728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garbage Disposals or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

The InSinkErator Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal is great for use in a variety of kitchens. It features MultiGrind technology that allows it to rip through hard-to-grind food waste, such as rib bones and artichokes. The grinding chamber is crafted with stainless steel for strength and has SoundSeal technology, making it at least 40% quieter than standard disposers.
Overall rating:
4.709 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(664 reviews) 664
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product630 of 654reviews
Rating Breakdown 664 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(529)
4
(103)
3
(15)
2
(8)
1
(9)
Features 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product630 of 654reviews
Customer questions and answers:
28 Questions | 124 Answers
Customer reviews for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Annapolis, MD

Fantastic disposer

PostedMay 7, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great disposer. I bought and installed the Essential to replace my basic builder GE disposer (which sounded like an aircraft taking off everytime I turned it on). I have never installed a disposer nor any other type of plumbing device, and I managed to install this product in about 3 hours by myself.
All you need is some wrenches, screwdrivers, plumbers putty and you're ready to install this puppy. When I turn it on, I can hardly hear it. I am very very pleased with this purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from New Jersey

Easy to install and very quiet

PostedJuly 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My husband and I installed this unit a couple of weeks ago and I love it! We did have an existing unit to replace which made this installation very easy. You can barely hear the unit when it is on and the grinding capability so far is excellent. I would highly recommend this unit to everyone. It is a little more expensive than other units but you really do get what you pay for. A++++
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Puyallup, WA

Worth the $$

PostedApril 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The other reviews are true. This is very quiet and easy to install. You will need to purchase the power cord if you can not reuse the one from your old disposer. Also, if you are replacing the sink flange, you will need plumbers putty. I did not need a hacksaw as my current trap was situated OK. The only slowdown I had was when trying to get the snap ring on the flange mount. It turned out I had it upside down.
I got 9 years out of the 1/3 hp GE that came with the house, which is a couple years less than expected. The blade came off and tore up the teeth; I found it in the trap. It must have rusted through. That disposal was also very noisy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Puyallup, Washington

Amazing

PostedFebruary 3, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I almost purchased the top of the line model for 299.00 but opted for this one at 199.00 and I can't imagine how the extra hundered dollars would have been able to give more than this disposal delivers. Installation was a breeze and I was installing under a sink that had no disposal to start with. The installation instructions are very well written and easy to follow. I also added the air activated switch ( also easy installation ). This unit is unbelievably quiet. With the under sink cabinate closed, its very hard to detect that its even running. Someone really did their homework when designing this. You won't be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from punta gorda,fl.

monty3

PostedMay 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Does the job quietly !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Morgan Hill, CA

Easy install; very quiet!

PostedMay 17, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installation was a breeze! Start to finish only took about 10 minutes. I replace an old Badger, and was able to use the mounting ring as is, which saved me a step. I was concerned about the size, since this one is quite a bit "fatter" than the Badger, but all the existing plumbing elements fit perfectly. It was so quiet that my wife initially thought it wasn't working! I've been using it for about a week and fed a wide range of foods through it (things I never would have considered, but I wanted to see if it could handle it) without any problems. Don't spend the extra $100 to get the top of the line. They say it's 20% quieter, but I can't imagine why you would care (it's well beyond the point of diminishing returns, in my opinion).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Crown Point, In

Great quiet product

PostedMarch 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Nice and quiet and works great. Easy to install.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Zionsville, IN

Easy, but...

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
FYI, all the reviews are accurate, the process to swap out an old Badger, for a new Evolution is easy. Save the installation fee, and do this yourself. The only complaint is, if you have any other type of flange than stainless steel, you must buy another flange to match your sink. For instance, we have a biscuit color sink, and to find an insinkerator flange, in biscuit is VERY tough. We had to go with another brand, not at HD, and that got frustrating. You also can't purchase the flange on-line from Insinkerator. It would have been nice if HD stocked a couple other flanges, from Insinkerator that would have made this process quicker.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from PA

Outstanding disposal

PostedOctober 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After reading the online reviews, I purchased this disposal. As my home did not already have a disposal, I had to run new electrical lines for a new wall switch and under cabinet outlet. The disposal now has its own dedicated line from the breaker box feeding a single switched outlet. The wall switch shares a now enlarged receptacle box with the ceiling lights dimmer switch. Toughest part of the entire installation was removing the existing sink strainer which had corroded in place and would not unscrew off. I used a Dremel with a cutting wheel to carefully make cuts in three places around the strainer locknut and peeled the parts off the threads thus removing the entire fixture. Installing the new parts was easy enough provided you either have someone hold the new strainer down or use the disposal itself to provide weight. Don't forget the plumbers putty before assembly!!! Get a handful of putty and roll into a snake and wrap around the underside of the strainer before inserting into the sink. The spring clip can be a little tricky but keep at it. Lastly, the unit camlocks into position and plugs in. You won't believe how quiet this unit is. It is much like the sound of a jammed disposal...just a buzz. The running water is twice as loud as this unit. And it grinds every bit as fast as ordinary disposals. Although a little pricier than normal disposals, this one is worth every penny.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Thousand Oaks, CA

Super Quiet

PostedJanuary 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We had to replace our other InSinkerator garbage disposal. We were lucky and the locking ring is the same as the old one so we just had to disconnect the old one and reconnect and place the new one which was pretty easy. The first time I turned it on I thought we had done something wrong because it was so quiet but so far it is working great and it doesn't scare the cats when I turn it on!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Golden, Co

Short and very Sweet

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Read all the reviews you want - but this is straightforward. If you have an existing Insinkerator with the lock collar, buy this unit, remove the old unit (10 minutes), switch the cord from the old one to new (5-10 minutes), install this one which includes putting a new discharge pvc pipe designed to fit the rubber sleeve (included -I had to cut off about 2 inches) and twisting the new one into place (30 minutes), then plug in and enjoy. It couldn't be any easier, and all the reviews on quietness are accurate.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from San Diego, CA

Very Quite

PostedJune 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My hubby just installed in new kitchen. I have a, one sink, stainless steal and Home Depot installed Granite counter top. Bought this disposal in store. It is so quiet I forget its on until I shut off the water. Don't know if it is so quiet because of the way my kitchen is built, but I love it. I am only rating on quietness as I have not had a chance to really work it yet. I have though, had the same type of one installed in another home, which is a rental and no problems so far in 4 years.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from tucson,az.

disposal

PostedMay 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
quiet,quiet, efficient. easy install. hope it lasts forever.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Farmington Hills, Michigan

Oh So Quiet and Easy to Install

PostedMay 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After reading other reviews, I figured on about an hour-long install. But because the unit I was replacing was a previous model In Sink Erator (Badger5), I didn't need to bother with installing the new collar. I just twisted the old disposal off, and twisted the new one on (fantastic design feature) - hooked up the electrical, the drain pipe, and dishwasher line - and in 15 minutes was good-to-go!
My local Home Depot had a display that let you hear simulations of what the three different sound deadening methods used in the In Sink Erator models would sound like. This model uses the mid level sound deadening. I was awfully tempted to shell out the extra $115 for the top of the line model. But after getting this one installed and running it the frst time I couldn't be happier. Compared to the Badger5, this baby runs as quiet as a Lexus engine. I honestly find it hard to beleive that the top of the line model could be any quieter than this one.
I figured there'd be a huge difference when I noticed the rubber 'neck' suspending the unit from the collar - isolating vibrations from ever reaching the sink. Which is especially important with brushed aluminum sinks because they transmit a lot more noise than porcelain ones. So the unit actually is allowed to shake and sway independent of the collar that attaches it to the sink.
Note to self: Never pour industrial strength drain opener down disposal again... EVER. That's what cremated the seal on my 3-year old Badger5 sending it to an early grave. R.I.P. and good riddance to that loudly obnoxious beast.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Bargersville, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent Product

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I did much research prior to purchasing the Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposer from Home Depot and found it was the best price. It was the first time I had installed a Disposer and it was realitively easy. If you are looking for disposer to lessen the sound in your home this will do the trick.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Charlotte, NC

Evolution Essential

PostedApril 8, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this disposer to replace the builder installed GE unit. The InsinkErator Evolution disposer is excellent. It’s so quiet that the plumber and I had trouble determining if it was running. I almost purchased the $319 Excel but at $199 this disposer more than met my needs, in fact it exceed my exceptions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from New York, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SOOOOO QUIET!!! Yay. Lights in kitchen dim for a sec when we turn it on but other than that so far it's been great!

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
So far so good! Very quiet, esp compared to our previous disposer, the not so dearly departed Badger. We actually wanted & first purchased the cover control model but the directions were incomplete (it has a magnetic cover that results in an additional set of wires on the unit being necessary, but no directions included on how to install said wires....grr!) So since we were do it yourself-ing the install, we returned it to the store & bought this one. Pleased with it so far but still wish we could have had the cover control one.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Miami

Bones too?!

PostedMay 20, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'll tell you, my wife said, "NO!! Not bones!!! Are you crazy?!!!" Well, I was feeling adventurous that day and I decided to throw some rib bones down the disposal. Not just 1 or 2 but over 12 bones, almost all at once and this disposer completely ground them up and down the drain they went in a couple of minutes. This thing is amazing, indestructable and quiet. Feel free to grind up almost anything and down it will go, no more nasty food waste in the garbage. I've had mine for over 2 years.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Atlanta

5 Stars

PostedSeptember 9, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A year later, it's still running like new and just as quite.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Master Plumber's review 10/23/11

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My fiance has just installed at my home a new Insinkerator Evolution Essential. It is replacing a 30+ year old Insinkerator top model 50 year anniversary model. Obviously, 30+ years is pretty darn good. The old disposal had reached a noise level that was deafening.
My fiance installs this model constantly at the homes of customers and has never had a complaint. Of course, as a Master Plumber the installation is easy, however, sometimes he even runs into situations that are more complicated. He asked me to write this review to let homeowners know that this model is even the choice of professional installers. The previous reviewers are certainly correct in rating this model as extremely quite and being very effective in its grinding capability.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 15 >>