728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garbage Disposals or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

The InSinkErator Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal is perfect for small households and houses with restricted cabinet space. It has a 34.6 oz. grind chamber with stainless steel grind components, and features MultiGrind technology that allows it to break down hard-to-grind items. It also features our "SoundSeal technology which delivers quiet performance versus a standard disposer".
Overall rating:
4.736 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(1040 reviews) 1040
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product985 of 1,016reviews
Rating Breakdown 1,040 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(853)
4
(144)
3
(16)
2
(9)
1
(18)
Features 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product985 of 1,016reviews
Customer questions and answers:
56 Questions | 164 Answers
Customer reviews for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Bellingham, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super quiet, just as the reviews described.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We remodeled our kitchen and added a garbage disposal, my moms garbage disposal sound like it will chew your arm off and I hated to use it so when it came time to buy my own I wanted a quiet one that would not disturb the whole house when in use. I must say is was a little bit expensive but now that I have it it's well worth the money it's super quiet and I'm very happy with its performance although I don't grind up all my garbage with it since I'm on septic I just use it to rinse dishes and chunky cereal bowls. The rubber flaps do hinder the food from freely going down the drain but I feel better knowing it's not as apt to eat spoons and forks.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+41points
42out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Steamboat Springs, CO 80487, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fit Perfectly

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
When I received the disposal I was concerned that it wasn't going to fit and I would need a plumber. No problem at all, finished the project in 15 min. Fit great with more room under sink now, real quiet and I'm very pleased with purchase. I would rank higher but for a 50 cent part on purchase. Not sure why you don't include the cable connector that is necessary for installation on the wiring harness.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+39points
39out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Quality, Quiet and Compact Design

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Insinkerator makes a good product. This model is smaller than some others they have and the online-only price couldn't be beat. In my case I had to chop the drain line and install new PVC to meet up with the discharge of the garbage disposer but otherwise installation was fairly quick (1/2 hour). Buy a small tub of plumbers putty and a large set of channel-locks if you do not have an existing garbage disposer you are replacing. Otherwise, it is a snap.
I used the air-switch (insinkerator) and had a local granite counter-top installation company come by and drill out a hole for me near the sink and the entire setup is flawless.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Compact
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good replacement for Insinkerator Badger

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I got it for next to nothing from someone who got it from Home Depot years ago. They said they didn't use it very much, because it leaks when they use it. It hasn't leaked a drop after I installed it. It has a different connection than the Badger which is supposed to reduce vibration, but Evolution models aren't forgiving of sloppy installations, so don't install it yourself if you don't have the patience to do it right or you don't know what you're doing.
It's better to go with this upgrade over the Badger if you're like me and don't use your disposal often. The inside looks brand new even though its 4 years old whereas my Badger looks brand new on the outside, but the inside looks like a wreckage pulled from bottom of the ocean. This is basically the Badger with stainless internals and some sound deadening plastic shell. It is way quieter than the Badger, but I don't use it enough to care. I bought it, because it is stainless. The Badger consistently had issues with building up rust and seizing up if it hasn't been turned on for a week or so.
If you already have an Insinkerator brand, it twists right onto the old mount. If the old mount isn't leaking at all, then leave it in place. It's a good replacement for an existing builder's grade disposal like the Badger. This reduces the difficulty for DIY considerably. Go to the manufacturer's page and download the specs for your old one and the new one you're buying so you can figure out the changes you need to make. File the rough edges off the lip and the first inch of the pipe so it won't damage the rubber or cause a leak. Proper alignment is critical with the rubber connection used on the Evolution or it will leak. It takes patience to get it lined up right. If you're inexperienced at plumbing like me and don't have a bunch of tools, it'll take a few hours to do it right. The pipe goes into the boot until the pipe's lip sits in the groove and held in place with a spring loaded clamp thingy. If you force it into place, it will leak here soon or later.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, stainless steel, Quiet
Cons: Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+39points
41out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product works great and is super quiet!

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This disposal is the best one by ratings and reviews that I could find. I researched many other brands and models. The Insinkerator Evolution Compact model won my research. I definitely wanted all stainless steel grinding blades. In action, the disposal is very quiet. The soundproofing that is built into this disposal is great. The minute noise level and all stainless interior sold me, regardless of price. I had ordered unit online, was told that shipping would be three to five business
days. It arrived in two days!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Sturdy, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+72points
77out of 82found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Ludlow, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Quiet

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love it. Shipping was right on when they said it would be here. Installation was easy. I installed it myself. I had an InSinkErator 444 before. It was 7 years old when it finally died. I hope that this one will give me the same amount of years or more. I have no doubt that it will because they make a great product.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Good and quiet disposal but the splash guard doesn't allow food to get past

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The garbage disposal best feature is that it is really quiet! When we first turned it on we didn't know it was on it was so quiet. The only thing i don't like about it is that the splash guard doesn't allow food to get past. So if we are rinsing plates the food stays on top of the splash guard and we have to use a fork to push all the food down into the drain. Honestly, if you have water on full force it can't even drain quick enough because the opening with the splash guard is so tight. I am sure after we force enough stuff through it will eventually loosen up. Overall though it is a good disposal and I would purchase again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: tight splash guard
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Lynden, WA 98264, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and easy to install

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
So far so good. Went in quickly with no problems at all. This thing is super quiet and does a great job. Looks great too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Texas
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This disposal was easy to install with the directions and a little help from you tube.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Quiet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Little Falls MN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Evolution compact 3/4 HP continuous feed garbage disposal

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality, ease of installation, good price. I'd do it again.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Disposer

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Purchased the Insinkerator Compact model about 3 months ago.
Although expensive, we are very happy with it.
It replaced a 12 year old Badger model.
Here’s my install notes:
1. It took me around 90 minutes total time to install, and I’m fairly handy.
2. Much of the time was spent on removing the cord from the old unit. This was not as easy as I thought it would be due to a plastic insulating ring.
3. I didn’t find the unit too heavy to install without a helper.
4. Since the old unit was also an Insinkerator, the new unit’s mounting ring matched up with the mounting ring already in place under the sink.
5. If you’re installing this and need to connect it to a dishwasher you have to remove a plastic plug. Knocking this plug out required more force than I expected.
The unit is much quieter than the old one, almost too quiet.
The manual says it will grind fruit pits. This was new to me so I tried it out on a 1 inch peach pit. Munched it effortlessly and pretty quiet as well.
I would recommend this unit to friends.
+47points
47out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Excellent, except for..

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Surprisingly quieter than expected. Very satisfied with performance. Worth the higher price, despite my disatisfaction with my previous short lived Badger 5 (3 years). The only thing I don't like is the box doesn't say you need to buy the power cord and locking ring separately. It lists just a few household tools. Had to go back during installation to buy the manufacturers $12 cord/ring.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Quiet(er) Than Old Cheapo

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So far, so good. Quiet and grinds well. I wouldn't call it compact, but it fit even in our moderately sized cupboard area.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great buy

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I replace my Badger (short circuited due to a leak). This was pretty much a direct fit replacement. The plumbing was in the same location dimensionally. Make sure you buy some plumber caulk and some electrical tape. The unit does not come with a power cord, power cord harness (for securing to the disposal), By design, they assume you have these from your current disposal. For me, this was the case. I was able to install the power cable and cable harness to the new disposal. Of course the plumber caulk on the sink needed to be all replaced. It comes with the drain line which can be trimmed to your length. I believe it was 11" total. I only needed 7".
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Quick, easy & quiet

PostedJune 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this to replace an ailing Badger unit. I was able to reuse the previous sink adapter which made everything a breeze. One note - I've seen several people complain about the weight and needing a car jack. I'm a thirtysomething guy and I was able to get it fastened on by myself pretty easily by myself. It's a little clunky under the sink and I almost hollered for a little assistance from my wife, but I finally got it on the 3rd try (no jack needed). Honestly, much, much easier than I was expecting. However, I can see how it might be difficult for some folks, so keep that in mind. The best part is that when I first flipped it on, we weren't sure if it was working...the noise level is roughly equivalent to the "uh oh I'm stuck" noise made by the Badger.
+31points
33out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Riverview, Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super Quiet!

PostedJune 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This garbage disposal was easy to install, grinds beautifully, and is super quiet. It is so quiet that, at first, we thought it wasn't oprking!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Upgrade to the next level Essential. Same hook ups.

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Definitely buy the next level up! The InSinkErator Essential. For a couple dollars more, you get 2 more years warranty AND a stainless steel grind chamber! What good are stainless steel parts without a stainless steel chamber? The breakdown of acids on metals causes faster deterioration and oxidation. Go with all Stainless steel.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Colorado
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

So Quiet

PostedMay 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We've used it about 2 months. So nice to use after replacing older disposal that just limped along. Easy to clean the inside..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easiest install ever

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My 17 year old disposer finally bit the dust. I checked out the reviews on the Home Depot website and compared features and price. We chose the Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Disposer. It promised to be quieter than the others and promised quick installation. Well, they were right on both counts. Install took 15 minutes (removing the old one and installing the new one) and when I hooked it up, it was sooooo quiet I thought it was jammed up, but it wasn't. It's a little more than what I wanted to pay, but as they say...you get what you pay for!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

very quiet! Much nicer than Badger models

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Previously had bought a Badger for our condo to replace a rusted equivalent badger model and didn't really do a lot of research before buying as we did not have much money to spend for a disposal at the time. Now we moved to a different home and did a lot more research and searched for a quieter option. The Evolution is so quiet, I didn't know disposal could be that quiet! So far it has held up well, if you want to buy a Badger model I would suggest doing a little research before buying - they are notorious for cracking and rusting a few years in. If the disposal jams, there are easy instructions on how to clear the jam while protecting the motor.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 22 >>