728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garbage Disposals or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

The InSinkErator Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal is perfect for small households and houses with restricted cabinet space. It has a 34.6 oz. grind chamber with stainless steel grind components, and features MultiGrind technology that allows it to break down hard-to-grind items. It also features our "SoundSeal technology which delivers quiet performance versus a standard disposer.
Overall rating:
4.762 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(794 reviews) 794
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product755 of 774reviews
Rating Breakdown 794 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(662)
4
(104)
3
(11)
2
(5)
1
(12)
Features 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product755 of 774reviews
Customer questions and answers:
34 Questions | 119 Answers
Customer reviews for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Sheri966
from Bellingham, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super quiet, just as the reviews described.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We remodeled our kitchen and added a garbage disposal, my moms garbage disposal sound like it will chew your arm off and I hated to use it so when it came time to buy my own I wanted a quiet one that would not disturb the whole house when in use. I must say is was a little bit expensive but now that I have it it's well worth the money it's super quiet and I'm very happy with its performance although I don't grind up all my garbage with it since I'm on septic I just use it to rinse dishes and chunky cereal bowls. The rubber flaps do hinder the food from freely going down the drain but I feel better knowing it's not as apt to eat spoons and forks.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Bear
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product works great and is super quiet!

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This disposal is the best one by ratings and reviews that I could find. I researched many other brands and models. The Insinkerator Evolution Compact model won my research. I definitely wanted all stainless steel grinding blades. In action, the disposal is very quiet. The soundproofing that is built into this disposal is great. The minute noise level and all stainless interior sold me, regardless of price. I had ordered unit online, was told that shipping would be three to five business
days. It arrived in two days!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Sturdy, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+39points
42out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
mtmdv3671
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Quality, Quiet and Compact Design

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Insinkerator makes a good product. This model is smaller than some others they have and the online-only price couldn't be beat. In my case I had to chop the drain line and install new PVC to meet up with the discharge of the garbage disposer but otherwise installation was fairly quick (1/2 hour). Buy a small tub of plumbers putty and a large set of channel-locks if you do not have an existing garbage disposer you are replacing. Otherwise, it is a snap.
I used the air-switch (insinkerator) and had a local granite counter-top installation company come by and drill out a hole for me near the sink and the entire setup is flawless.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Compact
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Alain
from Ludlow, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Quiet

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love it. Shipping was right on when they said it would be here. Installation was easy. I installed it myself. I had an InSinkErator 444 before. It was 7 years old when it finally died. I hope that this one will give me the same amount of years or more. I have no doubt that it will because they make a great product.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Murphy
from Fenton, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Completely Satisfied - works as advertised.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product installed very easily by simply following the instructions. It's operation is much more quiet than the unit I replaced, and it handles all sorts of garbage with no trouble at all. I am very pleased with it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
hollywudx
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Same as the last Insinkerator! only better

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The new version is stupid quiet, seriously! After installation, I thought the motor was locked up becuase the only sound was a low hum. But wait til you put something into the grinder tub, POOF- she gone!The new style baffle in the drain is excellent, and this beast will grind up whatever happens into the throat of this machine. BE WARNED. The rubber baffle will also prevent the errant spoon or fork from slipping into the clutches of this disposal. I went with the 3/4hp, and it's well worth the $. The wife has never listened ( shocker) , so why under-power with 1/3 or 1/2 hp. You're gonna be dropping some coin regardless so why not cough up the extra $100, get more power, AND in home warranty!!!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: no cord- really?
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
John
from Lynden, WA 98264, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and easy to install

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far so good. Went in quickly with no problems at all. This thing is super quiet and does a great job. Looks great too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
dpmsts
from Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Disposer

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased the Insinkerator Compact model about 3 months ago.
Although expensive, we are very happy with it.
It replaced a 12 year old Badger model.
Here’s my install notes:
1. It took me around 90 minutes total time to install, and I’m fairly handy.
2. Much of the time was spent on removing the cord from the old unit. This was not as easy as I thought it would be due to a plastic insulating ring.
3. I didn’t find the unit too heavy to install without a helper.
4. Since the old unit was also an Insinkerator, the new unit’s mounting ring matched up with the mounting ring already in place under the sink.
5. If you’re installing this and need to connect it to a dishwasher you have to remove a plastic plug. Knocking this plug out required more force than I expected.
The unit is much quieter than the old one, almost too quiet.
The manual says it will grind fruit pits. This was new to me so I tried it out on a 1 inch peach pit. Munched it effortlessly and pretty quiet as well.
I would recommend this unit to friends.
+41points
41out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
zencherry
from Louisville, KY, USA

Very quiet, easy to install

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Most quiet garbage disposal I've ever heard. So quiet that you wonder if it's working as it should be, which is immediately answered when food is thrown in. Whoosh! Gone!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
NotYourFullName
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very quiet

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I mean, anything would have been more quiet than what we had before, but this thing is nearly silent. We've had it for a few weeks now and no complaints at all.
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Sam12

Excellent, except for..

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Surprisingly quieter than expected. Very satisfied with performance. Worth the higher price, despite my disatisfaction with my previous short lived Badger 5 (3 years). The only thing I don't like is the box doesn't say you need to buy the power cord and locking ring separately. It lists just a few household tools. Had to go back during installation to buy the manufacturers $12 cord/ring.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
DKBEN

Quiet and works great.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So quiet hardly know it is running. Works great. I would highly recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
driftinscotty

Very solid purchase.

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Put this in about a month ago, and it works like a champ. IT's solid, effective, and quiet. I'm not sure what this "water backup" thing is some reviewers are referring to - I've seen no such thing.
I'm a complete novice with all home repairs (only just bought a house), and I was able to do everything myself. Had to make one extra trip to the hardware store for a slightly different PVC pipe to fit my plumbing. That aside, it took me a little over an hour, start to finish, including removing my old disposer. I was nervous about the electrical part of it, but I just followed the instructions and it worked perfectly.
You may need an extra pair of hands to hold the disposer up as you screw it into the mounting, but that was by far the most difficult part.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Zonnie
from Upland, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This disposal is one of the best!

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second Insinkerator we have purchased. It is very quiet, compact and powerful. It does a great job in grinding up just about anything. We highly recommend this for home kitchens.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
kcguy77

Quick, easy & quiet

PostedJune 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this to replace an ailing Badger unit. I was able to reuse the previous sink adapter which made everything a breeze. One note - I've seen several people complain about the weight and needing a car jack. I'm a thirtysomething guy and I was able to get it fastened on by myself pretty easily by myself. It's a little clunky under the sink and I almost hollered for a little assistance from my wife, but I finally got it on the 3rd try (no jack needed). Honestly, much, much easier than I was expecting. However, I can see how it might be difficult for some folks, so keep that in mind. The best part is that when I first flipped it on, we weren't sure if it was working...the noise level is roughly equivalent to the "uh oh I'm stuck" noise made by the Badger.
+29points
31out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Juh27
from Keizer, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Quiet and easy to install.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this purchase it's extremely quiet and did not take long to install.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Cruiser
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easiest install ever

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My 17 year old disposer finally bit the dust. I checked out the reviews on the Home Depot website and compared features and price. We chose the Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Disposer. It promised to be quieter than the others and promised quick installation. Well, they were right on both counts. Install took 15 minutes (removing the old one and installing the new one) and when I hooked it up, it was sooooo quiet I thought it was jammed up, but it wasn't. It's a little more than what I wanted to pay, but as they say...you get what you pay for!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Neilgphoto
from Plainfield, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very happy so far

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Upgraded from a badger 5 that was leaking. Took 30 minutes since the mounting collar was the same. I had read peoples reviews about how quiet it is, but I wasn't much impressed over the badger - until..... I threw 3 stalks of raw broccoli in this machine! It disposed of the stalks so effortlessly, that I was convinced they were simply stuck to the sides due to the spinning! After sticking my hand inside to see, they were most certainly gone. I also must say that it did it with no vibration; the old Badger would have not only not disposed of the stalks, but it would have shaken the sink violently! I only hope that this outlasts the last unit
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Convenient, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Dave
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Real nice unit

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy install, very very quiet. Comes with a nice chrome sink drain edge thats nicer than the less expensive models and looks better with nicer stainless sinks. You may not even have to replace the sink hardware if your current unit mates up with this one and it very well may which would make the install a breeze but installing the sink hardware is no problem and cleans up the top of the sink too.
It's a big unit and may take up more space if you have a smaller 1/3rd or 1/2 HP disposal you're replacing.
Don't forget to get a small container of plumbers putty for the install.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
HeavyMetalBri
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Garbage Disposal

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this garbage disposal. It had very high ratings in the reviews and I now know why. It is powerful and quiet at the same time. It was easy to install, if you have some experience. If your looking for a great garbage disposal at a good price, this is a good one!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 16 >>