728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garbage Disposals or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

The InSinkErator Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal is perfect for small households and houses with restricted cabinet space. It has a 34.6 oz. grind chamber with stainless steel grind components, and features MultiGrind technology that allows it to break down hard-to-grind items. It also features our "SoundSeal technology which delivers quiet performance versus a standard disposer".
Overall rating:
4.736 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(857 reviews) 857
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product812 of 837reviews
Rating Breakdown 857 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(707)
4
(113)
3
(14)
2
(7)
1
(16)
Features 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product812 of 837reviews
Customer questions and answers:
46 Questions | 138 Answers
Customer reviews for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Bellingham, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super quiet, just as the reviews described.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We remodeled our kitchen and added a garbage disposal, my moms garbage disposal sound like it will chew your arm off and I hated to use it so when it came time to buy my own I wanted a quiet one that would not disturb the whole house when in use. I must say is was a little bit expensive but now that I have it it's well worth the money it's super quiet and I'm very happy with its performance although I don't grind up all my garbage with it since I'm on septic I just use it to rinse dishes and chunky cereal bowls. The rubber flaps do hinder the food from freely going down the drain but I feel better knowing it's not as apt to eat spoons and forks.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+27points
28out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Steamboat Springs, CO 80487, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fit Perfectly

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When I received the disposal I was concerned that it wasn't going to fit and I would need a plumber. No problem at all, finished the project in 15 min. Fit great with more room under sink now, real quiet and I'm very pleased with purchase. I would rank higher but for a 50 cent part on purchase. Not sure why you don't include the cable connector that is necessary for installation on the wiring harness.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good replacement for Insinkerator Badger

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got it for next to nothing from someone who got it from Home Depot years ago. They said they didn't use it very much, because it leaks when they use it. It hasn't leaked a drop after I installed it. It has a different connection than the Badger which is supposed to reduce vibration, but Evolution models aren't forgiving of sloppy installations, so don't install it yourself if you don't have the patience to do it right or you don't know what you're doing.
It's better to go with this upgrade over the Badger if you're like me and don't use your disposal often. The inside looks brand new even though its 4 years old whereas my Badger looks brand new on the outside, but the inside looks like a wreckage pulled from bottom of the ocean. This is basically the Badger with stainless internals and some sound deadening plastic shell. It is way quieter than the Badger, but I don't use it enough to care. I bought it, because it is stainless. The Badger consistently had issues with building up rust and seizing up if it hasn't been turned on for a week or so.
If you already have an Insinkerator brand, it twists right onto the old mount. If the old mount isn't leaking at all, then leave it in place. It's a good replacement for an existing builder's grade disposal like the Badger. This reduces the difficulty for DIY considerably. Go to the manufacturer's page and download the specs for your old one and the new one you're buying so you can figure out the changes you need to make. File the rough edges off the lip and the first inch of the pipe so it won't damage the rubber or cause a leak. Proper alignment is critical with the rubber connection used on the Evolution or it will leak. It takes patience to get it lined up right. If you're inexperienced at plumbing like me and don't have a bunch of tools, it'll take a few hours to do it right. The pipe goes into the boot until the pipe's lip sits in the groove and held in place with a spring loaded clamp thingy. If you force it into place, it will leak here soon or later.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, stainless steel, Quiet
Cons: Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
29out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Quality, Quiet and Compact Design

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Insinkerator makes a good product. This model is smaller than some others they have and the online-only price couldn't be beat. In my case I had to chop the drain line and install new PVC to meet up with the discharge of the garbage disposer but otherwise installation was fairly quick (1/2 hour). Buy a small tub of plumbers putty and a large set of channel-locks if you do not have an existing garbage disposer you are replacing. Otherwise, it is a snap.
I used the air-switch (insinkerator) and had a local granite counter-top installation company come by and drill out a hole for me near the sink and the entire setup is flawless.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Compact
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product works great and is super quiet!

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This disposal is the best one by ratings and reviews that I could find. I researched many other brands and models. The Insinkerator Evolution Compact model won my research. I definitely wanted all stainless steel grinding blades. In action, the disposal is very quiet. The soundproofing that is built into this disposal is great. The minute noise level and all stainless interior sold me, regardless of price. I had ordered unit online, was told that shipping would be three to five business
days. It arrived in two days!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Sturdy, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+67points
72out of 77found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Ludlow, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Quiet

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love it. Shipping was right on when they said it would be here. Installation was easy. I installed it myself. I had an InSinkErator 444 before. It was 7 years old when it finally died. I hope that this one will give me the same amount of years or more. I have no doubt that it will because they make a great product.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Oceanside, Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

well worth the cost

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
a little bit heavy, hard to attach because of tight space, very quiet. Love it. Old one was hard to take off.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Grand Island, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation and quiet performance.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Insinkerator Evolution Compact came with excellent instructions and was an easy one-person installation. I am impressed by its quiet and vibration-free performance. What an improvement over the unit it replaced!
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Lynden, WA 98264, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and easy to install

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far so good. Went in quickly with no problems at all. This thing is super quiet and does a great job. Looks great too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Columbus, OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Disposal

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm happy with my purchase. Took me more time than I expected to install, but that was because I had never done a disposal before. However, I feel like I could install one in half the time now. This one is so much quieter than the old badger it replace and definitely seems more powerful. It seems to struggle with any significant amount of water in the sink. The whole thing vibrates like crazy if you have it on and you let out dishwater. I'm not sure what, if anything, can be done about that.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Quiet
Cons: heavy vibration at times
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Kirkland, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Eats Garbage

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Compared to the 20 year old unit it replaced it's very quiet - just a mild hum. Of course the old unit would sometimes vibrate the entire cabinet so our standards may be low. :-)
As some have mentioned, the opening in the drain baffle is a bit small. You often have to push food down past the baffle to get it down to the blades. Water can pool above the baffle and drain a bit on the slow side compared to the old one. None of that is a deal breaker for us.
It's eaten everything we've given it with no problems at all. No clogs. No jams.
Bit concerned by the reviews that say the disposer developed a leak after a couple of years. Haven't had it long enough to know for ourselves. But overall seems decent.
Installed without a hitch.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Berkeley, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I installed it myself and was amazed at how quiet it is

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I enjoyed installing it in place of a 14-year-old non-compact Insinkerator. I had to cut one pipe because the distance between the drain and the Evolution Compact became shorter due to its flexable pipe connector. But, everything else was easy. Nice to have a little more clearance under the disposal.
When I first turned on the switch, I wan't sure that it was working. It was so quiet!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Disposer

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased the Insinkerator Compact model about 3 months ago.
Although expensive, we are very happy with it.
It replaced a 12 year old Badger model.
Here’s my install notes:
1. It took me around 90 minutes total time to install, and I’m fairly handy.
2. Much of the time was spent on removing the cord from the old unit. This was not as easy as I thought it would be due to a plastic insulating ring.
3. I didn’t find the unit too heavy to install without a helper.
4. Since the old unit was also an Insinkerator, the new unit’s mounting ring matched up with the mounting ring already in place under the sink.
5. If you’re installing this and need to connect it to a dishwasher you have to remove a plastic plug. Knocking this plug out required more force than I expected.
The unit is much quieter than the old one, almost too quiet.
The manual says it will grind fruit pits. This was new to me so I tried it out on a 1 inch peach pit. Munched it effortlessly and pretty quiet as well.
I would recommend this unit to friends.
+42points
42out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Low quality

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
ive owned 3 disposals in my life. Family of five so it gets a lot of use. This was low quality from the start. It just doesn't do a thorough job of grinding stuff. Avoid this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from San Jose, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very quiet and definitely more room under the sink

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had it installed by a pro and it was done in a snap. However, the website does not give a list of what is included with the disposer but does give recommendations of what others bought which was misleading. The items that come with it and I also bought separate are; Sink ring, Sink stopper, and Dishwasher connector kit. I bought the disposer that does not come with a power cord kit so buying that was good because I did not notice there was a choice to buy a disposer with the power cord kit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Bristol RI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gret Product

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Wnt in easy and works great, Quiet noise level also
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Excellent, except for..

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Surprisingly quieter than expected. Very satisfied with performance. Worth the higher price, despite my disatisfaction with my previous short lived Badger 5 (3 years). The only thing I don't like is the box doesn't say you need to buy the power cord and locking ring separately. It lists just a few household tools. Had to go back during installation to buy the manufacturers $12 cord/ring.
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Bemus Point, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replacement

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The disposal replaced an insinkerator 444. The job took less than an hour and the evolution is quiet and smooth running. Follow the instructions and anyone can install this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Insinkerater space saver unit

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love how quiet and powerful this unit is. Chose the space saver size for more under the cabinet room. Glad I did. With the other ones I would not have been able to store anything under it. Home Depot set up the install and that was so worth it. 20 minutes and it was up and working. Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Quick, easy & quiet

PostedJune 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this to replace an ailing Badger unit. I was able to reuse the previous sink adapter which made everything a breeze. One note - I've seen several people complain about the weight and needing a car jack. I'm a thirtysomething guy and I was able to get it fastened on by myself pretty easily by myself. It's a little clunky under the sink and I almost hollered for a little assistance from my wife, but I finally got it on the 3rd try (no jack needed). Honestly, much, much easier than I was expecting. However, I can see how it might be difficult for some folks, so keep that in mind. The best part is that when I first flipped it on, we weren't sure if it was working...the noise level is roughly equivalent to the "uh oh I'm stuck" noise made by the Badger.
+30points
32out of 34found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 19 >>