detect that its even running. Someone really did their homework when designing this. You won't be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
jakenotacontractor
from Annapolis, MD

Fantastic disposer

PostedMay 7, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great disposer. I bought and installed the Essential to replace my basic builder GE disposer (which sounded like an aircraft taking off everytime I turned it on). I have never installed a disposer nor any other type of plumbing device, and I managed to install this product in about 3 hours by myself.
All you need is some wrenches, screwdrivers, plumbers putty and you're ready to install this puppy. When I turn it on, I can hardly hear it. I am very very pleased with this purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
VCamayd
from Miami

Bones too?!

PostedMay 20, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'll tell you, my wife said, "NO!! Not bones!!! Are you crazy?!!!" Well, I was feeling adventurous that day and I decided to throw some rib bones down the disposal. Not just 1 or 2 but over 12 bones, almost all at once and this disposer completely ground them up and down the drain they went in a couple of minutes. This thing is amazing, indestructable and quiet. Feel free to grind up almost anything and down it will go, no more nasty food waste in the garbage. I've had mine for over 2 years.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
jayatl71
from Atlanta

5 Stars

PostedSeptember 9, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A year later, it's still running like new and just as quite.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Mquicks
from Charlotte, NC

Evolution Essential

PostedApril 8, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this disposer to replace the builder installed GE unit. The InsinkErator Evolution disposer is excellent. It’s so quiet that the plumber and I had trouble determining if it was running. I almost purchased the $319 Excel but at $199 this disposer more than met my needs, in fact it exceed my exceptions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
MattThePlumber
from Puyallup, WA

Worth the $$

PostedApril 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The other reviews are true. This is very quiet and easy to install. You will need to purchase the power cord if you can not reuse the one from your old disposer. Also, if you are replacing the sink flange, you will need plumbers putty. I did not need a hacksaw as my current trap was situated OK. The only slowdown I had was when trying to get the snap ring on the flange mount. It turned out I had it upside down.
I got 9 years out of the 1/3 hp GE that came with the house, which is a couple years less than expected. The blade came off and tore up the teeth; I found it in the trap. It must have rusted through. That disposal was also very noisy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
monty2
from punta gorda,fl.

monty3

PostedMay 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does the job quietly !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
BJJP
from Thousand Oaks, CA

Super Quiet

PostedJanuary 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had to replace our other InSinkerator garbage disposal. We were lucky and the locking ring is the same as the old one so we just had to disconnect the old one and reconnect and place the new one which was pretty easy. The first time I turned it on I thought we had done something wrong because it was so quiet but so far it is working great and it doesn't scare the cats when I turn it on!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Anonymous
from Tampa Florida

WOW

PostedMarch 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All I can say is wow. I replaced a builder grade InSinkErator 1/4 hp that wouldn't grind up soft butter. This thing can double as a wood chipper. When I turned it on it sounded like my old one, when stuck. This is whisper quiet. I have yet to convince my wife that is is actually running. Really impressed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
SanDiegoGirl
from San Diego, CA

Very Quite

PostedJune 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My hubby just installed in new kitchen. I have a, one sink, stainless steal and Home Depot installed Granite counter top. Bought this disposal in store. It is so quiet I forget its on until I shut off the water. Don't know if it is so quiet because of the way my kitchen is built, but I love it. I am only rating on quietness as I have not had a chance to really work it yet. I have though, had the same type of one installed in another home, which is a rental and no problems so far in 4 years.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Dave921
from Elk Grove, CA

Easy install

PostedDecember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It took all of about 1 hour and 15 minutes to install this disposer. I replaced the original Badger 1 from the builder. The installation time includes replacing the sink ring, swapping the power cord over from the old disposer to the new one, reading the instructions as I went along and clean up. No modifications to the existing plumbing was necessary. We have found this new disposer to be very quite as some of the other reviews have stated. I just installed it so I cannot comment on long term performance.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
TheDMC
from Zionsville, IN

Easy, but...

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
FYI, all the reviews are accurate, the process to swap out an old Badger, for a new Evolution is easy. Save the installation fee, and do this yourself. The only complaint is, if you have any other type of flange than stainless steel, you must buy another flange to match your sink. For instance, we have a biscuit color sink, and to find an insinkerator flange, in biscuit is VERY tough. We had to go with another brand, not at HD, and that got frustrating. You also can't purchase the flange on-line from Insinkerator. It would have been nice if HD stocked a couple other flanges, from Insinkerator that would have made this process quicker.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
DINKilla
from Dallas, Tx

This is just for installation and noise factor.

PostedJanuary 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just installed this unit for my mother. She already had the Badger 5 that gave out after...4 years? Even though it lasted that long, it was noisy and smelled. This unit took me 15-30 min install begin to finish (including taking out the old one). It comes right off (the new unit fits right on the old mount), the electric cord is simple to switch, and the necessary plumbing mod is in the box! Perfect fit. Plug it in run cold water and it sounds like it's not even working. Haha really! The motor is obviously running but the blades move so quietly. I know she is going to love it! Be sure to look at the instructions, they are simple, and tell you to knock out the dishwasher stopper (which I see some people forgot to do, lol). I'll update if anything happens!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
ieesha
from Laramie, Wyoming

nice and quite

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A very good buy
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
HappyGrinder

Good Product - good experience with tech support

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was very impressed with how quiet and effective this disposer was. Easy to install, too. However, after about a year I started to get a lot of noise and vibration. I searched on the internet to see if others were reporting similar problems, but found nothing. Since the product was under warranty, I was going to call a service person to have the thing fixed. I'm glad that I first submitted a form from the "We Come To You" tab on Insinkerator's Service and Support web page. I mentioned that my problem was noise and vibration, and got back a lengthy letter detailing things to check and do for this problem before calling in a repair service. One of those things fixed my problem (an impeller was stuck throwing the disposer out of balance) in about 30 seconds. Since the disposer was not defective, I would have been liable for cost of the service call. This worked out fine for me, but the info they sent me should be on their web site. Had it been, I'd have fixed the problem sooner ... and given this product a five star rating.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
pleasedcouple
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Price is Worth the Upgrade

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our old unit was installed 7 years ago in our brand new home. It was an InSinkErator however, it was builder grade - lesser horsepower resulting in less than optimal performance. Additionally, after having it for seven years it started leaking and needed to be replaced. My husband and I decided to stick with the brand but purchase one with more power and a different model of InSinkerErator. So far, we are extremely pleased and agree the extra money was worth it. For the most part we agree with the other positive reviews submitted for the product - which is one thing we considered when deciding what to purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
06Mustard
from United States
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install but....

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Things went smooth as silk until it was time to install the tail pipe to the drain...no washer. This required a trip to the hardware store and a waste of my time. For the price paid... you think they would include a 79 cent washer.
Could have been a 30 minute job and a five star rating.. for want of a washer a star was lost...
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
toptechx6
from south Florida
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Incredibly quiet

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The old one died during clean up after Thanksgiving, I was not thrilled about having to purchase a replacement, but there was an unexpected benefit. The replacement though pricey is so much quieter it defies belief, hopefully it will last.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>