728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garbage Disposals or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

The InSinkErator Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal is great for use in a variety of kitchens. It features MultiGrind technology that allows it to rip through hard-to-grind food waste, such as rib bones and artichokes. The grinding chamber is crafted with stainless steel for strength and has SoundSeal technology, making it at least 40% quieter than standard disposers.
Overall rating:
4.708 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(511 reviews) 511
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product485 of 503reviews
Rating Breakdown 511 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(404)
4
(83)
3
(12)
2
(6)
1
(6)
Features 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product485 of 503reviews
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 92 Answers
Customer reviews for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Federal Way, WA

Easy to install and quiet

PostedSeptember 12, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our house came with a noisy and relatively ineffective disposal. When it quit working all together, I could no longer put off replacement and looked for a quiet model. After doing an online search, I checked the local Home Depot to see if the models I was interested in were available. The store rep recommended a less expensive model until I told him I was looking for quiet. The Essential is worth its higher price. It is so quiet, it can hardly be heard over the running water! Also, the disposer is large enough to reach in (when power is off) to get inappropriate items out, should they get past the black part which is removeable for cleaning.
I was hesitant about installiation, but the store rep said it was easy and the online and written instructions were clear. Because the old mount was corroded, I decided to replace it - this part took the longest. First, I followed the instructions and used a towel and disposer to hold the ring - I had to redo it with someone to hold the ring in place from the top of the sink while I tightened from below. The rest was extremely easy and there were NO leaks!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Miami

Bones too?!

PostedMay 20, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'll tell you, my wife said, "NO!! Not bones!!! Are you crazy?!!!" Well, I was feeling adventurous that day and I decided to throw some rib bones down the disposal. Not just 1 or 2 but over 12 bones, almost all at once and this disposer completely ground them up and down the drain they went in a couple of minutes. This thing is amazing, indestructable and quiet. Feel free to grind up almost anything and down it will go, no more nasty food waste in the garbage. I've had mine for over 2 years.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Cincinnati, OH

Extremely Happy

PostedApril 23, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just replaced the original disposal in my house with the Evolution Essential. I must say the positive reviews were all correct. The unit was simple to install and is very quiet during operation. I did have to cut off a bit of the original drain tube that the new disposal feeds into since the Evolution is a larger diameter than the original disposal but that was quick work with a hacksaw.
NOTE: If you are going to install this unit yourself, you will need two wire nuts and a cable connector that screws into the bottom of the disposal and tightens against the A/C wire to keep it in place. I thought it was a little odd that Insinkerator didn't just include these items since they are necessary for installation and would cost next to nothing to throw into the box. Luckily I found some wire nuts in the garage and was able to salvage the cable connector from the old disposal but the search added about 20 minutes to an otherwise painless install.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Paramus, NJ

Quiet

PostedJanuary 24, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a noticeably quieter unit than previous units that I have installed. Installation was simple. I recommend this disposer strongly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Washington DC

So quiet!

PostedSeptember 15, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although this dispoal is quite a bit more expensive than the basic version, I think it's well worth the extra money. It is amazingly quiet. I can barely hear it when the water is running. Also, it does a great job of grinding objects. I didn't install it so I can't speak to that but it does work wonderfully.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from CA

Worth the money

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm by-far a handyman, but with the holidays coming up, I had to replace my 10 year old Badger 1 quickly. I thought about hiring a plumber, but thought I'd save the $$ for something nice for the wife. After reading all of your reviews, I decided to try to install the Evolution myself. It only took 45 mins (including interruptions from kids and wife). It's quiet, fast, and AWESOME!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Annapolis, MD

Fantastic disposer

PostedMay 7, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great disposer. I bought and installed the Essential to replace my basic builder GE disposer (which sounded like an aircraft taking off everytime I turned it on). I have never installed a disposer nor any other type of plumbing device, and I managed to install this product in about 3 hours by myself.
All you need is some wrenches, screwdrivers, plumbers putty and you're ready to install this puppy. When I turn it on, I can hardly hear it. I am very very pleased with this purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from New Jersey

Easy to install and very quiet

PostedJuly 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I installed this unit a couple of weeks ago and I love it! We did have an existing unit to replace which made this installation very easy. You can barely hear the unit when it is on and the grinding capability so far is excellent. I would highly recommend this unit to everyone. It is a little more expensive than other units but you really do get what you pay for. A++++
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from San Diego, CA

Very Quite

PostedJune 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My hubby just installed in new kitchen. I have a, one sink, stainless steal and Home Depot installed Granite counter top. Bought this disposal in store. It is so quiet I forget its on until I shut off the water. Don't know if it is so quiet because of the way my kitchen is built, but I love it. I am only rating on quietness as I have not had a chance to really work it yet. I have though, had the same type of one installed in another home, which is a rental and no problems so far in 4 years.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Golden, Co

Short and very Sweet

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Read all the reviews you want - but this is straightforward. If you have an existing Insinkerator with the lock collar, buy this unit, remove the old unit (10 minutes), switch the cord from the old one to new (5-10 minutes), install this one which includes putting a new discharge pvc pipe designed to fit the rubber sleeve (included -I had to cut off about 2 inches) and twisting the new one into place (30 minutes), then plug in and enjoy. It couldn't be any easier, and all the reviews on quietness are accurate.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Morgan Hill, CA

Easy install; very quiet!

PostedMay 17, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation was a breeze! Start to finish only took about 10 minutes. I replace an old Badger, and was able to use the mounting ring as is, which saved me a step. I was concerned about the size, since this one is quite a bit "fatter" than the Badger, but all the existing plumbing elements fit perfectly. It was so quiet that my wife initially thought it wasn't working! I've been using it for about a week and fed a wide range of foods through it (things I never would have considered, but I wanted to see if it could handle it) without any problems. Don't spend the extra $100 to get the top of the line. They say it's 20% quieter, but I can't imagine why you would care (it's well beyond the point of diminishing returns, in my opinion).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from punta gorda,fl.

monty3

PostedMay 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does the job quietly !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Laramie, Wyoming

nice and quite

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A very good buy
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from PA

Outstanding disposal

PostedOctober 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading the online reviews, I purchased this disposal. As my home did not already have a disposal, I had to run new electrical lines for a new wall switch and under cabinet outlet. The disposal now has its own dedicated line from the breaker box feeding a single switched outlet. The wall switch shares a now enlarged receptacle box with the ceiling lights dimmer switch. Toughest part of the entire installation was removing the existing sink strainer which had corroded in place and would not unscrew off. I used a Dremel with a cutting wheel to carefully make cuts in three places around the strainer locknut and peeled the parts off the threads thus removing the entire fixture. Installing the new parts was easy enough provided you either have someone hold the new strainer down or use the disposal itself to provide weight. Don't forget the plumbers putty before assembly!!! Get a handful of putty and roll into a snake and wrap around the underside of the strainer before inserting into the sink. The spring clip can be a little tricky but keep at it. Lastly, the unit camlocks into position and plugs in. You won't believe how quiet this unit is. It is much like the sound of a jammed disposal...just a buzz. The running water is twice as loud as this unit. And it grinds every bit as fast as ordinary disposals. Although a little pricier than normal disposals, this one is worth every penny.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Charlotte, NC

Evolution Essential

PostedApril 8, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this disposer to replace the builder installed GE unit. The InsinkErator Evolution disposer is excellent. It’s so quiet that the plumber and I had trouble determining if it was running. I almost purchased the $319 Excel but at $199 this disposer more than met my needs, in fact it exceed my exceptions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Waxhaw, NC 28173, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great garbage disposer for a great price.

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I looked at all of the InSinkErator options before deciding on this model. It is very quiet just like they promised and works very well for my family.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Price is Worth the Upgrade

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our old unit was installed 7 years ago in our brand new home. It was an InSinkErator however, it was builder grade - lesser horsepower resulting in less than optimal performance. Additionally, after having it for seven years it started leaking and needed to be replaced. My husband and I decided to stick with the brand but purchase one with more power and a different model of InSinkerErator. So far, we are extremely pleased and agree the extra money was worth it. For the most part we agree with the other positive reviews submitted for the product - which is one thing we considered when deciding what to purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Dallas, Tx

This is just for installation and noise factor.

PostedJanuary 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just installed this unit for my mother. She already had the Badger 5 that gave out after...4 years? Even though it lasted that long, it was noisy and smelled. This unit took me 15-30 min install begin to finish (including taking out the old one). It comes right off (the new unit fits right on the old mount), the electric cord is simple to switch, and the necessary plumbing mod is in the box! Perfect fit. Plug it in run cold water and it sounds like it's not even working. Haha really! The motor is obviously running but the blades move so quietly. I know she is going to love it! Be sure to look at the instructions, they are simple, and tell you to knock out the dishwasher stopper (which I see some people forgot to do, lol). I'll update if anything happens!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Fair Lawn, NJ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

quieter and more efficient than our previous unit

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have installed four different food disposal units and this one was the best both in terms of performance. It is very quiet, has minimal vibration and the installation was simple and straightforward.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Zionsville, IN

Easy, but...

PostedJanuary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
FYI, all the reviews are accurate, the process to swap out an old Badger, for a new Evolution is easy. Save the installation fee, and do this yourself. The only complaint is, if you have any other type of flange than stainless steel, you must buy another flange to match your sink. For instance, we have a biscuit color sink, and to find an insinkerator flange, in biscuit is VERY tough. We had to go with another brand, not at HD, and that got frustrating. You also can't purchase the flange on-line from Insinkerator. It would have been nice if HD stocked a couple other flanges, from Insinkerator that would have made this process quicker.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>