728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Woodworking Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Benchtop Router Table

Benchtop Router Table

The Bosch RA1181 Benchtop Router Table provides a premium large work surface for woodworking and routing. Designed to fit a variety of routers and able to mount on any workbench, this router table is a versatile piece of equipment that will serve as an indispensable part of any woodworking shop. And its 2-1/2 in. dust collection port offers better dust collection for a healthier work environment. The large aluminum top makes the table both durable and portable.
Overall rating:
4.404 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product42 of 45reviews
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(24)
4
(20)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product42 of 45reviews
Customer questions and answers:
30 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer reviews for Benchtop Router Table
Review 1 for Benchtop Router Table
TommyV
from Arlington, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value for cost

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Delivery was on time and in good condition. Assembly was not difficult but as others have pointed out, only specific routers will fit the faceplate. I purchased a Porter-Cable that has a lift tool as optional. Used a drill press to easily make the necessary holes in the faceplate and it works great. Still need to build a permanent table to mount table but initial experience is a great table for the price.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Benchtop Router Table
GalV
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works for me

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
So far it has worked for me but has been light duty so far on small pieces so I have not even bolted it down. May not be the safest I know. Not sure how well the inserts will be as they snap in HARD and difficult to change. I expect to break off the plastic fingers on removal. The front panel makes it difficult to remove bits with the wrenches but height adjustment can be done from the top deck. I need to wax or even highly buff the top as the aluminum top has drag. Still not a bad unit as I learn to adjust to it.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: drag on top bit access
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Benchtop Router Table
flynlow101
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good, durable aluminum surface

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This router table is an excellent product at a fair price. I was mostly interested in this table because of the aluminum top. It will be stored in an unconditioned space and I was worried that the humidity here in Florida would cause other surfaces to deteriorate. The surface is excellent and the fence is very good as well. As a bonus, this table also has a few accessories like the feather boards. If you buy them separately, they're fairly expensive. The only negative is the cheap accessory pocket on the side.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Benchtop Router Table
SoggyInSeattle

Portable Router Table - as advertised

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy assembly with all the parts included. Make sure you have a compatible router or you will need an adapter base. I replaced a large router table with a precision fence that was more than I needed at this time. This is good for basic routing needs.
Fairly sturdy. Table is nice and flat. After careful adjustment, the router plate fits nice and flush.
(When moving it around, be careful not to dislodge the cover of the "storage area" on the side of the unit.)
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Benchtop Router Table
millsy

A little getting used to but overall good product.

PostedJune 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this after a week of reading different reviews. It's a good value for the cost. Not to tricky to put together. I bought this not realizing that Rigid routers were not listed as "compatible" with the Bosch plate. Turns out it is compatible (Rigid 2hp 1/2 inch). The plate did't take me that long to level. "You must do this to cut reliable results." Don't rely on measurement markings on table, they are only good for making sure the guard is true. Instead, I use a square for depth and a test piece for height. The only design flaw I have seen is in the right side of the plastic base. I had to notch out some of the base so the adjustable guide could be easily removed.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Benchtop Router Table
Steve

Just what I needed

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm new to woodworking and thought about a cheaper table but I'm glad I went with this one. It really allows me to make accurate adjustments. The plastic base keeps it relatively light weight too.
Pros: Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Benchtop Router Table
Matt
from Wyoming, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good intermediate router table.

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am quite satisfied with this purchase so far. I think it is a good product for the price. The construction quality is good and it is capable of a lot of adjustment. I do need to find a product to apply to the table face as the material does not slide very easily. I have a Milwaukee router that I attached to the table and I could not find anywhere that would tell me if my model would fit the table before I purchased it. In the end it did fit and the instruction manual does have my router listed in it but that would have been nice to find before I ordered it and sweated until I found out it would fit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Light Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Benchtop Router Table
doggsale
from Lebanon, NH

Quality Product

PostedMarch 20, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just bought the table today and have a few comments. Commpared to the Ryobi Tables this one is far superior.
The Feather boards are sterdy and strong.
The plastic base looks cheap but is very stiff. My opinion having a large base to mount to a table beats the four point sheetmetal legs.
Took me 1hr to assemble and I consider myself to be very mechanial, just a lot of hardware. Router plate is very strong and takes a few minutes to level up.
The on off switch is small but in a beter location than the Ryobi. A very clever design.
The Brush steel top is very corse and has alot of mass.
The fense is made of an anodize extruded aluminum that is far superior to the Ryobi.
It comes with a side comparment that stores all the extra hardware and most accesories.
I would recommend this for the woodworker that wants something better than the a cheap "good value, good enough" version and the $900 Rockler "Superduper, do it all, digial, I want to be Norm Abram" version.
+60points
66out of 72found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Benchtop Router Table
harvester

quality table

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The table took a couple of hours to put together but the instructions are clear. I installed the Bosch 1617 2.25a router in this table. I am new to routers, but this appears to be a good combination. As the instructions state, the table should be secured by the front legs to a workbench or something sturdy, as it will tend to tip over backwords when routing larger pieces (found out by experience).
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Benchtop Router Table
JohnC
from Largo, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this table

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Comes with nice features, feather boards which work great, dust port, easy to adjust fence. It fits on my storage shelf nicely, I clamp it to my table when I need it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: a bigger table would be nice
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Benchtop Router Table
Macintosh
from New England
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well built portable router table

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A bit of time to assemble the table, but overall the directions were clear enough and it took about an hour. I've yet to finalize the router insert height adjustment as that requires patience and I didn't have it at assembly time.
Table is flat enough. I do note a little concave area to the right and left of the insert, but it's on the order of 1/64th or less (that's <.016") so I'm not going to worry about it. The stock will be on the insert when it passes the router bit and that is flat as flat can be for woodwork. So setting the insert height is the key and positioning of the vertical fingerboard to not push down in the concave area is what I'll do.
I also bought the Bosch adjustable height router motor holder RA1165 to permanently mount to the insert and I plan to load it with Bosch 1617EV 2.25HP motor. Unfortunately my 1.75HP Porter Cable 690LR has external nubs that prevent it from being used, but 2.25HP is a better idea for a table motor.
Fence is nice and rugged and the handy 1/16" face inserts will make edge jointing simple. These stow behind the fence faces when not used - to use remove one.
No issues assembling the RA1165 to the insert and there was a bag of hardware from the table kit to use for it (or actual router).
One thing I did do in addition to assembly directions was to use some Loctite (removable blue) on the nut/bolt combos that didn't have active lock washers supplied or in effect (some KEPS nuts required them being put on backwards so integral star washer not effective.).
Pros: Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Benchtop Router Table
marmoose
from Orem, UT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice sturdy table with some good features

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There is only one shortcoming. The attachment of a Bosch router to the many-holed mounting plate was much less than easy in determining which screws and holes to use. One would think that this would be more clearly explained per router model, and MARKED on the aluminum mounting plate. It was the most lengthy part of the assembly, and I am not sure even now that it is right. Even still, It is a great little table, and I am getting the kinks figured out.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Benchtop Router Table
morninwood

Much better than the other versions available here

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product is good, once you wax the table with some furniture paste.
Resolution of measuring lines could be greater- only marks every 8th of an inch. Makes it hard to get the fence perfectly straight.
Could use one additional throat piece. Currently there are three, which seem to range from small (good for 1/2 or below bits), large- good for bits up to 2", very large (up to 2 1/2, and no throat piece.
When using medium size bits, a lot of sawdust tends to fall down into the router.
I like the 3 1/2 inch opening, but when using a raised panel bit, a lot of sawdust tends to fall down into the router.
Overall, I'm much happier with this than the 99$ router table that is also offered.
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Benchtop Router Table
Gary
from Darien, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordering & delivery perfect. Packaging intact.
Seems solid. Nice sized table. My Porter Cable 891 fit easily. The inset table has 8 leveling screws - doing all 8 at once is wrestling an octopus. Level with only the 4 corners in then remove the screws noting the corner they are in. Then level with only the 4 middle screws. Put the 4 corners back in and you should be good to go.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Benchtop Router Table
Pauley

Best bang for the buck

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This table is perfect for my little (15X15) shop. After assembly, I took some 220 sandpaper and sanded the top smooth as glass and polished it.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Benchtop Router Table
DJohn
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awsome!

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This table is built solid. Really glad I made the right choice I debated awhile on this. Glade I spent a little more and got a good quality item. Bosch's service dept. is great. The inserts that go around the router bit had some of the tangs broke off. I called and they sent me new ones asap.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Benchtop Router Table
woodguy99
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to use,accurate

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product, very easy to assemble and use. This is my first router table and I had no problems with use or directions.
Setting up the router plate so it would be level is the most time consuming part, but is also the most important step.
The aluminum table top is far superior to MDF and other similar type materials.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Benchtop Router Table
Sawdust
from Arlington, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Assembles Easily - Works Great

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The instructions were good. Assembly went well. The Bocsh router attached with no problems. First peoject was two raised panel doors. I'm pleased with the doors.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Benchtop Router Table
soltc
from Hicksville, NY

Excellent and Economical Router Table

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had my eye on the Bosch RA1181 for a while.
Compared to the other brands (Bench Dog, Incra, Rockler, etc.), the RA1181 comes complete at a lower price.
The table base is a sturdy plastic and the aluminum top is heavy and flat. The miter gauge slot fits standard gauges.
I've ordered a Bosch router (R 1617EVSTB) which has a base made to mount in the table.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Benchtop Router Table
rstitt31
from sligo,PA

husband approved

PostedJanuary 2, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this table for my husband for xmas, I was a little worried because the product wasn't in my local store for me to look at, but when he set it up and used it he was pleased with the entire machine and he is a very picky man so I would definitly recomend this for the woman who isn't qiute certian what router table to get her man; this is the one.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 >>