728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garbage Disposals or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

The InSinkErator Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal is great for use in a variety of kitchens. It features MultiGrind technology that allows it to rip through hard-to-grind food waste, such as rib bones and artichokes. The grinding chamber is crafted with stainless steel for strength and has SoundSeal technology, making it at least 40% quieter than standard disposers.
Overall rating:
4.712 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(493 reviews) 493
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product468 of 485reviews
Rating Breakdown 493 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(391)
4
(80)
3
(10)
2
(6)
1
(6)
Features 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product468 of 485reviews
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 91 Answers
Customer reviews for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Federal Way, WA

Easy to install and quiet

PostedSeptember 12, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our house came with a noisy and relatively ineffective disposal. When it quit working all together, I could no longer put off replacement and looked for a quiet model. After doing an online search, I checked the local Home Depot to see if the models I was interested in were available. The store rep recommended a less expensive model until I told him I was looking for quiet. The Essential is worth its higher price. It is so quiet, it can hardly be heard over the running water! Also, the disposer is large enough to reach in (when power is off) to get inappropriate items out, should they get past the black part which is removeable for cleaning.
I was hesitant about installiation, but the store rep said it was easy and the online and written instructions were clear. Because the old mount was corroded, I decided to replace it - this part took the longest. First, I followed the instructions and used a towel and disposer to hold the ring - I had to redo it with someone to hold the ring in place from the top of the sink while I tightened from below. The rest was extremely easy and there were NO leaks!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Washington DC

So quiet!

PostedSeptember 15, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although this dispoal is quite a bit more expensive than the basic version, I think it's well worth the extra money. It is amazingly quiet. I can barely hear it when the water is running. Also, it does a great job of grinding objects. I didn't install it so I can't speak to that but it does work wonderfully.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from New Jersey

Easy to install and very quiet

PostedJuly 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I installed this unit a couple of weeks ago and I love it! We did have an existing unit to replace which made this installation very easy. You can barely hear the unit when it is on and the grinding capability so far is excellent. I would highly recommend this unit to everyone. It is a little more expensive than other units but you really do get what you pay for. A++++
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Paramus, NJ

Quiet

PostedJanuary 24, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a noticeably quieter unit than previous units that I have installed. Installation was simple. I recommend this disposer strongly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Puyallup, Washington

Amazing

PostedFebruary 3, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I almost purchased the top of the line model for 299.00 but opted for this one at 199.00 and I can't imagine how the extra hundered dollars would have been able to give more than this disposal delivers. Installation was a breeze and I was installing under a sink that had no disposal to start with. The installation instructions are very well written and easy to follow. I also added the air activated switch ( also easy installation ). This unit is unbelievably quiet. With the under sink cabinate closed, its very hard to detect that its even running. Someone really did their homework when designing this. You won't be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Annapolis, MD

Fantastic disposer

PostedMay 7, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great disposer. I bought and installed the Essential to replace my basic builder GE disposer (which sounded like an aircraft taking off everytime I turned it on). I have never installed a disposer nor any other type of plumbing device, and I managed to install this product in about 3 hours by myself.
All you need is some wrenches, screwdrivers, plumbers putty and you're ready to install this puppy. When I turn it on, I can hardly hear it. I am very very pleased with this purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Morgan Hill, CA

Easy install; very quiet!

PostedMay 17, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation was a breeze! Start to finish only took about 10 minutes. I replace an old Badger, and was able to use the mounting ring as is, which saved me a step. I was concerned about the size, since this one is quite a bit "fatter" than the Badger, but all the existing plumbing elements fit perfectly. It was so quiet that my wife initially thought it wasn't working! I've been using it for about a week and fed a wide range of foods through it (things I never would have considered, but I wanted to see if it could handle it) without any problems. Don't spend the extra $100 to get the top of the line. They say it's 20% quieter, but I can't imagine why you would care (it's well beyond the point of diminishing returns, in my opinion).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Miami

Bones too?!

PostedMay 20, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'll tell you, my wife said, "NO!! Not bones!!! Are you crazy?!!!" Well, I was feeling adventurous that day and I decided to throw some rib bones down the disposal. Not just 1 or 2 but over 12 bones, almost all at once and this disposer completely ground them up and down the drain they went in a couple of minutes. This thing is amazing, indestructable and quiet. Feel free to grind up almost anything and down it will go, no more nasty food waste in the garbage. I've had mine for over 2 years.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Excellent disposal

PostedJune 7, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our old Kenmore unit finally gave up and died. When it ran, it shook the kitchen with its noise and vibration. Often, it sprayed the person operating it with water as it ran. It often didn't grind well enough and the sink would clog. We initially decided to buy the GE model as it is $60 less. However, the store only had Insinkerator brands when we went to buy. Wife talked me into the Evolution. Unit was a breeze to install. Only hard part is snapping on the wire ring (don't forget to really loosen the screws before trying). Actually hooking up the unit was a simple twist. I was able to use existing plumbing connections and my existing power cord from the old unit. Total install was probably 40 minutes. The removable baffle/splash guard is a great idea, not only because it greatly reduces noise from the disposal but also that it can be removed and washed or cleaned. One note of caution, grinding bones is very loud and does involve quite a lot of vibration. Normal operation is as others say - extremely quiet. Basically you only hear the water and the humming of the motor.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Atlanta

5 Stars

PostedSeptember 9, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A year later, it's still running like new and just as quite.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Charlotte, NC

Evolution Essential

PostedApril 8, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this disposer to replace the builder installed GE unit. The InsinkErator Evolution disposer is excellent. It’s so quiet that the plumber and I had trouble determining if it was running. I almost purchased the $319 Excel but at $199 this disposer more than met my needs, in fact it exceed my exceptions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Cincinnati, OH

Extremely Happy

PostedApril 23, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just replaced the original disposal in my house with the Evolution Essential. I must say the positive reviews were all correct. The unit was simple to install and is very quiet during operation. I did have to cut off a bit of the original drain tube that the new disposal feeds into since the Evolution is a larger diameter than the original disposal but that was quick work with a hacksaw.
NOTE: If you are going to install this unit yourself, you will need two wire nuts and a cable connector that screws into the bottom of the disposal and tightens against the A/C wire to keep it in place. I thought it was a little odd that Insinkerator didn't just include these items since they are necessary for installation and would cost next to nothing to throw into the box. Luckily I found some wire nuts in the garage and was able to salvage the cable connector from the old disposal but the search added about 20 minutes to an otherwise painless install.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Puyallup, WA

Worth the $$

PostedApril 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The other reviews are true. This is very quiet and easy to install. You will need to purchase the power cord if you can not reuse the one from your old disposer. Also, if you are replacing the sink flange, you will need plumbers putty. I did not need a hacksaw as my current trap was situated OK. The only slowdown I had was when trying to get the snap ring on the flange mount. It turned out I had it upside down.
I got 9 years out of the 1/3 hp GE that came with the house, which is a couple years less than expected. The blade came off and tore up the teeth; I found it in the trap. It must have rusted through. That disposal was also very noisy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Salinas, CA

The best for your money

PostedMay 8, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Its worth your money, at first i couldn't decide which one to buy, but after al little research i decided for this one and i am very happy.
My old one stoped working about a month ago, but i was worried that if i tried replacing it i wouldn't know how to install the new one, being that i have very little pluming experience.
All i did was follow the instructions step by step and i was done in about an hour, I was surprised how easy it was to install, I think any person can do it.
I do recomened you buy a new externsion cord, instead of trying to use your old one.
The disposer does not come with one, but buying one is only $12.00 and it comes with everything you need to install it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from punta gorda,fl.

monty3

PostedMay 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does the job quietly !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Farmington Hills, Michigan

Oh So Quiet and Easy to Install

PostedMay 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading other reviews, I figured on about an hour-long install. But because the unit I was replacing was a previous model In Sink Erator (Badger5), I didn't need to bother with installing the new collar. I just twisted the old disposal off, and twisted the new one on (fantastic design feature) - hooked up the electrical, the drain pipe, and dishwasher line - and in 15 minutes was good-to-go!
My local Home Depot had a display that let you hear simulations of what the three different sound deadening methods used in the In Sink Erator models would sound like. This model uses the mid level sound deadening. I was awfully tempted to shell out the extra $115 for the top of the line model. But after getting this one installed and running it the frst time I couldn't be happier. Compared to the Badger5, this baby runs as quiet as a Lexus engine. I honestly find it hard to beleive that the top of the line model could be any quieter than this one.
I figured there'd be a huge difference when I noticed the rubber 'neck' suspending the unit from the collar - isolating vibrations from ever reaching the sink. Which is especially important with brushed aluminum sinks because they transmit a lot more noise than porcelain ones. So the unit actually is allowed to shake and sway independent of the collar that attaches it to the sink.
Note to self: Never pour industrial strength drain opener down disposal again... EVER. That's what cremated the seal on my 3-year old Badger5 sending it to an early grave. R.I.P. and good riddance to that loudly obnoxious beast.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from PA

Outstanding disposal

PostedOctober 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading the online reviews, I purchased this disposal. As my home did not already have a disposal, I had to run new electrical lines for a new wall switch and under cabinet outlet. The disposal now has its own dedicated line from the breaker box feeding a single switched outlet. The wall switch shares a now enlarged receptacle box with the ceiling lights dimmer switch. Toughest part of the entire installation was removing the existing sink strainer which had corroded in place and would not unscrew off. I used a Dremel with a cutting wheel to carefully make cuts in three places around the strainer locknut and peeled the parts off the threads thus removing the entire fixture. Installing the new parts was easy enough provided you either have someone hold the new strainer down or use the disposal itself to provide weight. Don't forget the plumbers putty before assembly!!! Get a handful of putty and roll into a snake and wrap around the underside of the strainer before inserting into the sink. The spring clip can be a little tricky but keep at it. Lastly, the unit camlocks into position and plugs in. You won't believe how quiet this unit is. It is much like the sound of a jammed disposal...just a buzz. The running water is twice as loud as this unit. And it grinds every bit as fast as ordinary disposals. Although a little pricier than normal disposals, this one is worth every penny.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from CA

Worth the money

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm by-far a handyman, but with the holidays coming up, I had to replace my 10 year old Badger 1 quickly. I thought about hiring a plumber, but thought I'd save the $$ for something nice for the wife. After reading all of your reviews, I decided to try to install the Evolution myself. It only took 45 mins (including interruptions from kids and wife). It's quiet, fast, and AWESOME!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Thousand Oaks, CA

Super Quiet

PostedJanuary 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had to replace our other InSinkerator garbage disposal. We were lucky and the locking ring is the same as the old one so we just had to disconnect the old one and reconnect and place the new one which was pretty easy. The first time I turned it on I thought we had done something wrong because it was so quiet but so far it is working great and it doesn't scare the cats when I turn it on!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Evolution Essential 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Crown Point, In

Great quiet product

PostedMarch 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice and quiet and works great. Easy to install.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>