728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garbage Disposals or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

The InSinkErator Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal is perfect for small households and houses with restricted cabinet space. It has a 34.6 oz. grind chamber with stainless steel grind components, and features MultiGrind technology that allows it to break down hard-to-grind items. It also features our "SoundSeal technology which delivers quiet performance versus a standard disposer".
Overall rating:
4.751 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(820 reviews) 820
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product779 of 800reviews
Rating Breakdown 820 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(680)
4
(108)
3
(13)
2
(6)
1
(13)
Features 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product779 of 800reviews
Customer questions and answers:
40 Questions | 132 Answers
Customer reviews for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Review 1 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Bellingham, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super quiet, just as the reviews described.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We remodeled our kitchen and added a garbage disposal, my moms garbage disposal sound like it will chew your arm off and I hated to use it so when it came time to buy my own I wanted a quiet one that would not disturb the whole house when in use. I must say is was a little bit expensive but now that I have it it's well worth the money it's super quiet and I'm very happy with its performance although I don't grind up all my garbage with it since I'm on septic I just use it to rinse dishes and chunky cereal bowls. The rubber flaps do hinder the food from freely going down the drain but I feel better knowing it's not as apt to eat spoons and forks.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Steamboat Springs, CO 80487, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fit Perfectly

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When I received the disposal I was concerned that it wasn't going to fit and I would need a plumber. No problem at all, finished the project in 15 min. Fit great with more room under sink now, real quiet and I'm very pleased with purchase. I would rank higher but for a 50 cent part on purchase. Not sure why you don't include the cable connector that is necessary for installation on the wiring harness.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product works great and is super quiet!

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This disposal is the best one by ratings and reviews that I could find. I researched many other brands and models. The Insinkerator Evolution Compact model won my research. I definitely wanted all stainless steel grinding blades. In action, the disposal is very quiet. The soundproofing that is built into this disposal is great. The minute noise level and all stainless interior sold me, regardless of price. I had ordered unit online, was told that shipping would be three to five business
days. It arrived in two days!
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Sturdy, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+42points
46out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Quality, Quiet and Compact Design

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Insinkerator makes a good product. This model is smaller than some others they have and the online-only price couldn't be beat. In my case I had to chop the drain line and install new PVC to meet up with the discharge of the garbage disposer but otherwise installation was fairly quick (1/2 hour). Buy a small tub of plumbers putty and a large set of channel-locks if you do not have an existing garbage disposer you are replacing. Otherwise, it is a snap.
I used the air-switch (insinkerator) and had a local granite counter-top installation company come by and drill out a hole for me near the sink and the entire setup is flawless.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Compact
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Ludlow, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Quiet

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love it. Shipping was right on when they said it would be here. Installation was easy. I installed it myself. I had an InSinkErator 444 before. It was 7 years old when it finally died. I hope that this one will give me the same amount of years or more. I have no doubt that it will because they make a great product.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good replacement for Insinkerator Badger

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got it for next to nothing from someone who got it from Home Depot years ago. They said they didn't use it very much, because it leaks when they use it. It hasn't leaked a drop after I installed it. It has a different connection than the Badger which is supposed to reduce vibration, but Evolution models aren't forgiving of sloppy installations, so don't install it yourself if you don't have the patience to do it right or you don't know what you're doing.
It's better to go with this upgrade over the Badger if you're like me and don't use your disposal often. The inside looks brand new even though its 4 years old whereas my Badger looks brand new on the outside, but the inside looks like a wreckage pulled from bottom of the ocean. This is basically the Badger with stainless internals and some sound deadening plastic shell. It is way quieter than the Badger, but I don't use it enough to care. I bought it, because it is stainless. The Badger consistently had issues with building up rust and seizing up if it hasn't been turned on for a week or so.
If you already have an Insinkerator brand, it twists right onto the old mount. If the old mount isn't leaking at all, then leave it in place. It's a good replacement for an existing builder's grade disposal like the Badger. This reduces the difficulty for DIY considerably. Go to the manufacturer's page and download the specs for your old one and the new one you're buying so you can figure out the changes you need to make. File the rough edges off the lip and the first inch of the pipe so it won't damage the rubber or cause a leak. Proper alignment is critical with the rubber connection used on the Evolution or it will leak. It takes patience to get it lined up right. If you're inexperienced at plumbing like me and don't have a bunch of tools, it'll take a few hours to do it right. The pipe goes into the boot until the pipe's lip sits in the groove and held in place with a spring loaded clamp thingy. If you force it into place, it will leak here soon or later.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, stainless steel, Quiet
Cons: Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Grand Island, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation and quiet performance.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Insinkerator Evolution Compact came with excellent instructions and was an easy one-person installation. I am impressed by its quiet and vibration-free performance. What an improvement over the unit it replaced!
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Lynden, WA 98264, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and easy to install

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far so good. Went in quickly with no problems at all. This thing is super quiet and does a great job. Looks great too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Fenton, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Completely Satisfied - works as advertised.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product installed very easily by simply following the instructions. It's operation is much more quiet than the unit I replaced, and it handles all sorts of garbage with no trouble at all. I am very pleased with it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Disposer

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased the Insinkerator Compact model about 3 months ago.
Although expensive, we are very happy with it.
It replaced a 12 year old Badger model.
Here’s my install notes:
1. It took me around 90 minutes total time to install, and I’m fairly handy.
2. Much of the time was spent on removing the cord from the old unit. This was not as easy as I thought it would be due to a plastic insulating ring.
3. I didn’t find the unit too heavy to install without a helper.
4. Since the old unit was also an Insinkerator, the new unit’s mounting ring matched up with the mounting ring already in place under the sink.
5. If you’re installing this and need to connect it to a dishwasher you have to remove a plastic plug. Knocking this plug out required more force than I expected.
The unit is much quieter than the old one, almost too quiet.
The manual says it will grind fruit pits. This was new to me so I tried it out on a 1 inch peach pit. Munched it effortlessly and pretty quiet as well.
I would recommend this unit to friends.
+41points
41out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Same as the last Insinkerator! only better

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The new version is stupid quiet, seriously! After installation, I thought the motor was locked up becuase the only sound was a low hum. But wait til you put something into the grinder tub, POOF- she gone!The new style baffle in the drain is excellent, and this beast will grind up whatever happens into the throat of this machine. BE WARNED. The rubber baffle will also prevent the errant spoon or fork from slipping into the clutches of this disposal. I went with the 3/4hp, and it's well worth the $. The wife has never listened ( shocker) , so why under-power with 1/3 or 1/2 hp. You're gonna be dropping some coin regardless so why not cough up the extra $100, get more power, AND in home warranty!!!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: no cord- really?
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

insync not

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Well typically, I have loved every insinkerator we have ever purchased ourselves, always buying close to if not the most powerful one available. Needing to install it ourselves this time, I asked the home depot worker if I needed anything else besides the tools I knew I had. He said, "no."
Well of course he was wrong.
The insinkerator does NOT come with a power cord. How dumb. The directions say to remove the old one and reuse it. Um. What if you are installing one where none has ever existed before?
Why the box does not tell you what you need on the outside is beyond my understanding.
The gal on the help line for insinkerator said some customers prefer the product this way. Ha Ha, that was funny. Ok. Well. I like mine to have power.
The guy at ACE hardware new exactly what we needed as all the handymen around here always buy one when they have to buy a new disposal - even the insinkerator.
Yes, I recommend the product, but make sure to buy your power cord too.
Cons: doesn't come with all necessary parts
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quiet and Powerful

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality product. Unit is powerful and very quiet - wife didn't believe it was turned on!! Most difficult part of installation was removal of old unit (obviously nothing to do with this product). All parts for installation were included, except plumbers putty, cable connector (for electrical connection), and wire nuts (for a new install).
Includes 4 year in home manufacturer's warranty.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Carrollton, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

So Quiet!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a surprise...I could barely hear the disposal running! It's very efficient, was easy to install. The only fear is I'll turn it on and forget it! Definitely recommend this unit if you need to replace your old noisy one. Also, it doesn't take up a lot of room under my sink (very important...I have loads of cleaning stuff)
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Washington DC
Gender:Female

Very Quiet

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My old cheaper evolution disposal recently broke. I live in a city apartment and do not have a car. I did some research online and for an extra $25 or so I upgraded and bought this model. This disposal is much quieter than my previous one. It was so quiet in fact that my fiance thought it wasn't working and that it may have not been installed properly. I've only had this product for two weeks, but so far so good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Sun City West, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Exceptionally quiet!!!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The in-sink-erator Evolution Compact is a great waste disposer and I would highly recommend, especially for limited spaces.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quietest, most efficient garbage disposal

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was very easy to install and works so much better then the builder installed GE model it replaced.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality Questionable

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this unit approx. three years ago, and did not have any issues with it until now. While reinstalling it after replacing the countertop I noticed that the quick lock ring on the top of the main unit would come completely off the unit. When you try to secure the unit to the sink the unit would just fall down through the locking ring. There was nothing to hold it up. This should have never happened as I followed all of the installation procedures. Very disappionted. Must now replace the entire unit just after three years.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal

Excellent, except for..

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Surprisingly quieter than expected. Very satisfied with performance. Worth the higher price, despite my disatisfaction with my previous short lived Badger 5 (3 years). The only thing I don't like is the box doesn't say you need to buy the power cord and locking ring separately. It lists just a few household tools. Had to go back during installation to buy the manufacturers $12 cord/ring.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Evolution Compact 3/4 HP Continuous Feed Garbage Disposal
from Detroit, MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Buy!!!

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unit handles all we throw at it and does it extremely quietly.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 17 >>