728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5,550 Watt Wheelhouse Portable Generator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

5,550 Watt Wheelhouse Portable Generator

Briggs & Stratton generators give you the power to protect your family and possessions during a power outage, run a few tools or venture into the great outdoors. This 5550 watt portable generator has a 10 HP Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV engine that provides reliable easy starts. Illuminated control panel with 4-120V and 1-120/240V locking type outlets and protective rubber outlet covers. A five gallon removable fuel tank with fuel gauge provides 10 hours of continuous run time at half load. A PowerSurge alternator provides 8550 starting watts, which is more than double the starting power of conventional generators, allowing you to start and run multiple appliances. The Super Silencer muffler helps to minimize noise. Convenient removable handle. No assembly required and engine oil included. 2-Year limited warranty. Bonus: 25 heavy-duty generator cord set included.
Overall rating:
4.786 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product14 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
100%of customersrecommend this product14 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for 5,550 Watt Wheelhouse Portable Generator
Review 1 for 5,550 Watt Wheelhouse Portable Generator
from CRYSTAL RIVER,FL.

5500 BRIGGS & STRATTON GENERATOR

PostedJune 4, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I BOUGHT THIS GENERATOR FOR A BACKUP ON AND 10000 BTU ROOM AIR AND MY WIFE'S OXYGEN CONVERTOR AS WELL AS HER NEBULIZER..IN PREPARATION FOR THAT POWER OUTAGE THAT MAY COME I RAN IT FOR 8 HRS WITH THOSE 3 THINGS AS WELL AS 2 LIGHTS AND A SMALL FAN..IT CARRIED ALL VERY WELL..
I BOUGHT THE BRIGGS AND STRATTON BECAUSE THE NAME WAS ALWAYS A TRUSTED NAME IN MOWERS..I KNOW I HAVE USED BRIGGS & STRATTON FOR AT LEAST 40 YRS.....
ADDED TO THE FACT THAT HOME DEPOT HAS ALWAYS PROVED TO BE A GREAT PLACE TO SHOP AND TRUST I MADE MY PURCHASE THERE.
THANK YOU.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5,550 Watt Wheelhouse Portable Generator
from Saint Louis, MO

Money Saver!

PostedMay 26, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This generator has paid for itself during the first use. It ran our Refrigerator and Deep Freezer for the 7 hours (less than a tank of fuel) that we were without power. Easily movable and storable. Would recommend for anyone who has a power outage or two per year.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5,550 Watt Wheelhouse Portable Generator
from Atascadero

PostedJune 26, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great generator and easy to move around. It is however, very loud.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5,550 Watt Wheelhouse Portable Generator
from Pensacola, FL

Outstanding Product

PostedSeptember 2, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ivan, Dennis, Katrina ... after these storms, I bought the generator and accessory pack (cable, cover, etc.). 12 months - interest free, and some serious piece of mind. The generator is very easy to start (2 half cranks followed by a full pull and it starts every time) and easy to maneuver. There are ample outlets and plenty of power for a fridge, lights, window A/C unit, and other essentials. The unit is not loud and even more subdued when you're in the house. B&S quality and tremendous value. If you live on the gulf coast, I strongly recommend purchasing one of these units before losing power. P = h * 2 (Procrastination = heat and humidity).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5,550 Watt Wheelhouse Portable Generator
from So Cal

Very nice, but its loud

PostedJuly 24, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got tired of Edison dropping my power this summer, so just bought one of these at HD. Its really nice, easy to set up, I got about 10 hours last night on 5 gallons, so 1/2 gallon an hour at about half output, plenty to run an entertainment set up so the kids can watch movies, 2 refridgerators and several fans etc. I had to shut it off about 11pm last night, just too loud for the neighbors and I live in a very rural area. Its well made. I would have loved a Honda, but for 1/3rd the price this one is pretty hard to beat. HD had excellent service too they loaded it all up and had me on down the road in about 20 minutes tops!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5,550 Watt Wheelhouse Portable Generator
from Clearlake Oaks, CA

Wheelhouse Generator Review

PostedOctober 27, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I found this generator from the Consumer Reports Best Buy article too and decided to go with it after seeing the generator at HD. The large wheels with tall handle was something I really liked and it's pretty easy to move around. The 25 ft cord that comes with it is real handy. One connection on the generator and four outlets at the other end. It started on the first pull but the noise level could be a lot better especially with a muffler called Super Silencer. It is not. Overall I like it as I'm prepared now for those power outages that will happen. I would recommend against having this item shipped. I did not have a good experience with that but stuff happens.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5,550 Watt Wheelhouse Portable Generator
from New Orleans, La.

Life saver!!

PostedApril 11, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this unit a few months before Katrina not knowing I would need it so soon. Got back home a day after the storm and cranked it up and ran it for 7 days & nights (giving it a break from time to time). Had at least 20 people in the house enjoying TV, A/C, fans, & lights. Saved all my food in both fridges & my freezer. That alone paid for this generator. I have a 10 circuit transfer switch that makes it easy to have 90% of my house running on the generator. Living on the Gulf coast, it gives you peace of mind knowing you have power with just one pull of a rope.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5,550 Watt Wheelhouse Portable Generator
from Niagara Falls, NY

Wow!

PostedOctober 18, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a great buy! Bought this after the Oct. surpirse in Buffalo, NY.
Used the unit at two different places and didn't fail at all. We had to wait over 1 1/2 hours during the emergency at HD with a #'d ticket in hand, but worth the wait. The HD manager was great and made waiting even easier! Had a freezer, sump pump, several other appiances going with out a blink! Very easy to start for a 10 HP. My 5.5 HP mower is louder then this unit, concidering it's running at 3600 rpm!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5,550 Watt Wheelhouse Portable Generator
from Aurora, CO

Satisfied customer

PostedAugust 30, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy start, very portable for one person, lots of power. I have run 5200watts +/- a few and it held strong.
If I could change one thing it would be the muffler because it's loud. So long as the generator is outside and I'm inside, no problems.
I've found this model rated as a best buy on Consumer Reports and read numerous positive reviews from people in the gulf coast regions so that's why I bought it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5,550 Watt Wheelhouse Portable Generator
from Glen Burnie, MD

Great generator

PostedDecember 29, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this generator a little over a year ago, not to long after it first became availible at my local HD. I crank it up every other week to keep it ready and have never been let down. Cranks by the third pull every time. I had my brother in law install a ProTran six circuit manual transfer swich to my main panel. I have my sump pump with battery maintainer, gas furnace blower, deep freezer and two refridgerators, and most of my lighting and a few recepticles upstairs. Converted all of my lighting over to compact fluorescent to lower used wattage. Overall this is best generator I have seen and used in this class, and I have used and maintained alot of generators and Tactical generators for the government, could be a little quieter though but that is expected for a generator in this price range. I would highly recomend this generator to anybody looking for a portable generator with good surge capacity.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5,550 Watt Wheelhouse Portable Generator
from Olivet, MI

Great Value

PostedNovember 2, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This generator is a great buy. I couldn't find a better generator for the money. It's not as quiet as a Honda, but for the price, the sound level is quite tolerable. It has enough power to serve as a home backup generator, but is small enough to load into my truck and take out to jobs. The handle and wheels make it easy to move around, even for my wife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5,550 Watt Wheelhouse Portable Generator

Outstanding no-friils Generator

PostedJune 4, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This generaor gets the job done . It isn't the quietest and
doesn't have any fancy load mointoring capabilities but
it can produce power. The surge capability is great and the
removable gas tank is awsome .After letting the generator run out of gas, I can store the generator in a walkout cellar, and keep the gas tank outside in a Coverit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5,550 Watt Wheelhouse Portable Generator
from lantana florida

Great Generator

PostedJuly 15, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
somebody gave wrong information, this is a strong and quiet generator, the surge wattage is unbelievable and it does better than expected wattage wise, this is the best generator in its class all around !!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5,550 Watt Wheelhouse Portable Generator
from Helena, Montana

My 2 Cents

PostedNovember 7, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i bought this generator as a backup system for my home in Montana - i loose power about 6 times annually. the start-up wattage was very important to me due to the high surge wattage demand of my well pump. however, i did not want to buy unnecessary running watts, as it would affect fuel comsumption. so, it fit the bill - price vs watts - i installed a manual transfer switch because i can't plug an extension cord into my well pump. the tranfser switch allows me to manage the power distribution much better and safer than extension cords anyway. the only change that had to be made to the generator is the the neutral-bond to ground. the neutral had to be changed to a "floating neutral" state (not bonded to chasis) because the transfer switch that i have does not transfer neutral. if you run the generator as a stand-alone (not attaching to a transfer switch) you can leave it the way it is, but, i would probably use a grounding rod just be be safe. (talk to an electrician before you install a tranfser switch) as far as noise of the generator - it is not near as loud as my wife was when the electricity went off before i bought this generator : )
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.